Customer Reviews

452
4.2 out of 5 stars
Samsung Galaxy Tab Pro 8.4-Inch Tablet (Black)
Color Name: BlackChange
Price:$334.96 + $7.99shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

335 of 351 people found the following review helpful
on May 17, 2014
Color Name: WhiteVerified Purchase
UPDATE 7 Dec 2014 - Added blurb on restrictions writing to the microSD card under KitKat (Android 4.4)
From time to time, as I learn more about this very powerful system, I will add to my review and adjust my comments when I think it is something noteworthy or that may help your decision

MY "TECHINESS"
I have in my house both Apple and Android mobile devices (iPad - original) , iPod - touch, mini-iPads, iDream Tablet running Android 4.0), PC's running Windows XP, Vista, and 8.1, cell phones running Android 2.3, and feature phones -- so I consider myself tech savvy. And what I don't know, or can't figure out, my teenagers can.

The Samsung Galaxy Tab Pro 8.4 is my latest acquisition and I use it for myself. As of this update I have had it a few months, playing with constantly.

PLACE IN SAMSUNG PRODUCT LINE
Samsung makes a variety of models, and it is often hard to tell what one model does that another does not, and which model or sub-model is the right one for you. For Samsung, there are now four Galaxy Pro lines that overlap:

1) Tab Pro - WiFi only (SM-T320), 16 GB (no 32 GB version available (yet?))
2) Tab Pro - WiFi & 4G (SM-T325), 16 GB (no 32 GB version available (yet?))
3) Tab S - WiFi only (SM-TSM-T700N) 16 GB (no 32 GB version available (yet?))
- -Tab S - 4G (coming soon?)
4) Note Pro - WiFi 4G/LTE (SM-P905) 32 GB

The difference between the four lines are:
1) The Note Pro line has the S-pen stylus handwriting and drawing on the screen,
2) The Tab Pro lines have no S-pen.
3) The Tab S is functionally the same as the Tab Pro, with these differences -- a super amoled display, 1.9 GHz Exynos 5 Octa Processor (1.9 GHz Quad Core + 1.3 GHz Quad Core), thinner and lighter. It is also priced about $70 more than the Pro 8.4.

The Note Pro also comes in two screen size (10.1' and 12.2"), while the Tab Pro and Tab S (will) come in three sizes (8.4", 10.1", and 12.2".) Otherwise, they all have similar top-of-the-line specs and features.

The Samsung Galaxy Tab Pro is just below the Tab S at the very top of the Tab line. The Tab, Tab 2, Tab 3, and Tab 4 are successive budget models, while the Tab Pro and Tab S are the elite high-end (and expensive) versions. It (will) comes in four flavors: WiFi only, and WiFi plus data (3G/4G), combined with either 16GB or 32GB of internal storage. It also comes in two colors: black, or white (I guess that would make eight flavors.)

COMPETITION
As I go through the features and specs below, I think it will be increasingly clear that Samsung has targeted the Tab Pro 8.4 to one-up (or more) over the Apple mini-iPad Retina -- and at a significantly better price-point ($350+ versus $600 for a comparable Retina.) And there are numerous comparisons available in print and on YouTube, most favoring the Tab Pro 8.4. Just google "Tab Pro 8.4 versus mini-iPad Retina" to find the comparisons.

CASE
The Galaxy Tab Pro 8.4 is ten percent taller, four percent narrower, and maybe a smidge thinner than the Apple mini-iPad Retina. The two are almost exactly the same weight. The Tab Pro 8.4 has a pleasing simulated-leather back, which is very realistic in look and feel, including stitching. The mini-iPad retina has a metal back.

O/S, RAM & STORAGE
The Tab Pro 8.4 runs on Android 4.4.2 (Kit Kat) which is the latest released version of Android -- seems to be a very stable and a well executed O/S. I have yet to run into anything funny or alarming with it. One thing I like very much about Kit Kat is that the O/S manages your memory for you -- you no longer have to worry about where things go. And it has a massive memory/storage capability -- 2 GB RAM, plus 16 GB of fast internal storage, plus up to 64 GB external micoSDXC storage, for a whopping 80 GB of very fast combined on-board storage capability.

In comparison, the Apple min-iPad Retina does not have a user-accessible external storage, so once you purchase your mini-iPad, you can't add more storage later. Apple does offer sub-models with more internal storage, but at a greatly increased price, for example at 64GB, nearly $600. Compare that to an 80GB Tab Pro 8.4 at $400 ($350 for the 16 GB Tab Pro + $50 for the 64GB microSDXC card.).

ANDROID 4.4 (KitKat) - Writing to the micro SD card.

Some forums have been complaining about the restriction on 3rd party apps not being able to write to the microSD card when running under KitKat. So I address that issue here. This applies to all Android devices running KiTKat (Android 4.4), not just the Samsung brand or the Galaxy Tablets and phones.

The Google Android Team has begun enforcing a restriction in KitKat (Android 4.4) that was put in place in early versions of Android 4 that requires the app creator to give permissions to "foreign" apps on moving what the app owns or creates. This is a security enhancement to prevent rogue apps from malicious actions on your device.

Prior to KitKat, the default was "permitted," which didn't require the app creator to do anything. However, under KitKat, the default is "not permitted," so the app creator has to specifically allow permission to move a file it owns or creates (if the app creator wants to allow a "foreign" app to do this.)

This primarily affects 3rd party apps like "File Commander," which can no longer move apps or files it didn't create from "device storage" to "external storage" (it can not write to the microSD card.)

Samsung's own native file manager, named "My Files," does not have this restriction -- it can write to the microSD card, and it can move files to the microSD card of other apps that have given it permission to do so. Generally, if you get an app from Samsung's Galaxy Apps store, it has given Samsung's file manager permission to move it's files and write to the external storage (the microSD card.)

So your first source of added apps should be Samsung's Galaxy App Store. Apps sourced elsewhere may or may not have been updated for KitKat (Android 4.4)

USER GUIDE
The 175 page hyper-text user manual (available only on-line) states that some microSD cards may not be compatible, which influenced me to by a Samsung-brand 64 GB microSDXC card. A very small-format printed Quick-Start guide comes in the package, but you can download the digital User Guide from Samsung's web site (even before you buy), which is more comprehensive.

CONNECTIVITY
-- WiFi & Bluetooth
The Tab Pro 8.4 has the latest versions of Bluetooth (version 4.0), and WiFi (802.11 a/b/g/n/ac),.

