Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 25, 2011
I too was on the fence on buying this phone since I do have an HTC EVO 4G and with the Gingerbread 2.3.3 release it has been wonderful. I decided to go ahead a treat myself and made the purchase.

The Pros:

1. HTC Sense 3.0 is absolutely the best custom UI on the market at this time. Very refined and many enhancements over the previous version that was included in the HTC EVO 4G.
2. Features galore. There are many subtle options built into the OS that many reviews don't mention like enable power efficiency and turn on power saver when your battery is @ xxx %.
3. 3D. Definitely a gimmick but once you see it in person it has a certain WOW factor that is hard to get over.
4. Battery life is good. This is mostly because of the OS version of Android 2.3.3 which the original HTC EVO 4G received recently and the battery life on that is now good as well.
5. Very responsive and fast.
6. iphone style texting with the speech bubbles. I know I'm a sucker for style and flash.

The Cons:

1. No kickstand. I did go to HTCPedia.com and purchased the hard case with kickstand but it is on backorder.
2. Speaker Volume is not as loud as the original HTC EVO 4G. Definitely noticeable so don't let the other reviewers tell you otherwise.
3. USB Charging port was moved to the left side of the phone. I preferred the bottom myself.

All in all, it is a great phone and I am please to have it. If you are on the fence and can afford it, why not? Is this phone a huge step up from the original HTC EVO 4G? Probably not so if you don't care for the extra bells and whistles, you can probably get away with keeping the EVO 4G for another year.
44 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2011
I absolutely love this phone.

This phone is unbelievably fast - I multitask a lot, so I'll have many apps open, browsers open, take pictures, etc. etc. and the the system barely ever slows down.

Accessing the internet on this phone is amazing, I don't use my laptop as much anymore when I'm home because of how great the browsing experience is. Unfortunately, I don't ever get 4g speeds to the point where I don't even try it anymore. But 3g and WiFi are great.

The battery life on the phone isn't as bad as some make it out to be. Few big things, download a battery management application and make sure your screen brightness is set to low. You'll be fine.

Sense 3.0 is great, it's fast, it's easy to setup shortcuts, widgets, folders, etc. on your home screen. Very easy to use.

Google Marketplace is also unbelievable, it feels like I have access to an unlimited amount of apps whenever I want them, and they download and install so fast.

I can go on and on about this phone, I just love it. Best phone I've ever had, Hands Down!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2012
The short and sweet of this review is that i upgraded from my Evo 4G to the 3D when it first hit stores last June -
So essentially i have had this phone now for a year to date (just about) here is my quick list of things to look for (or the good, bad and the ugly list)

The Good
1. The phone itself - the processor, the ability to run everything you could throw at it and more makes this an almost bullet proof phone

2. The battery believe it or not lasts alot longer than the original 4G but results may vary (one thing NOT to do is install a task killer, that makes it worse trust me) just lower your brightness, turn things off that you dont need etc. It also has the first task killer software built in that you could use that works as well -

3. The lock screen really helps get things done alot quicker - being able to choose a quick task w/o opening the phone up and selecting an app is great - 4 icons in the lock screen can be custizable too!

4. The wifi is fast really fast

5. The front 1.2 mp camera is really good for portrait shots

The Bad

1. The camera can be great but can also be terrible at 5mp i wish they would have just stuck with the 4gs 8mp - but on the flip side the special effects that come preloaded to add to pictures is pretty cool

2. The 3D is great but terrible because its just not useful - a more gimmick than anything - trust me after the first week you'll never use it again - even for games

3. Can be a bit buggy at times, force closing things, or randomly shutting down, but maybe a handful of times this has happened in a years time.

