Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer bschs2 bschs2 bschs2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback SnS

Package Type: Standard Packaging|Change
Price:$85.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 31, 2010
The Belkin Tunecast Auto Live is different from other FM Transmitters on the market because, through a special iPhone app, it can use GPS to determine the best frequency for you to use. After testing this transmitter with the app on my iPhone 3GS, I have the following opinions:
-You can only use the GPS function when the App is open, which means you can't run other apps when using the Belkin app. So if you're listening to Pandora when you suddenly need to change the frequency, you'll have to close Pandora in order to open the Belkin app. (EDIT: Apple's iOS 4 now allows for multi-tasking, so this particular point of mine is no longer valid, although you still have to go through the hassle of changing apps to change a frequency)
-The GPS function is useless. It kept telling me to use a particular frequency which did not work well. I could press the button on the iPhone app to cycle through frequencies, but the same useless frequencies would keep repeating.
-The Clearscan function (the button on the transmitter itself) is also useless, for pretty much the same reasons as above.
-Try to use the app to change the frequency of the Belkin transmitter while in rush-hour traffic. Yup, another driving distraction. (Memo to Belkin's lawyers: sooner or later, you'll need a warning in the manual along the lines of "do not use the app while driving")
-If I listened to Heavy Metal or loud Hip-Hop music, I might be ok with the sound quality from this transmitter. But since I listen to softer music, I find the constant background hissing and static to be very very annoying.
-I do LIKE the display though, the amber color is very pleasing and is easily visible both day and night. (hey, I'm trying hard to find some positives too!)

Overall, I don't recommend this transmitter. In fact, I've gone through many of the different transmitters from the different brands and the only one that worked perfectly and which I recommend is Griffin's iTrip. The reason is that the Griffins all have a hidden feature called "International" mode which allow the use of the 87.7 and 87.9 frequencies, as they are open frequencies in the United States (meaning there isn't a single U.S. radio station on those frequencies). But only the Griffins can use those frequencies, all other transmitters (including this very Belkin model) can go as low as 88.1 only. The Griffins also have a feature to boost transmitting power by setting the output to Mono, rather than the default Stereo which seems to produce a weaker signal. For more details on these functions, see the reviews for the Griffin iTrip products.
77 comments|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2011
I just want to say that the success of this product for you depends on a few things. The transmitter may not work for everyone, but I can say that this thing works pretty awesome for me. I had an earlier version of this which gave me an awful experience, so I returned it. A few months ago I bought this version and my experience was the total opposite. Here are the reasons that why this product may or may not work for you:

Location/Station:
I live in Atlanta and am constantly driving all over. Once you get into the city, static tends to get louder. But if you can find the perfect station and use that with one of the pro buttons on the transmitter, it works. 88.9 is my main station and I use the Pro 2 setting. Sometimes I have to change the station to 88.7, but I rarely have to.

IPod settings:
Being that your music is coming from the radio, I think it's imperative that one of the equalizer presets on the ipod be used. This makes a huge difference rather than just leaving the setting off. I put mine on treble booster. I would also recommend a sound enhancing app. I will be trying this one day on my Itouch.

Car settings:
Knowing how differently the radio sounds from the stereo, I messed with the equalizer settings in my car. I basically just brought some of the highs up and increased the bass. I would recommend experimenting with your car's settings to get a better sound.

Your car:
One thing I noticed is that the kind of car you drive can also affect all of these suggestions I just gave. I don't know much about cars, but what I do know is that this transmitter works flawlessly in my Hyundai Sonata. I've tried it in my sister's Mercury Sabel, and my dad's Dodge Ram. Both sound horrible no matter what settings I used. But whatever the reason being, the transmitter works great in my car.

These are the things that I did that made this product worth buying for me. It's not perfect, but it's the best available.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2010
this item is the best of the worse. Overall it's ok. You have to constantly change stations between 88.1 and 88.3 (well i do) but once your use to doing that it works well, the clarity is great as long as the channel comes in. For the car and newer ipods it's hard to find a good transmitter. I tried several before getting this. It was 40 and best buy sells it for almost 80.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2011
I recently had a Griffin iTrip that stopped charging. I bought this transmitter based on good reviews, but find those reviews to be inaccurate in my experience.

Compared to the iTrip or to other transmitters, this one has enormous difficulties. I would tune to the same frequencies as before and get a lot of interference. Unless you're in a rural or semi-rural area, you might have trouble making use of this at all. The transmitters's signal seems to be very weak and subject to cut-ins by radio stations. Even on an "empty" frequency the Belkin would lose signal after a few minutes, sometimes without warning. I eventually gave up and went back to the broken iTrip.

