Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty Deals Gifts for Her May The Best Garden Be Yours Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Classics and Essentials in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now DOTD

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The manufacturer commented on the review below
174 of 179 people found the following review helpful
on May 2, 2015
Just want to write a quick review. I did not buy this monitor off amazon but rather Microcenter. I baught one back in 2013 which was perfect, no black light bleeding or color issues. It is still perfect today. I recently decided I wanted a duel monitor set up. I baught another one a few weeks ago, it had black light bleeding that literally took up 20 pct of the screen. Photoshop was unusable. I thought it was just that one monitor, so I exchanged it. Same issue with the next one, then I ended up just returning it and keeping my one monitor set up. I'm writing this review because I did some research online and it is not just me that is having these black light bleeding out issue but something about he models being ship in 2015. So be aware of this issue when buying. I'll post a picture of the issue. The monitor on the right is the newer one, now returned.
review image
1414 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The manufacturer commented on this review (What's this?)
Dear John,

Thank your for your time in posting a review about our products. On behalf of ASUS, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. We are sorry to hear that you had a problem with the second monitor. Let me assist you on this matter. Was there any physical damage when you receive the monitor or was the cables were properly connected? Can we also have a photo of the unit having a black-light bleeding? Please email me at and place case #N150519880 in the subject line for a reference.

Thank you for choosing ASUS!

Best regards,
ASUS Customer Loyalty
295 of 315 people found the following review helpful
on October 10, 2012
I think that the PB278Q is the best value WQHD monitor that you'll find that's currently available as of 10/8/12. I got mine from another Online Retailer because they offered a pre-order bonus, but the price was the same overall. Most manufactures are now putting out WQHD monitors, but prices are still very high. As the market becomes more saturated with different manufactures making WQHD Monitors you'll see prices go down, but don't expect this for at least 2 years. The PB278Q uses a PLS based panel which when compared to other IPS based panels it has higher contrast, improved viewing angles, a faster response time, exhibits less reflectiveness, produces a clearer and crisper image, is 10% brighter than competing technologies; all while maintaing lower power consumption levels.

Originally there were to be two variants of this monitor. One for Content Professionals (the PA - ProArt Series) that would come factory calibrated and have some additional "Quick Fit" settings. The other (the VA Series) that would virtually be the same thing but without factory calibration and the added Quick Fit settings. Eventually Asus decided to just Market the Monitor as the PB278Q with the QuickFit settings, but without the added factory calibration. The matte finish is great, not overbearing like the finish you'll find with other displays on the market. My past WQHD monitors were all Glossy which can be very nice, but the glossy finish allowed for a lot of reflections on screen which contributed to greater eye strain. Depending on your viewing environment you'll notice considerably less eye strain after prolonged sessions with this monitor if you're accustomed to a glossy panel.

I won't get heavily into the 2560x1440 vs 120Hz gaming debate, but I've been working with WQHD Monitors for the past few years and also game using them. I'm not a huge fan of 3D gaming and don't care about High Framerates as much as I do about crisp and clear picture quality with awesome viewing angels. That said, a good 120Hz monitor (or more than one in a multi monitor setup) is an amazing thing and you will notice a difference with how smooth your games will play if you have the power to push up to 120FPS on nice a 120Hz monitor setup. Overall I'd pick the screen real-estate that you get from an WQHD monitor as well as the overall better multipurpose use factor. When I say multipurpose I mean that a 27" 2560x1440 Monitor is a much better match for those looking to game, create content, and consume content and multitask on one monitor.

