Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts Under $50 Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Black Friday Deals Black Friday Video Game Deals Outdoor Deals on HTL

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
on November 27, 2012
To begin, I've owned laptops in both 14" and 17" sizes and specifically chose this 15-inch model based on my previous experiences with each. The screen size is perfect for productivity while keeping the machine small enough for lugging around. At around 5 pounds, I have no trouble carrying it to the next room or outside so portability is great. My first impression out of the box was that this is an elegant looking machine but you probably won't draw attention like you would with an ultrabook (which I actually like!)

I really like the responsiveness of the keyboard, though I feel like it will take some "breaking in" before the keys are well-suited for typing long documents. The display is crisp and colors are showing up nicely. I'd probably rate it a 7 or 8 based on the display quality alone.

Several reviews have stated that the touchpad is difficult to use, and to some extent I would agree. However, there is one setting, namely the horizontal scrolling setting, that can be turned off in the Elan touchpad configuration (from the taskbar) which will almost eliminate the touchpad issue that the CNET and notebook review sites don't mention. I believe Acer simply didn't factor in the horizontal scroll ability from Elan because there are arrows for the vertical scroll on the touchpad, but none for horizontal.

Windows 8 has some issues, but they aren't related to the notebook itself and this isn't a windows 8 review so I won't badmouth nor rate Acer on these grounds. Specifically there should have been better support for users without a touch screen device (I refuse to use a display with fingerprints on it) but that blame should fall on Microsoft, not acer.

There is a good deal of pre-installed software, but much of it seems somewhat useful. I usually remove about 80-100% of pre-installed manufacturer programs on the first boot, but with this machine I kept about 40% of the software to at least give them a chance.

Solid performance, zero lag, and everything just seems to work. No trouble with any of the hardware thus far (still first day of use) and I'm generally feeling really good about this purchase with the help of those black Friday discounts!

I may update this review in a few weeks once I've had some more time to get used to it, but I wanted to average out the overall ratings of this system because at least the first review was completely biased based on the experience of the operating system alone and the ability to play games. Please don't waste our time and badmouth the entire system in your reviews because you had a bad experience with a few aspects of it.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
on December 6, 2012
I own the previous model of this laptop. Acer upgraded the new model from Windows 7 to Windows 8. The only other difference between the two models is that Acer swapped out the second generation sandy bridge i5 processor for the the new third gen ivy bridge i5 processor. The new i5 3210m processor has a slight performance increase of 5 percent, better graphics performance, and should get slightly better battery life as compared to the old 2450m.

With that said, here is my review for the previous model. Everything else I said will still apply.

It took nine days from the time I ordered the laptop until it was delivered.

Several components of this laptop can be upgraded/tweaked to increase the overall performance of the laptop. The Nvidia graphic interface can be adjusted in Windows to a high performance mode which will override the Intel graphics. The Nvidia 630m gives a noticeable performance boost. The Nvidia GPU puts a serious drain on the battery if you aren't plugged in to the wall. Make sure to check that your Nvidia graphics card is updated with the newest drivers that are available.

I also installed 4GB of additional DDR3 RAM in the empty slot. I went with the 20$ budget RAM that Amazon suggested as an accessory. And finally, I spent a few hours cloning the 5400rpm hard drive onto a new Sandisk Extreme 240GB SSD. It was my first time cloning a drive and it turned into a huge headache, but I learned a lot. I'm seeing read speeds of 480 MB/S on the new SSD. After I got windows up and running on the SSD, I went through and uninstalled all of the bloatware that Acer pre-installs and cleaned up the junk programs running in memory.

After upgrades, this budget laptop is almost exactly on par for performance with the most expensive version of the new Macbook Pro with the Ivy Bridge i7 processor that costs over twice as much. With the upgrades, my laptop boots up in less than ten seconds. After upgrades, your Windows experience index should be around a 7. According to Windows, "A computer with a base score of 6.0 or 7.0 has a faster hard disk, and can support high-end, graphics-intensive experiences, such as multiplayer and 3‑D gaming and recording and playback of HDTV content."

I'm very impressed with the performance so far. As a test, I simultaneously ran a dozen windows in Google Chrome, an HD movie, BitTorrent, Warcraft 3, Photoshop, and Microsoft Word. The processor gadget in Windows showed that the processor was running at only 4 percent. It handles every game I've tested on high or medium/high settings. So far I've played Call of Duty Black Ops, Grand Theft Auto 4, Fallout 3, Warcraft, Skyrim and Borderlands. It also handles video editing 1080p HD movies without any lag.

