Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 10, 2009
This purchase is the result of my search for paper towels that could be delivered to my home at a decent price. I HATE to fight weekly with bulky items in the supermarket parking lot, especially when the weather is not cooperating...I have been using Bounty for a long time now, but internet pricing for this brand is radiculously high. So, since I have been a fan of Scott toilet paper for ions, I ventured to try Scott Naturals Paper Towels, under the Subscribe and Save program. Here are my thoughts:

1) Price:
For the same quantity of paper, I paid about 10% more for this product delivered to my door step, then I would have paid for Bounty in store on sale, with taxes. Perfectly acceptable, given the convenience. I felt though, that the advertising suggested more paper content and so, I was bit dissapointed. More comments on sizing still to come...

2) Convenience of use:
The sheets tear off easily from the roll. No extra effort required (they beat Bounty here). Here is where I see a bit of a problem: the roll is advertised as MEGA Roll Choose-A-Size with 102 sheets. Well, in terms of paper content, it is actually the same (or slightly smaller) size then a regular Bounty roll. The individual sheets are about 60% the length of a regular Bounty sheet. Which is fine, if you need one sheet to wipe your hands down, or cook in a microwave. Perfect size (I used to have to tear my Bounty's in half)! But, if you need to do some serious cleaning, one sheet is too small, two sheets are too large. A bit inconvenient. I also felt the MEGA roll advertising to be misleading...I took a full star off because of that.

3) Quality:
The Scott Naturals are minimum 60% recycled fiber (different from the 80% recycled content promissed on the web site). Still, makes one feel better one is not completely killing Mother Earth with every spill clean up...They are rougher then Bounty; if you use paper towels to blow your nose, this maybe an issue (since I do not, it makes no difference to me). During my rather unscientific testing, I discovered Scott Naturals to be slightly less absorbent then Bounty, though not so much as to disqualify them from what is my normal everyday use. When used in a macrowave, they did not stick to food, being equal to Bounty in that respect. When used with Windex to clean glass, they did NOT leave the white lint behind.

Overall, I am pleased to have achieved my number one goal: get decent towels delivered to my door step at a good price. Though I feel annoyed at the misleading MEGA roll name being used, the paper towel's quality falls withing my tolerance. Still, if Bounty product ever becomes sanely priced on the internet, I plan to switch back.
1313 comments|160 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2010
Best paper towels on the market to me. They are not soft but very strong and absorbent. Can squeeze dry and reuse if needed. Great for spills and scrub cleaning. Leaves very little lint left behind on surfaces and perfect for counter tops and glass surfaces. Don't you hate those real soft paper towels that fall apart once they are wet and leave lint all over the appliance or surface you just cleaned? These are not nose blowers, but a great towel for the kitchen. Love them.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2011
I was trying to find the least expensive way to purchase my Scott kitchen towels, and found this product on Amazon with an amazingly low per-sheet price (even lower than at the wholesale clubs).
Unfortunately it turns out that the 102 sheets per roll are not regular sheets like what I'm used to from Scott, but rather "half sheet" size (11 by 7.3 inches). So essentially you're purchasing rolls with 51 full sheets which doesn't make this such a good deal anymore.
33 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2013
This may be the first 1 star review I've written for a product through Amazon, but these towels stink.

We usually use 7th Generation but since the pricing and availability of that brand through Amazon is so sporadic, we thought we'd give these a try.

Here's why I can't stand these towels.

1) They don't tear along the lines. Perforations are too small and too tightly spaced.
2) They are not nearly as absorbent as 7th Gen or traditional Scott paper towels. They are similar to very low grade store brand or no-name paper towels.

If you are looking for an environmentally responsible option for paper towels and want good quality, then do yourself a favor and skip these. Move on to 7th Generation. They may cost more, but they are soooo much better.

Lesson learned. Hopefully this review will help someone else avoid learning this lesson the hard way.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2010
It didn't matter to me that these towels were not soft... but it did matter that they were absorbent. I found them to be lacking, as well as too thin. Won't be getting them again.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on June 18, 2015
O.k. overall - a good value on Subscribe and Save, HOWEVER they are much thinner than the Bounty Select -A- Size that I am accustomed to. They hold up well in dryer scenarios, but if my hand is wet, they tear as I try to pull them off the roll.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The manufacturer commented on this review (What's this?)
Hi, Scott & Rebecca -We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent experience, but thank you for providing us your feedback. We would like you to know the original Scott Towels are still available and we encourage you to give them a try. Scott Towels feature unique ridges that quickly and effectively absorb messes and leave surfaces clean and dry. You can learn more about Scott Towels at https://www.scottbrand.com/products/paper-towels/scott-towels. We hope you continue to let Scott Towels provide you a sensible balance of value and performance. Also, here is a coupon for your next purchase: https://www.scottbrand.com/coupon.
on October 17, 2015
I am a life long user of Bounty and more specifically, the select-a-size variety. When I saw that Scott was making a paper towel with a "choose-a-size" function I immediately ordered it primarily because I use Scott toilet paper and like it very much. Unfortunately, I was NOT happy with the Scott paper towel; even just removing it from the packing box I could feel the "cardboard" like texture of this paper towel and although that may be adequate for some functions for which I use paper towels, it is NOT what I look for overall in a paper towel. SO, its back to my old brand which of course is more costly but worth it to me! Sorry Scott...I love your toilet paper but not your paper towels!!!
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2015
These are a basic, no-nonsense paper towel, without any fancy designs in the texture, a little thin for heavy cleaning, but works well with cooking bacon in the microwave or wiping up a spill. The select-a-size is about the right size, just as wide as I like it. I don't like using Scott toilet paper and it's too thin, so wasn't sure if this would meet my expectations.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2016
Great paper towels -- they are nice and thick. I buy these Scott Naturals Paper Towels, Mega Roll, 8 Rolls, Packs of 4 (32 Rolls) as part of my subscribe and save items, so I get an additional 15% off of them. That makes them about $1 per roll – the price I pay for a very cheap roll of paper towels at the grocery store. I get a large order at a time and have them come every 3 months. This is so much easier than having to buy such bulky things at the store, struggle to take them to the car, and then struggle to bring them in. Forget it if it is a bad weather day. These paper towels are delivered right to my front door. They are exactly what I need to help wipe up spills or clean my house. They are absorbent and work well for anything you would want to use them for. They have perforations at the half sheet line, so if you only want half a sheet, you can tear there. These are shipped very quickly. I would highly recommend these.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2015
We've been buying these paper towels for a few years now, and they seemed basically the same as the regular "non natural" version. But we were disappointed with our last two purchases.

Both, which came from Amazon, contained paper towels that are hard, not very absorbent, and almost impossible to tear cleanly on the perforations. It wouldn't be the first time a corporation made a good quality product for an introductory period - to build a reputation and get people in the habit of buying it - and then degraded it. But this usually happens in stages, not all at once.

I may give Scott Natural paper towels one more chance once I find them in a brick-and-mortar store (local supermarkets don't stock them for some reason), but if the product has changed - which is sure what it seems like - I see no point in spending more for these over budget/store brands. If a mid-level option becomes unavailable and I'm forced to choose between those and Bounty, I may just go with the cheapos. I'm not going to pay a premium price for absorbency, which is only ONE useful quality in a paper towel - and not even the most common one in our house. Who needs to soak up vast amounts of liquid throughout the day?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.