I watch a lot of digital media (a large portion of that being Anime) and I don't always want to be in a seat close to my monitor when viewing my digital media; it's just not comfortable all the time. The viewing angles on the PB278Q are great and allow me to watch from different areas in my room without suffering a loss of color/contrast (tonal shift) that other early IPS monitors or TN based panels would when viewed from non standard viewing angles. I have noticed no shift in color or contrast with the PB278Q. If you are looking for a monitor dedicated to gaming and you're a serious gamer, then there are better TN based panels that will provide a better overall gaming experience. I play mainly RTS and RPG games, but do enjoy a good FPS games just like most gamers do. If you are a twitch FPS gamer look into the reviews that Anandtech or TFTCentral will eventaully publish to see if the actual input lag and real black-white-black response times are acceptable for you, most likely though you will be better off buying TN based monitor that will give you much faster response times and lower input lag.

For a multipurpose monitor that isn't dedicated to competitive/professional FPS gaming you'll absolutely LOVE this monitor. For Media junkies that love their HD content, Anime or just editing video and photos as a hobby you'll get great use out of the expansive screen real-estate. Watching bluray content, or 10bit Anime encodes is a dream on this monitor. If you have any content that goes above 1080p it will look stunning on this display. Until they produce a good 2560x1440 monitor that is capable and advertised as being 120Hz out of the box, I'll continue to game on the standard 60Hz at 2560x1440 resolution. (sure you can overclock some monitors to get a higher refresh rate or even get a Korean Catleap WQHD monitor that is advertised as 120Hz capable (depending on what video card you use) and Pixel Perfect (which still doesn't mean your getting no dead/hot/stuck pixels), but there are drawbacks to going that route: poor stand quality, lack of valid warrant and/or support, potential for quality issues, dead pixels, cheap external power supply, etc.

- Height, Swivel, Tilt and Pivot adjustments. You also get minimal cable management.
- Every Cable you need comes with the Display. Dual Link DVI-D, VGA (D-Sub), HDMI 1.4, Disaply Port 1.2, and a 3.5mm Audio cable.
- The matte finish is wonderful on this display, not too much not too little. Images still look crisp and colors still look vibrant.
- Extremely easy to assemble, just screw the stand (which is already mounted to the display) into the monitor base and you're done.
- A wide variety of configuration options, presets, and adjustments which will let you calibrate the display if you know how or what to find out how.
- Minimal backlight bleeding on mine (This really depends on the individual monitor you get, but Initial reports are showing that backlight bleed is minimal overall with the PB278Q).
- Minimal ghosting in fast paced games and/or video content. If this worries you then go for a 120Hz monitor.
- Has a down facing Blue Power Button LED that you can turn off via the OSD, so that you don't have to light up your room. Very nice!
- Insane Viewing angles, like most IPS based monitors, but slightly better overall than others on the market. I can't see color shift at all at extreme angles.
- MarshallR@ASUS an Asus Marketing guru has confirmed that the PB287Q does in fact have a true 8Bit panel. Great news :)
- No noticeable input lag.

- No USB Hub. Would have been nice, but not really necessary. When it was the VA278Q it was advertised as having a 4 port USB 2.0 Hub.
- Ships in it's own box (not shipped in an additional shipping box), for most people this won't be an issue. A lot of monitors ship this way anyway.
- Not factory calibrated (again, not a problem for most people especially since those with the tools and know how prefer to do it themselves)
- The manual reports that it is an "6-Bit Hi-FRC" based panel which they need to fix to resolve some initial confusion. It is in fact reported to be a true 8-Bit panel.
- It isn't as aesthetically pleasing as some of the WQHD monitors, which doesn't change it's functionality, but the Samsung S27B970D is the sexiest monitor ever created!

**Alternative WQHD Monitors:

It's not as pretty as the Samsung SB970 S27B970D 27-Inch Screen LED-Lit Monitor, but the PB278Q is almost half the price. Sure if you get the PB278Q you are missing some functionality like a USB Hub, and factory calibration, but I don't think it's worth the extra $500 that you would pay as of 10/8/12. TFTCentral has a great review up for the Samsung S27B970D, google it if you're interested. Some people are reporting that there are some issues with quality control for the Panel itself for the S27B970D.