Price/performance for this laptop is insanely good
Intel i5 processor easily handles multitasking
Open slot for additional DDR3 memory
easily accessible hard drive bay
Photoshop CS6 opens in 2 seconds (after SSD upgrade)
Ridiculously fast 10 second Windows boot time (after SSD upgrade)
instantaneous wake from hibernation state
Nvidia Graphics card can run demanding video games at high/medium detail
4 hour battery life
DVD drive is handy (a lot of manufacturer's are phasing them out, especially in the ultrabooks)
Wireless internet worked perfectly right out of the box (because I hate downloading drivers)


As described by other users, the black plastic outer shell on this laptop definitely shows off finger prints.
A bit heavier than it looks, but definitely reasonable
built-in speakers are not that great (they never are)
Microsoft Office 'starter' only includes Word and Excel
3636 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on January 7, 2013
I needed a cheap(er) laptop that could play games, do school, play movies; be the ultimate entertainment machine. After spending dozens of hours of research and reading way to many reviews, I came across the answer; the Acer V3. After seeing the price drop from $650 to $530, I finally made my decision and purchased this semi-gaming behemoth.

Packaging: As you might expect, it came with lots of cardboard, and lots of bubble wrap. It arrived in perfect condition however, and I am happy with the speed of the shipping. 5/5

Build: A little on the heavy side (around 5lbs.), but is not near as bad as my previous Dell Latitude. The screen is nice, winning the best screen award in the house :D, bright too. The keyboard is stellar, and it has a full number pad that is excellent for gaming. I have not been experiencing the mousepad issues other reviewers have raged about, I like it for light web browsing, but I usually prefer my gaming mouse over the mousepad. A downside, that is sure to enrage others, is that the screen, keyboard, and pretty much everything on the surface of the laptop is a extreme fingerprint magnet. While I don't mind it as long as it doesn't get on the screen, it will annoy some I'm sure. Overall, 4/5.
EDIT: I little nitpick I have is that there is no cap locks indicator. I usually don't mind this, but it does get annoying somethimes.

Gaming: The graphic card, the Nvidia 630m 1gig is a good (not great) graphic card that should be able to play most games at med/high. Below are the fps scores I've got playing games

1. Minecraft: Easily 60-120 fps, everything max, I installed optifine and some hd texture packs and still got around 60-100 fps. I tried to lag that game in Creative Mode, I blew up 100 plus tnt, had four Wither Bosses out, and it still maintained 40+ fps. Don't believe rumors that you can't install this game on Windows 8, I've been playing this game without any issues thus far, will update otherwise.

2: Feed the Beast: Around 40-60 on max. Feed the beast is a collection (60) mods for minecraft that work simultaneously.

2. Planteside 2: Around 20-40 fps on Medium; average 30. It works great while playing, I didn't try on high, and don't except it to work well. But it's still fun playing on Medium.

3. Torchlight 1: Steady 60 fps.

4. Transformers: War For Cybertron: Steady 30 fps on high, even on multiplayer.

5. Arkham Asylum: 20-30 on max.

6. Rayman Origins: Easily playable on 720p.

7. DCUO: Hovers around 30 on a mix of med. and high settings.

8. Lord of the Rings Online: Do not know the exact fps, but ran fairly smoothly on med-high.

9. Realm of the Mad God: Easily playable in 720p.

I don't have that many games installed as I am a little short on money, but with each new game I get, I will update this review. Overall: 4/5

Heat: This is a downside for me. The vent that sucks in air and circulates it around the laptop is on the bottom of the laptop, right where your leg will be if it is on your lap! This results in putting the laptop in an odd position on your lap if your gaming. I did not realize this at first while I was playing transformers and was blocking air circulation while playing. This resulted in temps reaching 65-70 C; really hot. But after I positioned to increase airflow It kept relatively cool (for gaming) at 50-60 C. You won't notice the heat too much, however, if your watching a video or surfing the web. Overall: 3/5.

