Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Bunny and the Bull [Region 2]
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Drowners Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Paul King's inventive and subversively delightful debut "Bunny and the Bull" is a film that took me completely by surprise! This visually inventive treat combines raucous humor, oddball situations, and surprising heart into the story of a shut-in unable to cope with an outside existence. Within the chaos of his apartment, he channels memories and fantasies through his collected objects and goes on a mental road trip that explains how he reached this loner state. If you're looking for an entertainment that's off the beaten track and deftly combines elements of surrealism with over-the-top rudeness, you can do far worse than this film. With thoroughly modern British sensibilities, "Bunny and the Bull" somehow balances childlike wonder with the worst in adult bad behavior. I frequently laughed out loud, never knowing exactly where this mental excursion was going to transport me.

Edward Hogg plays the straight man for much of the tale. Hogg has developed a lifestyle that never requires him to venture outdoors. His apartment is a comic goldmine of visual delights, but the story really opens up as he retraces his past. Simon Farnaby, as his best friend Bunny, presides over much of this misadventure. A real cretin, but not without his charm, he seems to exist to plague Hogg--but it is in these bad acts that Hogg really begins to embrace life. The madcap antics on the road are unrelenting and mostly hysterical. There are women and love stories involved, of course, but more than anything--"Bunny and the Bull" is an examination of friendship. The two leads play off one another with precision. The oddball pairing actually makes sense and there is an underlying sweetness to the story that becomes more evident and highlights a bittersweet revelation.

What really distinguishes "Bunny and the Bull," however, is a plethora of dynamic and absurd special effects. From the first moments when the duo meet in an illustration of the interior of a fast food container, the film's look never fails to entertain. King adeptly transports the viewer to a world that lies just outside of reality and the results are spectacular. In truth, I'm not sure this film is for everyone--but I do think that those who embrace it will do so wholeheartedly. I, for one, fell for it hook, line and sinker. An absolutely unexpected rave--I loved this film. About 4 1/2 stars. KGHarris, 2/11.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2010
You cannot possibly begin to grasp this film by simply reading a review, though I will try- this film, while being criminally unavailable in the states, is one of the best films of its type.

But what type is that exactly? It isn't a comedy, although it is hilarious. It isn't a drama, though it is tragic in parts. It isn't for children, although it uses an almost children's adventure archetype. It is all and none of these things.
First off, it appears that all of this was shot on a soundstage. Backgrounds are often animated, miniatures, or a combination thereof. Its as if Pee Wee Herman were taking acid with the Brothers Quay and invited The Mighty Boosh to the party.
There are actually Americans who do not know of the Mighty Boosh. The comedy duo of Noel Fielding and Julian Barratt (both of whom appear in this film) is, while not essential viewing for understanding the story, very much a part of the world that this film inhabits, even to the point of having several of the same actors apart from those mentioned. The same surreal, quirky, goofy innocence is all over this film.It can almost be compared to "Alice in Wonderland"....but for adults.
Really, words fail me. Instantly arresting and completely captivating it has become essential in my library. It is the sort of film you will want to put on like the radio. It is genuinely sad, genuinely romantic, genuinely hilarious, and genuinely bizarre. Do whatever you can to see this- at least once.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2013
Unique! A great look! Very stylized and stylish. Very quirky and offbeat.
If you know the guys behind it, you are more prepared for what to expect (but it’s something really new).
It’s a zany character piece. A surreal setting. Beautifully envisioned and executed. It’s a really good movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Note: This film is making its US DVD debut on April 26, 2011--so if you need that format, it will be avaialble soon.

Paul King's inventive and subversively delightful debut "Bunny and the Bull" is a film that took me completely by surprise! This visually inventive treat combines raucous humor, oddball situations, and surprising heart into the story of a shut-in unable to cope with an outside existence. Within the chaos of his apartment, he channels memories and fantasies through his collected objects and goes on a mental road trip that explains how he reached this loner state. If you're looking for an entertainment that's off the beaten track and deftly combines elements of surrealism with over-the-top rudeness, you can do far worse than this film. With thoroughly modern British sensibilities, "Bunny and the Bull" somehow balances childlike wonder with the worst in adult bad behavior. I frequently laughed out loud, never knowing exactly where this mental excursion was going to transport me.

Edward Hogg plays the straight man for much of the tale. Hogg has developed a lifestyle that never requires him to venture outdoors. His apartment is a comic goldmine of visual delights, but the story really opens up as he retraces his past. Simon Farnaby, as his best friend Bunny, presides over much of this misadventure. A real cretin, but not without his charm, he seems to exist to plague Hogg--but it is in these bad acts that Hogg really begins to embrace life. The madcap antics on the road are unrelenting and mostly hysterical. There are women and love stories involved, of course, but more than anything--"Bunny and the Bull" is an examination of friendship. The two leads play off one another with precision. The oddball pairing actually makes sense and there is an underlying sweetness to the story that becomes more evident and highlights a bittersweet revelation.

What really distinguishes "Bunny and the Bull," however, is a plethora of dynamic and absurd special effects. From the first moments when the duo meet in an illustration of the interior of a fast food container, the film's look never fails to entertain. King adeptly transports the viewer to a world that lies just outside of reality and the results are spectacular. In truth, I'm not sure this film is for everyone--but I do think that those who embrace it will do so wholeheartedly. I, for one, fell for it hook, line and sinker. An absolutely unexpected rave--I loved this film. About 4 1/2 stars. KGHarris, 2/11.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2013
This a pretty funny and quirky little film. There are a couple of other films that incorporate the use of collages and sculptural props to give the story a dream like, fantasy quality, but I just can't remember them right away.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2011
For fans of: The Mighty Boosh, Spaced, Michel Gondry.

Directed By Paul King, this wonderful piece would have never been discovered had it not been for Noel Fielding and Julian Barratt starring in it (stars of The Mighty Boosh). I saw their names in the cast and decided to give it a chance. Not only do I regret not putting this movie in sooner but I regret not knowing that it even existed. There was even a voice cameo by Rich Fulcher. Aside from you probably not knowing who any of these people are, the movie is freaking amazing. The plot is well written and should have you gripped and wondering what happens next. The main characters are very easy to relate to, you might have even gone through something like this in your life, or may be going through it now, or may in the future. Without giving away too much this film documents the ups and downs of life on the road and life in solitude and the harsh differences between. As a musician who is constantly going back and fourth from one to the other I can really relate to this movie and I fell in love with everything about it. Bravo. donttalkloud.com
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2015
The only reason I gave a low review is when I received the DVD the case was pulverized to the point where I actually had to replace it with another one. Other than that disc worked great! Amazing movie for anyone looking for a unique story! And if you like this check out "wristcutters: a love story".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2012
This movie is totally different than anything I've seen before it's just visually captivating, with a great story, what's not to like?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2015
My second favourite movie of all time. I recommend it to everyone. I love it to much!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2014
Cult classic - a very different movie you'll either love it or hate it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.