-- Infra Red Blaster
Infra Red Blaster provides an all-device remote control.

-- HDMI
The tab Pro 8.4 does NOT have a dedicated HDMI port, though it does support a USB to HDMI adapter, which you can purchase at many outlets, including Amazon.com.

-- WiFi Direct
WiFi Direct allows you to connect wirelessly with multiple devices (that also have WiFi Direct capability) and share information and files. WiFi Direct may not be immediately useful to you, but it is a feature you would probably want in all your future devices.

-- USB to PC
Normally, when you connect a handheld device to a PC by USB cable, the device becomes just an external storage device to your PC (or Mac), and no other features of the device can be used while so connected. If you do this on the Tab Pro 8.4, you will see two new storage devices on your PC: "Card" and "Tablet." "Tablet" is the internal storage (16 GB) that comes with the device - don't mess with it. "Card" is the external microSD card that you can install, and add files to from your PC. If you go about changing folder and file names you didn't add, you can screw up your device. When you are connected to a PC by USB, the Tab Pro 8.4's battery will not be charged. So you should have the Tab Pro 8.4 fully charged before attaching it to a PC by USB cable.

-- Kies
Samsung Kies is software to install on your PC or Mac which enables you to connect safely using a USB cable to update firmware, synchronize files, and transfer data much faster that Bluetooth. You can also synch with your PC's Windows Media Player (but forget synching with Apple iTunes - Apple just won't cooperate with Samsung or Google in any way.)

You download Kies to your PC from Samsung's website. There may be more than one version -- You use the latest version For the Tab Pro 8.4. After you install Kies, it will ask you to download a Samsung Kies USB driver that will increase the speed of the connection.

When you use Samsung's Kies software to connect your PC by USB cable to the Tab Pro 8.4, you won't see the Internal and external storage drives. Kies will perform firmware upgrades, and while doing so, you can't use the device for anything else. However, if you are just transmitting folder and file, or synching, you can simultaneously use the Tab Pro 8.4 features and apps. Using Kies makes transfers safe, and it knows where to put your music, pictures, and videos. For those files and folders, Kies will give you a choice whether to store on the internal storage or external microSD card.

-- OTG
I don't find any information or spec from Samsung about USB OTG (On the Go), which would allow the USB port to host external devices connected by USB (such as an external USB flash drive or an external GPS antenna.) However, some reviewers report that it does support OTG. OTG requires a special OTG USB cable/adapter, which is available from Amazon.com and other outlets.

To check it for myself I connected my USB flash drive by an OTG USB-to-microUSB cable, and I could see all the files on the flash drive, and the Tab Pro 8.4 could open the files that it had a type for, such as graphics, music, and video files, and some documents. If it didn't know what file type the file was, it couldn't open it. So OTG (with an OTG USB cable)does work.

When you are properly connected to a flash drive, you find the flash drive within the app named "My Files." Open "My Files" and on the left side of the screen will be a list of "folders" as follows:
- - - Device Storage (that's your internal 16 GB or 32GB storage)
- - - SD Memory Card (f you added a microSD card), and
- - - USBDriveA (if your flash drive is properly attached)
When you are finished with the flash drive, don't just disconnect it - first unmount the flash drive.

In comparison, the Apple mini-iPad Retina has the same Bluetooth and Wifi, but not Direct WiFi. It has USB to its proprietary Lightening connector, which is about the same size as a microUSB connector. Apple touts its lightening connector as very high speed, but that would only be true if the PC on the other side has USB 3.0. Leave it to Apple to be as incompatible as possible with any other standard. The mini-iPad Retina has no IR Blaster, nor capability for additional user-furnished storage. The Apple mini-iPad Retina does not mention OTG, so I can't say whether or not it has it.

PROCESSOR
A Snapdragon 800 2.3 GHz Quad-Core Processor (with 2GB RAM), and on-board GPU powers the Tab Pro 8.4, which is the most advanced and fastest processor used in Android devices.

The mini-iPad, by contrast, uses a Apple A7 CPU, which is no slouch, but only 1 GB of RAM on board. In throughput test comparisons, the edge goes to the Tab Pro 8.4.

DISPLAY
The Tab Pro 8.4 has a 5% larger screen area than the min-iPad Retina.

The Tab Pro 8.4's also has a higher pixel density -- display resolution is WQXGA (2560 x 1600 pixels) at 359 pixels per inch. That is better than Apple's retina display (2048 x 1536 pixels) at 326 pixels per inch.

The aspect ratio of the Tab Pro 8.4's screen is 16:10, which is the same as my computer monitor - so everything I see on my PC screen can be shown in even higher resolution on the Tab Pro 8.4.

A 16:10 aspect ratio is nearly the same as the HDTV aspect ratio of 16:9. Contrast that to mini-iPad's aspect ratio of 4:3, which causes HDTV content to either be truncated on the sides, or the HDTV image to be very small on the screen.

Samsung's default screen settings are a little too dim for my tastes. The Tab Pro 8.4 really shines with blazing, vivid colors at slightly higher brightness levels. The downside to increasing the brightness level is that the screen (which is the primary culprit in battery usage) depletes the battery faster.

White is the color with the highest battery drain (white requires all color pixels to be on). So the use of white backgrounds should be eliminated or minimized. I created a wallpaper that is just a totally black rectangle (stored as a .jpg file). The black wallpaper allows images on the screen to stand out better, even at reduced brightness levels. I also set my Kindle app to "white type on black background" for the same effect. Finally, I created a lock-screen which has my logo on it on a black background.

Clearly, the Tab Pro 8.4 is positioned to compete aggressively (both feature and price wise) with the Apple Retina mini-iPad. Excellent, very sharp images on the display (depending on the resolution of the image itself). This is the type of display that you only want high-definition images on.

MULTI-TASKING / MULTI-VIEWING
All Android devices can multi-task, but you can normally only view one screen at a time for any running app. The Tab Pro 8.4 allows up to four multi-tasking apps to be displayed simultaneously, and you can pair any two so they always show up together. This is a great feature for comparing two documents side by side, organizing files into different folders, or displaying a graphic in a separate window while browsing a document. It is a big step that brings much of the power of the PC display to the Android Tablet.

BATTERY
Here the edge clearly goes to the mini-iPad Retina with a 6,470 mAh battery to the Tab Pro 8.4's 4,800 mAh battery. That translates to roughly 10+ hours for the mini-iPad Retina versus 8 hours for the Tab Pro 8.4. Of course, user time will vary greatly - depending on screen brightness, sound volume, and the number of apps open. If you need more time between charges, consider purchasing a mobile battery extender, and/or invest in a car charger.

