Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on January 8, 2007
Format: DVD
Like millions of other kids, as a teen growing up in the 90's I loved all of the "Sleepaway Camp" movies. Because each movie was entertaining, and somewhat over-the-top. "Sleepaway Camp III - Teenage Wasteland" is no exception and probably the best picture from this trilogy. It's also probably one of the best examples of a teen 80's/90's kitschy horror picture.

"Sleep away Camp III" has it all, hot girls, a friendly yet sadistic murderer, and lots of blood! "Sleepaway Camp III" finds Angela Baker (Pamela Springsteen) back in the woods. This time Angela reinvents herself as a misfit from the inner city so she can blend in with the other campers.

Lilly (Sandra Dorsey) and Herman Miranda (Michael J. Pollard) have turned the former campgrounds (of "Sleepaway Camp II") into "Camp New Horizons." Lilly is a lazy old bag that doesn't want to move, she's just in it for the money and publicity. And Herman is a horny old dude that enjoys playing hide the weasel with one of the female campers. Suffice it to say, Angela isn't very happy about all of this...

Angela is actually a very sweet girl (on the surface). She enjoys camping and working with others, and really enjoys sports games and the outdoors. She just gets really ticked off when people do stupid things. So what does Angela do? She simply kills them in a very inventive way. For example, Lilly got her head mowed over with a lawn mower.

Comcast recently added "Sleepaway Camp III" to their new "FEARnet" section of on-demand movies so I got to watch it again and got a good laugh at all of the kooky antics of the campers. My favorite camper (besides Angela, of course) is Snowboy (Kyle Holman) because he's such a fool; just imagine what Angela does when she gets her hands on him...

In a way, Angela is like the "Borat" of the 80's because she exposed a lot of stupidity and narrow-mindedness among teens. As Angela said, "just taking care of business..."
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on May 12, 2005
Format: DVD
While not the best of the series (that dubious honor has to go to Sleepaway Camp II: Unhappy Campers) this is still a damn fine slasher flick.

Comedic, graphic, and downright loveable, Sleepaway Camp III: Teenage Wasteland, has everything we horror fanatics need. This movie just works so well, due to Pamela Springstein's fantastic and smooth portrayal of Angela Baker, The Angel of Death. In part III, Angela has joined the ranks and gone back to her roots as a fellow camper. And she will have none of these rude, disrespectful, fornicating teenagers camping along side her.

Oh no!! One screw up and your dog meat!

Whether it's a lawnmower or axe to the head, a .45, or just some old fashion "stringing up the flagpole", the Angel of Death always finds creative use for her talents of disposal.

Director Michael A. Simpson and writer Fritz Gordon, wrote and directed Sleepaway Camp parts II and III back to back. Literally, as soon as production stopped on Unhappy Campers, filming for Teenage Wasteland began. This film initially received an X rating, and several gore sequences had to be trimmed down to get an R rating for distributors. However, the DVD does not disappoint!

For almost every murder in the movie, there are the deleted gore sequences in the special features portion that show the killings as originally intended. Awesome!!

The entire Sleepaway Camp series is a gem of a cult classic. Highly recommended! Best to watch in sequence!

ENJOY!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon June 19, 2008
Format: DVD
At first most people will probably see Sleepaway Camp III: Teenage Wasteland has yet another slasher movie in the seemingly never ending slashers of the 1980s. But Sleepaway Camp III has a lot more going on than people might realize and is one of the smarter slasher flicks to come out in the 80s. Upon its release the slasher film was all but dead. And all creativity was pretty much dead. There were a few filmmakers still trying to get that one last film out, but none of these flicks were making much money anymore with the exception of the major franchises, but 1989 even saw the franchises take a major hit in box office numbers.

But where those movies failed is where Sleepaway Camp III: Teenage Wasteland succeeds. Many people miss the point of the Sleepaway Camp sequels. I often hear was that supposed to be scary? It was more funny than scary. Yes people that were the point of the sequels! The makers of the Sleepaway Camp sequels were making more of a parody of the slasher genre. While movies like Scream get praised for that the Sleepaway Camp sequels are ignored.

Slasher flicks often have what one can say a morality tale; even if that wasn't the intention of the filmmakers it seems like you have sex you die, take drugs you die, stuck up you die. If you're obnoxious you die. The only person to normally survive these movies is the innocent virginal girl. And that is what the Sleepaway Camp sequels play up to. Both Sleepaway Camp sequels are really a lot smarter than people give them credit for.