There is another WQHD Monitor that costs even less which is the Nixeus WQHD 27" S-IPS Ultra High Resolution 2560x1440 PC/MAC Monitor NX-VUE27. It uses an S-IPS panel and thus offers an improved pixel refresh timing when compared to earlier IPS technologies, but has lower contrast and poorer color reproduction than newer iterations of IPS panels based technologies like P-IPS, E-IPS, H-IPS, or AH-IPS. You could always go with one of the Korean WQHD Monitors like the Catleap for even less money, but you run the risk of having more than a few bad pixels because they use A- grade panels in their Monitors. You also get no Warranty support depending on who you purchase from, while only having a single DVI input on most of the Korean monitors you'll find.
2121 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
243 of 262 people found the following review helpful
on March 21, 2013
In reading these reviews, they range from "OMG AWESOME!!!!" to "I've just sent back my 4th one...". I don't know the ratio of great ones vs ones people have to send back but mine is great. Luckily for us, Amazon's return policy is great so if you get a lemon, it's not too big a deal to send it back and get a good one. I know that's not something some should be having to do, but it's worth it to keep trying till you get a good one.

- Very clear, crisp, detailed, sharp, vivid picture
- I've tried low rez 120hz, I've tried triple screen, I'm back to this 2560x1440 at .233 dot pitch. This is the best to me. For gaming, for reading text, it's all awesome.
- After having tried 120hz and even triple screens at low 1080 rez (1920x1080 and 5760x1080), switching back to high rez, BF3 is amazingly clear and detailed again. Not just the high rez, but the .233mm dot pitch is stunningly sharp to game on. I'm convinced high rez is the best way to go. Not 120hz, not triple screen.
- The matte coating isn't aggressive or harsh
- Stand does all the motions you'd want and is easy to put together

- Mine appears to be fine, no dead pixels, no backlight issues, no smudges behind the coating, so the panel itself is great, however the BACK portion of the plastic bezel that surrounds the screen appears to have nicks ands scratches on it. Very minor quality control thing but it affects me none, affects the experience none. Not too worried about it.

UPDATE: 03/23/2013. Oh ;) I just found out about this was, the Con that I was talking about. It wasn't a bunch of scratches on the back part of the bezel. It was actually a thin film of plastic that's supposed to be pealed off when I unboxed it. My mistake. The monitor is perfect.

Note: In the monitor settings. Be sure to set some custom settings:
- They say to put brightness to 37, however that was too dark for me. I like 55
- Contrast to 80
- Splendid mode : User
- Set your RGB gains to:
R to 47
G to 49
B to 45
- Set Trace to 40

Summary Update: 03/23/2013. So been using the monitor for a few days and couldn't be happier. No dead pixels, no backlight problems, stunning clarity. Great monitor. If you order this and happen to get one with a problem. Don't get discouraged. I know that sucks, but return it through Amazon and get another one again. It will be worth it. This is a great, detailed monitor with a vivid beautiful picture. Played lots of BF3 as well and there's no ghosting/input lag issues at all.

Another Update: 08/10/2013. The moniter has been awesome except it began to have an electrical problem. It started randomly cycling through it's graphic modes. User, sRGB, Theater, Scenery, etc. Rabidly cycling through modes and I couldn't do anything to stop it. Menu buttons wouldn't respond so couldn't reset it. Left it unplugged for awhile but that didn't help. I had it too long to return to Amazon, so I went through Asus's RMA process and that's why I wanted to give an update and give them props.....

