Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Customer Reviews

2.7 out of 5 stars
10
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 22, 2016
It is a failed product in terms of reliability. The Manufacturer introduced this product too early in the market with not much testing. The product is useful for Late Macbook Pro 2008 which does not have Audio and Video combined using USB. Picture clarity in TV and Audio is good but it heats up fast and would not work for a while till it cools. Eventually it did not work using less then 2 month and though hardly used. Customer Service is very poor, they do not get back to us after first or second response. Sales Person eventually offered replacement but i did not replaced it as it is not worth. Amazon Customer service was helpful in some extent though they were not responsible as the product is through 3rd party.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2014
This product works well for a while and then burns out. There is a serious quality control issue with it when you read the reviews.

It is identical to the one sold by Monoprice (which sells for nearly 50% less than the price here) and theirs does not last long either. That is really unfortunate as Mac consumers need one that works for longer than a few weeks or months.

Good luck getting a response from the manufacturer (Kanex) when the product fails. It's a waste of time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2014
This workshould perfect, allowing me to record gameplay from my mac.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2013
Had for one year, then it recently got a short. I think it was our fault though. The price was beyond reasonable, so you get what you pay for. I would purchase again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2012
Worked fine for about 2 years, then it suddenly distorted all the colors. I was watching LOTR, it worked fine at first but 10 mins in all the colors suddenty changed to look like a gif that's been compressed way too far. I have tried it again several times and now I'm confident that it's dead for good. I'll try contacting the company and if they don't respond, maybe I'll crack it open and see if there are any obvious issues.

I wish Macs had an HDMI output.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2012
I've been using this about 9 months. Works great with Sony TV and Apple computer. No distortion of sound. Easy to hook up to computer if you follow directions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2011
Worked fine on my Macbook Pro for a few months, then suddenly stopped working. Tried to contact manufacturer, but they don't return emails and there is no phone number.

Setup requires you to set proper image resolution from the Monitors option in system preferences and then use USB audio in the Audio system preferences. Once set once, you are good to go.

Shame it didn't continue to work. Now have a brick due to non-contact from manufacturers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2010
For various reasons we were unable to test working this for two months, when we finally did, the visual was great but the audio was non-functional. Within another week of use, the visual started cutting out every 10 seconds and was no longer worth using. Unfortunately, the return period had been exceeded so could not return. Waste of money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2010
This product worked fine for seven months and then It stopped working. When I plug in the cable now, the external monitor works for about a minute and then it starts turning on and off until it completely shuts down. I would not recommend this product because for the price I paid for it I would expect it to last much longer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2010
This product was exactly what I needed to be able to mirror my desktop on my plasma in the living room. The picture quality is excellent as well as the sound quality. Highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.