I thought the first Sleepaway Camp was alright, the main reason for the cult status is due to the ending. If not for that I doubt the original would be as remembered as it is. But I just love Sleepaway Camp II and III. Both are just so much fun. Check your brain at the door and just enjoy the ride.

Writer Fritz Gordon delivers one hell of a funny screenplay. First up all the characters are pretty much named off characters from West Side Story, The Brady Bunch and the Munsters so right there that should clue you in that this is a spoof more than a straight up horror flick. Slasher flicks are so well known for their sex, nudity and obnoxious characters and Fritz Gordon nails that big time.

All the characters are very obnoxious with the exception really of a couple of them. But you see that was the point, all of that was the intention. Fritz Gordon writes a very clever spoof, but due to the slapstick comedy it gets lost on too many viewers and they take the movie too serious.

Director Michael Simpson doesn't try and play these scenes straight. He knows what he has to do and boy does he ever deliver. The running time is only about 77-minutes so there really isn't a slow moment. Simpson plays up to all the slasher clichés and spoofs them. Also Simpson and Gordon seem to do the impossible and actually create original kill scenes.

Most of the movie is shot during the day with the final act taking place at night. Most horror movies work best with a nighttime setting, but in Sleepaway Camp III is the exception. Since the movie wasn't meant to be the typical horror flick the mostly daytime scenes actually work quite well. Michael Simpson gets the job done here all of his scenes play out well. He knows what then audience wants and he delivers that. You get nudity and gore that's what the slasher movie is all about.

Pamela Springsteen returns as Angela Baker and again knocks it out of the ballpark with a really funny and very entertaining performance. Angela is pretty much the anti-hero. The viewers will be rooting for her all the way through. In most horror movies when you are rooting for the villain that normally means the makers didn't do a good job on the characters, but Angela was the anti-hero and we are meant to cheer for her. It might sound weird that we wanna see Angela kill the characters off, but it works well. I can honestly say Angela is by far my favorite character in a slasher flick. Not so much the original Angela played by Felissa Rose, who was very good in her installment, but for me it's Pamela all the way.

Angela after dispatching one of her victims always has a one-liner, which might be a bit silly, but again that's the point. Angela is often over-looked among the Iconic horror movie killers, but she is by far my favorite.

As I stated the kill scenes are original; we get one girl tied to a flag pole and raised up than dropped right on her head. I just love Angela's line as she raises her up when the victims asks why, Angela says, "Because you're a cheerleader, a fornicator, a drug taker, a nasty snotty bigot and besides that... you're real nice."

We also get a firecracker up the nose, a girl getting rundown by a garbage truck, one guy tied to a tree with a rope and the other part of the rope tied to a truck, which results in him getting ripped a part and the and what might be my favorite death by lawnmower. If people watching these crazy over the top kill scenes still don't understand this movie isn't meant to be taken serious well I don't even know what to say.

I also love the characters in Sleepaway Camp III all of them are so much fun. Bobby Stark played by Haynes Brooke was one of the best, when asked what his favorite movie is he replies with, "Ones that make America look great, like Rambo Part III, Great movie." Riff played by Daryl Wilcher is another great character. Everything he says is pretty much a four letter word, but it's really funny.

The tradition of Sleepaway Camp is in every movie there is some kind of decapitation. And I love the part when Angela says, "It seems every year I'm at camp someone loses their head." It just little things like that is what makes me love the Sleepaway Camp sequels.

The character of Barney Whitmore played by Cliff Brand is the more serious character. He's the father of one of the characters killed by Angela in Sleepaway Camp II. The guy is hell-bent on wanting revenge on Angela, and when he realizes Angela is at the camp you expect this big showdown. But Angela takes him out rather easily; some people complained about that, but remember these movies are about Angela. She may be the killer, but she's also the heroine in a sense.

Though Sleepaway Camp III also does have a bit of a twist, Marcia played by Tracey Griffith isn't so innocent like we thought she was. I thought that was an interesting twist considering most of these movies rarely offer a twist on the final girl.

