Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$18.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 15, 2012
While this game won't be for everyone, Rayman fans and platformers in general will really appreciate this title. The graphics are bright, colorful, and consistently cartoonish...as they should be. The sound effects and chatter are also well done, and the control scheme is spot on.

What it all makes for is a challenging, engaging side scrolling platform game that's well polished and aptly suited to the Vita. I especially like the ability to zoom in and out using pinch to zoom gestures. There's a myriad of levels and trophies to be had that have great replay value because of the various collections of items. Sony would do well to put a demo of this game on SEN store, cause if you try it, you'll probably buy it!
99 comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2012
This is the game that shows off how beautiful the Vitas graphics can be. I spend most of the time playing this game just looking at the artwork with my jaw on the floor. I cannot believe I'm playing this thing on a portable console.

Uncharted and Orgins are the two Vita games you need!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 8, 2012
When Rayman Origins debuted on the console in 2011, it didn't exactly debut big. Gamers seemed a little apprehensive about paying sixty dollars for a platformer of its kind. Strong word of mouth has actually helped the console variants get some much needed success. Still underplayed, but at the very least the word of mouth was strong. Vita owners now have a chance to experience this game for themselves. The differences between this one and the console versions are quite small, though. There is one, however, that just might make potential players go for the console version on it's own.

Since the difference is so minor there isn't much that can be said here that hasn't already been said before. And thus this review isn't going to be that different than the one I already posted before:

As you can imagine there's pretty much no plot to Rayman Origins. And beyond that, Origins isn't really about any origin whatsoever. Rather the "origin" refers to how Rayman used to be. A 2D Side Scrolling Platformer. In other words, Rayman gets back to its roots. There are no raving rabbids here. Just pure amazing level design. The game is incredibly simple in its mechanics and that's part of what really makes it work. Just about anyone can pick up the game and learn the basics of the mechanics. Mastering the game, however, is another story entirely.

The game begins simple. The first level is inviting. And when you first begin you'll soon earn the ability to punch before later on getting other abilities such as the ability to fly or shrink later on. The game paces itself well by holding back on most of your abilities. Only giving them to you when you rescue certain characters. And mostly making sure you utilize them well in the environment they introduce them in. The learning curve in Rayman is almost non-existent. You'll slip right into the game real easy and the game gives you ample time to practice your new abilities.

It's a good thing that Rayman Origins doesn't punish the player when things are grim, however. The game is challenging. It begins quite simple enough, but before you know it the game ramps up in difficulty rather fast. You won't even be halfway through before you realize just what's being thrown at you in each level. And some are going to require some good pattern recognition or some trial and error to get down just right. Regardless of this, however, you rarely feel like the game is being unfair. Most enemies are easy to take out. It's not the enemies that'll be a problem, however, it'll mostly boil down to the environmental hazards mixed in with the well tuned level designs. Each failure doesn't really feel like failure either, because the game isn't out to punish you. There are a decent amount of checkpoints scattered throughout, and there isn't a limit to how many times you can fail.

This is also good because Rayman Origins has A LOT of levels to traverse. It's about as robust as a 2D platformer can get. Each level ends when you rescue a bunch critters (called Electoons) but the game demands replay because you'll be tallied up at the end of the level. Rescuing Electoons isn't just how you complete stages, it's how you unlock more. And if you manage to go through a level collecting all the "Lums" (basically coins) then you'll rescue more Electoons. There are also cages of captured Electoons hidden in every level. If you want to master Rayman Origins and explore everything it has to offer, you'll need to find them all. And this is going to require replaying some levels over and over again. Sometimes with a friend.

Perhaps the most rewarding thing about Rayman Origins is by far it's presentation. The game has an incredible sense of humor and some great tunes. The introduction is funny, and so are some of the levels (who would've thought using weenies as platforms wouldn't be such a bad idea?). But perhaps where the presentation shines most is in the graphical and aesthetic capacity. This is where Rayman truly comes alive. The graphics opt for style more so than anything. Certainly Rayman Origins fails to live up to the photorealistic quality of other games such as Uncharted 3 or Gears of War. But what makes this game so important is that it showcases that style is just as important as the actual graphical output. Rayman Origins doesn't have a lot of POWER behind it, but it has a visual flair that you just don't see too much in games these days. The aesthetics are what make Rayman Origins so easy on the eyes. The environments are just amazing looking. And this is because Rayman Origins has character. And art design that helps separate the game from everything else out there. A lot of games look pretty based on the actual power behind them, but it's nice to see a game that treats its visuals as though they were on a canvas for an artist to paint. It goes beyond being something shiny and something that actually exemplifies what gaming can do when developers try a stylistic approach rather than just an all out powerful one. Every frame of Rayman Origins is brimming with visual flair and style. It is easily one of the prettiest games I've ever seen. The fact that it plays well makes it that much more rewarding. At some point when playing through the levels the design just clicks and everything flows well.

