Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Men's Hightops Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Iron Maiden UP3 $5 Off Fire TV Stick Labor Day Sale in Wine Shop Popular Services hog hog hog  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Labor Day Savings with Amazon Outdoor Recreation Learn more

ghd Classic 1-inch Styler
Color: BlackChange
Price:$123.00+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

170 of 178 people found the following review helpful
on August 9, 2013
I can't believe Amazon would allow one of their trusted sellers to sell fakes. I received mine today and it took about 5 seconds to realize that it was fake. I could not register it on the ghd website, and I came across the information below to help identify fakes. This straightener did not have a reset button on the plug, and had many more of the 'give-aways' that it was a fake! DO NOT BUY FROM THIS SELLER.

After being burned TWICE on ebay on fake GHD stylers, I decided to tell you everything I know about how to spot a fake.

1. Real GHD stylers have plugs with reset buttons, like you would find on a hairdryer.

2. Real GHD stylers have one hole on the cord where it meets the body of the iron. (Some of the newer models after the Pure and Dark have two holes.)

* One of the fakes I bought had three holes and one didn't have any... so make sure to look!

3. Real GHD stylers (applies to Hot Pink only) have a solid pink cord, the cord does NOT have a black ring where it meets the back of the styler.

4. When I contacted GHD of North America, I was told that North American GHD's do NOT have holograms at all! (The models available in the U.S. after the Pure and Dark models came out include holograms. Older models do not.).

5. Real GHD stylers say "Made in P.R.C." on them or Korea. They never say "Made in China".

6. Real GHD stylers will NOT have a hook on the cord to hang up your styler.

7. Real GHD stylers have domed screws, not flat headed screws.

8. The GHD styler DVD should have a number code and barcode on the back (compare it to the back of a DVD movie you own, they should look the same on the back). The fake GHD DVD's say DVD R really small on the back of the DVD towards the center, sometimes it is very hard to spot.

9. The booklets that come with the GHD styler should have colored pictures. Some fake GHD stylers have black and white pictures.

10. FOR THE HOT PINK GHD STYLER: The female snap on the bag should have little stars, the fake ones DO NOT. The fake ones have a Chinese company name.

11. If you open up your styler (if all else fails!), a real GHD styler will have two microchips, one on each side by each flat iron plate. The fake ones only have one (if it even works!).

12. Real GHD stylers have very strong, thick boxes. Fake GHD stylers boxes often come beat up, dirty, and are slightly smaller.

13. Fake GHD stylers often come with black scuffs on the body of the styler. They are not taken care of very well like a genuine GHD styler.

14. Real GHD stylers come with two booklets, some fake stylers only have one.

15. CHECK THE BOX AND TAGS! One of the fake GHD stylers that I received had misspellings on the tag! Apparently they don't use spell check.

16. Real GHD stylers have a date code on the inside of the body of the styler. It should have the year, month, then day.

17. LOOK AT THE BOX: One of the fake GHD stylers that I received (a hot pink one) had two different shades of hot pink on the top of the box.

18. HOT PINK GHD STYLERS should come with a card inside of the wrap and roll bag that says "Thou shalt surrender to pink". A fake GHD won't come with that.

19. Fake GHD stylers often come with the seal loose on the inside of the box. A real GHD should be sealed from the outside. (Does not apply to Dark or Pure since they have not been released in the US yet).

20. For the classic GHD stylers, the box should be matte, not shiny.

21. Hot pink GHD's should have black writing, not white writing.

22. Real GHD's sensor lights are clear but will flash red when ready to use and make a funny beep. Fake GHD's sometimes do not flash red or are solid red, not clear.

BEWARE of sellers with LOW FEEDBACK! Ask sellers questions about the 22 things I have pointed out above. If they do not answer, don't buy! If they make excuses, don't buy! Also, some buyers who have been ripped off are trying to resell their GHD's to cut their losses. Watch for things like "I got it as a gift" or "I recently cut my hair". One of the seller's I purchased from was supposed to be shipping out of Georgia but he really shipped from China. Don't believe everything you read about a seller's information. They can lie.