Sleepaway Camp III: Teenage Wasteland may not go down as one of the Iconic horror films, but when it comes to just sheer fun you'll be hard pressed to find one more than Sleepaway Camp III.
4040 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on September 1, 2005
Format: DVD
I woke up at 3 in the morning and turned on HBO and watched this and the clever Angela Baker is Back! Ohhhhhh I'm a happy camper! She returns back to the depressing camp And got more good kills but there are some scenes with her flash backs to let you know how she became this way! You must think I'm an idiot for giving it 4 stars but early in the morning, it could have a BIG affect on you!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Format: DVD
I've gotten into the habit recently of watching horror movie sequels back-to-back and then reviewing them. I thought perhaps I was being anti-social, so I recently watched all four SLEEPAWAY CAMPS on four consecutive dates with the same girl. See? I'm not antisocial. Just weird.

Sleepaway Camp -- The original movie is bizarre, to say the least. After a mild opening in which most of a family is killed with a speedboat, the movie cuts to two children, Ricky and Angela, being shipped off to Camp Arawak by Angela's mom, a ludicrously spacy woman. Angela, the surviving daughter from the movie's intro, appears to be mute. Ricky dutifully cares for her throughout the movie. Aside from an old black cook and a well-meaning but clueless counselor named Ronnie, the rest of the cast is almost entirely composed of mean, selfish, antagonistic people. But, phew! They start getting killed.

The first person to kick the bucket at camp is a lecherous cook who openly brags about his pedophilia. He's not kidding, either. When he is introduced to Angela during lunch, in his busy kitchen, the first thing he does is drag her into a supply closet with the intention of exposing himself (and probably more). Later, he has a large tureen of boiling water dumped onto his head. Zing!

The movie tries to make itself mysterious, but it's not hard to figure out who's doing the killing. Every time Angela is picked on in some way, the person eventually bites it in some overly dramatic and silly deaths. However, although the whodunit of it is not a big surprise, there's still a lot of mystery to the movie. Specifically, my date and I wondered how it ever got made. The budget appears to have been twenty dollars, and -- up to that point -- both of us claimed to never have seen such horrific acting. It was a stupid, poorly contrived, horribly done film, and the writer/director, Robert Hiltzick, had dedicated the entire thing to his late mother, a woman the dedication describes as "a doer."

We couldn't stop laughing. I don't think the film was meant to be so funny. Maybe it was. Maybe that's where the phrase "campy" came from. Either way, we enjoyed ourselves. Four (accidental?) stars.

Sleepaway Camp II - Unhappy Campers -- The very first thing that happens in this film: Angela (same character, different actress), is now a counselor at Camp Rolling Hills. Within the first two minutes of the film, she bludgeons a female camper and then cuts out her tongue, punishment for sneaking over to the boy's camp and telling scary bonfire stories. Angela, apparently, is like a camp chastity Nazi or something. My date is disgusted and already regretting her decision.

It's obvious right away that this film is not only far more graphic and explicit (when the girls aren't topless and joking about their breasts, they are trying to get slutty with each other's boyfriends), but it is also not interested at all in suspense or drama. Angela kills every single person without even a "how do you do?" That might sound like a spoiler, but this movie doesn't have any secrets or tricks up its sleeve. A camp of sinners and sleazeballs gets sliced and diced. The end.

There is a subplot concerning the two wholesomest kids in camp finding each other amidst all the devious tramps and the people being stabbed and drowned in outhouses, but these kids were apparently only halfsome, because, as I pointed out, they die along with everyone else. But I guarantee you, I didn't ruin the movie for you. No. This movie is just another dumb, horribly written and directed film that is actually pretty funny. Just as funny as the first one, though.

My date refused to finish it after the outhouse scene. Four stars.

Sleepaway Camp III - Teenage Wasteland -- In the first two minutes of this film, the viewer is treated to more pointless nudity and a death by garbage truck (driven by Angela). She is now on her way to Camp New Horizons, an ill-advised social experiment that forces juvenile delinquents and spoiled rich kids into tents together. This place is run by a dangerously idiotic couple and seems to have little to no funding. The only person with any degree of dignity is the camp's only counselor (!) a guy named Barney who is also an officer of the law AND the father of a camper who died in the previous film.

The dialogue and acting in this film make the first two look like Schindler's List. The characters make wild, irrational decisions. People are despicable for no good reason, and Angela never struggles with finding the time, energy, and secrecy to dispatch of most of them. She is aided by the fact that this camp, like the previous two, seems to have no schedule of events or basic supervision. In fact, budget constraints must be lower than ever, because this time around the place appears to be run out of two woodsheds. And yet, in the credits, there is this: Mr. Simpson's Porsche Provided by MEGDAL IMPORTS. Mr. Simpsons is the director, and to the best of my knowledge, neither he nor his Porsche appear in the film. Another horrible horror movie that we couldn't stop laughing at.

