Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro
Customer Review

49 of 61 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric and Eerie But Missing Something, November 20, 2012
This review is from: Cover of Snow: A Novel (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Nora Hamilton is a restorer of old houses, in the midst of just starting a new business called Phoenix. Her husband, Brendan, is on the local police department. They have a happy marriage, one that is close and intimate. One morning, after making love the night before, she wakes up feeling drugged and feels like things are not right in the house. For one thing, she overslept and she knows her husband would have wakened her because she had an appointment with a new client. She walks through the house and she finds her husband - he had hanged himself and was dead.

Nora can't believe the things she is finding out. For one, Brendan got a prescription for a sedative a week before his suicide meaning he planned this out and sedated her the night before. She does not believe this is a suicide and so she is determined to find out what happened to him. If it is a suicide she wants to know why. Why would Brendan want to take his life?

Nora is stonewalled at every turn. There are secrets in her small town, ones that she is not supposed to find out. She is determined, however, to prove that her husband did not kill himself. Why, for instance, would he use twenty year-old rope when, as a police officer, he knew all about weapons.

The book is fairly formulaic and simply written. It is a good beach or plane read and I read it in two sittings. It is, as the publisher states, for readers who like Nancy Pickard and Lisa Unger. I am not a particular fan of either of them. The book is eerie and atmospheric at times, but it just didn't do it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Be the first person to comment on this review.

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]


Review Details