Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon Sixx AM Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 29, 2009
The Sony wireless remote RMT-DSLR1 is a very useful accessory for your Alpha DSLR. This remote allows you to trigger the shutter of your camera with a 2 seconds delay or like if you pressed the shutter with your finger.

However, this remote is also meant to be used while checking your photos on playback.

The remote allows the following functions:

While shooting:

Remotely activate the shutter.

Remotely activate the shutter with a 2 seconds delay.

Enter Menu and browse through options and make changes.

Enter playback mode.

While on playback:

Start slide show.

Show histograms.

Display pictures in an index fashion; from 5 to 20.

Rotate pictures.

Zoom in and zoom out.

Display a picture in picture while zooming in. This means that if you zoom on a picture, you can have the option to see the whole picture in a tiny square so you can see where youre zooming in relative to the whole picture OR just zoom in.

Access the Menu while on playback.

Delete pictures.

Browse through photos and menu options with the arrow keys and select with the middle cursor.

Print your pictures (This requires the camera to be connected to a PictureBridge compatible printer).

This remote uses a CR5 type battery, which is the most common battery size used by wrist watches.

In order to use this remote control, you need to set your camera to the remote control function located in Drive menu. (In the A700/850/900, press the Drive button)

Pros:

Wireless release of your camera. No cables needed, allows you to work freely and walk away from the camera if needed.

Complete access to playback functions.

Small, light and portable.

Good long battery life. (Around a year give or take)

Cons:

Setting the camera to Remote control mode means a quicker drain of battery life.

Can't use this remote unless youre facing forward to the camera, since the IR sensor is located on the grip.

The 2 seconds delay function does NOT mean Mirror Lock Up (a function that raises the mirror before the actual exposure is recorded in order to avoid vibrations from mirror slap). In the A700, you can have 2 seconds MLU if you use the 2 second self timer, but if you use the wireless remote, the camera just waits two seconds and then fires WITHOUT MLU. MLU is a useful function when shooting macros or slow shutter speed photos.

This remote control can focus before firing. For that, you need to make sure your camera is set to AF Priority = Focus, that way when you press the button labeled Shutter, the camera will look for focus, if it gets it, it will fire, if it can't, then it won't. If the camera is set to Focus Priority = Release, the camera does NOT focus when using the Shutter button, just fires. You will have to focus first with the actual shutter button and then fire with the remote.

NOTE ABOUT SLOW SHUTTER SPEEDS: There is another review of this product where its stated that this remote does not work with BULB shutter speed (a speed where the shutter stays open as long as you want and closes when you take your finger off the shutter), this is FALSE. This remote control DOES let you work with Bulb speed, the only thing you got to do is set the camera to Bulb, then focus using the shutter button and once youre ready, fire with the shutter button in the wireless remote. To end the exposure, press Shutter again in the remote and that should end the exposure.

This remote control used to be sold ONLY with the A700/900 so if you lost it or broke it, had to buy another camera to get it. Sony got wise and now they offer it as a stand alone accessory.

It's price may be high for the kind of product it is, but this is a multi-functional wireless remote control, and there arent many remotes like this out there.

If you just want a remote control to release the shutter, I recommend looking into the wired remote controls Sony and others offer.

But if you dont like wires, this is a great option to go with.

P.S. Cameras that support this remote control are: A230/330/380/500/550/700/850/900. So if you own one of these cameras and want a cheap remote release, this may be an option worth considering.
88 comments|85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2011
This remote has 14 buttons, 12 of them will ONLY work when the camera is connected to a TV

Here is the list of the buttons:

1- Shutter
2- 2sec shutter

*the next ones will only work when connected to a TV

3- Historigram
4- Display
5- Index
6- Rotate
7- Playback
8- Menu
9- Print
10- Transmitter
11- Slide Show
12- Scale up/down
13- Delete
14- up/down/left/right/center multi-selector
11 comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2010
had tried cheaper ones but never worked properly with my NEX-5. This one is perfect, one shot one kill. Only concern is that it is a little bit thick. comparing to the generic ones, but as this one works great, I am giving 5 stars.
66 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2011
I bought this because the BULB function for Sony A55 requires me to push the shutter button on the camera continuously. if you want to get into night photography, this remote is a must. with the BULB function you can hit the shutter one time on the remote and it will keep going until you hit it again to stop. all of the other functions on the remote will only work if the camera is plugged into a HDTV using the HDMI cable. (whoever wrote the review that says all the menu options are working while you take photos is 100% FALSE, learn to read the manual before you write reviews)

I had no trouble using the shutter button remotely near my Sony A55, front/back/side all works perfectly.