My date said that the acting was even worse than the first film. She gave it two thumb up. Me: Four stars.

NOTE: THERE IS APPARENTLY A FOURTH FILM SOMEWHERE OUT THERE. I COULD NOT FIND IT, NOR KNOW ANYONE WHO IS WILLING TO VOUCH FOR ITS EXISTENCE.

Return to Sleepaway Camp -- The creator, Hiltzik, was not responsible for parts 2 or 3. They were the work of writer Fritz Gordon and director Michael Simpson. For some wild reason, Hiltzik, who'd done NOTHING since the first film (according to iMDB), decided to make a REAL sequel to his first film. This is it, a movie so absolutely awful in every way, I found it nothing short of mesmerizing and have watched it twice again since.

It's obvious that Hiltzik is catering to his fans, because the first death is almost identical to the first death in the first film: rude cook dies by hot liquid. The head cook is, yet again, an elderly black man (Isaac Hayes who acts in every scene as if he has recently gone blind). Muscley, dim-witted Ronnie is back as the head counselor. Reprising his role from the original, Paul DeAngelo makes bad acting look like a fine art. I'm not joking. I could watch that guy overact for hours and hours.

The camp is run by The Sopranos's Vincent Pastore, and is once again filled with the most mean-spirited, vile children ever. The kids are so rude and unruly, when they are punished for their misbehavior (by being sent to their cabins), I'm surprised they don't just hit the counselor with a rock. The hammy acting will astound you. The dialogue will baffle and delight. Even the extras in this film are as weird and wooden as life-sized cardboard puppets.

The plot this time around is not very different at all. One camper, a kid named Alan, is the butt of everyone's jokes, and those who taunt and tease him end up meeting grisly ends. The thing is, Alan is the whiniest and most annoying movie character since Luke Skywalker. Played with absolutely no consistency at all by Michael Gibney, Alan is the movie's most confusing character. Does this boy have a mental disorder? Is he schizophrenic? Why does he love frogs so much? Why doesn't he ever, ever, ever change his clothes? Why is he such a jerk?

Yes. Alan is just as annoying and mean as everyone else, and yet when the camp gangs up on him and shoots spit balls at him or yells at him to stop making flamethrowers out of lighters and spray cans, he starts complaining that everyone is picking on him because "he's different." He chats with his brother about a mysterious "fever." "The doctor said there'd always be effects," Alan moans as he pets a frog.

It makes no sense. Nor does the rest of the film. The original actors who portrayed Ricky (Jonahan Tiersten) and Angela (Felissa Rose) reprise their roles here, which is a bit of a treat. Tiersten has obviously done no acting since the first film. He doesn't even bother looking interested, casually smoking a cigarette during a tense hunt in the woods for the bodies of slain children. Rose isn't exactly recognizable for much of the film, but it won't be hard to know point her out after about ten minutes. My date did it in twelve.

My date hated the film. So did my neighbor, who refused to watch anymore after about thirty minutes. But me? I couldn't get enough. It is, without question, the most hilariously awful film I've seen since Starship Troopers. I chuckle now just thinking about it.

I see that Hiltzik has started production on a SLEEPAWAY CAMP REUNION. Bravo, Mr. Hiltzik. I doubt very much that you'll be able to top the inane silliness, the incomprehensibly horrible acting, the deliciously cheesy plot "twists," but I'll be glad to watch you try.

