Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on May 18, 2012
I used this MIFi for more than 2 years. After my contract ended, I kept using it, for 2 reasons. First, it worked really well, in that it always connected quickly to the Verizon network, as well as to my connected devices, such as laptop. This was true all over the Washington, DC area, where I live, as well as throughout the country when I traveled. Second, some newer models had really bad reviews (Amazon reviews really are handy). Yes, some of the newer devices were faster, at 4G, but why would that matter if the device didn't work all the time, when you needed it? So, I held on tight to this model, the 2200.

Fast forward to a couple months ago when I gave the newest Verizon MiFi, the Novatel MiFi 4620L Jetpack 4G Mobile Hotspot (Verizon Wireless), a try. This MiFi was definitely worth waiting for. It worked as well as the MiFi 2200, and at 4G was faster.

One thing to be aware of (this may not apply to new subscribers): the plan I had with Verizon 2200 was a 3G plan. With the 4620L, Verizon no longer offers this plan, and I had to upgrade to a 4G plan that was $15 more a month, with a higher data allowance. I'm not using more data, on average, each month, so I am effectively paying $15 more a month with this device. But, the data upload and download is faster, so I don't mind too much.

In sum, if you want the latest and faster Verizon MiFi, check out the 4620L, which is also offered here on Amazon.

Either way, you can't go wrong.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on November 27, 2011
A friend of mine told me about this device. It was offered at a monthly rate of $50.00 which was $39.00 less then Hughsnet. It is better then Hughsnet in upload and down load speeds by a factor of 2. It's download speed is 0.93 mps and its up load speed is 0.05 mps as measured by speedtest.net. The installation and connection is seamless. I live about 3 miles from a cell tower and the device says its getting a 3G signal, whatever that really means. I have a 3000 sq ft, 2 story house and my laptop receives a signal where ever I go with the laptop. If I get a weak signal I just take the MiFi to the room I'm in and plug it in next to a window. While not nearly as fast as service we'd be getting if we lived in a city, this device is way better then dial up and Hughsnet. Not surprisingly, Hughsnet called me up and offered to discount their service by $30.00/month. Fat chance! Goodby ugly dish!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on October 20, 2011
The MiFi Modem itself is, quite simply, one of the worst designed and worst functioning machines I have ever used. The single button design is ludicrous, the indicator light flashes in various colors in ways that are completely unhelpful, and the battery doesn't hold a charge at all. Holding down the lone button turns the machine off, sometimes -- but when it's plugged in, it will turn itself back on, and if you leave it on, there's no auto shutdown if you're not using it. As it came, you simply could not connect if the modem was plugged into your computer -- I searched online and found a firmware hack to fix this, but pretty incredible that this was necessary.

The connection is bad, overall -- though at least on that point I don't know enough about using cell signals for internet use to know if this is typical. Connecting to the device is a constant adventure -- sometimes the connection is automatic, sometimes it isn't, but often it will fade away to nothing with no warning -- again, there's no indicator on the modem itself to let you know what the signal strength is, so of course it always comes as a surprise.

If you can get your internet in any other way, I'd suggest you do that.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 29, 2011
Great device in theory, but not when it comes to actually providing reliable internet service. I am now on my second device which constantly doesn't show on the list of available wireless networks. Verizons customer support are very very nice, but totally unwilling to actually so anything. Very annoying.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 20 people found the following review helpful
Because of the dedicated, enthusiastic, efficient, competent, friendly service received from Verizon reps from various sources [and since other reviews have given tech savvy details], I wanted to write a people focused review to say thank you. I'll preface that with some background:

Prior to getting this MiFi 2200 I had successfully used [for two and a half years] a Verizon USB, Mobile Broadband plug-in for my laptop [my only PC]. During that time my husband and I traveled often between rural or small town home and work bases on either side of the Continental Divide. The USB device was my sole Internet connection in support of my work as a writer, with a significant portion of that involving posting regularly on Amazon to promote my 15 books on the KINDLE reading device.

My experience was excellent with the USB device; the only drawback I dealt with could not have been solved with any technology I could afford [direct, personal satellite?]:

Driving over the Continental Divide on highways which aren't superhighways isn't yet consistently covered by cell towers from any company.

Really, Did I need to do Google searches while riding in my husband's Ford 1992 diesel at elevations well over a mile high? Sometimes even an obsessed writer should take time to enjoy the view.

When I switched from a well used heavier laptop with less than an hour capacity left on an aging battery, to an under 3 lb netbook with a 6 hr battery; I was surprised to notice a shift in awareness of the downside of a USB attachment: Working on a tiny, ultra portable, feather light netbook I noticed an awkward increase in maneuvers to avoid bumping the device. Previously the plug in was a much needed little finger; now it was a necessary sore thumb.

As is my relished MO, I took my time with fun research for an upgrade for my USB Mobile Broadband stick, doing double duty in considering an upgrade for my voice cell, hoping to conduct some of my computer work on a SMART PHONE!

