ARRAY(0xa1525c60)
 
Customer Review

621 of 663 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars They stripped a lot of features out for 2012 over the same 2011 model, March 28, 2012
This review is from: LG 32CS560 32-Inch 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV (2012 Model) (Electronics)
Review written by K.Watson

They stripped a lot of features out for 2012 over the same 2011/2010 line/models. The reasons are unclear. I assume to just make more money and fleece their customers even more. They removed so many great features that really made this a great set but they kept the price the same, which I would like to point out is already high compared to other models in the size. There is just no sense or logic in the stripping of these features whatsoever.

They removed a HDMI port. Now there are not enough ports to hook up everything you need. Deal breaker for most potential customers right there. With just 2 ports, I've already had to pull out my set away from the wall several times to juggle between consoles, or if I want to watch a bluray movie or if I want to watch cable. It's a hassle. God only knows why LG would remove a very much needed HDMI port from us. Even the guy at Best Buy told us that he does not recommend this set to anyone because it has the least amount of HDMI ports of all their sets. He seemed really shocked. So were we.

Movie quality is now worse. They removed 5:5 / 2:2 pull down from movies. Actually, ANY video content you want to display. 480, 720 or 1080. This means there is a huge amount of video judder / jitter present in any movie you watch. Go google "judder" it's a bad thing and you don't want it. But, if you buy this set, you will have plenty of it. Judder makes objects on the screen herky jerky when panning left to right, right to left, any panning whatsoever. Up / down, you name it. Objects will skip along the screen. God only knows why LG took this very basic feature out. It basically ruined this set. Even my daughter noticed the judder in her Disney movies and asked if the game needed cleaning. She is still at that age where she doesn't understand fully about bluray or dvd discs and thought that if Daddy and Mommy cleaned her "game" the movie would display smoothly. Of course it wasn't a game but a Bluray disc.

They took out many many features from the user menu. Gone are many features that could be changed in the 2010 and 2011 version of this set / product line. Basically, at the expense of picture quality. Dozens of features were removed. They absolutely sabotaged this set and mangled what it once was. I know, I own both the LG 32KD450 and LG 32LK450. I apologize if I am being so harsh but LG warrants such a response and I think potential LG customers deserve an in-depth review.

The night I returned my set to Best Buy, the sales person looked at me, puzzled I might add and asked me, what is so bad about this set? He went on to say two other people had returned theirs as well over the weekend.

What a shame that LG would ruin such a fantastic line of TV sets by removing so many features that made this such a stand out TV against other 32" sets from other manufactures. Let's just hope that LG discontinues this model next year instead of releasing this kind of garbage upon it's customers. What I really want to ask LG is, why did you not want my money? Why did you remove the HDMI port and all those very important hardware features and menu features that made this such a great TV? Why LG?

Update: I had a chance to speak with the sales manager from Nebraska Furniture Mart in my area and he tells me LG purposely crippled, removed these features, both hardware and in the user menu to make it's newer LED based TV's stand out against this set. He tells me that sometimes manufactures will do this to artificially highlight a TV in it's product line as having more features , better value, when the truth is, it never did. This is to drive sells in that area.

I can tell you this LG. You customers are both smart and savvy and will see through this gimmick. I would also like to point out that when your customers are treated with respect, they become "loyal" customers. Pulling these kind of stunts will only drive business and customers away. I returned my set and I will not be looking at LG as a brand I would consider for anything in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 9 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 70 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Mar 29, 2012 2:54:07 PM PDT
B. Cragg says:
Thanks for all of the information about what LG has done to these "new and unimproved" TVs. I've been considering buying the 42LK450 while Amazon still has it. But now I'm not sure if I should even buy an LG at all if they're going to treat customers like idiots. I can't believe they removed all audio output connectors. It probably costs them 50 cents per TV to add those.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 29, 2012 3:33:52 PM PDT
Actually, the LG 42LK450 is a very good set. You can compare the features of these set on LG's web site against the new for 2012 LG 42CS560. You will see right away that they stripped away many features and inputs making the older LG 42LK450 a the more desirable sets.

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 1, 2012 6:03:19 PM PDT
B. Cragg says:
I actually ended up ordering an 42LK450 and it's supposed to arrive tomorrow. Looking forward to it since it'll be replacing a Vizio 37" from mid-2006.

Posted on Apr 12, 2012 1:19:55 PM PDT
Re the CS 560 by LG< I was educated by the brief, but frank critique telling about how manufacturers remove features to increase their profits or prop up another model for the future. Also, I was oblivious about these tactics since I don't make these types of purchases often; likewise, it makes sense to do your research on any and all major transactions.

Posted on Apr 15, 2012 1:58:26 AM PDT
sf says:
Based on your experience and my past not too happy experience with lack of updates on my LG bluray unit, I'm steering clear from LG. I despise greed and deceitful behaviors. Thanks for your honest reply. LG if you are listening, you lost another customer and, at the same time you gained someone who will advise against your products and I am one of those people who friends come to ask advices on should I buy this or that piece of equipment... hopefully they will stop effing around and will start realizing what good business really means.