BATTERY CHARGER (wall mount)
The supplied Samsung USB Battery charger is rated at 2 amps, which is designed to rapidly recharge the device. Don't use any battery charger with less than a 2-amp capacity (which would include most cell phone charges) - they won't charge rapidly, if at all.

The same goes for the included Samsung USB cable - it is designed to handle a 2-amp load on recharging. Other USB cables may not be able to handle a 2-amp current.

ERGONOMICS
The Tab Pro 8.4 is (in my humble opinion) the perfect size for a handheld mobile device. Any bigger display/device, and you would have trouble holding it with one hand. Any smaller and you would be sacrificing clarity and resolution.

The Tab Pro 8.4 has a higher aspect ratio (16:10 to mini-iPad's 4:3), which is easier to hold in one hand. And the higher aspect ratio of the Tab Pro 8.4 is better for watching HD movies and video content.

That this size tablet is the new norm is testified by the fact that my wife and daughters have pretty much abandoned their larger iPad and smaller iPods for the mini-iPad. And I have pretty much done the same for Android devices. While my wife and daughters are designer brand afficionado snobs, and will probably always choose Apple over Android, they were impressed by the Samsung Tab Pro 8.4's display.

CAMERA
Two Cameras -- 8MP Rear + 2MP Front. That is better than the mini-iPad Retina's cameras (5MP rear + 1.2MP front.) Not the highest resolution for professional photographers, but very good for the price range, and excellent for the amateur. The higher camera resolution allows a wider utility for the digital zoom without undue pixalation. And the Tab Pro 8.4's rear camera has flash, which the mini-iPad Retina doesn't. Both have auto-focus. Neither have an optical zoom.

GPS
The Tab Pro 8.4 has a fully functional on-board GPS. And it is fully compatible with Google Maps and Google Earth. The Apple mini-iPad Retina does not have GPS.

SOUND
The Tab Pro 8.4 has stereo speakers on the bottom (same as the min-iPad Retina.) Surprisingly good sound comes out these tiny speakers - no deep bass, but good enough to listen to movies and music without earphones. Put on some HiFi earphones for the best sound, or plug into some quality big speakers with a woofer for that big bass component.

MUSIC PLAYER
At first glance, the included Samsung music player (simply labled "Music") appears to be just a plain, simple, featureless music player. But it is actually a very understated, but feature rich, player. I mention it here because it would be all too easy to prematurely dismiss it.

You access the features from the Music screen by tapping on the small "Options" icon (three vertical dots) in the upper right corner of the screen, and then tap "Settings," and then "Player." It would have been better (and much more noticeable and convenient) to have these in tabbed folders directly from the player screen, but it is what it is.

The options under "Settings > Player" are:

- - Sound Alive
This is a multi-feature that has "Basic" and "Advanced" tabs.

Under the "Basic" tab is a graphic square layout that allows you to choose a setting between "Instrument" and "Vocal" (Karaoke effect) in five levels on the horizontal; scale, and simultaneously a setting between "Treble" and Bass" in five levels on the vertical scale. Some of the setting possibilities are labeled, such as: Classic, Normal, Pop, Rock, and Jazz.

Under the "Advanced" tab is a seven-band equalizer, and three special effects choices for "3D," "Bass," and "Clarity."

Available under either "Basic" or "Advanced" is a "Tube Amp Effect" that puts a little reverb in the sound. The "Tube Amp Effect" is only available with the earphones plugged in.

-- Adapt Sound
It is either on or off. I'm not sure what it does, but it only works with the earphones plugged in.

- - Play Speed
You can slow the music down, or speed it up -- by quite a bit - using a bar scale.

- - Music Auto Off.
Turns the Music player off after a time interval you choose.

- - Lyrics
Provides song lyrics. It is an on/off switch, and I presume you have to be subscribed to Google Music, or some lyrics service, to use it.

- - Smart Volume
It is an on/off switch that adjusts the sound level of all music tracks to level 13.

The options under "Setting" > "My Music" are:

- - Tabs
Tabs allow you to choose which attributes you want to be able to sort your music by (Playlists, Tracks, Albums, Artists, Folders, Genres.) "Playlist" and "Tracks" are mandatory defaults. In addition, when you sort, you can choose to sort by where your music is stored (Bluetooth folder, Music (internal storage), external SD card.)

- - Playlists
These are the default playlist choices (Favorites, Most Played, Recently Played, Recently Added) plus any playlists you created (in another screen.)

Other Music options directly on the music player are music "Shuffle," and "Repeat." "Repeat" has the following settings: play all, repeat all continuously, and repeat once.

BUILT-IN APPS & APP MARKETS
Both of these devices have a slew of apps to choose from, running in the hundreds of thousands. The edge in apps probably goes to the Apple mini-iPad Retina because any app for Apple usually runs across all of its product lines, regardless of O/S version.

Android apps tend to be more device and O/S specific - many apps created for older Android versions, or a specific manufacturer, or made for cell phones, won't work on the Tab Pro 8.4. Google Play Store will advise you if you try to buy or install an app that is not compatible with your Android device. And it asks you to report apps (with a single tap) that stop working, so it can prevent future downloads until the app is fixed.

The Samsung Apps store is now called the Galaxy App Store (tap the "Galaxy App" icon) should be your first resort to look for Apps. Samsung has produced a line of apps specifically for its Galaxy lines, and new apps are being added all the time. Samsung is serious about bettering Apple in every way, including apps, many of which are not available on Google Play. And some apps originally designed for the Galaxy Note also work on the Tab Pro, and are free.

- - SAMSUNG
The included Samsung apps for the Tab Pro 8.4 are in a folder named "Samsung" while the Samsung App Store icon is now named "Galaxy Apps." That is a little confusing, so I thought I would mention it, because the "Samsung" folder icon looks just like an app icon rather than a folder. When you tap on the "Samsung" icon, a window opens up with the included apps displayed (Alarm, Calculator, Downloads, Help, KNOX, S Voice, Side Sync, World Clock.)

- - KNOX
Think of Knox as in Fort Knox - a place of high security. Knox is the secure (encrypted) part of your Tab Pro 8.4 - password protected. When you tap on the Knox icon, it prompts you to create a password and creates a secure folder for all your Knox-secured applications and files. It then opens a table of secure (KNOX) versions of applications, some of which are free, and some you might have to pay for.