4. I miss the left and right scrolling homescreens which feels like more screen real estate, now we have a carousel like tile thing, and wallpapers are not configured to this screen being its only vertical now not horizontal (scrolling left to right to see the whole wallpaper)

The Ugly

1. The screen is not a vivid as you would like and is extremely susceptible to cracking if dropped

2. Charging the phone on the top left side of the phone is awkward - it works for getting the cord out of the way but im not a fan

3. The camera button is extremely slow to getting the camera up and running -

4. No kickstand a real crowd pleaser ...

5. Booting up from a restart or reset is crazy slow!!

Overall great phone for taking care of buisness, playing with apps, mutlitasking, etc. but highly disappointed with the camera for normal pics (esp in sunlight and lowlight conditions) 3D a waste of time, and the screen could be better in terms of vividness -

My next upgrade will be looking into the HTC ONE X and the Samsung Galaxy S3 -
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2014
I have had this phone for about 2 years and have had no problems. Its super sturdy, i drop it all the time and it stays intact. I also dropped it in water once, i took it apart and let it dry and it worked fine the next day. The battery doesnt last too long anymore and it doesnt have much storage space. I am thinking of upgrading but i am afraid i will be disappointed after owning such a fun and reliable phone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2011
.... I am NOT in love with this phone. I've owned it for a few months now (seemed a good idea before writing a review), and I find myself damning it more than I praise it. So here's my take:

CONS:

1) The network on this thing is slow (I'm in San Diego, so no 4G here on Sprint, yet). Of course, that's more Sprint's fault, right? Well, yes, but as far as I know, Sprint is the only carrier with this phone, so the two go hand in hand. More frustrating, however, is how I can be standing next to another Sprint customer with a different smartphone (iPhone, Samsung, doesn't matter), and their phone will BLAST through whatever we're searching for. You have no idea how many times I've gone to look something up on my phone only to give up and have someone else look it up instead because my phone is taking so long. In this age of being defined by the phone you have, it's just downright embarrassing. And streaming Pandora or watching a video on Youtube? Ha! Forget it, unless I'm hooked to WiFi.

2) The camera is terrible. EVERY picture I take, no matter what I do, comes out blurry.

3) The phone basically has to live on a charger. It won't last the day otherwise, even if you don't use it. God help you if the stars align in just a way that streaming music actually works (if you call buffering every 30 seconds working) and you decide to listen for a bit, because then the phone won't last more than a couple hours. I have a charger at work, in my car, and at home because that's what it takes to keep this thing moving.

4) The screen occasionally will not accept inputs, with the only remedy being to restart it. Thankfully re-booting it only takes a few seconds, though. But, of course, that leads to other complaints I have.

5) The phone has an annoying bug where every app that I load onto the external SD card loses its icon when I restart the phone. A little digging online taught me how to fix it each time, but it is annoying that it's even necessary. *UPDATE 01/18/2012* This glitch appears to have been fixed with the HTC software update I received this morning.

PROS:

1) I REALLY like the logic and functionality of the Droid software. Compared to the iPhone, it's extremely liberating. The number of options, settings, and configurations you can adjust to your liking is incredible.

2) Call quality is decent. Not the best, but I have no real complaints.

3) For a lot of the phone's shortcomings, there's a good chance someone has created an app to fix it.

4) Unlike the iPhone, the SD card gives you the ability to expand the storage space and you can also remove the battery.

5) Pretty sturdy construction. No scratches or dents to speak of, and that's just with a cheap gel case and screen protector installed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2011
I have heard from many HTC EVO 4G owners that the battery life was terrible. The background apps would drain the battery even when not in use. So much so that users would need to install so called "app killers" on their phone, and even with those people would experience battery issues. There's nothing worse than having a phone that won't last you all day. I can report that the HTC EVO 3D has no such battery issues. This is due to the fact that the HTC EVO 3D runs the latest Android operating system called Gingerbread. This new operating system manages the power much more efficiently and you will no longer need an "app killer". If you charge the phone overnight the phone will last you all day. I use the phone from 6am to around 5pm and it's usually almost dead when I get home. A typical days use for me is maybe 2 or 3 phone calls a day lasting no more than 15 minutes total, browsing on the internet throughout the day several times and maybe 2 hours of music with headphones on. I always carry a backup battery just in case I need it, I normally don't but it's always good to carry one just in case for emergencies!