One of the sellers I purchased from actually bought her GHD's from a salon, and they were still fake! If in doubt, only buy from an approved stockist. You can find a list of approved stockists from GHD's website.

Always pay through PayPal if you still have doubts so you are protected and don't be afraid to ask for pictures from the seller to verify the plug, the DVD, or anything else you have questions on. Always ask questions before buying and remember, if it looks too good to be true, IT PROBABLY IS!

***UPDATE***

The GHD Dark and Pure stylers are now available in the US and there are a ton of fakes on ebay now. Always always ask about the plug. One way you can always tell a fake is it will have a plug like a lamp. If it is REAL it will ALWAYS have a plug with a reset button, like a hair dryer.

GOOD LUCK! I hope this keeps someone else from getting burned like I did!
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
122 of 140 people found the following review helpful
on January 12, 2012
After reading all the cautionary tales about fakes I ordered this gift for my wife directly from Amazon to avoid the problem of unscrupulous sellers. To our dismay the item Amazon shipped us appears to be a counterfeit since we can't register it on ghd's site. Also, the box says that it was "Manufactured in P.R.C." whereas everything else I've read says the real ones are made in South Korea. I'm very disappointed that Amazon doesn't have better control over its supply chain. Caveat Emptor!
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
88 of 106 people found the following review helpful
on November 30, 2010
I had some concern that this iron was counterfeit. I had purchased knockoff CHI irons (unbeknownst to me) on this site before. Fortunately, as I found, GHD has a verification tool on their site. Take the time to register your iron there to make sure it's not a fake [...] As far as the iron itself, it is a sturdy, quality iron that heats up lightning fast. It even has a beep to let you know it's ready to go. I especially love the 30 minute, automatic shut-off feature, a must for forgetful people like me ;)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
on May 13, 2012
Okay so to begin I wanted a GHD being the top of the line hair straightener in competition with the sudo but I didnt want to pay the $200 price tag so Amazon was my best choice.

I want to say my previous hair straightener was a Solia which is also one of the top hair straightener and I purchased it straight from folica.com

Compared to the solia the GHD defiantly beats it and I'm very happy I purchased it.

A lot of complaints for the GHD was that people kept getting FAKE non legit ones, I am happy to say I received a legit GHD and you can too.
The best way to know if it is legit whether it comes from Amazon or not is to check the sellers reviews (always do so). I usually buy from those who have usually more then 1000 reviews and score at least a 97%. That is how you know whether you are getting the real deal.

Second, when you receive it, to test its authenticity sign up for its warranty from the little paper they give you included. If it has the shiny sticker inside the clasps of the straightener it is most likely the real deal but to make sure you should sign up for again, its warranty. If it goes through, congrats you have a REAL GHD!

This is how you can tell if your GHD is a FAKE FAKE FAKE!
-if it is made in china (it is manufactured in P.R.C. or South Korea)
-if the warranty does not work
-if you do not have the shiny sticker in it

Also, be cautious when buying from a third party seller.
Also, the warranty will most likely be voided if you buy from Amazon, but you should still sign up for it to check for its authenticity.

Hope this helped guys
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon September 2, 2014
Color: BlackVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
LOVE LOVE LOVE this flat iron! It heats up so fast, doesn't damage hair and straightens like a dream. Much better than other brands I have tried. Really a great flat iron that works well. Oh, an mine seems to be authentic, I checked for all the red flags and didn't find any. Very pleased with it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on May 7, 2014
i called GHD directly and they told me there was NO WAY TO AUTHENTICATE this product unless i mailed it directly to them for inspection. They said the hologram and other numbers have been copied and even if their website accepts the product code it done NOT indicate that the product is genuine. NOT WORTH THE RISK OF FIRE OR BURNS and the cost of an inferior product. Stop the Fraud! Don't purchase!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
40 of 55 people found the following review helpful
on July 11, 2012
I'm so glad I finally bit the bullet and purchased the ghd straightener! I had been eying it for years on Sephora, but could never shell out that much money. Needless to say, I was really excited to find it for a discounted price on Amazon. I was really skeptical after reading mixed reviews and warnings about receiving fakes. The straightener I got is completely legit and I was able to register it on the ghd website with no problems.

