Industrial-Sized Deals Shop all Back to School Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums $5 Off Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Shop Popular Services pivdl pivdl pivdl  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Gear Up for Football STEM Toys & Games

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

266 of 267 people found the following review helpful
This printer satisfies every gripe I have about printers. Usually there's some quality about one that makes you say, "It would have been perfect, but if only it didn't have this one problem." Each aspect of this printer is as good or better than pretty much all other printers out there at this time. And I'm a person who is relentless when it comes to researching products before buying them for myself.

Resolution: It goes up to 1200x1200, which is the highest out there currently. 1200x1200 is best for text. But it also does 2400x600, which is typically better for graphics. Most other laser printers only do up to 2400x600.

Toner: Cheap! You can pick up "compatible" cartridges for $30 now which will last 8000 pages. This is the cheapest of any printer I've seen. Other printers (such as HP) cost $70 for 2000-3000 pages even with a "compatible" cartridge.

Print quality: Excellent. I used a magnifying glass to try to detect any imperfections in text or graphics but didn't find much. No white raster lines, "jaggies", smudging, bleeding, noise or random dots printed anywhere. Large black rectangles are solid and consistent. Gray scale patterns didn't appear to have any defects.

Memory: 32MB. Most other laser printers only do up to 8MB currently. You need memory if you want to do full-page graphics. It lets you expand memory by adding an inexpensive ($30 new) 512MB memory card. Many printers don't even allow expansion, or they force you to buy their own special memory cards at a huge price.

Paper: Doesn't jam. Easy to load. Has a manual feeder also. Allows 2 extra paper feeders if you want. Most printers don't allow that.

Duplex mode: Fast, easy to use, saves paper. I'll never buy another printer without it.

Paper curl: You wouldn't notice it unless you were specifically looking for it. Barely detectable even with duplex mode printing and cheap paper. Even envelopes print with hardly any curl.

Rear output tray: Has it! Many printers don't. Its predecessor model didn't. This "straight out the back" mode allows you to print envelopes, cards, and special paper without ever bending it if you really want perfection.

On/Off switch: Has one! I mention this because many printers don't. Without one, a printer is left on all the time, which uses 10 watts of power (not much, but still) and reduces product lifetime somewhat.

Lifetime: The predecessor model (HL-5250DN) has great reviews. People said they're still using it 3 years later. The HL-5370DW has just about the same design, and I expect it will last a while. Not a cheap, throw-away printer like you often see.

Networking: Haven't tried it. But it has it, and it will become very useful when I get a wireless laptop to add to my existing desktop PC (both will need to share it).

Languages: It speaks both Postscript 3 and PCL. That guarantees it will be compatible with any OS out there, even older ones. And since it doesn't use "host based" language like cheaper printers do, it won't eat up your CPU and slow things down during printing.

In conclusion, this is a well-designed, high quality printer with low long-term operating costs, and I'm completely satisfied. I'll add an update to this review if I ever encounter problems with it.

- Steve
2121 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
210 of 213 people found the following review helpful
on July 2, 2009
This little boy is excellent. And you can't beat it for the price too. Also extremely easy to set up.

I am coming from an HP LaserJet, also 30 papers per minute. So I was comparing it to the HP when I shopped.

My HP, while it served me good, was not as sharp black as the Brother is. I like the print results from the Brother much better. Plus, the Brother have settings whether you're printing text only, graphics, general, or office documents, in addition you can choose "manual" and tweak the settings yourself to your liking. I also like that the size of the printer is pretty small.

The HP was a little faster from sleep mode (like 8 seconds), while the Brother 5370 takes approx. 14 seconds. Not a biggie. The processor was faster in the HP, but 99% of the time you won't notice the difference. Once it starts printing, it spits out papers like crazy. Very fast. One important note, though: The fast 32 ppm is only if you are printing in 600 dpi mode. If you need the higher quality 1200 dpi mode, print speed will be down by half! But there again, 99% of the time the 600 dpi is more than enough. Some higher quality graphics may require 1200 dpi, though.

Printing envelopes thru the multi-purpose paper tray is very good, and they're not getting curled (like many old Brothers did) as long as you open the rear output tray. It can not print thru the regular printing area (if you do, it will still print, but envelopes will get wrinkled). I miss the HP in that area. It's much less cumbersome.

The printer is quite noisy. But most fast laser printers are noisy.

The duplexer worked beautifully. You just select "Duplex" or "Booklet", and the printer does the rest. Very good job with that.