In addition to the included apps, Samsung includes a $25 voucher for your choice of apps to purchase (from the Samsung App Store, not Google Play.) Some very powerful business apps in the Samsung store may be free, such as the Hancom Office set (HOffice, Hword, Hcell, Hshow, etc.) which will give you all the power to read, modify, and create Microsoft Office compatible documents.

INTERNET BROWSERS
Two internet browsers are included. Both are mobile versions, and both will look for a mobile version of the website you are visiting, but both will also provide full internet browsing.

- - Google Chrome Mobile, just labeled "Chrome," will synch itself with your Google account (if you are signed in.) And if you have tabs pinned on your PC version of Chrome, they will also be pinned in the mobile version. What you won't get with the mobile version are the apps and extensions that your PC version of Chrome can have. But word is out that Google is working on adding the apps and extensions to the mobile version, with a target release of late 2014. Chrome will allow you to zoom in and out on the web page.

- - Samsung mobile browser, just labeled "Internet," has a different tactic - you set the "small" print at the level most easily read by your eyes, and the content is sized accordingly. You can still zoom in and out on the web page. I had my doubts about this small print-setting tactic, but after using it, I rather like it.

CONCLUSION
It may be debatable exactly what the best hand-held thing on the market is now, but the Samsung Galaxy Tab Pro 8.4 is right up there at the top - feature wise, and price-point.

RECOMMENDATION
I, as a rational engineer, would pick the clearly superior Samsung Tab Pro 8.4 over the Apple Mini-iPad Retina. I bought one for myself. And my wife said she was going to upgrade to the Tab Pro 8.4 and abandon her Apple mini-iPad.

And I would definitely recommend the Tab Pro 8.4 to my friends.
3838 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
400 of 430 people found the following review helpful
on March 2, 2014
Color Name: White
My wife and I are new to tablets but we always have the latest smart phones. She has the iPhone 5s and I've got the Galaxy Note 3. I bought her the iPad Mini Retina and the Galaxy Tab Pro 8.4 for myself. I only mention this because if you are like me, you are considering the Pro 8.4 and are comparing it vs the iPad Mini Retina.

After using both, I have to say this tablet is amazing. I am a lot more techy than my wife, and you can tell this thing is built for speed. The multitasking and shortcut features feel natural and there is Zero screen lag after the initial setup. The ipad mini feels a bit more aesthetically polished in it's physical design, but severely limited in customization for my tastes once you start playing with it. I am also not fond of the 4:3 aspect ratio Apple uses, especially apparent when watching videos or looking at pics in landscape mode. The tab pro 8.4 is a beast with an even shaper display, and movies fill nearly the entirety of it's perfect screen. Also Swiftkey is a major plus for me. The Samsung keyboard is far superior to apple's, and even offers shift and ctrl keys that function like a pc keyboard where you can hold down shift and hit other keys if you wish.

Everything else I can tell you about specs is already written somewhere else. If you are an android lover, this is absolutely the best tab out there and is due to be a flagship device for Samsung, much like the Note 3 is now. Buy it and you will have no regrets.
1212 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
116 of 127 people found the following review helpful
Color Name: BlackVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
At various times over the years, I have owned an iPad, iPad 3, Kindle, Kindle Fire HD, Nook, Galaxy Note 10.1, Microsoft Surface, and a couple of models that were literally forgettable. At this point, I think I have a fairly refined sense of what makes a tablet great, and my bar for a five-star model is set extremely high.

What makes the Samsung Galaxy Tab Pro 8.4" my favorite--and first five-star--tablet?

1) It's size. 8.4" is the perfect size for a tablet. Given the extremely high resolution of the Galaxy Tab Pro, the fact that it's a little smaller than the "standard" large tablet (10" or so) doesn't seem to make any difference in terms of reading or viewing. Where the 8.4" form factor really shines is portability. Whereas I used to hesitate when deciding whether to carry along my iPad or Galaxy Note 10.1, the Galaxy Tab Pro 8.4" goes everywhere with me. That kind of "no brainer" portability is worth a lot these days.

2) The quality of the camera. I have been slow to embrace cell phone and tablet photography because the cameras that are built into these devices are generally crap, no matter what the hipsters and hype machine tells you. I have enough experience with SLRs and DSLRs to appreciate a good camera and a quality lens, and what passes for a camera in many portable devices is a far cry from what you get from a real camera and lens. Having said that, portability is still the critical factor when it comes to tablets, so having a surprisingly good camera in the Galaxy Tab Pro 8.4" makes me very happy and expands the range of things I want to do with my tablet.

3) Android 4.4. In a word, Android 4.4 (Kit Kat) is superb. It's stable, smooth, and reliable. I have access to virtually every app worth having, and I know that my device is not going to become obsolete in a few months.

4) Price. Yes, I know the Galaxy Tab Pro 8.4" costs more than competing models, but when you add up the list of features--along with some mighty nice extras like the $25 Play Store credit and the 2 years of 50Gb Dropbox service, the price seems downright competitive. Factor in the incredible build quality and the overall user experience and you have a home run. I couldn't be more pleased.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
219 of 246 people found the following review helpful
TOP 100 REVIEWERon February 19, 2014
Color Name: White
Got this on first day of release from a big box store few days ago. What a stunner resolution! You will be surely blown away. This has to be the best tablet of 2014 with Android 4.4 and a gorgeous resolution. Before I dive into the details, let me compare the PRO lines from Samsung. I will compare first the TabPROs briefly. I give a crisp overview of the popular Tablets in market at the end. I feel this will give a good perspective and enhance your buying decision. If you have any questions, do ask in the forum and I will respond within a day.

The single most fascinating part of the TabPRO lines is the resolution. Astounding 2560 x 1600 on all lines which means on 8.4" has the maximum ppi and excellent look. In comparison last year's Tabs have much lower resolution. Just go to your local electronics physical store and play with it. The biggest downside of this tablet is the price. It should be $100 cheaper, but you pay the premium for the Samsung brand as well as their experience in this industry. It is like Apple on the iOS world.

key_specs: { model: resolution, ppi, CPU, RAM, Flash memory, SD_card, camera spec, weight, OS_type, size, charging/sync port type, GPS:y/n }

Samsung Galaxy TabPRO 8.4-Inch {B,W}, WQXGA 2560 x 1600, 359 ppi, 2.3 GHz Qualcomm Snapdragon 800 quad-core processor, 2 GB RAM, 16/[32] GB Flash, microSD upto 64 GB, 8MP Rear + 2MP Front, 331 gm, Android 4.4 Kit Kat OS, 8.62 x 5.06 x 0.28 in, microUSB, GPS yes. 4800 mAh battery (BEST RESOLUTION and ppi on a tablet!)