Internet connectivity: Here is where the laptop's biggest flaw is. Windows 8 will NOT connect to a WEP network on a shared key, I did not realize this and could not connect to the home network! It was a huge pain in the side to change from a WEP to a WPA-PSK network, too which my laptop connected fairly well, I still get random dropouts sometimes, but all our devices in the house are experiencing the same problem too. We still don't know the problem with it yet and hopefully it will be resolved soon. 2/5

So, if you want a cheap laptop that can play games relatively well, get this one as it has one of the cheapest price/performance ratio I've seen on amazon. While not prefect, a little heavy, a finger print magnet, and gets a little hot while gaming, and it doesn't to a WEP network on shared key, I'm quite happy with my purchase.

I will continue to update this review over time. If you have any questions regarding this laptop, please ask and I'll do my best to answer them.

Hope this helps,

J. Applesmith
77 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on December 4, 2012
My old faithful home-built tower PC finally stopped working the week of Thanksgiving, which conveniently worked out for some Cyber Monday shopping. Aside from the automatic star from my wife for any laptop that allowed me to stop borrowing hers, I have been pleasantly surprised with this computer.

The i5 processor has blown through installing all my old programs. This has been one of the fastest re-setups I have had in a while. I ran through a batch of video rendering and compression to give it a good test run. I knew that it should run much faster than my old single core system, but I had a reduction in runtime of around 70%, which was more than I was expecting.

My days of hardcore gaming have passed, but I still play around every week or so. The system had no trouble running Civilization V and Neopolian: Total War at close to max video settings. I did get some long processing time on the larger maps for CivV, but I think that is to be expected. Good screen size, average screen resolution. The dedicated video card was a big plus when I bought this system, and it worked well for the games I have. I would recommend this as a great budget systems for games or for a gamer who wants to play the old games he has laying around.

Not overly heavy at 5 lbs. I like the full size keyboard with a numpad, again great for gaming. I have not had the problems that the other reviews have had with the touchpad, but I use a wireless mouse most of the time. Speakers have good volume and quality for built in speakers. Not a lot of bloatware pre-installed like a lot of systems I have bought. Wildtangent had to go but some of the others actually look useful.

I could not end this review without talking about Windows 8. The jury is still out for me, and since I have a license for Win7 that is not being used, I may revert. But I am going to give it some more time first. The Start tile screen freaked me out at first, but once I got to the desktop tile I felt much better. Once there everything runs pretty normally. For all those on the fence because this laptop has Win8, the old desktop look and feel is still there if you want it to be. Do not let that hold you back if you like the rest of the specs.

This is my second Acer laptop. I have had three HPs, a Toshiba, a Dell and a Sony. My past Acer has been reliable as most of the laptops I have owned and much better than the year my Dell ran before the motherboard blew. I will have to update later if any problems develop on this one.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on December 21, 2012
I used to have an Acer Aspire 7750 but it was stolen recently. So I had to search for a replacement. This is the 4th laptop I'm buying from Acer since I found it extremely reliable and affordable.
It was a bargain to find a laptop with a 1GB dedicated graphics card at this price range. I use the laptop for college work and some occasional gaming. The boot times were reasonable and applications ran quite smoothly. World of Warcraft ran at 45 fps on medium settings.
However there are a couple of problems,
First, the panels are a fingerprint magnet.
The touchpad is extremely sensitive. It is a pain to type sometimes because if the palm touches the pad, the cursor moves somewhere else and you'll have to correct it a lot.
Also, whenever I bring the laptop out of standby mode, I lose sound even though the volume control shows that sound is playing. A reboot/ hibernation fixes that problem.

The battery lasts around 4 hrs with watching movies and browsing the net.

And if you buy a laptop/smartphone/tablet, install the free open source anti-theft software Prey.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on January 29, 2013
This computer was exactly what I was looking for; a speedy, versatile computer that I can use for both professional and recreational purposes.
The games I play include World of Warcraft, League of Legends, Tera, and various Steam games, and this computer has ran them all smoothly, even while running iHeartRadio at the same time.