I did not use the wireless networking, but from the manual it seems to be a little complicated. Also from the manual, is the following: "...Although the printer can be used in both, wired & wireless network, only ONE of the connections methods can be used at a time..." So keep that in mind if you want to use both.

I would suggest the following improvements, if Brother is interested to listen:

- Make it quieter;
- Add a little high-quality display instead of all the lamps (also miss from my HP - all cheap inkjet have'em today!);
- If out of paper, it should beep, so I know to add paper (optional - not everyone will like beeps);
- Enable the multi-purpose paper tray to be opened with one hand (like my HP), not force me to use both hands.

Overall, though, it is a pleasure to use. Highly recommended.

**UPDATE**

I contacted Brother to help me setup wireless network. I must say I am amazed at the support I got. I can't recall if I ever had such a good experience with any other company! No waiting, knowledgeable staff, and helped me in less than minutes! And it works like a charm!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
99 of 101 people found the following review helpful
on June 1, 2009
Pros:
* super fast print speeds - this thing is crazy fast even on duplex
* fast warm up
* excellent print quality
* great variety of print options (duplex, booklet, scaling, header/footer print, watermark, multiple page [2 in 1, 4 in 1, 9 in 1, 16 in 1, 25 in 1 and the reverse 1 in 2x2, 1 in 3x3, 1 in 4x4 and 1 in 5x5] - it has some options about running macros, but I haven't read anything on it yet
* easy wireless setup, very easy
* sharp tech support - brother has NOT outsourced their tech support. I had someone on the phone in 1 minute who knew the product.
* wireless - I was actually going to hard wire it, but my cable wasn't long enough and it would have taken a circus act to get it hooked up
* from magazine reviews it's my understanding that the cost/page is cheap
* cheap - I bought it during a $70 off sale at the home depot of office products
* comes w/a standard toner cartridge instead of a starter toner cartridge

Cons:
* ever so slight paper curl w/one-sided printing
* slightly more pronounced paper curl when printing duplex automatically (it has a manual duplex feature too)
* the print options don't appear to allow you to save your common settings as favorites

The paper curl wasn't an issue for me, but I remember reading reviews on other printers where this was important to them.
I'll try and upload some pics so you can judge the curl for yourself.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
193 of 207 people found the following review helpful
on March 15, 2011
I print 200 - 400 pages of contracts a day in duplex mode. I have never written a review on Amazon before, but the tech tyranny of this oppressive printer has prompted me to share.

In summation, this printer has been crippled by the Brother company's greed. This printer forces you to exchange toner cartridges at a specific page print count rather than based on actual toner level. This forces you to purchase a new toner even when your current toner is printing with perfect quality. I have been forced by the printer to change the toner every two weeks. This is $150 per month for small business usage. $1800 a year in toner is absurd for any printer. If I was running out of toner I would be OK with this, because I would know that I had received what I had paid for. With this printer, its arbitrarily imposed page count guarantees a customer screwing. Brother probably disagrees, but they built the thing, so I'll leave it to you to decide.

The cartridges have an internal mechanism that releases when input into the printer. The mechanism is activated the first time the toner is inserted, guaranteeing replacement of any toner that is removed to be refilled or even shaken.

The printer also uses an internal laser to measure toner level inside the cartridge through two small reflective pieces built into each cartridge. If the toner is low the printer stops until a new cartridge is inserted. Since this happens based on a page count in the printer's memory printing will stop during the middle of a print job rather than gradually degrade in quality, which is the typical indicating a cartridge needs to be replaced. What this means for real life application is....stop your work and go get a brand new ($75) Brother toner cartridge, then finish your print.

To add insult to injury, about half of the time you install a new official Brother toner, the printer will still not unlock itself and you must call technical support to get the reset sequence. This is a minimum 30 min phone call.

Brother has spent more time and energy into designing systems to make you purchase their toner than they have into building a quality printer. This printer may work if you print less than 3k pages a year. For everyone else or a small business is is a completely worthless money pit.

As I could not find it anywhere online, I am posting the Brother printer toner reset sequence here. While it won't save you from a crippled printer, it may help current owners avoid the dreaded tech support phone call.

Brother Toner Reset Sequence
HL-5370DW Model

1.With Printer off open the front door
2.Hold the Status & Go button as you turn the printer on.
3.All lights will turn on. Keep holding until status goes off.
4.Press the GO button 2x.
5.The Paper, Drum & Toner light will come on
6.Press GO 6x
7.Status light will turn red
8.Close the front.

