Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Mudcrutch Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Get Ready for Summer and Save 15% The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Outdoor Recreation

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars29
Style Name: Chartplotter/Sounder/Transducer|Product Packaging: Standard Packaging|Change
Price:$565.74+ $8.87 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 5, 2014
Bought this for my 07 Bayliner 2855 Ciera. Mounted on the helm with a flush mount. Basically plug and play. I am running NMEA 2000 engine monitoring on the display along with Sirus XM weather and music. Directions can be a bit confusing but tech support was awesome and walked me through everything. If you are a do it yourself kinda guy/gal then I am gonna offer you some hints that will save you a headache.

1. After mounting your display there is a cable in the box with a bunch of small wires coming out the other end (brown, white, red, green, black etc). Two of those will wire into your ignition key electrical so when you turn the key the unit powers on and it will power the unit. The other end screws into the GPS unit

2. A cable will come out the back and will run to the "backbone". The "backbone" is made up of "T Connectors that run together in a line and looks like a spine. This is where different accessories will plug into. For example, The XM sat puck cable will run to one of the T connectors in the back bone. The GPS unit will have a cable that runs to another T connector in the back bone. The NMEA 2000 will run to the back bone also. The back bone can hold tons of accessories.

3. REMEMBER there will be power that runs to the back bone (Yellow cable). This is where it gets confusing. There will be power that runs to the backbone AND there will be power that runs direct to the GPS unit (wired into the keys switch). You may need the NMEA 2000 Power Isolator if you are adding stuff to the backbone. This keeps an even current to the accessories. It basically is a yellow T connector that can go anywhere in the line of T connectors that are connected together. I put mine in the middle.

4 If you have questions ask Garmin to send you the full NMEA 2000 connection PDF.. Or here is the link.

[...]
It is an awesome display and easy to see maps and overlays. Split screen is awesome. You can run your map, displays and music off your iPad or iPhone app called Gamin Helm.

I would definitely run the Lake HD ULTRA maps for US lakes. It is a great program and well worth the money! go with the $99.00 transducer for HD. The fish finder is unbelievable. Don't waste the money on $300-500 transducers.

This is one of the best units I have used and definitely recommend. Email me with questions. I am happy to offer my 2 cents.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2013
Purchased for trailered 22 ft cuddy-cabin for trip to Lake Powell Glen Canyon. Base map limited as other reviewers of Garmin marine receivers have pointed out. Bought the high end G2 inland maps to go with it. Unit easy to install with excellent directions. Mapping screen updates so fast I never saw any latency at all. Sonar worked well at all speeds in 200-300 water depths of Lake Powell when Lowrance in dash failed to read past 80 ft and again no latency. As a fish finder the display was easy to read and accurate based on catching fish at depths where the return indicated. Have used it at several other lakes in Southwest with no issues. Recommend highly.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2014
My 84 yr old has done nothing but play with this since Christmas, he owns a few Garmins but this one is the best by far, He takes it on big boat, little boat and airboat, he just loves it!! Not complicated to use. Awesome instrument.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2013
This unit works flawless and with the optional chirp transducer (tm150 m) I can pick up the bottom to depths greater than 2000 ft. It also has great target separation for defining exactly whats under you.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2015
Dont get no better than this.....I totally rely on the use
of this GPS receiver. It leaves very little to be desired and
easy to use and read, even in bright sun light. I have two years
of use and literally hundreds of hours of water use in many different parts of
Florida and Michigan and the mapping exceeds any of my needs.
I am rather particular and demanding with its use and remains a real great product and
trustworthy for continued use. I will NEVER leave port without this
receiver guiding my way..NEVER , EVER !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2013
Design is well executed. Had a 541S before and this is clearly an evolution. Features and screen clarity very good. Have concern about durability of the plastic support bracket. Time will tell.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2016
We had an earlier model that worked well for 7 years but gave up the ghost in the middle of the Pacific Ocean on the way to the Marquesas. We got this as a replacement and had a friend bring it to us in the Society Islands. Unfortunately though the cable was compatible with our older Garmin, that had corroded with the salty enviroment and we had to rewire the new cable in which in a sailboat is a labor intensive exercise. This unit fired up without a problem but we noticed a glitch. Whenever we zoomed down to 800m scale it would switch off! This happened whilst maneuvering the boat in a narrow channel in Bora Bora. The fix for this was to download the new firmware to upload to the unit which was difficult with the slow bandwidth in Tahiti. The 800Mb update took me multiple tries and over 8hours to download. Once uploaded to the GPS Map reader it has worked well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2015
Amazing upgrade compared to the 541. This thing is a home run and really makes needing the larger chart plotters/faster units a thing of the past.

Pros:
FAST FAST FAST
Good resolution and uses vision maps
Connects to phone for WIFI mapping, allows you to make routes from your phone
Internal GPS is better than past internal units
Chirp and other sonor built in

Cons:
Not touchscreen (some people will like this as when you are in waves or going fast it is easier)
Smaller than old flush mount installation of same class units
No networking with other chartplotters (most people will not care about this)

All in all if you need a new chartplotter of this size, look into this or the 741xs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2015
This little GPS is amazing. Super intuitive, easy to learn user interface, great display that automatically controls its brightness based on current lighting conditions, wifi interface with my iPad or iPhone is a great feature especially for planning courses. Mine is mounted in a NavPod alongside the original boatbuilder's 2004 vintage electronics as an auxiliary GPS but this little giant quickly turned into my primary navigation unit. Absolutely love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2014
If your going out on the water to due any kind of fishing you need this unit. It will exceed all of your aspects.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 22 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.