Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Western Digital My DVR Expander 500 GB eSATA External Hard Drive
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Melvins Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 16, 2015
It was great for a while,but when it crashed all my picture and data was lost and could not be retrieved
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2014
I have had this drive since 2009 and it has worked beautifully! That is, until now. It has started freezing up and stuttering. I'm not upset at all. This drive has basically run 24/7 for almost 6 years! Seriously! It's time to replace it, so I've been reading reviews on the new WD drive. The price has really come down as I remember paying a lot for my current one. And I can now double my storage space from 500 GB to 1TB. I really hope my new one will be as long-lived and dependable as this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2014
Power cord not correct. Outside of case has been chewed on. Sent earlier response and haven't received instruction on how to return.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2014
Works great. Expanded my DVR several fold. Now have a newer cable box and don't need anymore. Should I give it away on Craigslist? I guess so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2014
A cable tech suggested an expander for our DVR to gain more recording hours. We were using a Scientific Atlanta DVR provided by the cable company and the expander worked great. We now have a Cisco DVR with a larger hard drive and no longer use the expander. Also we were told it is not compatible with the new DVR.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2012
HD Shows take up so much space and Cablevision gives you room for about 30 shows in HD. This is hardly enough if you watch TV and your wife and son like to save their shows to watch at a later time. The 500GB gives that extra space necessary. THe only issue is that when you are watching it back you get momentary pauses which cut out the sound for a second or two and you may lose part of the story if there is alot of dialogue with the pauses occur. Overall I think the 500GB is necessary and wouldn't live without it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon March 1, 2012
This drive is quiet and works perfectly with my Tivo HD. It is a plug and forget sort of product. If it wasn't for the hundreds of extra hours of recording time, I wouldn't even know it was there. Works great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2011
Inappropriate for something like this to die randomly and suddenly without an opportunity to salvage data or back-up. What's the point?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2011
Love this hard drive! It expanded the storage capacity on my TiVo HD a lot. And now that I have a FiOS DVR with the updated programming guide (version 1.9), it can use external drives as well and I was able to hook this up without any issue!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2011
I went through two of these is about as many years because they keep dying. This seems to be a known issue with them based on searches through google. However TiVo still hasn't come out with another option for us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.