Industrial-Sized Deals Shop all Back to School Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums $5 Off Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Shop Popular Services pivdl pivdl pivdl  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Nintendo Digital Games Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation Baby Sale

Transformers: Dark of the Moon [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$23.92+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on January 10, 2012
If you have liked the first two of Director Michael Bay's Transformer movies, you will like this one as well. If you thought Transformers was good, and Transformers: Revenge of the fallen was just OK, then you are in the same boat I am, and you will be pleasantly surprised by Transformers: Dark of the Moon. If you hated them both, then you're not reading this.

The visuals are, as has been the case with this iteration of Transformers, outstanding. The Blu-ray quality is a must in my opinion as the details in the action sequences are spectacular. I personally don't have a 3D television so I cannot comment on that feature, but, the video and audio quality made watching in high definition with an average sound system a very fun experience. The visuals are very clear, the colors look great, and all of the explosions rumble proudly.

The story is, well, good enough. I wasn't watching for the story. I was watching for big robots and stuff blowing up. The story delivered that in large supply. If the goofiness of Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen turned you off, I can honestly say that it has been toned down here, and the action, not the dialogue, carries this film. You will have a much easier time believing that giant transforming robot aliens exist, than believing that Rosie Huntington Whiteley chooses to date an unemployed Shia LaBeouf however, when there is a billionaire "McDreamy" Patrick Dempsey knocking on the door.

Overall, transforming robots look really cool blowing up a city, and that's what this disc is all about. Enjoy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
123 of 162 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon December 27, 2011
PLEASE NOTE: This product review is for the 3D Blu-Ray... Transformers: Dark of the Moon (Three-Disc Combo: Blu-ray 3D/Blu-ray/DVD/Digital Copy)

This is the way "Transformers: Dark of the Moon" was meant to be seen: in 3D! I saw this movie in 3D at the theater and I can tell you it was a great experience. The movie itself has some flaws, but the stereo image was simply amazing... say what you want about director Michael Bay, the man knows how to shoot action sequences! This is one of the most entertaining 3D movies to date, and is a no-brainer for anyone with a 3D TV.

Not only is the picture quality top-notch, but the sound is great too. I recently watched an interview with sound mixer Greg P. Russell, and he said that the TF3 blu-ray sound mix was specifically tailored for home video release. Anyone who owns the previous blu-ray release would agree that the sound mix is incredible. This blu-ray will make a great demo when you show off your home theater system!

Here is a detailed description of what is in this set:

Disc 1: Feature Film -- Blu-Ray 3D

Disc 2: Feature Film -- Blu-Ray

Disc 3: Special Features -- Blu-Ray

Above and Beyond: Exploring Dark of the Moon
- Rising from the Fallen: Development and Design
- Ready for Prime Time: Filming Across America
- Battle in the Heartland: Shooting in Chicago
- Attack of the Birdmen: Aerial Stunts
- Shadow of the Sentinel: Post-Production and Release
- Uncharted Territory: NASA's Future Then and Now

Deconstructing Chicago: Multi-Angle Sequences
- Previsualizations with optional commentary by director Michael Bay and previsualization supervisor Steve Yamamoto
- Previsualizations/Final Shot Comparison with optional commentary by director Michael Bay and previsualization supervisor Steve Yamamoto
- Visual Effects with optional commentary by visual effects supervisors Scott Farrar and Matthew Butler
- Visual Effects/Final Shot Comparison with optional commentary by visual effects supervisors Scott Farrar and Matthew Butler

The Art of Cybertron
- Autobots
- Decepticons
- Environments
- Weapons and Gear
- Ships

The Dark of the Moon Archive
- 3D: A Transforming Visual Art
- Moscow World Premiere
- Birdmen Featurette
- Cody's iPad
- The Sound of Transformers: Dark of the Moon

The Matrix of Marketing
- Trailers
- Marketing Gallery

Disc 4: Feature Film -- DVD

**There is also a digital copy included - both a standard digital copy for iTunes, and you can also stream the movie through UltraViolet.

Additional Info:
The blu-ray is presented in 1080p high definition with English 7.1 Dolby TrueHD sound.
Subtitles: English, Spanish, French, Portugese

In summary, the difference between this set and the previous release, Transformers: Dark of the Moon (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo + Digital Copy), is the addition of the 3D blu-ray and a bonus blu-ray with 4 hours of new special features.
3232 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on October 1, 2013
I was very impressed with this film. Michael Bay, the director, was able to handle considerable visual complexity and technology and weave a vast amount of visual stimuli into a comprehensible narrative with very clearly defined forces of good and evil. There are several ideas that were generated for me as I watched. For example, as film making technology is able to produce increasingly realistic yet fantastic images does the story narrative have to take a more concrete and simple morality play structure so as not to overwhelm the viewer. The basic story narrative here is that a young man must struggle to gain and maintain the affection of the damsel in distress while his loyalty to others maintains a social bond that allows for heroic, world saving actions. In other words there are clear cut good guys and bad guys and this remains pretty clear so that the visual complexity does not overwhelm the viewer. The exact opposite of this would be a film based on a Jane Austen novel (Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, Emma ) where characters are multifaceted and interact in a world of relatively very little action but there are multiple layers of interpersonal nuance.

