Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$7.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 6, 2005
This is one film I am aiming to get on DVD. But even on VHS, this film sparkles. The cynical amazon review talks about the effects heavy side of the film, but I guess I must have seen another film, since I thought that the material was treated with respect, and done as unobtrusively as you can possibly do with the appearance of Angels.
The cast is excellent, and I feel that this film works in a great way, not simply because it is a Disney film. Forget the comments that slate this film as cheezy, or sugary... it is just plain wonderful.
The brief appearance of the kid's Dad is memorable in retrospect, since it is played by the actor who also appears in ABOUT SCHMIDT, and does a wonderful job there as well.
Danny Glover fills an absolutely brilliant role as the coach, and eventually fills bigger shoes in the lives of the two main children.
Tony Danza plays a very accessable role as a "has-been" pitcher, who is given one final moment of glory thanks to the magic of the Angels, and the intercession of the young child lead ( you can see why when you watch the film). It is all very heart warming stuff in many ways, and whilst it has a lesson or two for many people, it is mainly very fine entertainment.
Christopher Lloyd does a great job as the lead Angel, and the ancilliary Angels are great as well.
This is one immensely beautiful film.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2014
A doomed bunch of baseball players are helped by a boy who hallucinates about angels showing up at the baseball park, choosing players at random & giving them super strength to play baseball to win. Eventually they make it from being the biggest losing team to going to the world series to play against the White Sox. All in all, the movie does warm the heart & is recommended to all who appreciate this kind of wholesome madness involving the fictional mind of a foster child! A must have for all ages. Thanks
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
We love this movie for different reasons. It teaches you to believe in yourself, it has funny moments, and refreshing moments that tug at the heart. Danny Glover, Tony Danza, and Christopher Lloyd, are superb in acting performance. This movie has a way of making everyone feel good, as we watch the California Angels swing back into action. The coach played by Danny Glover begins the season with frustration, dealing with a team of misfits, until a young boy shares winning tips from an angel, played by Christopher Lloyd. As a result, the team touches the hearts of millions of fans, including all viewers of this inspirational movie. This delightful movie is a mix of comedy,baseball action, and inspiration, with dazzling special effects. A wonderful family movie that everyone will enjoy as it entertains from beginning to end, while you cheer for this amazing baseball team. Highly recommended!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2013
I remember watching this when I was little and we were looking in town for it for my nephew but ended up having to turn to the internet to locate it. After watching it again now, I'm not really sure what I saw in the movie back then. It still is a good movie, but it wasn't anywhere near as funny as I remember it being. My nephew wasn't all that thrilled with it either. We got it cheap though so it wasn't a complete waste at least.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2014
This movie is so great. I love 90's movies. Heck, I grew up watching this movie (which was taped on a VHS from one time when it played on tv) over and over again. For me, it's a classic. Pretty cool to be able to show this to my daughter. :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2012
Roger and JP are in Maggie's foster home. They're unrelated boys who have become close friends while staying with Maggie. 7-ish JP tags along with 10-ish Roger to nearby Angel Stadium to watch some games, and Roger prays for Divine intervention, believing that an offhanded comment by his father ensures that his family will reunite if the Angels win the American League pennant.

Roger and his father never reunite, but Roger and JP end the movie excited about a promised placement, together, with a prospective adoptive father. This movie could be a good choice for pre-teens and young teens in foster care, if they can get past the cheesy scenes where angels (the Heaven ones, not the California ones) manipulate baseball games. The movie touches on a lot of experiences that kids in foster care sometimes experience: kids they come to care about get moved from the foster home on short notice; expectations of birth family members are sometimes disappointingly unfulfilled; Court appointments interrupt your life. The movie is not without flaws, but it does have some powerful moments and could serve as a powerful conversation starter.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2013
Here is a delightful story of a baseball team struggling to be a team. At the same time a young boy is struggling with the concept of having a family. When Roger asks God to help his cause to establish the "family" life, it becomes an adventure of strange things that start to take place with the Baseball Team. Roger helps the manager with Angels sent by God. Since Roger is the only one who can see the Angels, he suggests that the manager do things if the team wants to win. When the manager finally realizes the boy sees something, and he himself believes, then the team players start believing in themselves. A good movie for the whole family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2014
I have already confessed to the fact that I am a child at heart. I love good wholesome move with a sweet story and a great ending. The world is going to the dogs but it is great to see something that doesn't scare one to death or make you think the world is coming to an end. The movie is great for oldies like and the family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2013
This is the newer version of this movie, done by Disney. Classic Disney story line about a hapless ball team that manages to turn themselves around with the help of real Angels. My son watched this movie when he was younger and it got him interested in playing baseball. Even though he is in college now, playing baseball, he still enjoys watching this movie. He often quotes the movie to his teammates. Good family movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2014
My father has been a fan of the Los Angeles Dodgers ever since he first heard the 1959 World Series before the Dodgers had left Brooklyn, New York, and came here to Los Angeles, California. He will certainly love watching this movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.