Truck Month Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars32
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 23, 2011
This camera produces very good pictures when you keep to ISO 400 and below. You can make good prints up to 7-inch and some awesome wallpapers for your computer screen, especialy when you like to shoot in macro mode. Higher than this and it will display noise in your photos, as you would expect from a point and shoot of this kind.

The controls are intuitive, with easy access to Program, Auto and Scene Modes. In Program mode, you can also manually access ISO selection, exposure compensation and white balance without much fuss. You can set a histogram to show up during review or playback. I realize these are features that one would expect to find in a DSLR. So it's a pleasant surprise to discover them in the A800! They provide some level of fine-tuning for the more advanced user. And for those who take their time to compose a shot, careful use of these "advanced" features will reward you with delightful images.

If you are looking for a credit-card type camera, this isn't the one for you. It's about the size of a stack of cards. It's not your feather-light camera either since it takes two AA batteries adding heft. On the other hand, the heftiness gives an impression that it's stable and solid to hold. The camera is also very frugal on batteries. I am still shooting with the free AA-alkalines that came with it and have already taken dozens of photos and video clips.

For the price, this one's a great value. I got a free 2GB SD card as well as two 2000mAHr Energizer NiMH Batteries and Charger to go with it! If you're just looking for a simple, handy camera for vacations and for those inevitable snapshots and video clips on family gatherings, the Canon A800 will deliver good results without costing a fortune. Just use it within its limits and you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2011
This Canon replaced a powershot 490 that got left out in the rain one day. The A800 is decent and takes good pictures, but is a little slow on the flash recharge. What it does have are AA batteries which can be changed out in a heartbeat and not tied to a lithium power charger that takes forever, unless you want to spend another 30-35 dollars for a second battery. If I had the money I would of course buy a Canon EOS system but the A800 will do for now. I would not hesitate to recommend this camera as a standby for a professional photog. The 1200 series release was complicated by a lack of product delivery and most stores only got 1-2 in stock during late March and they sold out quickly. If you want, you can compare the A800 & 1200 for yourself. Remember, do you want to stop taking photos during that special occasion because your battery is drained???
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2012
I hate to putz around with camera settings. While this has them, I've left mine set to 'auto' across the board, popped in a 2GB card, dropped it down to 6MP and can take over 1200 fine quality photos.
Great zoom, Nice big screen for my old, tired, eyes. Runs AA batteries. What's not to like?
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2011
This is my first digital camera and I found it very easy to use and it takes nice sharp pictures whether indoors or out.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2011
This Canon Powershot A800 is a excellant camera. Easy to use. takes great pictures and is small and easy to carry. Fits in my purse to take with me everywhere. A very good purchase.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2012
My granddaughter was about to take an adventure vacation and she wanted her own camera.
I thought it best to get her one that was a one button easy to use model.
She went to Costa Rica and her pictures of waterfalls, monkeys, and birds were
as nice as those from more complex expensive cameras.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2012
Got this unit for my mother who is absolutely horrid when it comes to computerized technology. In less than 2 days and 2 not so frustrating phone calls, she's able to take quality pictures and get them into her computer for sharing, saving or posting. Also of great benefit, is that this unit uses typical and easily acquired AA batteries!! Incredible photo quality at this price point is going to get me to upgrade my camera with one of these (or the next model up) as well. Love the Canon simplicity!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2011
I use a S90 substituting for a SLR. This is my 'in car' back up. Love the pix quality.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2012
November 25, 2012 follow-up: I wrote the following in September after first getting this camera. After having more time to use it, I'm raising my rating to five stars because I like it so much. I still wish it came with easier software and instructions, but that has become less important to me.

This is the first digital camera I've used, I've only been using it for a couple of weeks, and I didn't know what to expect from a $90 camera (I later noticed Amazon also offers it in black for $75). It seems a very good camera, but the non-intuitive software and often-confusing user guides make me give three stars instead of five. I write this for other beginners out there:

Pros: It's very easy to use on "Auto" setting, and pictures look surprisingly clear and good even under different light conditions.

I like having other options besides "Auto". So far "portrait" and "foliage" have worked as they should. I haven't tried others enough yet to tell.

I like that it has a "P" (Program) mode that allows you to make a few changes to the aperture value (exposure compensation), shutter speed, pixel setting and compression ratio, etc.--in case I get more ambitious.

I like being able to take black and white or sepia photos by simply selecting to.

The video feature works very well, and I like being able to use the software to select individual frames to make into photos.

The batteries that came with the camera yielded about 60 photos (including lots of flashes) and lots of turning the camera on and off and experimenting with settings.

I like the size--not too small to handle easily, big enough to feel solid in my hands. I think the buttons might be hard for bigger hands, though.

I've had no problem at all with blurred photos (on Auto setting), even though my hands aren't always that steady when I'm taking a picture in a hurry.

Customer service techs are easy to reach, courteous and smart.

Cons: The software seems too complicated (and I'm good at figuring things out). Even the customer service techs had trouble navigating it, though they were very knowledgeable about camera and printer matters.

The online user guides for both the camera and the software could explain things more clearly and thoroughly. They're short on words, and many pages refer you to other pages. Also, I think I'd rather have less options and less ways to do the same thing. And I still haven't figured out how to sort my photos into folders and retrieve them easily.

The soft plastic cover over the terminal where you connect the camera to your computer doesn't feel securely connected. Maybe it's OK, but I have a feeling it's going to fall out long before the camera dies.

I didn't realize I'd need to buy a memory card separately. This may be standard practice, but I think some digital cameras do come with a 2G memory card to get you started.

I haven't tried the video function yet.

In case other beginner's run into this problem (not unique to this camera): my photos printed out very faded until I figured out that I needed to select "print without borders". Or, when printing through Windows Vista with a Canon iP2600 I had to uncheck "borderless". (The sequence is Print, Properties, Page Setup, then look for the box next to "borderless" and make sure it's not checked.) I don't know yet how this will affect text printing.

I'm glad I bought this camera, and maybe I'll raise my rating after I've used it for awhile.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2011
So far the pictures I've taken come out good, I as long as I don't move a hair while taking them they are clear
11 comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.