Yet the world of good and evil in Transformers: Dark of the Moon is made more interesting by humor, sexuality, and the tricks that the forces of good and evil both use to gain the upper hand. In fact it is this process of combatants using wit, strength, subterfuge, alliance, confusion, and trickery which makes up much of the action and extends the narrative. When watching boxing, we see two forces pounding each other and we watch for those strategic moves that will allow one of these forceful men to gain some advantage over the other. This film is very much in that line of thinking for the warring forces continually escalates their bombardment of each other yet for at least a 20 minute segment of the film the underdog uses wit to counteract the forces of evil that may appear at first to be insurmountable.

The acting is delightful, much like a situation comedy. Even in the most frightful scenes the primary actors keep a cool Mona Lisa smirk on their faces. I have seen the Three Stooges look more distressed than the primary actors in this film. But don't get me wrong, this is not a bad thing, it just means that the story narrative including the vast perils faced by the characters are all part of world view in which the good guys always win.

Maybe I am a kid at heart but every time one of the transformers changes from an automobile to a robotic monster my eyes jumped out of my head. I was transfixed as if seeing a miracle and questioned what part of the automobile became what part of the robotic creature. The premise that there might be alien creatures that are able to inhabit our computers, washing machines, blenders, and motorcycles and at will converting them into robotic gladiators was fascinating. The film is certainly worth viewing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
448 of 627 people found the following review helpful
on September 11, 2011
If you like any special features at all do not buy this version. They are doing the same thing as Avatar. This release gets a full price but absolutely zero special features. Not so much as a trailer. They will be putting out deluxe versions toward the end of the year including a 3D combo pack, blu ray combo pack & dvd. ALL will be packed & you will kick yourself for having to buy this a second time. Many people don't care about features but if you do consider yourself forewarned. And it's not like they're giving you a cut on the price for a "movie only" release.
5858 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon October 17, 2013
Watch the trailers for Transformers: Dark of the Moon and tell me they don't send shivers up your spine. Clearly there were some extraordinarily talented people working on the film. Unfortunately they all appeared to be in the special effects department and that's perhaps the saddest thing about the end result. This could have been a great film but the writing isn't just bad it's spectacularly bad. It's as if it were written by a twelve year old boy giggling in the back row of math class. Early in the movie Megan Fox's replacement Rosie Huntington-Whiteley is standing at the White House when a woman walks over, looks down below Whiteley's beltline and says. `Nice Box'. The obvious joke being that the woman is literally a commenting on a nice looking box and with that all the dignity of the film flies right out the window. (In the movies defense the dignity had already been stripped away long before that joke)

So here I sit at my computer thumbing my nose at a movie that grossed over a billion dollars. This review will be lucky if it gets read by five people but this movie tasks me to write. It's like Michael Bay produced the movie just to screw with people. The film starts with the ever popular Shia LeBeouf and his new girlfriend. Oh, and a couple of horny gremlin looking little Autobots. Yeah, that's what I think about when I think Transformers. The focus of the movie is all on Shia LeBeouf's Sam Witwicky because fans just can never get enough LeBeouf. We see him trying to get a job. We see him working at his new job. We see him interacting with his idiotic, unfunny parents. Pure comedy gold every second. There are all sorts of other characters that are written as if the writers were aliens whose only experience with humans was to watch them from a distant planet. Between all this filler and garbage is just about the most awesome fighting robot action ever put on film.

The special effects action are why the film grossed over a billion dollars but the writing is why the film will never stand the test of time because special effects become dated very quickly. The special effects in the 1977 Superman movie were junk compared to the 2013 movie but it still holds up because of the writing. Movies like Robocop, Bladerunner and Predator stand the test of time because the scripts were great or at the very least not terrible. You could probably get full enjoyment out of Dark of the Moon just watching the good parts on YouTube. I've seen the scene from Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen where Devastator transforms and then climbs to the top of a pyramid and it looks INCREDIBLE but I don't really need to see the movie because I've seen the cool parts and I've heard it's even worse than this one. The special effects here aren't uniformly good and scenes where Shia LeBeouf is fully CGI are pretty bad. The scene from the trailer where a giant Decepticon is crushing a building is cool but what you don't see are the parts where the people inside slide around in the collapsing building like something out of a cartoon.