Asus paid for shipping to/from and replaced a board inside the monitor in about a week or less. When they shipped it back, it was nicely packed well in packing bubble insulation and it works perfectly again. Asus is a great brand, and their support is great as well. This monitor is awesome.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
186 of 200 people found the following review helpful
on November 9, 2012

Display: Stunning graphics, excellent color reproduction out of the box, no defective pixel, fast response time for gaming compared to similar monitors in this price range. As always, if you have a professional tool to calibrate the display, it will be even better. However, this display has excellent color reproduction/accuracy out of the box that you don't really have to have a calibrator to enjoy it. For those who don't have a calibrator, I recommend you to adjust the brightness down a little bit since it came with 100% brightness out of the box. The antiglare coating on this display is very light (hence they call this monitor semi glossy) and thus when compared to the heavy coated anti glare monitor like the old Dell U2711/3011 series, it looks much better. Also when compared to the full glossy panel such as Apple Thunderbolt, this monitor has no glares at all, which is extremely good for people who hate glares, especially when you are a professional graphics designer and you sit in front of the monitor all day long.

PLS Glow vs Backlight Bleeding: Beware that this display is a PLS display (which is the Samsung equivalent of IPS from LG) and thus do not confuse PLS glow with back light bleeding. These 2 are completely different. This monitor has no backlight bleeding though this may be different depending where you order the monitor since shipping damage can also affect the amount of back light bleeding as well. How to distinguish PLS glow vs back light bleeding? IF you see a slightly brighter area on a supposedly black screen, and when you move around (ie you move left or right while looking at the same area on the monitor) and the bright area starts to disappear, then that is known as PLS glow. Back light bleeding means that the bright area on a black screen does not change no matter from what angle you look at and no matter where you move.

Cables: Monitor comes with HDMI 1.4a cable (need a modern video card ie Nvidia GTX 600 or AMD HD 7000 series to display 2560-1440 resolution via HDMI, otherwise, you need to use the included DVI cable or Display port cable to get full resolution), DL-DVI cable, Display port 1.2 cable are also included. This is actually one of the few monitors that came with all the cables out of the box.

Stand: Stand is very sturdy, fully adjustable in height. The bottom of the stand has a rotation device that allows you to rotate the display horizontally (this may be a con to some of you who wants to rotate the display only, not the whole stand)

Gaming: Very fast response time, no lag ghosting at all. You need to go to the OSD menu and adjust the Trace free to 40 or 20 for a completely lag-ghost free gaming. Compared to the more expensive Apple Thunderbolt or Dell U2713HM/2711, this display actually has less ghosting effects to the point where its incredibly hard to notice. TFTcentral also confirms this as they compared ghosting of this display vs various other displays on the market.

Bundle bonus: come with a free Vulcan headset which is about 100 bucks. Thank you Asus.

Pricing: extremely competitive pricing, cheaper than all of the competitors out there by a large amount while retaining good quality in both forms (external designs/stands) and function (excellent graphics/color reproduction/accuracy)

PWM backlight, which may or may not be noticeable. I did not notice any difference between this monitor (which has PWM backlight) vs the Dell U2713HM (which doesn't utilize PWM backlight). If you don't know what this is, you won't see the difference since it is very minimal.

Connectivity: While this display has HDMI 1.4a which supports 2560-1440 resolution, DVI and Display port connector, but it lacks USB connectors. I don't think this is a big problem since most people who uses this monitor already has a computer that has USB 3.0 ports available. Having too many connectors will actually increase cost and introduces more input lag. Unless you are one of those who absolutely needs USB connector on a monitor itself, then you won't even notice this lack of USB connection at all.

Pixel Perfect Guarantee: While this is not really a con since Asus does offer 3 years warranty on the product with a 1 year bright dot warranty with Advance Replacement (They will replace the monitor for you and cross ship the monitor for free if there is 1 bright pixel during the warranty period). However, comparing to the Dell Pixel guarantee which Dell will replace you with another monitor if there is 1 defect pixel during the 3 years warranty period, I find that the Asus pixel warranty needs to step up a bit more.