Ease of use is the only reason it's getting two stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2012
This iphone fm transmitter is awesome. The manual isn't very good but it's easy to figure out. The app on our iphones connects to the Belkin, then you press the center button on the phone and it will find and tune the Belkin to a vacant channel. You then tune your car fm reciever to that same station and voila you are ready to go. You select a song on you iphone and you are listening to it. Granted we live in a rural area so there aren't that many radio stations around so we can usually leave it on that channel during our normal travels. Once we go to San Jose we expect that we will have to retune more often but that the price of civilization. The best thing is once you reach your destination you phone is fully charged!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2014
Trying to save money in order to listen to our iPods in a vehicle with no connection/input for auxiliary devices. It fades in and out, doesn't provide a great output. Not worth the wasted money in my opinion. Buy a new stereo instead. You'll be happier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2011
I bought this unit for the purpose of being able to listen to music stored on my LG Ally phone. My expectations were that I would get about the same quality as an FM signal if I played a CD through it (and I would have been perfectly happy with that). The unit is assembled well and the display is easy to read, which is about the extent of the good I can say about it.

First off, there is very little amplification. I had the sound out of the headphone jack on my phone playing at maximum volume (and trust me.... it's loud enough!) Still I had to crank the radio up to full blast just to hear the music at a decent volume. Even with the device set up to the highest level of stereo compression (setting "p2"), it took a minute for the volume to come up and the sound quality was noticeably diminished.

Once you get past the volume issues, it takes a lot of fudging to find the right frequency that you could listen on with little interference. Even with the "Clearscan" feature (which is a waste - half the time the device landed right on a live FM station), it took a long time to find a channel with little enough static to overpower the feeble signal this device puts out in stereo mode. And the unit is very sensitive, so you have to place it just right to not feel like you're listening to a week college station going in and out of range.

If you have a long commute, be aware that you will likely have to go through this exersize multiple times if you go through any metropolitan areas. I drive on 480 in the Cleveland area for about 2 hours a day, so I have to shift frequencies 2-3 times just to keep things listenable, or you have to use the monoraul (yuck!) setting which puts out a slightly stronger signal. In all fairness though, the monoraul option does work well for hands free talking if your phone has a sensitive microphone to speak into. I was able to have a 30 minute conversation with my wife without a bluetooth in my ear listening to her voice over the stereo while my phone picked up my voice speaking at a normal tone sitting on the dash - so all was not lost.

So if you're willing to put up with all of that pain or your buying this unit mainly to transmit spoken word in monraul mode, enjoy! Otherwise I recommend just lugging the CD's and holding off until you get a radio with an 1/8 inch stereo input jack or (if you have a cassette player) getting a good quality cassette adapter and plugging your mp3 player into that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2012
I lost my Ipod Classic and my old, perfectly adequate DLO FM transmitter won't charge my IPhone 4S, which I had thought to use to listen to audible books in my car. So I bought this Belkin transmitter at the Apple store. The fellow there recommended it over the Griffin. I find it to be vastly inferior to my old transmitter. The tunecast app gives me two preferred stations to tune to, one of which is 88.1, which is what I had used with my DLO transmitter. Well, when I use it on that station, I get a great deal of static. Ditto with the other station the tunecast app tells me to try.
I'm taking it back. Unfortunately, DLO doesn't seem to be making FM transmitters any longer. Belkin F8Z498 Tunecast Auto Live FM Transmitter and Charger for iPod/iPhone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2010
I have been using the previous version of a similar transmitter from Belkin for over a year, and have been quite happy with it (the signal is often weak, but at least I can always listen to streaming radio when set to the Mono mode). I decided to get one for my wife, and was happy to see that the model had been updated. Alas, the new model is pure, unadulterated piece of garbage. I could not get even a trace of a signal, even if I used the exact same frequencies the old model works perfectly with. The accompanying iPhone application (ClearScan Live) is absolutely useless and has not helped me to get the unit working. I strongly advise not to buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2011
I purchased this item to work with my newly purchased iPod Classic. I previously had a Beklin TuneFM for my Nano 1G, and loved how it worked. After having the Tunecast for some time it doesn't live up to it's predecessor except for basic function. Previously Beklin's transmitter plugged into the bottom of the iPod and had a separate cord that plugged into the cigarette lighter and a USB plug in the bottom of the transmitter. The Tunecast still plugs into the bottom of the iPod, however the actual transmitter is placed in the middle of the power cord, and cannot be powered by the iPod like the TuneFM was. Previously I could have the transmitter run off the iPod battery so I could charge my phone while in the car, or use the FM transmitter in my house. With this version it must be plugged into the cigarette lighter.

Overall, it has sturdy construction, works well, although the search function doesn't exactly work as advertised. I have found two frequencies that I switch between, but understand I am in a metropolitan area and there is a lot of frequency static, so the search may work better in area with less frequency static.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.