Brother Factory Reset Sequence

1.Turn Printer off
2.Hold Status & Go button as you turn the printer on.
3.All lights will turn on. Keep holding until status light goes off.
4.Press GO button 10x
5.Printer will reset.
2727 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
on July 30, 2011
This is a great printer EXCEPT the toner cartridge sensor is programmed to show "empty" when there is lots left. Worse, the printer will not print without a new cartridge! BAD, IMMORAL DESIGN BROTHER. Shame on you, Brother. You can get around this purposeful "mistake" by putting black tape on the sensor hole on the cartridge. This hole is on the right side of the cartridge (as you pull it out) and looks like a porthole on a ship. It will work for MANY more pages with the sensor disabled. Spread the word.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
102 of 116 people found the following review helpful
on September 25, 2009
I got this printer to replace my 11 year old HP 6MP. The specs for this replacement printer are great, but I think the reality is a bit different.

First the good news. This printer setup easy with both Mac OS X 10.6.1 and Vista and XP. The Mac was the easiest by far, because OS X just went out and downloaded the correct driver automatically. Vista and XP require you download the driver, then do the old Add Printer routine. (It comes with a driver CD, but its always best to get the latest.)

I didn't try wireless, but it looks easy to configure ASSUMING you can hook it up to a wired Ethernet connection to configure the wireless.

Once in the setup for the printer, which is pretty basic in design but full of every imaginable setting and feature you could want. There is e-mail warning, different emulations, you name it. Some settings aren't really apparent and there isn't much help on the page. (I guess they expect you to go on-line or printout the manual on the CD. The included paper manual basically tells you how to connect it and not a whole lot more.)

So as a printer works. That is the best I can say.

So the negative? Just about everything else. The overall quality seems fair, but the real problems are with the operation. There is no LCD display, and the lights are a bit cryptic without the guide to decode it all. It print fast, but rattles, and when it prints, the pages don't stack well. Pages just shoot out and after three or four pages, they start falling on the floor. There is a fold-out paper catcher but it works poorly. And this is with letter size. Forget legal. Perhaps worse is that the paper doesn't stack neatly. Print more than about 30 pages and you have to stand there and watch it.

Single or double sided, pages have a pretty strong curl to them. Forget using this for resumes or business presentations.

And then there is the toner. The drum is rated for 25,000 pages and is changed independently of the toner. It's about $100. It comes with a 3000 page toner which is available locally for about $80. A larger 8000 page toner is about $120. So think about this. The toner and drum it comes with costs $180 to replace. Almost the same price as the whole printer. When the drum needs to be replaced, you might as well replace the printer. This is at 25,000 copies, and this printer is rated for 30,000 a month. Yeah, right.

But wait, there is more. When in the setup, you see that other components including the laser are only rated for 100,000 pages. If you actually did print 30,000 pages a month like its rated, the printer life would be UNDER 4 months.

So in summary, despite the "workgroup" image and the 30,000 monthly page duty, this is a very light duty printer for very non-critical applications. It has the specs and features, unfortunately it doesn't have the quality or durability. If you don't expect much from it, you won't be disappointed.
99 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on July 13, 2009
Fast, quality printing with double-sided capability, comes with a full standard 3000-page toner unit in the box, has wireless and wired and USB and parallel interfaces, all at an amazing price.

On the other hand, toner costs seem to be quite high. The standard 3000-page TN-620 is currently about $57 here on Amazon, while the oversized 8000-page TN-650 is $91. That's way above the price of similar HP toner cartridges. The "toner save" setting (or whatever it's called) produces nice results, at least for text... I wonder how much toner it actually saves?

The paper curl is mildly annoying on single-sided print and quite prominent on double-sided. Take a printed page and set it on the table, and the top and bottom edges are sticking up. Sticking WAY up for a double-sided print. That paper must really get run around some tight rollers. On the paper that I'm using, the curl does relax fairly quickly.

I didn't see where it said anything on the packaging, but setting it up for wireless setup will probably require initially setting the printer up wired. Once you've got the printer configured, you can lose the cord. I imagine that most of us wireless users still have at least one network cable lying around, but it'd be nice if you had some warning.

The printer drivers installed fine on a 64-bit Vista system, an XP tower, and an XP netbook (the latter required copying the installation CD onto a thumb drive). I'd configured the printer with a static IP address, and there was no problem at all getting all three systems talking to the printer. Considering the amount of grief that I usually get from drivers and configuration (especially on Vista-64), I was astounded. Everything went like it was supposed to.

When you go to actually print a document, the "properties" panels aren't as well organized as I'd like but they're not really bad.

As has become standard practice these days, there is no paper manual except for a quick-start. The manual is on the CD. Someday I'll have to look at it and see what all the buttons and features are for.