I have very thick, wavy, medium-length hair. With my old straightener (a Remington Wet 2 Straight) I'd have to put it on the highest setting to get any results. In turn, I got tons of split ends, and my hair looked dry, frizzy, and damaged. The second I walked out the door, my hair would immediately begin to poof up again (I live in the South- hello, humidity!). With the ghd straightener, there are no heat settings. It heats up in seconds and automatically adjusts to the meet the needs of your hair. I was amazed at how it glided so easily throughout my hair and left my thick, wavy hair pin straight after 1 pass, instead of 3 or 4 (or 5) like my old straightener. My hair doesn't get snagged anymore! Instead, I'm left with shiny, silky, and healthy straight hair. Even my boyfriend noticed the difference the first time I used it! I was also impressed that it stayed completely straight after spending time outside in 90% humidity.

I am extremely pleased with this and it completely exceeds my expectations. I hope this lasts a long time!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on March 18, 2013
Hello everyone!
I'm from Spain, and this product is so much more expensive here than in the USA, so I was afraid of the fake items sold throught the Internet. Even so I decided to buy this one, and a Remington curl wand (throught amazon.com too) and I have to say that I'm really happy with it because this brand is amazing. You get perfect hairstyles with very proffessional finishing touchs. I recommend this item to everybody who has a very messy and untameable hair like me!
review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Color: BlackVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
In the attached video I explain how to register your flat iron and check for authenticity that you are actually receiving an actual ghd product. I was quite surprised to see so many negative reviews stating that they received a fake product. Many went on to talk about holes on the cord and the prong and where it is made, but actually those are old posts on the internet and the only sure way is by going to ghd website and registering your product. Even at the ghd website some of the illustrations were out of date which I point out in the video. By entering the halogram sticker unique code and date code of your product, you will be emailed to let you know if your product is genuine.

Now let me discuss about the benefits of the flat iron itself. I have tried numerous brands of flat irons. From Hot Tools, FHI, CHI, HAI, Chameleon to Sedu. This is my first ghd brand and I am happy I got to try it out. The ghd Classic 1-inch Styler uses ceramic plate technology which helps reduce breakage and damage to the hair because the ceramic can glide through your hair without pulling it. It also maintains an even temperature throughout the plates with no cold spots which means less passing on the hair.

The ghd has actual ceramic plates and not aluminum plates that are ceramic coated which in time will wear off, chip and peel. Ceramic produces negative ions. Dry or damaged hair has positive ions. When you use the ghd Ceramic Flat Iron you are applying negative to positive so you counteracting and balancing the condition of your hair. The negative ions will make your hair smoother, silkier and shiny.

However, what is missing? Tourmaline. Tourmaline also emits negative but has far-infrared heat. It can get rid of odors and pollutants. When tourmaline is heated, it can produce more negative ions than plain ceramic plates. This means means far more less damage by locking in your hairs own moisture and minimizing frizz, static electricity and flyaways. That is why I give this flat iron four stars instead of five. I prefer a flat iron that has BOTH ceramic and tourmaline technology like the Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron. Not that this flat iron is a bad choice, but my Sedu is my all time favorite and rated 5+++++++ stars and more.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Color: BlackVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My hair is naturally wavy, so most of the time I let it air dry and I walk around looking like I am wearing a nest on my head. Straightening my hair goes a long way in avoiding that look. The straightener that I usually use is manufactured by a popular company (starts with an R) and cost a mere $22. I think that the differences between this, more expensive brand, and the one I usually use, are insignificant. This styler heats quickly. So does the cheaper model. This styler straightens hair adequately. So does the cheaper model. The only differences are that the ghd Classic 1-inch Styler has a longer cord with a built-in gfci device and remote test/reset unit and is about an inch and a half longer, which puts your hand further from the heat. In summary, this model and brand of hair straightener heats up and straightens no better than a much cheaper model but does seem safer from an electrical/heat standpoint. Except maybe for professionals, I'm not sure that the significant cost difference (over $100) is worth the additional safety features.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 37 answered questions

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.