Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Stephen Kellogg Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Price:$29.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 4, 2008
I bought the Flippi V8 today and I love it. The main reason for my love is that it replaces a floor model fan that stood out like a sore thumb. This fan sits on the shelf, oscillates, and does what it's designed to do-keep me cool.

I do agree that the oscillation switch could have been better placed but because this is a "personal" fan, I do not see that I will need to access the switch very often. If I do, I can just pick the fan up, turn it around, and flip the switch.

I intend to let it run 24/7 and I have 4 cats so it will be interesting to see how long it last.

People are asking if it is still working. Yes, yes it is. I ran it 24/7 for a year or so. Then, used it off and off until 2013 when it went back to 24/7 use. Works great!
33 comments55 of 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon June 17, 2010
Pros:
* Nice looking
* Decent construction
* 3-year warranty & Vornado service
* Quiet but definitely not silent on low - I wouldn't call it "whisper-quiet" though (as the description states), as it's noisier than that even on low

Cons:
* A bit noisy on high
* Controls a bit cumbersome, with oscillation switch in the back and a roll dial on the front for hi, low, off settings

Other:
* On low, uses 9 watts or 12 with oscillation turned on
* On high, uses 14 watts or 17 with oscillation turned on
0Comment53 of 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2008
I really love my little fan. He has helped save on the use of my air conditioner because it keeps my living room cool. The high speed is a little nosy but the low speed is real guiet. It has a switch for the oscilator, which is nice. The only thing I wish it had is a switch for the "on" "off" button instead of a roll dial. I have to use two hands to turn it off. One to hold the fan, and the other hand to roll the dial. Otherwise I love it. Terri
22 comments22 of 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2010
The Vornado V8 Flippi delivers on its promises. The clean lines, small size, variable output, and oscillation brings adaptability to small-office cooling and air circulation.

The appearance and size are perfect for a small office where often all of the available work- and shelf-space is limited. I have mine on a shelf in my credenza/book-case, on a shelf where I keep 3-ring-binder reference materials. It takes up little space and blends well with the black binders and cherry wood finish.

I really love the way it moves air and the vertical range of air-flow adjustment. Often, oscillating fans have a limited vertical adjustment for air-flow direction (if they have vertical adjustment at all), and the air flow tends to send loose papers on my desk flying. The Vornado doesn't, even though it is putting out more air than my previous fan.

The Vornado is quieter than my previous fan, but still provides the white noise I need for the occasional times when communication privacy is needed. I train incoming staff, and my office in the training room is a large cubicle (so I can be available to trainees should they have issues during the training program).

My husband also loves the fan, and will be purchasing one for his psychotherapy offie.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2010
Small, quiet and effective at moving the air in small to medium sized rooms. Stylish, and when not in use, it is hardly noticeable. The placement of switches is not ideal as other reviewers already pointed out, but I find that insignificant. In my opinion, the Flippi V8 got all the important features right. I have had mine for a few years now and am about to buy another one.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2010
I like having a fan in the bedroom at night, but my wife prefers it as quiet as possible, so I've been searching for a very quiet fan. I'm a big fan of Vornado products, so had a lot of hope for the Flippi.

The fan is cute, and is a perfect size for sitting on the bedstand. The switches (off/low/high) and oscillation on/off work fine and I have no problem with their somewhat awkward locations. But the fan isn't "silent" or even particularly quiet even on low. It sounds pretty much like any other table fan, both with wind noise and mechanical noise. I tried putting it on mouse pads, cushions and even holding it in the air, and it still sounds like a fan.

So if you want a cute, decent fan at a good price, go for it, but don't expect it to be really quiet - it's just a fan!
33 comments16 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2012
Okay, in all honesty, anything that cools me down while I'm hot is going to make me happy. So it's a little hard to give a negative review on a fan. I purchased this fan mostly because of the flip down feature and the color. My office furnishings are black and white, and it gets really dusty in there so i thought this fan looked perfect because I can flip it closed when finished. That is a cool feature. A couple of things they don't make really obvious:
There are only two fan settings besides off: Low, or high. The low speed allows for a decent amount of air to cool you but sometimes is not enough. When you crank it to high it becomes very loud. It kind of disturbs my neighbors it's so loud. It's a little fan but puts out a lot of noise. Another downside is that you can't stop it from rotating. Other fans have the option to keep the fan facing the same direction constantly. This one does not.
0Comment15 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2013
Used this one night on oscillation and it worked fine. Next night I had the oscillation off and it worked fine. Third night, I turned it back to oscillation, but the fan would stop turning at the end of each oscillation cycle. The fan would be off for about two seconds, then the oscillation would start again. Too annoying to use at night because of the sound stopping and starting constantly.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2011
I ordered the fan to use in the Bathroom while I'm getting ready in the mornings for work. It satisfies my need to stay cool. I would prefer that it was not so noisy.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2010
Pluses:
- It's beautifully designed- sleek and modern.
- The small footprint makes it good for desktop placement.
- The ability to aim the air flow where you need it is really nice.
- Two speeds allow a degree of control of air flow.
- It seems well-made.

Minuses:
- The placement and configuration of the power/speed dial makes it difficult to use.
- Low speed is nice and quiet, but air flow is barely perceivable.
- High speed makes good air flow, but is amazingly loud.

Overall:
I'm satisfied with my choice of this fan since I don't use it everyday and I wanted something small,
but I really wish it weren't so loud when using the speed that generates usable air flow.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 22 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.