Samsung Galaxy TabPRO 10.1 {B, W}, WQXGA 2560x1600, 298 ppi, Exynos® 5 Octa (1.9GHz Quadcore + 1.3 GHz Quadcore), 2 GB RAM, 16/[32] GB Flash, microSD upto 64 GB, 8MP Rear + 2MP Front, 469 gm, Android 4.4 KitKat, 9.57 x 6.75 x 0.29 in, microUSB, GPS: y, 8,200mAh battery

Samsung Galaxy TabPRO 12.2 {B, W}, not in USA Now, WQXGA 2560x1600, 247 ppi, Exynos® 5 Octa (1.9GHz Quadcore + 1.3 GHz Quadcore), 3 GB RAM, 32GB/64GB Flash, microSD upto 64 GB, 8MP Rear + 2MP Front, 732 gm, Android 4.4 KitKat, 11.64 x 8.03 x 0.31 in, microUSB, GPS: y, 9500mAh battery

Samsung Galaxy NotePRO 12.2 {B, W}, WQXGA 2560x1600, 247 ppi, Exynos® 5 Octa (1.9GHz Quadcore + 1.3 GHz Quadcore), 3 GB RAM, 32/64 GB Flash, microSD card slot up to 64GB, 8MP Rear + 2MP Front, 748 gm, Android 4.4 KitKat, 11.64 x 8.03 x 0.33 in, microUSB 3.0 port with backwards compatibility with microUSB 2.0, GPS - y, 9500mAh battery, S-Pen, NFC, Ethernet connectivity via adapter.

A broad range of popular tablets as of now are Kindle Fire HDX 8.9", Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1"2014 edition, iPAD Air 9.7", Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 10.1", Google Nexus 10" and Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 8". If you are planning to buy TabPRO, do look at the comparison of 3 top features you need. This will enhance your buying decision. I have included specs of these at the end if you are interested in comparing your needs.

RESOLUTION:
Samsung Galaxy TabPRO 8.4-Inch is in my opinion best tablet out in the market now for the size, resolution and weight. I was a big fan of Galaxy Tab 8" and still have one. But the 8.4 beat it in the best resolution. weight is same as an iPAD Mini. Tabpro 8.4" is a beauty! The resolution of WQXGA 2560 x 1600, 359 ppi is mind boggling on a tablet. The videos were very crisp and text so sharp. The new Magazine UX interface makes the screen really pop. I am able to read ebooks through Aldiko. I have so many epubs that I just imported all into a great library. Magazine interface seems completely stripped out of Flipboard. How similar they look?! You can add newer categories by squeezing the UI and adding categories.

PROCESSING POWER:
2.3 GHz Qualcomm Snapdragon 800 quad-core processor, 2 GB RAM, Powerful for what it does. I have played games/watched youtube videos and have seen no lag or any latencies.

PRO MEANS?
I really doubt if this tablet will be used by Pros. The tablet market is more centric to consumers or prosumers. This size is ideal for a home user with its resolution, size and weight. The TabPro series has free subscriptions to popular services such as Hulu Plus, Dropbox, Bloomberg Businessweek+, and Cisco WebEx Premium for varying times. It also has Hancom office suite is an office suite developer in Korea. Hancom Office consists of Hanword, Hancell (Spreadsheet), and Hanshow (Presentation program). Since there is Google office, I don't know if this will be any sell in the US and other countries. Remote desktoping to my Windows 7 desktop was a breeze.

STORAGE:
This model is for 16 GB tablets. Samsung does make 32 GB internationally, and will most likely appear in Amazon later. Having the expandable memory to 64 GB is awesome feature. Most phones/tablets are ignoring it these days. Well, putting bunch of video/audio/books on the SD card which is so cheap these days, the tablet suddenly has more memory with no lag observed. With prices plummeting for 64 GB cards, it is a great boon. Put all your music, books, photos on the SD card and you have a powerful computer in hand always! I personally use the 64 GB microSD card on my mobile devices. Get this mobileUltra (SanDisk 64GB Mobile Ultra MicroSDXC Class 6 Memory Card with SD Adapter - Retail Packaging.

CAMERA:
Having a tablet is a plus on smaller tablets, though I hate the feature on 10 or 12" tablets. The resolution is 8MP Rear + 2MP Front. Video is 1080 p 60 fps. Nowadays there is nothing much to say of cameras, they just work for the required purpose.

ERGONOMICS:
Of all the tablets I have experienced, 8" is the perfect size for me. This tablet at 8.4 is a little bigger which is good, and is perfect for me. I cannot keep praising the form factor. Frankly I like the default portrait orientation with capacitive buttons. At 331 gm, this is super!. The size also is ideal for single hand holding as well as reading books. (8.62 x 5.06 x 0.28 in). The battery is 4800 mAh battery and it came for easily couple of days for me at nominal usage. The best part I liked is the beautiful resolution and is the best resolution on a tablet! HD videos are crisp. I don't use a built in cover. I put it in a pouch and use the tablet naked for the best experience and for what it is designed for. The plether skin is good contrary to what many people say. The faux leather with stitched side look is not too cold. If you take a cold electronic device with metal back it is very cold. Once it heats up, it is too warm. This plastic leather look removes those issues.

A comment pointed out that the ergonomics is not suitable for viewing in landscape mode. On the bigger tablets 10.1" people complain it is not suitable for viewing in portrait mode. This could be a reason but for viewing a movie I use a stand such as TechMatte Multi-Angle Mini Portable Stand Durable Aluminum (Silver/Dark Gray) for Apple iPad Air/Mini, iPhone 5/5s/5c, Samsung Galaxy Tab 2/Note 10.1/S4, Google Nexus 5/4 and most other Tablets, E-readers and Smartphones (with Drawstring Travel Tote/Bag...] which is great.

SOUND:
Excellent sound system with stereo speakers and microphone. I was able to ask questions to Google Now and get precise answers.

MISC:
This has USB 2.0 capability not USB 3. I tested OTG capability and it is great to have a external USB support. USB Host is one of the most undernoticed features of Androids and is in my opinion one of the best features compared to iPad lines. What this means you get a USB Host cable also otherwise called OTG (On the Go) cables and plug in your USB thumb drive or other USB devices and the device recognizes it. I have used it with Alfa AWUS036H for a wireless project with Android PCAP Capture from reputable Kismet wireless.