Extremely good quality monitor, excellent out of the box color reproduction/accuracy. Much better build quality than the Korean catleaps (as expected).
Notes: If you use HDMI connector, make sure you use the included HDMI cable in the box since only HDMI 1.4a cable can deliver 2560-1440 resolution. Also, your video card MUST have HDMI 1.4a output as well (currently only Nvidia GTX 600 series or AMD HD 7000 series have HDMI 1.4a output to drive this 2560-1440 resolution). Some people who have older video card and they blame the monitor for not being able to display 2560 resolution using HDMI connector as a result. This makes them look incredibly stupid because its not the monitor fault.

Considering price per performance/quality, as a professional graphics designer, I totally recommend this monitor for anyone who is serious about picture quality/color accuracy as well as durability without breaking the bank. I currently own 4 different monitors (3 at work and 1 at home) including Apple Thunderbolt Display, Dell U2713HM, Samsung Series 9 S27B970D and this Asus PB278Q. Out of the 4 monitors, the Asus is the one that I like the most due to the balance between glare(from glossy display like Apple and Samsung S27B970D) and picture quality as well as gaming. This Asus PB278Q is the cheapest of the 4 (400 bucks cheaper than the Samsung/Apple display) while it has equivalent picture quality as the other 3 which is incredible.
77 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
on April 1, 2015
i am on my 3rd of these monitors, monitor roulette. 1st one, pretty bad bleeding, especially in the lower left. i returned it on amazon, got a new one, slightly worse on the replacement. what is odd, is if you very gently touch the lower left and upper right corners, the bleeding is reduced dramatically. almost like the screen isnt secured well enough. seems to be fine on the lower right and upper left, which makes no sense.

anyways heres a pic, do see. it mostly is ok if you have a light on in your room, but trying to play a game with dark scenes or a movie, it is very noticeable, which is after adjusting the monitor settings (like brightness at 20/30 %) and enabling tracefree at around 60 which is supposed to be the ideal setting for this monitor.

hope this helps someone buying this monitor, from the reviews i have read some people get no bleeding (but with standard ips glow), which others have some crazy bleeding like mine. guess it really is a lottery buying these kinds of monitors, which is a shame because it really is a nice one.
review image
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
on November 30, 2013
I'm posting this review particularly for someone who wants to know how this monitor compares to Apple's 27" monitor or a 27" iMac for editing photographs.

So, first some qualification: I'm comparing my late 2009 iMac's monitor panel to this ASUS PB278Q. And, I'm making my comparison based on calibrating both of them using Coloreyes Display Pro calibration kit purchased within the last six months.

My purpose for this monitor is to rotate it into portrait mode so that I can work on my vertical photographs in Photoshop, Lightroom, Capture One, etc, at the same display size that my 27" iMac provides for horizontal photographs. (roughly 2/3 of my shots are vertical) So, it was important to me to get a close match in performance and behavior between them. And, happily, I feel I was able to do this.

Leaving the ASUS in "Standard" view mode with no user adjustments and calibrating with the Coloreyes app and Spyder, I got a reasonable match, but noticed that the iMac color gradations were smoother, and not surprisingly, the ASUS looked a little sharper. I could have almost lived with this, but I decided to persevere.

I won't bore you with how many approaches I took to resolving this difference, but my bottom line was that I got a decent comparison when I lowered the ASUS contrast down to 30 and then re-profiled it. Coloreyes' profile validation graph looked best at this setting and the monitors looked very close to each other -- close enough that I'm content to get back to work. ;-)

This was actually a very good learning experience in that I got a better sense of what I would demand of a higher level (much more expensive) monitoring solution. But, there comes a point of diminishing returns and I'm going to settle for the performance that a 27" iMac and this ASUS monitor provides for now.

I haven't tried pairing two Apple 27" displays, but I wonder if I tried pairing Apple's newer 27" display with my 2009 iMac if I'd get any better matching. I wouldn't be surprised if I found a similar nuance of difference there as well.

