Customer Review

127 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best portrait printer, January 6, 2012
By 
This review is from: Epson Stylus Photo R2000 Wireless Wide-Format Color Inkjet Printer (C11CB35201) (Office Product)
I would never thought an inkjet printer will match prints from a pro lab. I was debating between R2000 and the aging Canon 9000 Mark II. At the time of my purchased, there were no review in Amazon. I have farmed out most my works to Professional online and local lab in Minnesota in the past. Bought mine on Octorber 2011. I finally have side by side comparison prints from a Pro lab and R2000. For print size of 4"x6" to 11"x14", you won't notice the different. Wifi ready is big PLUS, it allow me to place the printer anywhere in the studio with an outlet. I have not print from roll and CD cover yet. For the last 3 months, I have not encountered double feeding, paper jam and ink clogging issue a well known problem for epson printers in the past. I've tested the clogging issue by not printing for 3 weeks and it still printed just fine. I will update my review if any thing arise.

Pro. WIFI ready, compact, print on roll, print CD cover and professional quality for a $500 printer.

Con. Use a lot of Gloss-Optimizer ink in 2-1 ratio of other colors if print strictly in photo on luster paper.

Hope this review help your decision,

Thank you for reading.

*******************

4-2-14 Updated:

I am very please with this printer up to this point. It's still running strong for almost 3 years. It has not clog once yet. I am thinking of getting another unit if price come down. I am surprise that the price actually going up rather than decline after almost 3 years on the market.

Good luck on your search
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 6 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jan 11, 2012 3:29:39 PM PST
Andy C. says:
Hi, Have you printed in black and white yet? If so, does it give you true black and white or is there a color tint to it?

Andy

Posted on Feb 8, 2012 3:52:01 PM PST
[Deleted by the author on Jun 3, 2012 10:29:19 PM PDT]

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 12, 2012 12:01:27 PM PDT
Mr Cool says:
Yes

Posted on May 1, 2012 10:25:30 AM PDT
Reader says:
I'm also considering this printer for direct printing on a variety of paper surfaces, and less need to transfer images. Have you experimented with media other than basic coated inkjet paper? Does it truly accept heavy paper without balking, such as 140 lb. watercolor for example? Thanks.

Posted on Dec 30, 2012 3:26:29 PM PST
C. Strak says:
read on a review from the epson website about turning off the Gloss Optimizer when not needed.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 21, 2013 3:51:00 PM PST
V. Lee says:
Sorry for not getting back to you soon enough. I did print some black and white. It print very nice B/W for that price of printer. I am not sure what do you mean by "a color tint to it". I also own Epson 3880 and it print black and white better. Both print color photo almost identical. Only different is 3880 print slightly warmer.

Thank you for reading

Posted on Mar 22, 2014 1:27:46 PM PDT
buzzybruce says:
I'm thinking about getting this printer. Are you still satisfied with it?

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 23, 2014 6:25:03 AM PDT
V. Lee says:
Yes, I'm still very happy after 2yrs. There is no reason to switch since I have not getting any issue yet. I am thinking of getting another one since you can buy ink here for very reasonable price.

Hope this answer your question and good luck on your decision.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 23, 2014 8:25:11 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Mar 23, 2014 8:25:29 AM PDT
buzzybruce says:
Many thanks. Yes, your feedback has helped me to make a purchase. Much appreciated.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer

V. Lee
(REAL NAME)   

Top Reviewer Ranking: 595,577