Having a GPS is great for immediate needs and I could get immediate lock on this tablet. Wi-Fi is 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac, dual-band. Also has infrared which cas be used for WatchON as a TV remote control. Worked straightaway on Samsung TV. This is also great for sharing your tablet with family members, multi user mode lets different users log in separately, so you each see only your own apps, backgrounds, and email.

APP POWER:
I tried following apps and they just worked awesome. Apps CAN BE stored in SD card. Samsung has hacked Android to do it again. A tablet is only as good as the apps you have and how productive it makes you. It's almost like the camera/lens analogy in the DSLR space. What good it is to have a great DSLR body if you have no good lens? Same with Tablet body and apps you have.

WolframAlpha (I can go on for hours praising this. This is a truly genius app powered by hundreds of supercomputers in the background. Wolfram is a computational genius). Well worth the $3 price.

Withings HealthMate. (another remarkable app great UI/UX). I use Pulse and the integration with it as well as Weight machine is very good.

23andMe app (I love their reports)
Aldiko Book Reader Premium (absolutely love it, many libraries have magazines for checkout)
Amazon Mobile
Android Status
Android Central app (great and must have for Android users)
Androidify (kids love it)
Angry Birds (Space/Seasons)
Asphalt Car game
Battery Monitor Widget Pro (a great app)
BeyondPod (use it daily!)
Box
Chrome
CNET TV
Dictionary M-W Premium
NAVIGON (from Garmin - offline maps)
TOM TOM app (has some advantages over NAVIGON)
Google Navigation/Earth/Maps using a portable MiFi box
Google Currents (nice way to read News)
Google Keep/Keyboard/Drive/Search/Books/Voice/Hangouts
Ebay
Flipboard
Linkedin
Google Music (Awesome, I have now upto 10,000 songs halfway through Google's 20K Limit)
Tapatalk HD (awesome forum browsing app)
OverDrive Media Console: Library eBooks & Audiobooks
Microsoft One Note (legacy docs, skydrive of 25 GB is good)
Subsonic Music Streamer
Terminal Emulator (still need to use vi, yes this is it)
TweetCaster Pro for Android
Twit.Tv
Skype
RealCalc Plus (Awesome calculator app)
Wolfram Alpha
Zillow
Plenty of Widgets

APPENDIX: Other Models to compare against if you are on the edge:

Kindle Fire HDX 8.9" model: 2560 x 1600, 339 ppi, Snapdragon 800 2.2 GHz quad-core, 2 GB RAM, 16/32/64 Flash Memory, No microSD card, 8MP rear-facing camera, front-facing 720p HD camera, 374 grams, FireOS 3.0, 9.1 x 6.2 x 0.31 inches, microUSB, GPS:no [cellular versions have GPS]

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1" 2014 Edition: 2560x1600, 299 ppi, 1.9GHz Samsung Exynos 5420 Quad-Core Processor, 3GB RAM, 16/32 GB Flash Memory, microSD slot:yes(upto 64 GB), 8MP rear camera and 2 MP front-facing camera, 560 grams, Android 4.3 Jelly Bean OS, 9.57 x 6.75 x 0.31 inches, microUSB, GPS:yes. S-Pen (flagship),

iPAD Air 9.7" (2013): 2048 x 1536 resolution, 264 ppi, A7/M7/64 bit processor, Flash Memory: 16/32/64/128 GB, SD Card:no, 5 MP back, 1.2 MP front, 469 grams, iOS 7, 9.4 x 6.6 x 0.29 in, lightning port, GPS:no [cellular versions have GPS]

Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 10.1" model: 1280 x 800, 149 ppi, Intel Atom 1.6GHz Z2560 dual-core processor, 1GB RAM, Flash Memory: 16/32GB, microSD slot: yes upto 64 GB, 3.2MP rear-facing, 1.3MP front-facing, 510 grams, Android 4.2.2, 9.57 x 6.93 x 0.31 in, micoUSB port:yes, GPS:yes

Google Nexus 10" model: 2560 x 1600, 300 ppi, CPU: Dual-core A15, 2GB RAM, 16/32 GB, SD:no, rear:5 MP, front:1.9 MP, 603g, 10.4" x 7" x 0.35", mcroUSB, GPS:yes

Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 8" model: 1280 x 800, 189 ppi, Exynos 1.5GHz dual-core processor, 1.5GB RAM, Flash memory: 16/32GB, microSD slot: yes upto 64 GB, 5MP rear-facing, 1.3MP front-facing, 309 grams, Android 4.2, 8.26 x 4.87 x 0.29 in, microUSB port:yes, GPS: yes

You should come up with three top three specs you want and should be able to nail it down with the above spec. Ask questions, the reviews cannot do full justice. I will be glad to answer any questions and usually answer within 24 hours to any query. Overall the Tabpro 8.4" is a winner outright!
6666 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
93 of 109 people found the following review helpful
on February 20, 2014
Color Name: White
I'm an apple product lover but don't really care for the iPad so I decided to try the galaxy tab pro because I've loved my Galaxy S3 phone. In my opinion this tablet is more than superior to the iPad. The new magazine ui is really cool and love having easy access to all kinds of news stories. Highly customizable and not short on features. I've been using it for almost a week without any hiccups what so ever. It's been able to handle everything I've wanted. Videos look amazing and the processor is super fast. Highly recommend buying this tablet. The 8.4" is the perfect size for holding and watching videos while still being able to be productive.

Update: March 6th

After using it for a few weeks I've loved being able to multi task with 2 apps at the same time. There are a limited number of apps you are able to pick from, for example you can't use Netflix with another app but you can use video player with another app. There are about 20 to 25 apps you can use together on the same screen. Each app can be sized as you wish on the screen and work in both landscape and portrait modes. If someone finds a way to use other apps then let me know but it seems you are limited to what can be used. I did install podcast addict and it let me add this app to the side bar for use with this feature. But haven't seen a way to add Netflix or Hulu with out going through the Web browser.

Additionally, the file management on Android is far superior than Apple. I use my tablet for graduate school and I have friends using iPad who can't do simple talks like downloading a word document without using third party apps. Additionally, having the ability to edit documents with Google Quick office and editing PDFs with Adobe Reader is awesome.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
on March 10, 2014
Color Name: Black
I upgraded from an Asus transformer Infinity 10.1. I also had a Nexus 7" 2012 (too small for me). I bought this to see if I could consolidate both sizes into one that would be big enough, but still portable. I think the 8.4" does a fine job at this, but I wouldn't say that if the screen resolution was subpar. Samsung's screen is top notch and makes even the smallest text readable.So for me 8.4 is doable, but only if the screen is high end, which the Samsung's is.

