Customer Review

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, September 24, 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Calculus (Hardcover)
I used this book for Calc I and II.
The pre-calculus sections cover everything that you need for the calculus you'll be doing in the book.
If the pre-calc section didn't cover something you'll need in one of the 'real' chapters, the book covers it in the beginning section of that chapter.
Everything is organized well (in my opinion).
I do agree that the way some of the lessons are explained are sometimes hard to understand but all you need to do is fight through it to try to understand. If you still can't understand, just start trying the homework & the examples & you should be able to catch on.

Some classmates were complaining that it didn't review for Trig as much as it should've (you really need to have the special angle (30/60/90, 45/45/90) concepts memorized (or at least have the sin,cos & tan of the special angles memorized), however, I do remember the author adding additional sections in the appendix that covered the Trig you need to know for the course.
So make sure to check the appendix, it may have something you possibly need.

Overall, I really liked the book.
I highly recommend the H Anton book for Calc III though.
I had a really applicational calc III teach that NEVER did examples & never taught anything from the book.
He'd constantly go off on a tangent teaching applicational stuff that was very interesting, however, it did nothing for us in regards to the stuff we needed to learn for the class.
The H Anton book basically taught me the entire calc III material w/o a teacher.
The way it was written made it so you didn't really need a teacher.
If you're taking calc III, I definitely recommend the H Anton book (get it used though, don't pay high price based on my review. Not all books are for everyone, just b/c I liked it doesn't mean you would).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-3 of 3 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Apr 13, 2010 2:48:17 PM PDT
Patrick says:
Just curious which book by Anton you preferred - a quick search here at Amazon doesn't specify any books by him made especially for Calc III - which is what I need... thanks!

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 30, 2011 7:40:24 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Sep 30, 2011 7:48:42 PM PDT
Nash deVille says:
Here is Anton's Multivariable Calculus book: Calculus Multivariable

This book is Calc 1, 2, and 3 in one combined book: Calculus Early Transcendentals Combined

Posted on Sep 30, 2011 7:44:32 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Sep 30, 2011 7:50:58 PM PDT
Nash deVille says:
Thanks for your tip to H Anton (Calculus Early Transcendentals Combined). I used Look Inside to read Anton's treatment of some of the early material we have covered in my Calculus 1 class so far, and it's definitely more new-student friendly than Larson's book, which is our required text (Calculus: Early Transcendental Functions. I may get Anton to supplement Larson. Anton has plain English discussions of the intuition, where Larson is nearly all formal mathspeak.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.3 out of 5 stars (78 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
Used & New from: $19.98
Add to wishlist
A Kid's Review