Automotive Holiday Deals GG Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Movember Martha Stewart American Made Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Tikes

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

68 of 70 people found the following review helpful
on June 4, 2011
PROS: Beautiful phone. Impresive screen. Wi-FI, Bluetooth, GPS, Internet all work fine. Call audio excellent, good reception. A gamer must. Easy to use and get used to. Comes with a 8GB microSD.
CONS: Game controler is a little small (and I don't have big hands). Also a little heavier than other phones. But the real problem is that sometimes while calling the screen goes blank, so you don't have access to any function, then things come back to normal (so i guess it must be something in the software). Also while playing, all of a sudden the game has shut down and automaticaly gone back to the home screen. Not very frequent but should be a perfect phone of this price.

17/06/2011: A software update has practiaclly fixed all the bugs. No more closing programs or problems with the phone calls. Very happy indeed.
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
on November 4, 2011
This phone is great for gamers, I love it. This phone is at Costa Rica and works with ICE SIMCARD
Este teléfono es genial, me encanta. Este teléfono está en Costa Rica y funciona con el SIM del ICE
1414 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on October 12, 2012
Have had the phone for over a week now and no issues what so ever. Great phone, buttons work great and was in original packaging. The only thing that took a little bit of googleing was figuring out the difference between the types of Xperia Plays out there.

The R800x is the Verizon version and only works on CDMA networks.

The R800i is a GSM and CDMA international phone and will work in the states with Straight Talk, AT&T, TMobile and probably any other provider that offers a SIM card option. Takes a Sim card and is the one that I got and it gets excellent service and I live in the boonies.

The R800a is the American version of the R800i and will work with the same carriers, the only difference is the initial programs that come preloaded on the phone.

I bought the R800i because it was a little cheaper and the phone came ready to use, got a Straight Talk SIM card from the Walmart website and it was simply to get service started. Put the SIM card in, registered the unlimited minute pack on there website and added the APN information as described in the installation kit that came with the card. I was making calls and sending texts withing 3 min.

The games on the phone look amazing for a cell phone and the controls are a big step up from fingering the screen and getting your thumbs in the middle of your view. They just work great for gaming. The screen itself is 720p which looks awesome on a 4 inch screen and enhances all the games beyond what I am used to. Would recommend to anyone gamers or not. Great phone. WIll update if any issues occur.

Hope this helped save you some time.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
on August 16, 2011
have been playing video games since I could hold a regular NES controller in my hands. When smart phone's first came out there was no way I was going to purchase one when my psp could do everything they could, and had quality games for it. Finally I have the best of both worlds despite what another review on amazon states. The phone works great it is loud and clear. The phone doesn't come with a really great line up of games unless your a sims fan, but it comes with perfect controls to fit all the wonderful apps. Through the android market you can find a emulator for the playstation 1, GBA, SNES, N64, ATARAI, NES, GBC, and many more. Despite the playstaion network not being on this phone through the emulators it is really easy to play all your favorite games that you already own through the emulators. I have nothing negative to say about this phone. Its not the most advanced smartphone available, but its hands down the best gaming phone available. If only the playstation Vita would double as a phone. AS ALWAYS DO NOT DOWNLOAD A ROM FOR A GAME YOU DO NOT ALREADY OWN THAT IS PIRATING.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on December 16, 2012
IMPORTANT: This device is NOT compatible with 3G on AT&T nor T-Mobile in United States. The spec of the R800"i" version only support the HSDPA 900 / 2100 bands, which neither AT&T nor T-Mobile in the US support. You will only get 2G speed. The R800"at" AT&T version use the 850 / 1900 / 2100 bands. The great thing about this is T-Mobile is beginning to enable support for 1900/2100 in various area, so if you manged to get an unlocked version of the R800at you can get 3G on T-Mobile if you happen to live in one of those 1900Mhz supported location.

I have owned devices like the Galaxy S3 and Galaxy Nexus, I sold them and goes back to the Xperia Play because for someone who love classic console gaming there is no better choice as a phone. Bluetooth gamepads just doesn't do it for me because they're not really portable and can take time to setup.

-THE GAMEPAD: I won't have to explain this.

-DURABILITY: It's quite durable and can easily withstand 'reasonable drops'. I have less concern about accidentally dropping this device than dropping highend devices with Gorilla Glass.