It's also noticeably faster in general and especially in loading web pages than both my prior tablets. This is another thing I wanted in my next tablet, and I'm satisfied with the speed.

I also like the included IR blaster for controlling my TV. It has become an integral part of my couch potato command center :) No need to take my hands off my tablet to reach for the remote anymore!

There is one problem though that knocks a star off for me. As also mentioned by one other reviewer here, the screen is overly sensitive at times. When I try to scroll a webpage in my browser or a pdf document in Mantano reader it will zoom in or out instead. So it's interpreting my scroll movement as a double tap. Scrolling through youtube videos will sometimes result in it playing one when I didn't select it, so it's interpreting my scrolling motion as a tap.

Of course this happened on my Asus and Nexus too, but no where near as often as on the Samsung. I bought a stylus, the amPen 3 in 1 Hybrid, thinking it might help, but it is actually worse than my finger. It also skips when trying to write with it. Same with an old Griffin rubber tipped stylus I had. The amPen stylus works perfectly on my old Asus transformer though, better than a finger.

I've spent hours trying to come up with a solution to this, and I did find a few things that help. First I noticed that it doesn't happen very often if I use my ring finger to navigate my tablet. My index finger and middle finger are the problem. I examined my fingers to see what could be different and came to the conclusion that my ring finger is smoother/softer than the other too. So I got out some very find sandpaper and sanded my fingertips. That seemed to help.

I also did a google search on adjusting touch screen sensitivity. One hint which seems to make a big difference is to adjust the press and hold delay. Go to settings, device, accessibility, press and hold delay. The default is 0.5 seconds. I changed it to 1.0 seconds.

The third thing is to clear RAM in the task manager. I notice when I first power up the tablet everything works fine, even the stylus works beautifully and scrolls and writes like a dream. After 10 minutes or so of use though it stops working. Clearing RAM can usually get it working again temporarily.

So I think something is loading that affects the screen. I haven't loaded any apps that aren't also on my Asus and as I said, the stylus works fine on the Asus. So I think it's either some Samsung bloatware running in the background or 4.4 Kitkat. Asus hasn't upgraded to Kitkat yet.

So if a guy has to sand his fingertips to get his tablet to work and can't use a stylus that works fine on an older tablet then the tablet probably doesn't rate 5 stars. I like the Samsung. I've got it to work with my fingers, but it's not perfect, so I'm giving it a 4.

UPDATE 3/17/14:

Reviewer Joe C gave some tips on how to improve lag for the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 edition tablet. Here they are

"LAG ISSUES CAN BE IMPROVED, READ HERE:

Turn on developer options by tapping "build number" found in the "about" section within options 7 times. Once developer options are turned on, scroll down to window animation transition animation, animator duration and turn each one off. You will notice no more lag for scrolling and exiting apps.

To solve the home button issue where there is lag, go to S voice. Once in S voice, hit the menu button which is located left of the home button. Choose the option to "not initiate S voice by double tapping the home button". You will notice considerable changes in speed of the home button to wake up the screen, however it won't be snappy until there is an update.

In addition, the more apps you have on your device, the more cache data your device will accumulate. Just like your web browser, you should remove your app cache data once a day or every few days to save up space. I suggest AVG memory and cache cleaner, or clean master. Also I highly suggest you install an anti-virus software like AVG on your Note 10.1 2014."

I did the developer options tips on my Tab Pro 8.4" and also set my browser to delete cache on exit (I use NB browser pro). These tips helped remove most of the stutter I sometimes see when scrolling webpages. It also helps with the stylus problems I've been having.

Turning on developer options comes with the risk that your tablet might not work right in some cases, but I haven't noticed anything bad with changing the above settings.

Update: 3/19/14:

Installed Clean Master to manage my RAM and cache and I think it made a noticeable improvement in my screen issues. CM also deletes junk files. I had uninstalled a mail app the regular way through the tablet's settings menu. CM found additional files that Samsung's uninstaller left behind and deleted them for me. If you install and uninstall lots of apps, over time you'll probably accumulate a fair number of junk files. CM says it can find most of these. Here's a link to it on Amazon. Clean Master It's also on Google's Play Store. Note: Be mindful of what you are doing. CM will delete your photos, videos, etc too, if you tell it too. It doesn't do this by default, and it takes extra steps to do so, but you do need to pay attention.

Also, if you are having touch screen sensitivity issues there is a thread discussing it on XDA Developers you might want to read. You can find it by searching for

Galaxy Tab Pro 8.4 screen sensitivity - xda-developers

Update: 5/13/14

My tablet received an update a couple days ago, which seems to have resolved the screen sensitivity. I haven't noticed any of the prior issues with sensitivity since the update. The stylus now works well and I prefer it over using my finger. So I've changed my rating from 4 to 5 stars. If you like this screen size it will be hard to find a better tablet than this one at this time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on December 30, 2014
Color Name: Black
[I have the Tab Pro 8.4] Don't worry about kit-kat's suppression of apps' permissions to write to the added SD card. This was google's interim attempt at making android more secure; it will be changed for android 5.0 lollipop. Each app can create ONE folder to write to under android/data/ on the SD card, but many apps do not do so, but write to the internal space only. However, if you connect your Tab to your PC using the same USB cable that you use for charging, on your Windows PC [probably same for Apple] you will see two new folders [or drives, I forget] representing the Tab's internal storage and the external SD card. Using regular Windows file/folder commands, you will be able to move your files wherever you want, from your PC to any of the two storage areas on your device - and back, or from one storage area to the other - and back - on your device.

These new Samsung tablets are works of genius. They are so well designed and easy to use. But don't let the battery go below say 25%. Lithium ion batteries hate low discharges, and you will will have to bump charge [I believe that's the term] the battery to get it back to normal which means that 1) turn it off and charge it until indicates 100% though it's not really there, 2) unplug the charge cable and turn it on, and wait 10 minutes; 3) charge it while still on until 100%; 4) unplug it and wait ten minutes; 5) turn it off and then charge until 100%. THIS IS THE CURE for most Lithium ion battery problems - at least on Samsung devices.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on December 9, 2014
Color Name: White
This tablet is a beast. First of all, everyone that complains it is slow, I ran an Antutu benchmark and scored a 37391 which is fast. Galaxy S5 are clocking in at 35000 and around 43000 rooted, this has the potential of 45000 if rooted. In its configuration right out the box, it's one of the fastest with one of the clearest screens next to the Tab S series which is more on a professional usage side. It's neck and neck in terms of speed with the iPad mini Retina but a better resolution than it. I see all these people complaining about it and I wonder if they even know how to use it. The system uses 4+ GB of space giving it 11 +GB left for apps. If you have 11 GB of apps then you have issues because no one needs that many apps. If you're storing pictures on it, why are you not getting a good class 10 micro sd card?

