Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Luxury Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer seeso seeso seeso  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 8, 2011
The JOBY Micro 800 is a camera accessory worth the wait. The tripod is simple, three small legs and a ball joint that is attached to the screw mount. The ball joint moves smoothly with a little pressure and holds the set position. The legs swing out with the same smoothness and each end is capped by rubber feet for a little additional grip. It stood steady on the dashboard of my car, supporting the Fujifilm X100 while I shot video driving home at dusk. Once I finished, the legs fold back and the tripod sits flush to the camera body, thanks to the ball joint. This is the perfect companion to the X100, and any other similar-sized camera.
review image review image
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2011
Pros:

- Sturdy structure: I bought this to replace my old GorillaPod which can't even stand up with my GF2 on it. GorillaPod Micro 800 has an aluminum positioning ball is strong enough to hold my GF2 with 45-200mm lens on it (the lens itself is about 2 pounds).

- Sleek design: I have no problem to attach it to my GF2 with our without leather body case (DMW-CGk3) and after I'm done, it can be push fairly close to the bottom of the camera.

Cons:

- Since the position ball is made by aluminum, when you use a quarter to screw or unscrew, it can be scratched easily.

- Price.
review image review image
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2015
I purchased this mini-tripod for use on a Sony a5100 which I take with me when travelling, which is quite often due to the nature of my job. Due to the feedback of others, I purchased a 1/4" I.D., thin nylon washer from the local hardware store to place between the camera and the tripod to avoid scratching the camera at the attaching point. So far, I haven't had any issues with scratches, and don't believe I will. I would imagine a fiber or rubber washer would work just as well. The tripod legs separate smoothly and the ball joint has enough tension to keep the camera in the intended position even with the a 55-210mm telephoto lens attached. I don't have any lenses more "front heavy" to test, but believe that the 55-210 is likely about as large as this tripod would be able to handle without the front of the camera drooping. I make sure to always move the legs clockwise (tightening direction) when spreading, adjusting, or stowing them to ensure that the tripod doesn't come loose from the camera unexpectedly. So far I haven't had an issue with the tripod unscrewing itself from the camera. As I've only had the tripod for about a month, I can't comment on the long term longevity of the device, but it seems that the bushing in the ball joint that provides friction will likely be the first thing to wear to the point of affecting usability. I've deducted one star for not including a protective washer or coating the mounting flange in rubber to protect the camera body.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2013
Other reviewers described it best so I'll keep my review short.

Pros: I love the portability and how it just molds to the camera. Having it go where ever you go is a big plus.

Con: The biggest con for me is that the mount scratched the bottom of my camera. I realized the mount was metal and I wondered why it did not have the rubber stopper similar to the other joby tripod attachments. No biggie but I just got my camera recently and had it scratched from this tripod. Oh well, at least photo quality won't be hindered by the scratches. The other con is that it is not easy to screw the mount with a coin. I think it is the rubber that helps keep the camera to the desired angle which is probably why the screw doesn't move so easily.

Overall, I recommend this product if you don't plan to remove it. Installing and uninstalling will just add more scratches to the bottom of your camera. It's nice to add some character to your camera but not from a tripod! Anyway, I don't plan on using this because I do switch tripods often.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2012
I recently purchased an Olympus OMD E-M5 and while it is too heavy for my previous table-top tripod, the Micro 800 works perfectly. I leave it on my camera all the time since it is so small and unobtrusive. When I do want to use a full-sized tripod, it only takes a couple of seconds to remove the Micro 800. As an example of the convenience of leaving it on my camera, this week I was in a dimly lit restaurant with some friends. On the spur of the moment I increased the ISO to 8000 (very doable on the Olympus), set the camera and tripod on the table and got a great shot.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Sometimes we find a camera item that's so useful, so functional, that we wonder why it took so long to come to market.

For me, such is the case of the JOBY GorillaPod Micro 800, described as an always-on camera tripod for compact system cameras. This small device screws into the regular tripod socket and is compact enough to remain on the camera, if you like. What makes it so good is that the three legs swivel out into place in less than a second, and you're ready to go.

It's listed as being made for "compact system cameras / prosumer cameras weighing up to 800g (28.2oz)," but in my case, I do a lot of low level photography with my Nikon COOLPIX P7100, and with its 3-Inch articulated Vari-Angle LCD screen, low level shots can be made quickly and effortlessly without placing the camera itself on a surface that might be wet, as I've shown in the user images here.

This GorillaPod Micro 800 tripod is quite sturdy, with its legs being made from a zinc-aluminum alloy, and its positioning ball head allows for about 36° of overall movement. It has dark grey silicone feet at the end of each black-coated tripod leg, which provides excellent stability on wet or difficult terrain. Its overall appearance is understated and professional, with an unobtrusive JOBY logo on one of the legs.

All it takes to initially set it up is to thread the ¼-inch tripod screw into the camera body, then to gently tighten it with a penny or some other small coin. Once that's done you're ready to go, and since it weighs just over 2 ¼ ounces, it's not even noticeable when you carry your camera.

I also have the Joby GorillaPod Hybrid, which is excellent for use in lieu of a full-size tripod and when you want the versatility that it offers with it's flexible legs in a wide variety of shooting situations. But there are times that one leaves the camera bag with the accessories at home, and that's where the GorillaPod Micro 800 works so well when it's left attached to the camera.

Have to note that I received this as a gift from a friend who noticed it on my Wish List, and it was a pleasant surprise when it arrived, as I planned on getting it for myself. And this is also one of those items that I will also be giving as a gift, as it's useful enough to be remembered for a long time.

Though it's pictured here with a Sony NEX micro 4/3 digital camera, it can be quite useful with any compact or serious enthusiast camera, such as the Nikon P7100, the Canon G12, the Fuji X100 and similar models. It's also good that Joby offers a one-year warranty on these and most of their other products, though I can't see much going wrong with this one. If it fits your individual camera, the GorillaPod Micro 800 is highly recommended as a highly useful accessory, a great time saver and decent platform for those tricky and difficult shooting situations that do and will arise... and it's a good gift.

8/4/2012
review image
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2015
This has to be the cutest little tripod I've ever seen! And despite its cuteness, it is built extremely sturdily. I keep it on the bottom of my mirrorless and it really comes in handy for longer shutter times that I can't really pull off freehand. It's not perfect (can't rotate for portrait mode, limited range of motion), but for what it is it performs admirably. Slap one on the bottom of your compact ILC and get shooting!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2015
Using this on a 800gr camera (maximum) and its plenty solid enough. I dont doubt that it could carry more than this as long as the weight is is in the center of the mount (so that it doesn't tip over)
its well made (a little heavy even) and feels very solid.

Pros:
-tiny
-not tooo heavy
- works for big-ish cameras
- well priced

cons:
-none!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2014
I own a Sony NEX-6, and needed a tabletop tripod for various video recording tasks. This is the perfect tripod (for compact-system cameras) if you need something that allows you to angle the camera how you want it, with minimal bulk and maximum portability. The tripod is very well made and very sturdy. It's now one of my favorite camera accessories.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2016
Works fairly well, but does not hold up the weight of Olympus OMD E-M5 mirrorless camera with either the 12-50mm nor the 40-150mm lens attached.
Even with experimenting with a variety of different options with the legs, it still moves from the weight of the camera.
Also, it does not stay stable or in position if using the shutter button with a delayed release (2s or 12s)
I had high hopes for this, but reality after 4 different outings with this tripod for waterfalls, old cars, sidewalk shots, and hiking, it simply does not hold the camera in position or stable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.