I spent entertaining, engrossing, yet exhausting hours in Verizon stores and WalMart cell phone outlets, especially the Vzw store in front of the City Market in my hometown, but also in a fun carnival of a store in Pueblo, Colorado, a corporate Verizon outlet. As a corporate store it could afford the luxury of several displays featuring a collection of "LIVE" cell phones of various versions in Smart, Feature, Tablet, Netbook, etc.. I was coming from total ignorance of what those terms meant, having used my flip open Motorola for voice only [mostly with my husband] for a couple years, as my first cell purchased from my local WalMart.

Verizon staff reps in all retail outlets made me feel welcome in pursuing self-education, with their prime assistance ready when I asked for it. Yet, knowing some of them work on commission from cost of phone purchased, I felt guilty for the time I was given from individual Verizon service people.

I kicked out that downer feeling by reminding myself of the dollars I had paid a couple weeks early each month for Verizon cell tower use; reminded myself of the monthly fees I'd be adding with Smart phone data addiction, etc.

I believe it's the regular monthly fees from customers who pay on time every month which provide the baseline support for the company which maintains those depending on it, as employees or customers.

My research was spread out into the virtual world as well as the sticks, stones, and walking legs ones. I read detailed Amazon reviews; watched YouTube videos; visited cell info web sites from GOOGLE searches...

As noted above, because of the dedicated, enthusiastic, efficient, competent, friendly service I received, I wanted to write a people focused review, in order of meeting them:

"Doc" in the Canon City WalMart had for years [since I had signed up for my and my husband's first cell phones through WalMart] been my expertly helpful source of cell phone technology and industry machinations, as he kept up with news, mergers, buying and selling, etc., of enterprises and towers. Doc is a genius. He, without doubt, is a highly adept wizard in this business. Adrian and Dave have also been fast learners as Doc's acolytes, and ready with excellent attitudes and creative insights.

Thank you, DOC, Adrian, Dave, and others who answered a quick question here and there.

Rachael, Ryan, and JJ, [Canon City store], and Jared [Pueblo store] in order of my meeting them, were awesomely helpful, each in their own ways.

Rachael instantly matched her enthusiasm with mine when I said I was doing research on my next upgrades in Internet and phone service. She and I began sharing our collected information banks, with her competently answering questions as we worked around the store from phone to phone. When another customer came in of course she helped him as appropriate, but not before she commented with high spirit and proud voice that she and I were doing "research"... like that effort was the highest level intelligent game, which it actually is, IMO. Each time I walked in the door ready for my next phase of input, Rachael's smile and alert availability was right there, though in her professionalism she never slighted other customers. She's an excellent juggler.

Thank you, Rachael.

Ryan, a stylish Thunderbolt kind of guy, was helpful with answers and presence as best as he could conjure them, as I had questions posed his direction when he was the one in the store who happened to be available for my walk in. At one point, when I was seated in one of the waiting chairs, making some notes on what I still wanted to learn, Ryan quietly sat in the chair next to me and showed me his personal cell phone, a Droid X with a fun eyeball wallpaper. That genuine, warm sharing was one proud kid showing another searching kid what he had and was pleased with [even though he's probably in his late 20's whereas I'm 63, LOL]. This guy has true style, in much more than dress and hair design!

Thank you, Ryan.

JJ, a corporate kind of guy in a power suit which still exuded comfort and personal ease, was obviously headed for a professional path which might one day put him, as he will have humbly earned, beside some of the moguls in this industry. Even so, as a relative newcomer to that store with Rachael and Ryan being much younger but established there, JJ deferred to them with grace when appropriate. He also sat beside me when I was seated in one of the waiting chairs [though I work not to let it show, viral rheumatoid arthritis makes a chore for me to stand for very long], with a gracious attitude of genuine warmth, clearly wanting to know if or how he could help me.

I especially admired JJ's team spirit when he gave me the info and address of the Pueblo corporate store. I had finally decided on the MiFi 2200 and the Samsung Fascinate cell phone, but his store didn't have those items in stock. [I didn't know what I would choose until that day.] JJ's first efforts didn't pan out, to get some of the stock from Pueblo for me to conveniently purchase from the Canon City store I had been visiting.

Thank you, JJ.

Jared was the available associate at the Pueblo store, and in a period of less than a half-hour of primely focused, friendly efficiency, had the MiFi 2200 ordered and heading to my home via Fex Ex. Yipppeeee!!!!

Thank you, Jared.

These examples of team spirit were heart warming, especially in an atmosphere of naturally craved commissions, and in the cases of most people everywhere, never seeming to have enough bottom lines of income.

When my MiFi 2200 arrived, I called Verizon Customer Service for help activating the device. A woman named Dell very competently worked with me for to accomplish that. I was also impressed with the amazing versatility and dedication of this woman. Dell is a flexible expert on devices and PC programs.

Thank you, Dell.

Amazon, thank you, too, because the research I did here was fundamental and essential to learning what I needed, even though this was a rare case of buying elsewhere... because I had been long established as a Verizon customer, and felt I'd probably need Verizon Customer Service to activate the MiFi 2200.

Appreciation flows generously to Amazon, also, because this is my several years home for posting reviews; and because I knew that at any time I could call the 800 number on their wireless device pages and ask away what I needed to know about any cell device they offered.