So, after calibration, with ASUS at Contrast: 30, three differences I see between the 2009 27" iMac display and the ASUS PB278Q:

(1) Slight difference in smoothness of very gradual color gradation in light and dark areas.
(2) The iMac's blacks are blacker. But, when comparing actual photographs, this seems to be a non-issue.
(3) Even after calibration, the two monitors do not display colors exactly the same. Here, the ASUS actually looks a little more "right" to me based on neutral grays and pure whites. The iMac looks just a tiny bit shifted to green. It IS going on 4 years old . . .


Experience has taught me the value of calibrating your monitor. For someone who wants a good cost-effective solution, I recommend Coloreyes Display Pro. And, my conclusions are based on the assumption that you will calibrate your monitor.

If you are trying to decide between Apple's $1000 display and this under-$600 alternative, you can safely save yourself $400-plus by going with this ASUS display. Use some of the $400 to get what you need to keep it in calibration and you'll be better off since you would need to calibrate the Apple display as well.

If you are worried about pairing this display with your Apple 27" display, I think you will likely be satisfied with how close you can get them. *OF COURSE* it won't be a *perfect* match. I'm not convinced that a new Apple would match perfectly either. At least in my case, it's a very workable pairing.

My 27" iMac does not have an anti-glare screen like the newer models. This ASUS does, and it's a welcome improvement.


I remember the first time I view my photographs on the iMac. I was previously using an EIZO ColorEdge CE210, which is a decent color calibrated monitor. The iMac just blew it away. And, once correctly calibrated, has served me very well. So, for me to say that I could be just as happy working with this ASUS as I have been with my iMac 27" is saying something.

Hope this is helpful to someone looking for this particular comparison like I was when trying to decide whether or not to buy the ASUS.

If anything changes with use of the ASUS monitor, I will be sure to update my post.

*** 12-11-2013 - OK, so here's an update. Everything is just fine with the ASUS monitor and I have very much enjoyed using it for Photoshop work. Today, I picked up an Apple "Refurbished" late-2012 design 27" i7 iMac (barely any different from what they are selling today). So, now I can compare the look of the current 27" iMac monitor to the ASUS instead of my almost 4-year-old one. Remarkably, the color balance is now much closer between the two. Just thought you might find that helpful. ***
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on April 25, 2015
I see so many outdated reviews to so I feel I need to add one more to set things straight. If you are buying from any vendor in the US today including Amazon, you are likely to get a 2014 version of PB278Q (a.k.a PB278QR in Europe). It looks almost identical to the old PB278Q manufactured 2012 through mid-2014, but is in its core a very different model as the key parts (panel + backlighting) has changed.

I will outline a few of the differences but you can search for more updated reviews of 2014 PB278Q (there are very few of them though.)

1. Panel
Original: Samsung's PLS
New: AUO's AHVA (don't mistake it for VA)
Both are subcategories of the more general IPS category, but with slightly different color presets and IPS glow.

2. Backlighting
Original: PWM Dimming.
New: PWM/flicker free.
A major improvement of the new model.

3. Bezel
Original: Matte grey
New: Matte black
Original is better at perceving black level.

4. Gaming.
Original: About 10ms input lag + 5-8 ms response time
New: About 1-3ms input lag + 5-8 ms response time
2014 version is delay-free hence better for gaming with minimal level of ghosting and blur.

There are also other changes such as OSD menu, button layout, etc.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
62 of 70 people found the following review helpful
on September 22, 2013
I have a new MacBook Pro with a Retina screen. I've paired it with an Apple display and gotten 4k resolution, but paired with this screen the best possible resolution is 1080p. I'll upload a photo of the monitors control panel to show that result.

