Customer Review

4,067 of 4,497 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You will be disappointed with this theatrical version!!, April 23, 2009
By 
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy (The Fellowship of the Ring / The Two Towers / The Return of the King Theatrical Editions) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you have the LOTR DVDs(either extended or the shorter theatrical version) you will be disappointed with this release!! Wait for the extended blu ray version. Don't waste your money unless you have excess money to waste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 3 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 16 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jan 3, 2010 1:57:57 AM PST
I find it insulting also, I will not get this until the extended version. In this economy and after what they pulled last time, they may be surprised at the response.

Posted on Jan 25, 2010 8:28:49 PM PST
ToonForever says:
I will? No, I rather won't, thank you very much. How dare you presume on so many other fans who like the theatrical editions as well as the extended? What a ridulous, immature statement.

Posted on Feb 9, 2010 7:05:57 AM PST
Was there one human on the planet that was "disappointed" with the Lord of the Rings movies when they were, you know "theatrically" exhibited? Are you out of your mind, dumb, high or all of the above? Don't forget just how amazing the "short" versions are, Mark. As long as people know what they are getting, and you can't miss all the hype about it here, nobody is going to be "disappointed". These are astounding films. 9 discs. MAN some people are hard to please!

Posted on Feb 9, 2010 8:54:41 AM PST
Glen R says:
Pretty egotistical of you to think that you know what everyone else should or shouldn't like. Not surprising though given the amount of self centered whining going on here

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 11, 2010 9:06:55 AM PDT
I agree with the review. Most who have watch the extended version a few times will be disappointed. To answer the question ...how can we be disappointed when we we thrilled when we saw it in the theaters?

If you have ice cream for the first time it taste great. You then have ice cream with strawberries or hot fudge on top.... you are then promised a special treat for your birthday... you are going out for ice cream! ...you are then told you can only have the vanilla even though they have the other flavors right behind the counter... yes vanilla ice cream is still great and yes there will be some who will prefer the plain vanilla... but you still may be disappointed.

what if they were to release the blu-ray version with great picture but only stereo or mono sound? Would we still be hard to please?

Posted on Feb 8, 2011 4:09:38 AM PST
Ryan says:
This makes me think LOTR is a terrible movie, what a buncha doofuses

Posted on Feb 8, 2011 4:11:35 AM PST
Ryan says:
This makes me think LOTR is a terrible movie, what a buncha doofuses

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 8, 2011 7:18:59 AM PST
LOL... people who never of or seen LOTR are going to come to Amazon and think the series suck. LOL!

The reviews are for the deal not for the movie; anyone who reads a couple review will see that. You did the same in your review of X-Men: The Dark Phoenix Saga where you gave it a one star and said "Marvel is gouging fans with this insane price". Should I assume that X-men is a terrible... because of your one star?

If you want product ratings come to Amazon. If you want movies reviews go to IMDB.

Posted on Mar 9, 2011 6:05:15 PM PST
T. Whiting says:
*whine whien whine whine whine whine whine whine whine whine whine whine whine* I want things my way and I'll keep throwing a fit until I get them *whine whine whine whine whine whine whine whine whine whine whine*

Seriously, SOME people actually appreciate the effort that went into making these BRDs and all tools like you do is make it impossible to actually appreciate them. The BRD releases are FINE. Want more, sure, get extended? STFU about these NOT being extended though, because it's CLEARLY labeled 'theatrical version'.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 9, 2011 6:50:51 PM PST
I have no problem with this theatrical version release. I wouldn't mind if they made several versions.

I do have a problem with the "double dipping" ploy.

Please feel free to whine about my whining.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Florida

Top Reviewer Ranking: 5,437,939