I've observed many more behaviors to admire in this story, but it's probably beyond time to pause to avoid becoming a sleeping pill!

Can't imagine how I could be more pleased with this device.

It does what it says it will, and more. It's even more efficient and ergonomic, with better, quicker-to-set-up reception than my USB stick was. I LOVE IT. Don't mind having to keep the MiFi charged; its battery competes well with my netbook.

My adventure continues, no hurry, of getting a Samsung Fascinate [or something better, for me; JJ has an iPhone and intrigued my curiosity there. iPhone interests me also because GOOGLE Alerts once showed that one of my videos reading my mystery was featured on the iPad newsletter. Given the nature of that video I can guess why it was featured, LOL. I was honored.]

I look forward to watching on a smart phone, my Amazon video reviews and YouTube uploads; I look forward to doing part of my writing project research on one of those tiny PC's.

Thank you, many more dedicated professionals out there ready to help a seeker... even when the professional doesn't receive a commission on a sale. I hope they always, somehow, get paid something of more than adequate value.

Love Verizon's endearing dedication, "Can you hear me now?"

Linda Shelnutt
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on April 7, 2011
I've had my MiFi for about 18 months. It is a nice size - about the size of some (5 or 6 maybe) credit cards stacked up. It is lightweight - can easily fit in any pocket, including a shirt pocket without pulling on any seam whatsoever.

It generally connects well - I've used it all over far northwest Phoenix, Boston, Denver, Albuquerque, Ohio and various other places. I've not had many connection problems. On Hawaii trip I did have some problems - I'm guessing Verizon service is not great there, although didn't have trouble with inexpensive Verizon cell phone. I did have some problems connecting my iPod Touch with the Mifi for a while and went to Verizon office - after AN HOUR, they said, "no problem", just turn off wireless on your iPod Touch and then turn it back on. (It took them an HOUR to figure that out?)

Other than mentioned problems, I've had very few problems connecting 1 or 2 (usually my Macbook and iPod Touch) at the same time. Have also used it with various other computers and smaller devices. It was GREAT when we were camped out at hospital for days at a time with very sick relative.

I have mainly used the Mifi for email and downloading podcasts, Google maps for directions - works great. I've also used it for Google Voice, Netflix on my laptop, downloading software, etc. I have 5GB a month and not had a problem - although 90% of my use is for email and podcasts, so I may not be typical. I've not had problems with Netflix stopping and starting, but maybe I was just lucky. I've only watched maybe 9-10 movies using Mifi connection. I do watch my usage extremely closely - daily, or more often, when I'm using it a lot. I've come close once - about 4.5 gigabytes one month when I was traveling a lot.

There are some downsides - the green "on" button can run HOT. It burned a whole through a plastic Scottevest pocket. My workaround is I have a couple of wallets/very small purses that I can carry around my neck. One has a belt "loop" that exactly fits the Mifi and I leave the green "on" button open to the air. The other wallet/small purse has a sort of webbed pocket that gets lots of air and it works in that pocket. I don't like putting the Mifi down anywhere - it is very easy to leave behind because of the size/weight/convenience.

The other negative is that either the Mifi is ON or it is OFF. Well, the green light goes red for a minute or two and then you're out of power. I've gotten around that by buying extra chargers (both USB and electric) from Amazon to take with me everywhere AND an extra battery. So I basically have about 8 hours of Internet with my Mifi.

I haven't figured out how to change the password - but that is probably because I'm too lazy or not bright enough.

I do recommend the Mifi - the biggest drawback is the price. I got the device "free" from Amazon - but I've been paying $60.07/ month for service for 5 gb - I think it is great, but expensive.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on October 11, 2010
Good but not good enough.

It's unfortunate that they can't a proper unlimited download plan.

I live in the sticks and the only alternative for internet is Hughes or WildBlue.

It looked like Verizon was offering a better choice.

Well it is a better choice just not that much better.

Upload never exceeds 250Mb.

Download speed isn't too bad however getting throttle when close to max download at 5GB is very inconvenient.

I am a bit of a Linux enthusiast so I tend to upgrade and try new S/W regularly.

So who or what would be better for me? I don't know.

I've had Hughes, huge initial investment and throttling just as bad.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on September 13, 2010
...it's not all gravy. Verizon's MiFi worked fine when I had it, but it proved too costly. Now I'm using Virgin Mobile's (VM) MiFi (same device that Verizon uses: Novatel MiFi 2200) but you *may* get a better deal. I say "may" because my download speed with VM is pretty dismal, though with VM you get no usage caps for $40 month, as opposed to Verizon's $60+/month with a 5GB cap. So, be aware that Verizon is overcharging big-time but, conversely (at least for me), VM's MiFi is painfully slow. Welcome to another fine example of "You can have your cake but can't eat it" world of high-tech.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on August 15, 2010
Hello? Why do you keep hiding the monthly charges for this? Be Honest and put the cost per month in the ad!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on August 7, 2010
This a great product once you get it activated. I was able to activate it without contacting the phone company. My laptop is a MacBook running 64-bit OS which is not supported so you need to activate and purchase minutes with the software installed on windows. I guess I need to purchase minutes before leaving on a trip.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.