Also, the scaling (overall pixel dimensions) is off so when I select full screen for an application, I have to scroll to see the rest of the window. That was never the case with an Apple or Dell monitor.
review image
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
on February 15, 2013
I went through 2 Dell U2713s before getting this monitor. The first 2 Dell U2713s from Amazon were awesome but had HORRIBLE backlight bleeding! It was quite unfortunate. I finally gave up on Dell and decided to order this ASUS monitor and it is just about perfect! Amazing panel, no dead pixels and virtually NO backlight bleeding :) I am a happy man who can edit photos with a smile on my face now :)
review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
on September 3, 2013
I am a photographer and spent about 4 weeks researching monitors. I went back and forth between the ASUS PB278Q and the Dell 2713H. It was a hard decision but comparing the specs, the price point and reading other reviews I finally decided on the ASUS PB278Q.
Here's Why:
1. The PLS panels produces better blacks than the IPS panels (which is very necessary for photo editing)
2. The price point at mid 500s saved me about 100 bucks that could be used towards a colormiter for calibration
3. There wasn't any real negative reviews about the monitor however I felt the ASUS didn't get the best reviews because it was a constant comparison to the better known name of Dell
4. The resolution was perfect and necessary for a 27" monitor - 2560x1440
5. It is 100%sRGB, which is the smaller gamut of colors compared to ProRGB and Adobe RGB however, sRGB is the internet standard and it still produce proper colored photographs.

It is easy to get sucked into all the technical stuff and the numbers but what it comes down to is real world application. Even with the most expensive, high end monitor with the wrong video card the monitor can be limited and vice versa with a great video card the specs of a mid-range monitor will exceed most people's expectation. That is exactly what the ASUS did for me. It exceeded my expectations on color delivery and accuracy straight out the box. Coming from a 25" 1080P color monitor where colors shifted depending on the angle of view the ASUS was like driving a BMW 750 vs A Toyota Camry. It just did everything better.

In fact I went back to old edited photos and corrected them because I had a more accurate perspective of color. One of the most embarrassing things as a photographer is to have your photos shift color because your monitor showed you something different than expected on the web or in print. I feel as if my editing skills have just gone up with the more accurate colors.

You will read reviews that talks about light bleeding, flickering because of the LED back-lighting, etc. I will tell you I have not noticed any of these issues. Yes, on a total black screen in the corners you can see some light bleeding but in real world application it is not noticeable, not even one bit. I noticed absolutely no flickering. The monitor is a great monitor and I do not have any real complaints. I am very happy with my purchase.

Here are a list of my pros and cons (Please note my Cons are not really related to the ability of the monitor):

*Color accuracy
*Resolution (2560x1440 is phenomenal, it presents a much better presentation of images. I can't go back to 1080p NOTE: for 2560x1440 resolution you must connect using DVI-D port or Display Port. HDMI is not supported at this resolution unless your video card can support it.)
*Size of monitor
*Price Point
*Wide Viewing Angle which eliminates color shifting depending on which angle you are looking from (No color shift from top/bottom or left/right)
*PLS panels producing better blacks than IPS panels
*100% sRGB color gamut
*Easily rotated (must pull monitor out some to rotate to Horizontal position)
*Ease of working in the dark or light
*No reflections
*The Semi-Glossy panel is not dull or patchy. It's a nice mix of matte and glossy finish.
*All connection cables are included in the box (Dual DVI, HDMI 1.4, Display Port, etc.)
*Easy to assemble
*3 Year warranty

*Doesn't come from manufacturer per-calibrated (but the price point makes it worth it and the colors are great out the box)
*No USB ports on the monitor (a nicety but not a necessity)
*Prefer side buttons instead of buttons at the bottom of the monitor

As you can see the pros out way the cons. If you are in a delima of choosing a monitor and you want a great monitor without breaking the bank this is the monitor for you. I believe you will be well pleased. Other monitors of this size and resolution costs $100-$1000 more. Jumping to a 30" monitor more than double the cost versus a 27" monitor but it is not a huge noticeable difference in size. Also, for even better color accuracy you should calibrate the monitor with one of the better colormiters\calibration software on the market.

I hope this review is helpful.

Happy Shopping and again you will not go wrong with this monitor.
88 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 416 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.