This is not even nearly the worst movie I have ever seen but to spend so much money and create such amazing visuals and then create such pitiful writing. Apparently people don't care because the movie raked in money like Scrooge McDuck filling his money bin. I was hoping to see something similar to the aforementioned Devastator scene but the big robot in this film is actually Shockwave who seems to control this giant tentacle looking robot and it just didn't compare to Devastator. There is some cool stuff but with almost no focus on character building as pertains to the Transformers themselves they tend to just look like nearly indistinguishable piles of junk when in robot form bashing into each other. I also wasn't real thrilled with the attempt to tie into actual historical events like the moon landing and the Chernobyl disaster seemed ill advised bordering on offensive. When THE Buzz Aldrin shows up to say that, yeah, they went to the moon to investigate a crashed alien spacecraft it felt like abuse of the elderly. I didn't hate this movie but I wouldn't ever pay to see it nor do I have any interest in owning it. All the good stuff is on YouTube and you can watch it in about 10 minutes.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on May 9, 2013
I was under the impression that Michael Bay insisted there wouldn't be any "dorky comedy" in this installment. Nor would there be any slaphappy robots given to crude jokes and slapstick pratfalls. Kindly explain then the two jokey minuscule bots who adamantly protest that they are "not pets or toys." Bay also introduced John Malkovich as a pompous one-joke idiot who goes berserk over the color red. What was Ken Jeong's (Jerry Deep Wang) performance all about if not just a rambunctious mess of dorky humor? Also returning as the butts of all the jokes, Kevin Dunn and Julie White as Sam Witwicky's dopey parents (bought in just to provide dumb jokes only to abruptly disappear once their shtick was delivered). Bay even brought in Bill O'Reilly solely as a joke. And by now, what is Sam Witwicky (Shia LaBeouf) but a bad joke? Shrill, pouty, and more fidgety than Don Knotts on an off day, Sam has become an obnoxious twit who acts as though he'd like to be anywhere but there, forced to perform all that abrasive comedy.
Exactly what did Michael Bay improve in this installment? He reinvented history, kept the usual number of explosions, the usual number of chase sequences, the vast array of bots (few distinguishable from their counterparts), replaced the officious dolt from the last movie with Frances McDormand playing what ostensibly is the same character doing the same tired, I'm taking over spiel, that the last two actors gave in the last two films! What is this if not filmmaking by the numbers!? There wasn't a new script just cut and paste elements meant to convey the same things repeatedly. No fresh ideas, a foregone conclusion, and a daffy non-romantic romance with a new babe (Rosie Huntington-Whiteley) who is clearly more of a friend who's a girl than a girlfriend. I don't even want to talk about Patrick Dempsey.
Okay, yes, sure, Bay finally showed bodies and the killing of people, something he went to great lengths to avoid in the first two films. But as presented here, in this plot, who were the Decepticons going to use for slave labor if they were killing all the people they could get their hands on!?

And now they say there's going to be a fourth installment, sans Witwicky LaBeouf. This begs the question, why keep remaking the same film? If Bay hasn't gotten it right thus far, he's never going to get it right.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
186 of 261 people found the following review helpful
on October 1, 2011
Sorry with my english for i am from Montréal.

I still do not want to give up on Michael Bay. When i see him in interviews, underneath his condescending tone and his obvious self-love, i see an educated and intelligent man. I still have hope that he will mature eventually and direct a genuine great film. But right now, he is a teenager. He obviously thinks that most of his audience is dumb, sexually depraved and uneducated. The way he films women, the way he portrays the adults, the things he makes them say and do, the "comedy" that he puts in there and that he thinks will make us laugh, all of this makes me think that Michael Bay simply sees his fans as cavemen. And by reading some of the comments here, well my God, he's about right!

It is not a question of putting your brain to neutral in order to enjoy a good old "pop corn" movie. Not all "pop corn" movies are good. "Transformers 3" is a bad movie. Just like the second one. Probably even more. The characters are stupid. The dialog is corny. The intentions are childish. And we just don't care about anything. And why, oh why, do incredible and sexy women fall so much in love with Sam? It is so obvious that Bay was a shy and rejected teenager and that he couldn't get... well, nevermind. I don't know how Michael Bay and his team can watch a movie like that knowing that other people will witness such a disgraceful work of art. How can they be proud?

God knows i enjoy all sort of films. Pop corn movies and art films. I loved the first "Transformers". But it is clear to me now that Steven Spielberg had more of a word to say in the first one.

And when i hear people calling this third film "Excellent" or "Perfect"... it's beyond me.