Dislikes (why I only gave 4 stars):
There are kinks in Windows 8, but that's not the computer's fault. And believe it or not, my computer handles Windows 8 relatively well.
The laptop is heavier than others.
The fan that pulls air in to the computer is in an obnoxious place; it sits right on the top of your leg when you have it on your lap.
The mousepad placement is odd. I find myself accidently clicking it with the bottom of my left hand when I'm typing.
The camera is low quality. I didn't buy the computer for photography, but my phone takes better pictures and videos.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on November 26, 2012
I was looking for a laptop with at least an i5 processor and a dedicated graphics card for a while now, and happened to find this one. It has great specs for its price and I definitely recommend it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on February 2, 2014
i bought this laptop in december of 2012, it was a great buy. It's the best laptop you can get with a dedicated video card for under $1000. this laptop was perfect for the first year that I owned it. I would always show off how fast it is, and how it can run the games i play on the highest recommended settings. I also upgraded the RAM from 4 to 8 gb's about a week after i purchased it, since the ram is only $40

but about 6 months ago, my computer started lagging, and it takes 4 minutes to boot instead of the 30 seconds it used to take. I ran a virus scan with 3 different programs (windows defender, avg, and McAfee). I also reformatted my computer and then upgraded to windows 8.1. When i boot my computer it takes a few minutes to get to the Metro Screen, and about 1/4 times i start my computer up, it goes to the BIOS screen and tells me that i have no bootable device. Which pretty much means that this laptop has a terrible hard drive, that is going to die soon. but thats not the worst part.

WORST part about this laptop is that when i connect the charger to the laptop, it keeps making this Annoying beeping sound like i'm disconnecting the power supply and plugging it back in. I bought a new charger and I'm still having this problem. I just spent about 5 minutes writing this review and I've heard that obnoxious beeping sound 20 times.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on February 16, 2013
The laptop screen colour is off a red looks like pink just very dull
Finger print magnet (i did know it was going to be though)
Windows 8 is ok once you get use to it
When i first got the laptop the screen would flicker but the drivers were updated and it works now have not gotten any flickers since
The fan blows hot when playing games but i guess i have to expect that
The webcam is not good at all if you are really looking forward to it don't it sucks big time honestly looks crappy.
Start up is pretty quick about 30 to 40 sec of less
The track pad is very sensitive i dont know if i can change this but an example would be watching a youtube video and just going to swtich a tab and the video will rewind or fast forward but who knows maybe i have heavy hands :D got use to it though.
To be when flashdrives and other peripherals are inserted it doesn't fit snug it has a little play when you shake it
Runs photoshop pretty good i am no expert on it but making simple pictures is easy and i dont get any lagging freezing or anything of the sort
I think that is all i can comment on right now i am no expert but these are my thoughts hope i help someone
(sorry if english is bad)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on December 28, 2012
To start with, I bought this when it was priced at $530, so I may have gotten a little more bang for the buck than other reviews on here. This is also the first laptop I've bought for myself and not someone else.

Pros: Keyboard - responsive keys, numeric keypad, Fn shortcuts; boot time; multitasking - I typically leave open 4-6 applications at once, and this runs without a hitch; weight; touchpad multi-touch support; case looks nice (BUT see cons); boot time

Cons: Glare on screen; USB placement - I prefer farther back for side USB ports as they are the most used, and I use an external mouse; bloatware; Some key sizes (Tilde/Delete/Escape/Ctrl/Arrow Keys); trackpad seems too twitchy i.e. too sensitive (didn't bother looking for a fix, external mouse); glossy case shows fingerprints and smudges quickly; optical drive open button is very hard to hit accurately, sometimes comes open with just a light accidental brush
EDIT: I forgot to mention that there are no indicator lights for Caps/Scroll/Num Lock. Very frustrating occasionally, especially with caps.

Other Thoughts: I removed 90% of the preinstalled junk, as is my habit, beecause it's simply useless. You don't even need half the drivers installed because Windows will install them automatically without the terrible interface programs. Boot times are really nice, haven't timed it, but seems faster than my windows 7 comp, which has faster hardware, but also more hard drive space to check. I can't figure out how to access the BIOS during setup time, which frustrates me, but I'm sure there must be a way. The "Dolby Home Theater" speakers are kinda terrible, not the worst that I've heard on a laptop, but nothing compared to my good headphones. I also uninstalled the Dolby software for the record, so I don't know if that has any effect on the sound quality. I set the touchpad to turn off when an external mouse is plugged in, so I don't have to worry about it moving the cursor when typing or otherwise. I recommend external mice anyway as they are more ergonomic. If you're worried about Windows 8, I don't want to get into a prolonged discussion here, but it's not as bad as I thought it would be. I got a start menu replacement, and that was that. Overall, there are several things in it that are better than Windows 7 (Task manager, copy dialogue, explorer ribbon. It's the little things).

TL;DR For the price I got it at ($530) well worth it. Not a gamer's laptop, but definitely a multitasker's. Would buy again.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.