For those who have never used a touch screen Android before will be happy to know the phone comes with a guide, so no excuses on upgrading! The touch screen is big and easy to navigate. I use this phone all the time for internet browsing and the built-in internet browser is fast. Although the phone supports 4G, i always keep it disabled as 3G service is more common where I live. Also, leaving 4G enabled on the phone will drain your battery faster as it will continually search for 4G signal. I recommend installing the free Adobe Flash Player from the Android Market to ensure that you can view any webpage you come across. The best part of Sprint is unlimited internet, so no holding back download all the apps and games you want!

The 3D feature is only present when viewing an object in 3D, whether it be a game, movie, or picture and you do not need glasses to view the effect. There's a switch on the side to easily switch between 2D and 3D modes. This only affects the camera features of the phone, the normal operation of the phone is in 2D. The phone comes preloaded with the 3D game Spiderman 3D and the 3D movie The Green Hornet, which can be streamed to your phone anytime you have an internet connection/3G/4G signal.

The phone comes with 808mb of internal memory and an 8gb MicroSD card. So there's pleanty of space for installing apps or using the phone as an ipod. There is a built in headphone jack that works great with my sony earbuds. Just make sure to push the headphones in all the way. I have a bunch of mp3's on my phone that i transfered from my pc using the included usb data cable. If you want to create your own ringtones that's easy. Just download a free ringtone app from the android market, which will allow you to select a segment on one of your mp3's to use as a ringtone. no more paying for ringtones of your favorite songs! You can either charge the phone through the pc or mount the phone as a hard drive. If you want to transfer files to the phone, then when you first plug in the phone to the pc, you need to enable the option "mount as hard drive". You then will get a popup from windows recognizing the hard drive. I use Windows Explorer to transfer files to and from your phone. Note that unless your monitor is 3D you won't be able to playback 3D pictures and 3D videos on your pc monitor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2012
PRO:
Evo3D is the successor to the widely successful HTC EVO 4G that launched on Sprint in 2010. This phone has a better screen (higher resolution, better contrast), better processor (Qualcomm S3 as opposed to S1 in the original) better battery life (compared to EVO 4G) and is running Gingerbread with sense 3.0. The only thing missing from EVO3D that was available on the original EVO is the stand which you can get if you buy a (specific) cover. It has MHL port which allows it to be connected to TVs via an MHL to HDMI cable (same price as mini HDMI to regular HDMI cable).
3D camera on this phone works really well and the 3D screen is easy to view. I viewed 3D as an added benefit and I have not been disappointed. Pictures taken through this phone look great.

CON:
In my experience the screen is prone to scratches so contrary to some reports it does NOT have gorilla glass screen. The resolution on this phone is qHD and the screen is SLCD (not IPS ) but the performance of the screen is much better than EVO. The colors are vibrant and text is crisp. After using this my EPIC 4G's screen did not look as good to me as before. I still think that a (non-pentile) SAMOLED Plus screen with 720p resolution would probably look better but this is the next best thing (so not as big a con as it may seem).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2012
Have had this phone since out came out and can only get about 4 hours put of it even if I never even turn the screen on. By lunch time I will be at 7%. They won't cover the battery with insurance either.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2012
This phone is just awesome. Sense 3.0 is phenomenal. 3D is fun, but just a small part of what makes this phone special. It's super fast and will get the android 4.0 ice cream sandwich update. HTC knows how to make a top of the line handset.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2011
I'm delighted with my HTC EVO 3D after using it for the past few weeks. I like its build quality, features, and its intuitive functionality.

This is my first smart phone (not counting my work BlackBerry Bold) and its thoroughly met my expectations. I shied away from buying one earlier because I don't do social networking and I had the (mis)perception that the only reason to buy a smart phone was to update your Facebook status or tweet your latest missive. Also, the expensive data plans didn't seem worth it. However, needing a new phone I took the plunge. Also Sprint's unlimited data plan seemed highly appealing (a couple of co-workers swore by it). So, my wife and I went with the family plan and two shiny new phones.

