Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Stephen Kellogg Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now Sale

Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$24.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 10, 2010
Steve Garfield has a national reputation as a videoblogging teacher. When I heard about his new book, I ordered two copies sight unseen. He is as effective a teacher in print as he is in person and online. This book is also very tightly written -- no excess words. That makes it easier to read and allows the author to pack in more content.

If this book comes out in an interactive version for the iPad, it may well be the gold standard for rich media books. Hats off to Steve Garfield for pulling this off. It's no easy feat to birth a book of this quality and usefulness.(And credit, too, to the folks at his publisher, John Wiley & Sons.)
55 comments42 of 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2010
This is a review of Get Seen by Steve Garfield. It is a great book about how to produce online video. It is a soup to nuts look at how to get started for little or no investment and how to grow your online video business with time and experience. There are lots of interviews with movers and shakers that give a great view on how the industry is developing. But more importantly, this is a great handbook for the beginner and even the more trained video practitioner of video online production. Lots of information on the gear to use and the resources available online to distribute your video content. All in all this is a must have resource for your video library. You will be referencing it often.

Get Seen: Online Video Secrets to Building Your Business (New Rules Social Media Series)
22 comments14 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2010
"Get Seen" is so chocked full of knowledge and expertise that it should be listed on Amazon as "priceless."

It helps to simplify and take away the mystique of online video which can seem overwhelming.

I love that it's such a hands-on guide. I could see it being used as part of a curriculum in a college program or as training for a marketing firm

At the same time, it reads well and has great "Get Seen" tips and great stories regarding online icons such as Gary Vaynerchuk and Jimmy Fallon.

And, who better than to author this book than Steve Garfield, a pioneer in online video. It's apparent that he loves his craft and enjoys sharing his knowledge with others.

I would 100% recommend this book to anyone!

.

I think its great that you love sharing your knowledge with others and this book will just be an extension of that.
0Comment12 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2010
We, at MommyCast, have been doing HD video for the web intensely, in our opinion :) for a few years, and Steve's new book really offers useful tips and tricks, which will make our 2010 videos all the better! All the inside information shared by Steve's many experts is invaluable, as well as the key elements in mobile video and social media sharing. Excellent book! Highly recommended, even for those who've done it for some time!
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2010
First, let me state that I don't typically write reviews. This time however, I had to create a shout-out because Steve Garfield nails web video with Get Seen.

I help people "productize their knowledge" and yes, this includes producing videos for them. I like to think I know a thing or two about video. And that's just it, I still learned a lot from this book. And more importantly, I got ideas from it. It's truly a resource.

Steve has put together a book that helps people understand and apply video to their business. Steve includes real world examples, references external sites, and shares his experiences to save you weeks of frustration. Steve spells out the tools you need, the services to use, and the steps to take. You can do it because it's all here in a thorough, well organized, and lively book. You'll walk away with the advice, ideas, and resources to make it happen.

If you're a solopreneur or a small business, you need to get this book. If you're looking to incorporate video into your online presence, you need to get this book. If you're looking to take yourself, your brand, or your business, to the next level, you need, to Get Seen.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2010
Over the years I've come to depend on Steve Garfield's friendliness and knowledge about online video and video promotion. He's been endlessly, selflessly helpful. His book continues that core value. It's a great, clear guide to the technicalities, magic and method of not only producing quality audio and video, but making sure its seen by a wide audience. An admirable guide to newcomers to the field and a perfect textbook. Great to see it in hard cover.
0Comment9 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2010
I would have submitted a video review but I'm still practicing!
Seriously though, if you're thinking of making your own Online videos, I doubt you'd find a more informative book than this. It's full of excellent resources, tips and advice plus interviews with experienced video bloggers, sharing their knowledge. Steve has also set up a site on Ning where you can ask questions and participate in the video blogging community. Always a bonus to get some feedback from like minded people. Even experienced video bloggers will find some nuggets in this book. Excellent read!
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2010
It's always nice to see someone you follow, then someone you meet, and then someone you get to spend time with publish a book.

Steve not only knows his stuff, he's also a nice person.

When you get his book, the first thing you'll notice is that it's much like, well, a text book. It just has that feel from the hardcover to the binding to the paper.

[...]

Highly recommended.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2010
It does have lots of info and tips on how to do what the title/subtitle promises. It also has plenty of specific suggestions and recommendations for what equipment to buy. Unfortunately, there are only a few reviews of several models of a category, and those cover only a few models. That may not be so bad, as a book with many reviews would become very long and unnecessarily complicated. For example, for simple, convenient video recording of interviews, just get a late model Flip HD (the book does not actually say that, but in so many words does)! That is a lot simpler than considering the endless details of every camcorder on the market.
What the book does not have are details of how to code a blog that contains videos. (In other words, it will tell you to copy-and-paste the link from YouTube to your blog, but it does not attempt to give you sample PHP-SQL code to make your own Web site with blog and video capabilities.) The book never promises to do that, so it is not a negative; I just mention it to inform.
I very much enjoyed reading and re-reading the book, and I would recommend it to those for whom the title holds interest.
11 comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2010
For anyone who is asking the question, How do I put video online?, here's your answer. Being a film major I am asked this question often, about equipment, what blogging services to use, lighting, the works, and these questions come from kids who want to show their skateboarding skills from as well as businesses that want to up their game and promote using online video. Get Seen answers that question and even more, especially about GOOD CONTENT. Even though the book makes a point to say "Secrets to Building Your Business", I think this book is for ANYONE who is considering putting video online. It is done in a way that makes it easy to understand and with the encouragement to motivate you to get out there and do it. But what else would you expect. I mean come on, it's Steve Garfield, the original video blogger.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.