Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 11, 2014
To be fair, I only gave this camera a 4 star rating because I also own the later model (JVC GYHM150U) and there are a few "key" features in the newer version not found on this one. The biggest "negative" is that this camera will not take cards bigger than 32Gb and even some 32Gb that are high speed. It will only take the "cheaper" 32Gb cards found in Wal*Mart. When I say "cheapper" I don't mean bootleg brands, but for instance it will take the Sandisk 32Mb Cards but not the "Golden" High Speed Professional 32Gb Sandisk Cards. Weird...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2014
Just no remote for the camcorder but overall in solid shape.I am looking forward to using the camera for different events.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2011
The camera was everything I read that it would be. There were some reviews that said the low light was not that great but I found it to be more then adequate. I would recommend the camera.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2011
I did not buy this product from amazon but I have used it previously and wanted to give my review. My experience with camcorders/filming is very limited but this was easy to use and produced very clear and professional-looking videos. I have only used it in brightly-lit rooms so I am unaware of any lighting problems it might have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2011
For the price, the GY-HM100U is a decent investment, especially for the independent filmmaker with a limited/no budget.

The main reason that I ended up choosing to buy this camera is because it supported SD card file storage (nearly up to 4 hours on the highest HD setting if you know where to buy the cards), 24fps that lends to a very film-like look and feel to your footage, as well as basic components for audio recording IE: the XLR microphone inputs. An HD camera with all of these features at this pricetag is somewhat hard to come by, and finding this camera was a blessing. (UPDATE 2014: I rarely use this camera now because it lacks sufficient latitude. Get a Canon or Nikon DSLR.)

My only problem with the camera is that it does not handle low-light situations well at all. And by low-light, I mean situations where there is not a spotlight shining directly onto the set. The footage gets progressively more and more grainy depending on the amount of light in the shot, and even some well-lit candid interior shots using natural lighting have poor-image quality. I haven't really ever seen a camera handle this poorly when it comes to lighting a scene, and I have used the Panasonic DVX-100 which required constant attention to lighting. But what the DVX could handle, the GY-HM100u requires even more, something that baffles and annoys me. It makes documentary style shooting outdoors or inside a hassle, as the final product will end up looking very grainy unless the area is properly lit. When filming candid scenes, portable lighting isn't really an option.

All in all, I like this camera, and I'm glad that I was able to find it. I just wish that it was able to handle lighting a bit better than it does.
22 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2010
When I first bought this camera, I was in love with it. Small, was the perfect videocamera for me, since I mostly film documentary. The first thing that didn't work propperly was the memory. I bought two memory cards, 32 GB each, but any time I try to use both of them together (each one inside of each slot), it cames a failure message, so I have to remove one of them, and use only one (wich bothers me, since I have to pay attention to the memory that is left). Then, two months after buying the videocamera, I noticed that, by using normal shutter speed, a white point appears in the left side of the camera, not in the middle but almost... I made some test shootings with different shutter speeds, and the point doesn't appears when I use very slow or very fast shutter speeds, but hey, those are not the most common speeds, so I cannot film anymore with the camera, because I have to deal with this annoying white point!. I contact the reseller who ask me to contact JVC, since they cannot help me any further. But JVC is not taking care of my camera, they don't even answer me. So, now, I have a camera I cannot use (I bought the camera in March 2010), and a customer service that I simply consider the worst ever.
By the way: when I bought the camera, there was a special deal, that said that if you bought the camera before March 31 you will get a 250$ refund and an additional battery. I did (I bought this camera on March 25 and I sent back everything asked -bill, barcode, everything!), and now they say I won't get my refund nor my additional battery since I bought the camera in Amazon and I don't have the ticket of the reseller! I'm really mad at this JVC customer service, and I'm really mad not only because of my problem with the refund and the battery, but hey! what about my camcorder??? I need it to be replaced or repair and they just don't answer me!
I recommend strongly not buying this camera, you can have technical problems, and the customer service is even worst.
77 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2010
JVC has made it so easy to turn your home office into a full-fledged movie studio by using this streamlined prosumer camera in conjunction with Final Cut Pro. The .mov format is only the beginning -- moving media from camera to hard drive has never been easier, and the HD picture is gorgeous. The camera features every manual option a videographer/filmmaker could ask for to create professional-looking digital movies. I've used it for a few months already, and the investment was well worth it. If you have FCP Studio, consider dropping a few buck for this camera to complete the deal. The one drawback is that battery life runs short, but buy an extra, ya cheapskate.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2009
This is the camera I've been waiting for for 7 years. It has everything I've wanted: Incredible HD quality, direct MOV/Final Cut Pro-ready file creation, SDHC card usage, a decent built-in mic... It has taken the quality of the video work I'm doing to a whole new level. I could not be happier with this camera except if I had a 2nd one to do simultaneous 2nd camera angles in the studio...

I am trying to make my filming worthy of the quality this camera produces!

This is pricey but worth it.. so if you have the $$, don't hesitate to buy this thing, you won't be sorry.
11 comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.