I personally do not store anything on this, this is a wifi tablet and not a LTE, all of my storage are from my 1.5 TB computer and phone. I link my tablet to my PC and phone and just stream movies from my computer over wifi. It has so many features and the performance is topnotch. I had a spinal fusion done in March, it's still hard for me to get in and out of bed. With this tablet, I can remote control my PC from bed and tell it what to do. I get a live image of my PC right on the tablet and I can access my PC right from my bed. I don't even have anything stored on it because I don't have an SD card so what I use is Samsung link and I get access to everything I shared to it from my PC and Galaxy S4 with one touch. All three of my device are link together and my main storage is my PC. Today I managed to emulate my phone, so now I can use my phone right from the tablet. I can make calls and texts just like I would on my phone. Most of you are probably going to use it at home as a secondary PC, if you would take the time to learn the apps and maybe search the web for some good apps, you can transform this into your main device. I can literally turn my PC off or move files with it, make calls, stream right off my HD, and much more because I took the time to learn it. It's a wonderful and powerful tablet and for the price I got it for at $200, it's a steal since there's no other tablet besides the S that as a better 2k screen and the 2.3 quad core is lightning fast, even for a heavy user like I am.

You don't need to flood it with useless apps, you have an option to disable all the bloatware. If you actually know what you're doing, then you'll appreciate this tablet. The capabilities are limitless. 5.0 will be out in January for this tablet and it will have app storage on SD, keep the storage light and if you think the rotation is slow, go into developers option (it's a hidden menu) and turn off animation. I did and it rotates faster than I can blink. At first I was thinking that this tablet was useless, after a week of messing around with it, I can reply to a text from my PC, Tab Pro, or S4. I can be in bed and view anything on my phone or pc from the Tab Pro. I can even use my PC to view every picture, music, videos, or files that are on my Tab and S4. I can remotely tell my PC what to do from it, and I can go on and on about it. Like I said, it's a powerful tablet, you just have to know how to use all its features, take some time and you'll appreciate what it can do. I'll be glad to answer any questions.

Pic #1 My PC linked with my S4 and Tab Pro. I can view all or individual devices and save it to my PC.

Pic #2 My tablet linked to my PC and Phone, I can share up to 15 folders on my PC. I shared my 1TB HD so I can be outside or in bed, as long as there's wifi I have access to it.

Pic #3 That's my tablet remote controlling my PC, you can see the Windows 8.1 and the browser as I'm writing this review.

Pic #4 37391, I don't know how someone can say it's slow with a benchmark of that. With power saving mode I still manage 30530. My S4 was last years flagship phone and it runs at 28000 with a 1.9ghz quad core 2 GB of ram, and it's not a slouch.

Pic #5 Is my phone being cloned right on my Tab Pro. I can make calls from it and use my phone the way I would normally. It has full access to my phone.

One last thing, if you are a person who likes to text, I suggest using mightytext and linking your pc, phone, and tablet so you can text from any device you want.
review image review image review image review image review image
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on April 11, 2014
Color Name: BlackVerified Purchase
After using intensively this tablet for over a week, I can definitely say that I am a true believer of the 8.4" form factor.

I can't stress enough the difference it makes to have a tablet big enough to fully enjoy any kind of content (movies, games, reading, web browsing) and small enough to be able to hold it with one hand. Having your other hand free to control the tablet comfortably is something that many people overlook and it makes such a big difference when you use it for long periods of time. It is also worth mentioning that the tablet is extremely thin and lightweight. It is very easy and comfortable to carry around.

I am impressed with the multi-tasking capabilities of the tablet. Being able to have 2 apps on the screen at the same time increases your productivity and enjoyment of the tablet. You can either have 2 apps on the screen at the same time (full screen) or have 3 apps open as the same time as "windows". This is the closest you can get to having a full laptop/desktop experience on a tablet. And even when having 3 apps showing on the screen at the same time, the tab pro doesn't even break a sweat.

The Galaxy Tab Pro is snappy, fast, and runs anything I throw at it. The 8.4" version has a faster processor than its bigger brothers, which may or not make a difference for the average user. But if you want to have the best of the best, this is something that you may want to do a little research before making a final decision.

All in all I am very impressed and happy with my purchase. I may update this review down the road. I hope it helps anyone that is looking for their perfect tablet.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on March 20, 2014
Color Name: BlackVerified Purchase
Pros:
Screen
Size/Weight - I'm a fan of the ~8 inch form factor.
Touch Wiz - I like touch wiz (Samsung’s addition to Android front-end)
No MyMagazine Nuisance (as in the note 3)
Built-In Keyboard App
IR blaster included (Infrared Remote control). I won't use that much, but it can be fun at a bar/rest.
Cons:
No HDMI out - :(
No USB 3.0 -
Side bezels are thin - a little too thin. My palm gets into the screen sometimes.
Speaker Placement - I tend to cover the speakers when watching videos. The Note 10.1 (first gen) has front speakers that work well but make the tablet too wide)

I read the reviews and I knew what I was buying. I have used several smart phones and tablets, so I basically know what I like.

This is a business oriented tablet pertaining to the built-in apps selection. Still good for personal use. Disable/uninstall any apps that you don't use. Some built in MSOffice-compatible apps called Hancom. Word/Excel/PowerPoint readers come pre-installed. The editing apps can be installed via download for free - Nice.

Only disappointments at the price point are the lack of HDMI and USB3.0. I like the 3.0 connector. Seems more solid. Samsung used it on the Note 3, I'm not sure why they chose not to use it here.

16gb of storage - eh. Add a Micro SD. I personally have a few laying around, so I grabbed at 32gb and that works for me.

Android 4.4.2 with Samsung's add-ons. Snappy and so far stable.

I like the built-in keyboard (software) that Samsung chose to include. It has 3 modes: Normal, Floating and Split. The Keyboard includes a ctrl key that can be used for Ctrl-C and Crtl V (copy and paste). It also includes horizontal directional arrows to move the cursor back and forth, DEL key, a perm Number row, and operates like swype. I find these keyboard features very handy.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 217 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.