My review is geared at the smart phone newbie. I cross-shopped the Samsung Epic (my wife purchased one), the iPhone, Motorola Droid, Blackberry Torch, and a few others.

Pros
+ Antenna strength is impressive. My office is deep inside an old factory and cell reception is poor to non-existent. My Evo--while down to two or one bars--still has reception. Even at no bars, I'm still receiving email, taking calls, and listening to Pandora
+ The 4G network is blazing fast. Its as if I'm on my cable modem at home (or better). I've watched YouTube videos and done video calling (a bit of fun and great for kids--especially if the parents travel). Downloads occur smoothly and quickly.
+ The 3G Sprint network isn't too shabby either. My work BlackBerry is on Verizon's 3G network and it's a snoozing, overweight dog. While its hard to tell if it's the network or phone hardware (or a diabolical combo), my observations are the Evo on Sprint's 3G trounces Verizon's 3G network.
+ The touch screen (something I haven't really used before) works extremely well. It has the right sensitivity and I never hit the wrong button.
+ Typing on the touch screen isn't nearly as unpleasant as I thought. Its easy and the phone has a pleasant little vibration when you hit a key. HTC definitely put together a nice tactile sensation for those of us who prefer a real keyboard.
+ The 3D aspect is a bit of a gimmick. I don't use it on a day-to-day basis. That said, I love taking 3D pictures and it provides endless entertainment for my kids. Also, some of the 3D shots I've taken are really quite cool (and I'm not that skilled).
+ Phone hardware, memory, and display are excellent. It is slightly mind-boggling that the phone's stats would have equaled those of a solid desktop computer from just a few years ago. Start time is quick, apps download smoothly, and updates take place behind-the-scenes. Its an impressive experience.
+ Others have mentioned phone call quality, speaker phone volume, and other traditional "phone" features. My observations are the phone does its basic jobs well.

Cons
- I was a bit surprised how heavy the phone was when I first received it. I quickly got use to the weight, but my initial impression was "this phone is a brick!" It weighs more than my wife's Galaxy (even with it ensconced in the protective cocoon). Nonetheless, the phone is slim and easily fits in my pocket.
- Esthetically, the phone doesn't stand out from the pack. It looks like dozens of others on the market. Compared to the Galaxy, it's vanilla. Contrasting it to the iPhone seems unfair. However, what it lacks in exterior styling it repays in interior power; screen display (3D!); and ease-of-use. It's a good phone (great in my opinion) but it doesn't stand out from the crowd.
- I took me a few days to really warm up to the phone. My wife's Samsung seemed a bit nicer with a more appealing design (and it was much lighter). However, after using the phone for a week it really grew on me.
- Battery life is pretty decent, but you do need to be judicious about turning off services (e.g. wireless or 4G) to keep it from seeking a source it can't find. I can stretch the battery life to 8 hours with moderate use (Pandora, a few calls, checking email, surfing the web at lunch) but my Blackberry can go for days when used similarly. It's a minor quibble--I know smart phones are resource intensive--but as this is a newbie review it warrants mentioning.

In summary... A very good phone that I am pleased to have purchased. I generally keep my tech equipment (laptops, tvs, etc.) around longer than the industry might prefer. From reading other reviews, I've seen that HTC does a good job of supporting its hardware and allowing upgrades. Apple's forced obsolescence always turned me off (I recognize it's a good market strategy--at least until other companies peel away their customers). If you are looking for a phone to keep for a few years (or more) this seems like a good bet. I like the Android OS and feel it stacks up well against the iPhone.

Lastly, I don't think you can go wrong ordering from Amazon. I cross-shopped the wireless provider sites and prices clearly favored Amazon. Sprint (at least in the North East) has a strong presence and their prices and plans are far better than AT&T and Verizon. Good luck! Hoped this helped...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.