Customer Review

157 of 192 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Verifiable Facts, October 22, 2010
By 
This review is from: Radical-in-Chief: Barack Obama and the Untold Story of American Socialism (Hardcover)
I tend to believe facts and the book contains some disturbing facts that can be verified. I cannot agree with the reviewers that simply put their head in the sand and blame, for example, the Tea Party.
I can't help but believe if this were about Sara Palin or (you pick a name) people like Bonnie would have a review full of wonderful praise for the author.
I have been a registered Independent for 46 years and yes.. I am white, a Vietham era vet., Christain, worked for NASA for many years (life skills and motivation!) but like Juan Williams, I want to have an educated evaluation of all issues. Name calling does not trump verifiable facts, facts contained in this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 1, 2010 10:30:55 AM PDT
bukhtan says:
Is this a review of the book or a review of the other reviews?
Everybody except the insane believes facts. What facts were in the book? And what does your being "white" etc have to do with the book?

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 3, 2010 9:17:39 AM PDT
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 5, 2010 3:29:49 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Nov 5, 2010 3:32:46 AM PDT
You say that Obama isn't a radical socialist, Kurtz has written a book claiming that he is. Kurtz has presented a string of evidence to back this claim; aren't you even slightly curious as to the validity and relevance of Kurtz's evidence given the stakes? That Obama hasn't acted as radically as his disappointed left-wing "base" wanted, is not proof of his moderation but evidence that he's not stupid. He knows he must move to the left only slowly to avoid giving away the game (not slowly enough, according to the recent voting!). Obama originally wanted a British-style National(ized) Health Service. He settled for a national federal mandate forcing virtually everyone to buy health insurance because that's all he could get out of Congress - and even then only by using thoroughly anti-democratic methods. He accepted this "compromise" because it puts the country on a path that will eventually lead to a state-owned health-care system.

The facts behind one really frightening move of Obama's are apparently recounted in Kurtz's book and that is Obama's effort to turn AmeriCorps into a government funded (to the tune of 1.4 billion dollars) band of young politicized "community organizers" to effect "radical" change in low-income communities across the country. He even fired a long-term senior bureaucrat, Gerald Walpin, who'd been Inspector General for the Corporation for National and community Service when Walpin complained about how this money was being spent in violation of the Corporation's charter.

Frankly when I think about thousands of "youths" being trained by a well-funded agency of the Federal Government to carry a certain kind of political message (what kind of message?) across the United States, I get a very cold feeling in my stomach. The "Obama Youth" might be a good name for these kids.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 5, 2010 7:21:57 AM PDT
Yes, thank you for your note James. I am curious and I will read the book to get a better idea of what Kurtz has in mind. A couple of points though.

As to the medical care - some form of nationalized medical care option has probably been part of the platform of the Democratic party for 40 years. Obviously, Hillary Clinton tried to get it passed when her husband was President in the 1990s. It didn't float then and it may not be good policy now, but being in favor of it doesn't make a politician or the 50% of the public who votes Democratic "radical socialists." That's just a label and a scare tactic. Almost every country in the world, but the US, had some form of national health plan, so if we want to use statistics as a characterization, the US is rather "radical" for not having one.

As the the "Obama Youth," there was another program started years ago the galvanized a lot of young and a few not so young people to chuck the pursuit of the materialistic American Dream to go out and live with the poor and try and help them out. It was called the Peace Core. It's still around as as far as I know the members and ex-members of this group are not being monitored as "radcals" by the FBI.

All this being said, I will read the book. There have now been nearly 50 anti-Obama books published in the last two years, so it may take me some time to get through them all.

I think the President is a smart, sincere person, who could have used some more experience with the business community before he was elected. I don't think he is overtly hostile, but I also don't think he understands it very well. He's a human being with a lot to learn. Just like you and me.

Posted on Nov 11, 2010 11:10:11 AM PST
Radical-in-Chief: Barack Obama and the Untold Story of American Socialism Donald, you sound like a very reasonable person. We are kindred spirits re: wanting an educated evaluation of all issues; and having verifiable facts. Thanks for your thoughts.

Maureen

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 24, 2010 8:08:23 PM PST
hisbookrder says:
well-funded like the army they cant even pay my wife unemployment you got to be kidding

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 13, 2010 7:29:46 AM PST
Nils,

Thanks for the comback. the "Obama Youth" thing is a worry to me because it seems to be a suborning of the original reasonable program of voluntary national service into a state-operated tool for encouraging personal loyalty to an individual politician. You have to admit that the Obama personality cult is a lot to take, even President Obama expressed a little concern over it.

As far as what's "radical" and what isn't, to some degree that's a function of time and what the electorate can be made to get used to. Consider full body searches at airports for instance. I live in Europe but travel often to the United States and it hurts to hear Europeans complain about the "fascist" treatment they get at American airports - and they ought to know!

Posted on May 24, 2012 7:15:24 AM PDT
The Obama Hate Machine: The Lies, Distortions, and Personal Attacks on the President---and Who Is Behind Them

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 24, 2013 2:39:32 AM PST
Daryl Dixon says:
Coyote is a moonbat troll
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.8 out of 5 stars (59 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
$27.00 $21.15
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 4,961,544