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 15, 2012 3:29:32 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Apr 15, 2012 3:31:07 AM PDT
LG is a fantastic brand. It's frustrating and annoying that they would do this to loyal or potential customers. Sure, I get it. I understand they want their LED tv's to sell, to look great and be feature rich against competitors out there but they could have still achieved this without sabotaging an exciting product line and, as far as I am concerned, ruining the set. It really does leave a bad taste in my mouth and I'm sure many others as well. The LD and LK TV's from 2010 and 2011 are just fantastic TV sets and really stood out and set the bar high for other manufactures. It's just so damn infuriating that they lobotomized their 2012 set. If anyone has the CS for 2012, go start watching movies on it. Any up, down or left or right panning will just really upset you with all that excessive judder. Absolutely unacceptable. I would not, again, repeat, NOT recommend this set to anyone. There are cheaper solutions out there that get the job done. LG, for whatever reasons decided they did not want customers money. As far as I can tell, this is the message they are sending loud and clear.

Posted on Apr 16, 2012 12:46:03 PM PDT
OSUET says:
Most brands new 32" TVs, including Samsung and Sony, only have 2 HDMI ports. Also, this TV is not meant to be a "direct replacement" for the 32LK450 - the most obvious explanation for this not being the case is price. This 32CS560 is cheaper than the 32LK450. At the end of the day, you get what you pay for. If you want 3 HDMI ports, find a TV that has 3. If you want certain features, you pay for them.

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 16, 2012 2:28:16 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Apr 16, 2012 9:04:31 PM PDT
Written by K.Watson

First of all, we are not talking about Sony or Samsung. We are talking about a hardware attributes and software features ( HDMI Port / Audio Port and System Menu Features ) that made LG a stand out manufacture among its competitors. The LG 32CS560 model for 2012 is now a gutted, sabotaged and cheapened television set in comparison to the same product lines 2010 / 2011 models. You can read additional reviews here that go into greater detail about the many many features that were ripped out. Also, the price for this set has largely remained unchanged over the past 3 years. Where you are getting your facts from, I do not know. However, if you would like to provide links to the correct time period pricing on the 2010 and 2011 models and not links to discounted products, we would more than welcome this information.

Coming here and spreading disinformation does a grave disservice to the Amazon community, a community that counts on these types of reviews to help in their buying decisions. I actually spoke, over several emails with reps from LG, adam.chandler@lge.com and others, and the LG 32CS560 is in fact the direct replacement to the LD / LK models from 2010 and 2011 with CSxxx being the 2012 model. These are CCFL backlit displays. Not LED backlit displays. It's very important that you not only have your facts right but that you also understand the technology behind these displays. Clearly, you don't. So anyone coming here, myself included are going to question your motives.

With all due respect, I thank you for stating the obvious but I think you've wondered into a discussion you were not aptly aware or prepared for.

This product line has taken the worse possible change in direction. I and many others, here and on AVS forums have returned this Television set. Our frank but honest reviews have also kept and will continue to keep potential buyers of this set away. LG decided to cripple and sabotage this set feature wise and it shows. both in hardware and picture quality. Why LG decided to cut from it's pool of potential new customers as well as loyal customers to this product line is now clear. A misguided quest for additional revenue and to artificially highlight features and value in it's LED product line.

Posted on Apr 17, 2012 7:06:38 AM PDT
OSUET says:
You seem angry about a TV and I'm not sure why. I guess I'm just confused as to why you bought this TV in the first place if you weren't happy with all the things you wrote about. To me it's obvious if you need more than 2 HDMI ports, don't buy a TV with only 2. But, to state that I'm spreading misinformation is insane. Manufacturers have a "Suggested Retail Price" or "MSRP" or whatever they choose to call it. This price for the LG 32LK450 is $499. This price for the LG 32CS560 is $449. Furthermore, pointing out other brands reducing the # of HDMI ports (or staying the same with having on 2 HDMI ports) is simply proving a point: that this is not unique to only one brand, so it shouldn't be a huge shocker. Bottom line, I agree that some things were "taken out" of this model for dumb reasons. (e.g. not having the audio port seems stupid). BUT, it's a cheaper TV than last year's model to which you are comparing it to. If you need more features, more connections, etc. either step up and pay more or find a brand which has everything you need :) I'm posting for the same reason you are, to make sure the Amazon community has factual, unbiased reviews.

Posted on Apr 18, 2012 10:05:51 AM PDT
W. Brodie says:
Agreed, OSUET & relax finally_cool. We have a lot of companies competing to sell us TVs and keeping the price low gives an edge. Reducing some bells, whistles (or HDMI ports) is one way to reduce price. LG, like most of the companies, has quite a range of models, features and prices. I needed just one HDMI port and bought accordingly.

It is a voluntary purchase, right? You can choose the LG model, or choose a different manufacturer, or even choose a different retailer. So carefully choose the one that meets your needs and budget. We call that 'shopping', not 'fleecing'.
‹ Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.1 out of 5 stars (196 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 459,154