Customer Review

236 of 256 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An actual review of the book - not the price, June 29, 2009
This review is from: Swimsuit (Hardcover)
I read this via audio book and honestly, it was NOT the best Patterson book. As a matter of fact, if that had been my first Patterson book, I wouldn't have gone back for more. The book is basically broken into 3 parts.

The first third we are treated to horrendous descriptions of rape, torture and decapitation. Much too graphic and much too disgusting for just casual reading. The killer is pretty good because he's so rutheless, but some of the people that end up killed are just so unexpected and seem like we wasted time getting to know them only to have them murdered within the first third of the book.

The second third of the book is a cat and mouse type situation between the killer and the novelist.

The final third is more cat and mouse between the killer, the novelist and an underground group. And then *POOF* its all wrapped up in a neat little bow and its done. The ending was such a cop-out I was shocked. I kept thinking that maybe I didn't have the complete audio book because as I was nearing the end so much was still going on and still unanswered. But of course, the epilogue wrapped it all up and stuffed it in a box.

So I suffered through the must vile descriptions of murder and barely anything really happened and then it was over. I was disappointed, to say the least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 20 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jun 29, 2009 5:51:36 PM PDT
Kate says:
I was about to download the book and I'm glad that I read your review. I wait for J. Patterson's books and was ready to go for it. Thanks for your detailed review.

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 30, 2009 10:19:28 AM PDT
- Kasia S. says:
I guess its a library rental in best case...sucks man, when he collaborates with other authors ( that I never heard of) the books are so washed down and weird...

Posted on Jul 14, 2009 9:35:10 PM PDT
kalyson says:
But that's just it! The point of Patterson's latest books is to shock and titillate with graphic violence and rape scenes. The PURPOSE is to get the reader turned on by what amounts to PORNOGRAPHY. Since snuff films themselves are illegal to produce, this is just a step below in glorifying violence towards women. The plot is an afterthought - totally secondary to the book's primary purpose. The ersatz plot is merely an excuse to sell porn.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 25, 2009 9:56:43 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jul 25, 2009 10:10:04 AM PDT
J. Shafer says:
The fact that he has to use "awareness" as his main plot for books is what makes them bad.
Im here for entertainment and if i wanted to be more aware of problems, then I would make an attempt to do so, and its in bad taste in Pattersons part to shove it down my throat.

The final warning - global warming
max - pollution
cross country - africa in general
swimsuit - porno

all i can ask is whats next?

Posted on Jul 26, 2009 3:23:03 PM PDT
I agree with your observation. It seems Mr. Patterson has found a way to distribute his books without the work required if authored by himself. I have read every book he has authored by himself and jointly. There is a definite step down when jointly authored. I am sure he enjoys the revenue without the same effort when he does the work himself. He may have chosen money over performance. The quality of his work will suffer in the long run and his passion will be diminished by his pursuit of more money without the effort required to maintain excellence. In the long run he will lose his readership, but he will already have the money. Only in America!

P.S.

As we pursue excellence we can be corrupted by shortcuts. For those who maintain integrity in their pursuit for excellence whether author, plumber or senator etc. the reward is an internal satisfaction that we have not compromised our integrity. By the way, you can still be financially successful and not compromise what helped you achieve that success in the first place.

Posted on Jul 27, 2009 12:58:12 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jul 27, 2009 12:59:47 PM PDT
It's as though Mitzi read my mind word for word. I LOVE Patterson's books (NON-Alex Cross), but this is exactly as you said. And I'm sorry I feel that way, but I do.

Posted on Jul 27, 2009 5:08:51 PM PDT
Reader One says:
With all the books on the market these reviews are extremely helpful. Because he was a talent I have been naturally drawn to Patterson and have truly enjoyed some of his stories. Now, unfortunately, the tales are now factory made minimizing the original talent that once flourished. Thanks for the review.

Posted on Aug 8, 2009 12:03:37 PM PDT
I read Swimsuit and it is one of the worst books I have read in a long time, what a disappointment. I do not recommendment it at all!!!!!!!

Posted on Aug 12, 2009 3:38:37 PM PDT
C. glenn says:
this was my first James Patterson book. I did get it from the library. i wanted to read more of his novels after reading this one. i enjoyed the twists and turns and no character was what you thought they were.

Posted on Aug 22, 2009 9:12:55 PM PDT
NotToto says:
Agree with the review. Horrible book. This is the first and probably last Patterson book I will read. Felt like I was reading an attempt at a screenplay. Sirius/XM had a reading of some of the first few chapters, on the radio for free, so that got me interested, but the novel itself was terrible. The ending was especially bad, like the author had a page count limit, and needed to wrap it up. Also, what was with the promo for the next book at the end of this book?
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

2.7 out of 5 stars (417 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (68)
3 star:
 (65)
2 star:
 (39)
1 star:
 (157)
 
 
 
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Palm Coast, Fl United States

Top Reviewer Ranking: 267,096