Even if my date is no longer returning my texts.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on June 23, 2004
Format: DVD
Angela is back in the second sequel to 1983's "Sleepaway Camp." As this film begins, she kills a girl heading to Camp New Horizons and impersonates her for the rest of the film. Camp New Horizons is an experimental camp, as half of the campers are from the upper-class portions of society, and half are from the lower-class. But economic status doesn't really matter, because they're all dumb as dirt, willing to show skin whenever possible, and all have loose morals and like to sin a lot, which we all know Angela is not happy about.
The campers are supposed to be young teens, but all look about 26. And there's only about ten campers in the whole gosh-durn camp, which seems illogical, but whatever. We come to see teens dying! And teens dying you shall see. As Angela gets to know her fellow campers, she soon sees what evil individuals they really are - some curse at her, some use firecrackers for bad purposes, and others fornicate when they're supposed to be fishing and doing other wholesome activities. So Angela has to do what she thinks is right and clean up the camp. There's even a wistful moment as Angela recalls what camp used to be, when she won the award for camper of the week (from SC2). "You like me! You really, really like me!"
There's humor and silliness, and a ton of funny throwaway jokes. For instance, while fishing Angela hooks a hockey mask that looks suspiciously like one used by that villain in that other horror film franchise. "What day is this?" she asks. Why it's Saturday...Saturday the 14th, someone alerts her.
It ain't Citizen Kane, but that doesn't really matter, does it? It's just a fun slasher film that'll have you laughing and groaning, and isn't that what life's about.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on October 23, 2011
Format: DVD
I've read like a zillion reviews on here about how this movie (along with the second one) are not scary and the reviewer acts like they had no idea that it would be a horror comedy. First of all, read the back of the box. That should say enough. And the cover doesn't really scream horror either. Maybe you should do your homework before watching a movie, read some reviews and see what you're in store for. But that just really bugs the crap out of me...

Anyway, on to the movie. While I perfer "Sleepaway Camp II: Unhappy Campers", I like this one second best. The original is alright, but it has bad acting. I'm sure you could say 2 & 3 have bad acting, but these movies also aren't being serious. The original takes it's self too seriously. Anyway, part 3 is kinda a replica of 2 with an ending that is slighty more satisifying. There's not as much gore, the characters aren't exactly likeable like the sequal. I personally loved Ally, lol. But you'll probably be cheering for Angela the entire time. So if you liked part 2, then watch this. But go in with an open mind and make sure that you don't expect to see HORROR because it's NOT supposed to be SCARY. Alright? Okay.

-Raymond Leslie
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 7, 2005
Format: DVD
This is the 3rd installment to the "Sleepaway Camp" series and you guessed it Angela is back. If you are unfamilar with this series see my reviews.

We left off last time at Camp Rolling Hills where Angela went on her killing spree! Now the camp has been sold to Herman and Lilly Miranda and they have re-opened it as "Camp New Horizonz".

This time we bring together inner city kids with the high class teens to begin a lesson on learning how to cope with one another. Sharing in the wonders of the great outdoors.

It doesn't take long before Angela starts to repeat her history and the murders begin. Will anyone but Angela survive this time...

Again the gore does not let down our horror fans and Angela finds new ways to off her victims.

If you enjoyed the first two movies you have to see this one. I will say the first is my favorite with a unsuspected ending! That is a must see!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 21, 2009
Format: DVD
The third movie in the Sleepaway Camp series is very similar to the second movie in that the main protagonist is Angela Baker and we watch as she dipatches of "bad campers" in a grizzly manner.

The movie starts off with Angela killing a New York girl and taking her place a Camp New Horizons, where a group of upperclass rich kids and a group of lowerclass kids are being joined for "an experience is sharing".
Of course, the teenagers get up to the usual things such as swearing, sex and drugs and Angela has to kill them in gruesome ways.

It hasn't got as much of a feel-good factor to it as Sleepaway Camp 2 as in this movie Angela seems a bit depressed in places and thinks back fondly on the events of the second movie.

A very good movie which I would deffinatly reccomend to fans of the series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Format: DVD
Angela (Pamela Springstein) is still on the loose just waiting to go to another camp where she can torture, torment and murder bad campers and naughty counselors with any possible weapon around.

The 3rd installment of the "Sleepaway Camp" trilogy is truly weak but has some good kills here like the firecracker shoved up a guy's face and a buried body with the head sticking out of the ground and getting slaughtered by a lawnmower. I definitely digged the sexy Asian chick in this movie especially her incredible topless scene, hubba hubba :)! i'm hoping the upcoming 4th movie will be an improvement over this one.

The DVD has a good transfer and good sound quality with decent extras like still gallery, deleted scenes and gore footage, audio commentary, trailer and behind the scenes footages & outtakes.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Sleepaway Camp
Sleepaway Camp by Felissa Rose (DVD - 2000)
$29.99

Sleepaway Camp II: Unhappy Campers
Sleepaway Camp II: Unhappy Campers by Pamela Springsteen (DVD - 2002)
$37.99

 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.