In summary, there are certainly better printers to be had, but it'd be pretty hard to find a better one at this price.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
on October 1, 2010
Our company purchased 10 of these printers, and we've had them deployed for a few months now at remote sites on a pure wired network (no wireless setup). They print great, and are otherwise very reliable little machines.

We have them set to a static IP address with APIPA disabled; it is the exact same setup at all locations (corporate standard).

Then they started failing. What occurs is the following:

1) Printer is humming along happily
2) Printer randomly loses static IP address setting
3) Printer re-enables APIPA
4) Printer pulls random 169.xxx.xxx.xxx address
5) Wireless is still disabled

The only solution that we've been able to find for this is to reset the printer entirely to default and re-enter all settings from scratch. Updating the firmware did not fix the issue. Nor did using the Brother Network Connection Repair Tool, which won't help in this situation; I don't want to update the printer settings on 50+ computers for one printer only have to revert them later to the standard IP address settings we use in our company.

Contacting Brother technical support via phone has been completely useless. The script monkey on the other end was no help, and there was no tier 2 support. There is no solution for this issue at this time other than sending someone on site and resetting to default.

Buy with caution if you want to put this on a wired network and leave it alone.
77 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on September 6, 2009
Ordered the printer with Amazon's free "Super Saver" shipping and it arrived at the house (in Texas) 2 days later (which made me glad that I didn't pay extra for expedited shipping). Excellent printing speed, excellent print quality, and an amazingly reasonable price for this very capable unit. Initial wired set-up was a snap, and the kids were printing study guides and assignments like crazy. For wireless networking you're generally going to need a spare ethernet cable to connect the printer to your wireless router (so you can configure the printer to communicate with your wireless network). A potential problem here is that the instructions that come with the printer might not use precisely the same language/words as your router/networking software so it might take you a bit of trial-and-error to discover if your "Authentication method" really runs as an "open system" (as opposed to a "shared key", etc.), or whether or not you're really running data encryption (both "authentication" and "encryption" can be distinct from running a standard "secure" network using, for example, a WEP code). If you're not sure and incorrectly enter your "Authentication method" as a "shared key" (because you use a network key to access your wireless network), you'll discover that the wireless link status "Failed to associate." No problemo, but while re-running the wireless networking program you might find that your network stops recognizing your printer as a potential "wireless device". If this happens, the recently entered (incorrect) printer settings might be the culprit so you will have to reset your printer to its "factory default" settings as described in the manual (page 43 on my version). After the printer is reset, you can then rerun the wireless networking protocol and give it another go (while changing the wireless settings). For my standard home network, the proper settings turned out to be "Authentication method" = "Open System" and "Encryption mode" = "none" (even though the later print-out showed the "Encryption Mode" as "WEP"). After entering the standard WEP code (as the "Network Key") the wireless link fired right up and the various wired and wireless computers in the house had no problem printing (after loading the drivers). The above process took about 45 minutes to trouble shoot with the longest period spent reading through the manual so I could learn how to reset the factory defaults on the printer. All-in-all, about average for a "Windows" install where you're stuck with somewhat ambiguous semantic compatibility issues muddled by imprecise directions. As always, it's all good after the problem is solved. Hopefully, these remarks might help you get to the good part a little sooner. Good luck!
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on November 15, 2009
I bought this printer to use with my MacBook Pro (running Snow Leopard) and an Airport Express wireless router. Since the Airport Express does not have an outbound ethernet cable port, I wanted to set up the printer wirelessly from the get-go. I wasn't able to find a clear answer as to whether this was possible, so I decided to take the risk and try it. I was pleased to find that the printer set up on the incuded CD has an option for "Set up without cable," and following the directions in that method proved to be relatively simple. The only snag was that the printer's wireless feature needs to be turned on before it will connect with the router, and that took a little bit of finessing (you need to hold down the "GO" button for 15 seconds, something I had to figure out using Google).

Ever since I got it going (not once connecting it to my laptop with a USB cable), it has been working wonderfully. I am a law student and frequently use it to print double-sided (duplex) pages, to cut down on waste -- not to mention the amount of paper I need to physically carry. Printing duplex pages on a Mac is a breeze, as the "two-sided" option is located under "Layout" in Word and other applications.

The included cartridge is said to print 3,000 pages, and additional cartridges are capable of printing 8,000. This printer has already saved me the considerable hassle of using the printers at my school's library, and over time, it will also save me a great deal of money.

For me, the convenience of being able to open up my laptop and print wirelessly as soon as I get home, combined with the duplex feature, make this printer well worth the investment.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.