-SOUND QUALITY: Audiophiles might realize that there are not a lot of Android phones with great sound quality. The headphone output quality is very good and to my ears comparable to the original Galaxy S which is another Android device with great sound.

-aGPS and GLONASS support: This allow it to get reasonably fast location fix and stay fixed. Its not the most accurate, but for a being an older device its very acceptable and probably better than many other devices that only have aGPS.

-CAMERA: For being a 5MP camera with LED flash it can take decent photos. It's about 90% as detailed as the Galaxy Nexus 5MP camera, but is better with low light situation. It can record videos at 720p with continuous autofocus. However, there is a big flaw with the camera microphone's volume being extremely quiet.

-Performance: Even at the time of release, this device have a hopelessly underpowered CPU and GPU combination and only ~400mb of usable RAM. It might not play some newer graphic intensive 3D games, however it does support many games. "Classic gaming" is where its at for this device.

-Low brightness: The LCD display have accurate color, but is not very bright so can be hard to see under sunlight.

-Will eventually get dirt underneath the screen because it's not properly sealed, unless you're a very clean and careful person.

-Camera's microphone: As mentioned, the camera microphone's volume is extremely low, so recorded videos will be very quiet.

-Small gamepad: Not a real con, but the gamepad of this device is a bit small so people with large hands might get cramps. I found the "touchpad joysticks" difficult to use.

OVERALL: Even if you don't intend to use this as a phone, it makes a very good portable music and gaming device, especially if you are a fan of classic consoles. It take decent photos and have good GPS signal.

Note: I killed this device by installing a "wet-applied screen protector", which caused the phone to short out, the digitizer stopped working and other components messing up. So I recommend to be careful with water/moisture and don't use wet screen protectors with this.

Also read my comment on this review for more tips.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on September 1, 2011
Even that the Samsung galaxy gets all the attention as a the best smartphone, you can't go wrong with the Xperia Play. Great for gaming, as a phone, as a personal assistant, GPS, Internet, etc... Android 2.3 is an amazing system and the option to add more apps (even not validated ones) is a great plus... I already played the included games and downloaded more.. I even tried some emulators for N64 and SNES for roms of games I own (to discard any issues) and it works fantastic....

I totally recommend it!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on August 13, 2011
This is a fanstatic phone. Gaming is excellent. The d pad and face buttons feel right and the sholder button are far better than they look.
Battery life is about 8.5hrs. If you are even remotely thinking of buying this phone, DO IT! Dont believe all the negative reviews. With an emulator this phone is amazing and GINGERBREAD is a pleasure to use on this device.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on February 1, 2012
Good phone but not for gsm band 850 that work in costa rica . Excelent phone you can do a lot of things if you gonna buy it for latin america buy the r800A version
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on December 9, 2011
Excelente telefono, lo compre para usarlo con movistar Venezuela. Hasta ahora todo ha funcionado bien.

- Es bastante rapido en todas las aplicaciones
- Trae una memoria interna de 8 GB
- La pantalla táctil funciona perfectamente no es como otros telefonos tactiles en los cuales hay que presionar muy fuerte para oprimir las teclas
- Teclado QWERTY desplegable en todos los campos para incluir texto
- La bateria dura aproximadamente 1 dia con uso moderado (Juegos, llamada, camara y navegacion por internet)
- Auiculares con aislantes de ruido externo
- Sonido del celular muy bueno, por lo general nunca lo coloco al maximo porque suena muy fuerte.
- Trae instalados 2 juegos y se pueden descargar muchos mas, hasta ahora todos han funcionado a la perfección.
- Excelentes gráficos y pantalla con suficiente brillo

- Cuesta adaptarse al sistema (Para aquellos q nunca lo han usado y siempre han manejado otros sistemas como el blackberry)
- La camara es buena pero el control de movimiento no es bueno. Si hay movimiento la foto sale borrosa
- Para acceder a la memoria externa se tarde un poco (revisar archivos de imagenes y videos)
- La vibración no es muy fuerte por lo que no es muy recomendable usarlo en este modo, ya que podria perder alguna llamada importante
- Tarda mucho en cargarse
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on March 7, 2013
Muy bueno, sirve perfectamente para las operadoras de Venezuela. Lo recomiendo aunque los juego que puedes descargar no llenaron mis espectativas
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 43 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.