There are two things that keep the PSV port down. The most obvious is the price. Oddly enough the price kept many a gamer away from the console version for a while as well. And it seems that can still happen here. This is because the console versions recently dropped in price and the PSV version cost more. The other thing that's a little strange is that the PSV version of the game doesn't offer multiplayer at all. The console version allowed up to four players to play, but this has been stripped out of the game entirely.

This doesn't make Rayman Origins in and of itself a bad game. It's still just as remarkable as it ever was. The lack of multiplayer is, for the most part, the biggest hit against the game, and in the long run it isn't even much to get worked up about (it IS a handheld system... and sometimes games are built with a solitary experience in mind). If you haven't experienced this game before, then this is a good chance to. Rayman Origins is still fantastic. Obviously, if you have the console version... there's no need to get it again unless you really need it on the go.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 29, 2012
While some games today rely on crazy gadgets and stellar graphics, this game takes us back to the basics: 2D platforming. I really didn't see myself picking this game up let alone enjoying it (being more into role-playing, adventure and shooting games) but it's a blast. From collecting all the hidden relics to completing the level time trials, this game has a lot of extras beyond the basic campaign to give this game a high replay value. It's nice once in a while to be able to return to your gaming roots and play a fun, captivating, and most importantly entertaining platformer.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2012
I was never a Rayman fan, but I must say this game is great, both graphics and in gameplay. You'll have fun for hours playing this one!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2012
After playing the ps3 version, I decided to give the Vita version a try. The fact that the Vita version is a handheld version, I didn't expect it to be better than the console version, but boy was I wrong on this.

The Vita gives it vibrant colors with beautiful details in a way it will draw you in. Playing this game on the go will actually feel like a unique experience compared to the console versions. This games offers more features as collecting shards that will be used to unlock images within the two caves at the beginning of the game.

The vita also uses the touchscreen to zoom in and zoom out in certain locations making it easier to view more details within the area and give you an advantage against the enemies.

The game itself is not only beautiful to look at, but gives you a moment of nostalgia when seeing it for the first time as it plays like the original games from the playstation era.

The only downfall of this game is that it doesn't have any co-op except for a race event where you try to get to the leaderboards and have the best time score possible.

With the amazing graphics this game has and the unique experience, you will fall in love with this game.
5/5
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2012
This is the game to have and its even better on the vita since you can play anywhere now. You can zoom the camera in with the touchscreen too. To put it simple this game is fun, bright, beautiful, sounds good, difficult at times and its different. Even if you never played Rayman this is the game to get for the PS Vita especially if you like platformers
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2012
I have never played any Rayman game, but i just bought a PS Vita so i got Rayman.
Man is this game fun, I've already beaten it and am now going back to beat the Time challenges, then i plan to got back to find all the collectables.

If you like Mario style games you will love this game. I think it's the best 2D side scrolling platformer since Super Mario Bros. 3, not quite better then Super Mario World, but almost.
A must buy for any Vita owner.

** P.S. also a must buy game for Vita is Tales From Space: Mutant Blobs Attack. $7.99 download from PlayStation Store **
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2012
I have this game for the PS3 and for my Vita. I would say it looks even better on the Vita, mainly because my tv isn't an OLED tv and the Vita's OLED screen looks amazing. And the game for both platforms is virtually the same with the exception that on the Vita version, if you pinch the screen you can zoom in or out on the game which is a cool addition.

My girlfriend loves this game. I get frustrated with it because I am impatient and kind of a caveman. This game can be unforgiving and pretty damn hard at times. Sometimes I will die 50 plus times on one level that should only be a 5 minute level because some of the level design for this game is made so you have to play it perfect or you'll die. Some levels the screen moves and you have to keep up with it and if you don't, you die. So your timing has to be perfect. I've watched my girlfriend play a 5 minute level for an hour because she wanted to collect everything in it, which you need to do to unlock the 60 plus levels.

This game looks like you're playing a traditional 2D animated movie, it is hands down one of the best looking games I've seen, has amazing music, is responsive in its controls and is really fun. It's multiplayer too which is great. I know some people won't be patient enough for this game (like me at times) but it really is worth all the frustration. I am not a Rayman fan, aside from some Raving Rabbids games, this is the only Rayman game I've actually played and it blew my mind. It's one of the most charming games I've ever played, has some of the best level design in a 2D side scroller I've ever seen. I don't like Mario games, but if you do like Mario games, I think you'll like this even better. The flying levels and underwater levels are borderline jaw dropping.

This game was the sleeper hit of 2011, look it up on Metacritic, it's like the best scored game of the year next to Skyrim, Uncharted 3 and Batman Arkham City, yea...it's that good. If you have a Vita, you need this game. If you don't and are thinking about getting this and have a PS3, get it for that. This is so worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2013
This is one of the must have Vita games. I hadn't actually even played a Rayman game since the one on 3DO (I actually still have that game and my 3DO hooked up lol) but I couldn't put this game down, excellent platformer, highly recommended!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.