Here is a youtube video of the accessories I purchased through Amazon for my A55, including this remote. youtube dot com/watch?v=QzY6VoUKTOU
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2011
Used on NEX-5N

After reading reviews I was worried that I was going to get a bunch of extra buttons on the remote that would be of no use to me (other say that only 2sec shutter and regular shutter work). After using it I found that all of the buttons on the remote work, when in video out mode. this allowed me to change folders, and go through pictures remotely while my camera was connected to the TV through the HDMI connection. Range seemed to be on par with other IR remotes like the one for D90. If you know how IR operates you will understand that it has some limitations e.g. difficulty in bright sunlight and inability to go through walls, just like majority of TV remotes out there. I am pleased with my purchase and would recommend to interested buyers out there. The remote despite its deceptive appearance on the picture is rather small, about 2" long 1" wide and 1/5" thick.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2010
Apparently they have changed that recently. I just got in this model of remote for my A230, and on testing it I found that the lens does indeed focus when you press the shutter button, and that you can use the remote from in front of or behind the camera. I don't know if they changed the camera or the remote. I would guess that they changed the camera by moving the sensor on it, but I do not know.
I'm very happy with it.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2012
I wanted to be able to get in the picture and trigger the camera using the remote. It does that and it does that with a two-second delay (I guess so I can hide the remote before the picture triggers). But all the rest of the buttons are for video and slide show playback when the camera is connected to a TV which I don't do. I wish Sony had a smaller basic (and less expensive) remote that just took pictures and save me the cost and unnecessary size of a remote with buttons I'll never use.
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2013
The infrared remotes, including this one, don't work well for the serious photographer. They only allow single shots. The control function on the camera menu to allow you to use the remote is the same one that lets you bracket for exposure or choose high speed continuous shooting. So, you can choose to use the infrared remote OR to bracket, but not both. If you just want to take a shot with you in it this remote works fine. If you want a shutter release for HDR photography or tripod work, either buy a wired cable shutter release or a radio controlled wireless shutter release.
The wired type of release attaches via a cable to the side of the camera. With the wired release it is basically a dongle that allows you to trip the shutter without touching and shaking the camera. The wireless variety has the wired dongle that attaches the same way but also has a radio remote controller. The wireless lets you get in the picture that same as this will but you don't need a line of sight to trigger the shutter as it is radio controlled. You can be behind the camera and still use it. I have used it to set the camera near a bird nest then stayed further back so as not to scare the birds. In this case I set my A55 to shoot at the 7 frames per second it is capable of. You can't do that with the infrared remote.

Of course if you are looking for a remote control to control the camera when attached to the TV, this is the remote for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2012
Just received this item for my new Sony a57, it only works for pictures under 2 automatic modes and slide shows when connected to a TV; useless for taking video or for taking continuous pictures. What a disappointment.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2010
Of all the buttons that you see on the pictures of the remote, only two are functional for actual shooting: the shutter button and the 2 sec button. The others will only function when the camera is connected to a TV.

The remote is IR, which means you must point it at the camera to operate it. It will operate my A550 camera from behind and from the left side as well as from the front. This is surprising, since a cheaper, third-party, two-button remote, which is sold under the brand name of Photon, will only fire the A550 from the front.

Note that the remote is very compact: about 1.5 x 3.75 x 0.5. The Photon remote is even smaller: 1.5 x 3.3 x 0.25. At the time of this review, Amazon only carried a Photon remote for Cannon.

I won't reproduce all the manual's information here. To download the manual, use Google to get to to Sony eSupport and enter RMT-DSLR1. Note that SonyStyle stays sold out of this item. I recommend buying from Amazon, where you can avoid shipping costs.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.