The first part of the film, the prologue that is, when it deals with the missions on the Moon, well that part is truly fun. Those small parts are the ones that make me think that Bay will, one day, make a great "Pop Corn" movie. But the more i see him going and the more i hear him talk, i'm starting to think that he won't be able to do it on his own, that he'll need someone else to help him along the way, like Spielberg in the first "Transformers".

Again, i'm all for "Pop Corn" movies. I enjoy them. But the directors must respect the viewer's intelligence. Michael Bay does not. He is clearly saying that you are dumb. And some of you are worshiping him.

Well you get the movies you diserve.
4545 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on February 13, 2012
Personally, I found the plot involving the space bridge and Sentinal Prime as traitor to be the most realistic of the three Transformers movies. What kept this movie from being a 5 star is the addition of Rosie Huntington-Whiteley as Carly.

First off, we are introduced to her by way of a pantie shot. Then, to "prove" that this until now unknown girl is in a "serious" relationship with Sam, she proceeds to stradle him while he is still in bed.
So, not only do we jump from Sam and Mikaela declaring there love for each other at the end of ROTF, we jump ahead to where Mikaela is history and Sam's been with some new girl for a long enough time that he finds her crawling on him to be more annoying than anything else.
This suggests to me that the script was written with Megan Fox in mind, but they had to quickly rewrite because Speilburg had a hissy fit regarding her.
My thoughts on this - if you find working with Megan Fox unbearable, just get a different acress to play the part of Mikaela. It was done in the Dark Knight and in The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor. It certainly would have made for a better story than the introduction of some girl whose relationship with Sam is less believable than the giant robots turning themselves into cars.

My other problem is the Autobots appearing more ruthless than the Decepticons.
The Autobot position is "We're going to kill them all." That's fine, but why have a scene where the autobots are taken prisoner by Decepticons where they are shocked that the Decepticons are going to kill them? If the Autobots have adopted a "take no prisoners" stance, why should we think it somehow more evil that the Decepticons took the same stance? Same with Dillon hesitating when he had the chance to shoot Sam, yet Sam not hesitating at all when their roles are reversed. It would seem to me that the GOOD guys would be the first to hesitate, not the BAD guys, before killing someone. (This problem, however, is nowhere near as bad as the addition of Carly to the film.)

The movie is quite long as well. If they cut the sophmoric sex jokes and the dull job hunting garbage, and that would cut the movie down to a more reasonable 2 hours.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on March 18, 2012
I realize that the "Transformer" movies are generally regarded as the non plus ultra of soulless commercial moviemaking and that their popularity is supposed to presage the very demise of Cinema itself as an art form. But such an assessment fails to take into account the movies' sense of high-spirited fun, their playful wit and their over-the-top but sometimes amusing caricatures, human and otherwise (I can't speak for the universally reviled second installment, which I haven't seen).

Part 3, "Transformers: Dark of the Moon," starts with a clever premise: that the original lunar landing was really just an elaborate, for-public-consumption-only ruse to launch a covert operation to explore a spaceship - the one carrying the initial wave of autobots - that had recently crash landed on the surface of the moon. Now a new race of evil bots, known as Decepticons, are becoming activated, threatening to destroy the good bots and take over the earth for their own nefarious purposes.

On the human side, young Sam Witwicky (Shia LaBeouf) may have saved the world in the past, but he still can't find a job. But mere unemployment can't keep an honest-to-goodness, dyed-in-the-wool hero from saving humanity once again after the evil creatures pretty much raze Chicago in a literal scorched-earth policy of rampant death and destruction.

The one saving grace of the "Transformer" movies - which would indeed otherwise be the epitome of soulless movie machines - has been their sense of humor, their refusal to take themselves too seriously (especially the first one). Unfortunately, the wit and fleet-footedness of the first half of "Dark of the Moon" dribbles away in a welter of overwrought CGI effects and self-congratulatory seriousness towards the end. And LaBeouf gets stuck playing romantic lead to any number of automatons: his metallic buddies and his flesh-and-blood girlfriend Carly Spencer - and he isn't too terribly convincing in either role. But as an action comedy superhero, the kid definitely brings the agility and skills necessary to get the job done. Which pretty much describes the film itself, come to think of it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on September 28, 2012
I was very excited to see this movie available on Amazon Prime, but I was disappointed once I started watching. I really couldn't stand Sam's new model girlfriend. She was so annoying and spends most of the film posing and pouting prettily. I was also confused during a lot of the movie and had trouble figuring out who a lot of the Decepticons were because they seemed very similar. Of course, I must admit that maybe it would have been clearer if I had followed more of the Transformers cartoon. Another big flaw was in the long action sequence involving a glass building. There's foreshadowing when the NASA guy announces that they're going to be taking refuge in a glass building. What could possibly go wrong?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.