Customer Review

43 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, February 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Garmin nüvi 52 5-Inch Portable Vehicle GPS (US) (Electronics)
Much easier to use than the older Nuvis. The larger screen and the higher resolution makes its use much more confortable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 14 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 14, 2013 6:22:42 AM PST
rico says:
My understanding is that the newer models do NOT have the voice announcement of "re-calculating." My limited use of a borrowed GPS would lead me to believe this change is not an improvement. Is the smaller screen of 4.2 inch much more difficult to see than the 5.0 inch? Any with thoughts on this would be helpful. Thank you, Ric

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 15, 2013 2:07:36 AM PST
JD Schaefer says:
The larger screen is of immense help. I don't have to put on my glasses while driving to see.

The reviewer says the new model is easier than the old ones but doesn't say easier in which ways.

Posted on Feb 15, 2013 5:46:17 AM PST
ggrr8t says:
How are you reviewing this on Feb 11th? It is not available yet. This item will be released on March 15, 2013. Where can I get this?

Posted on Feb 15, 2013 5:46:18 AM PST
[Deleted by the author on Feb 15, 2013 5:48:46 AM PST]

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 15, 2013 5:47:58 AM PST
ggrr8t says:
New model Should be easier because it is more of a High Def screen. Even while smaller should be more discernible map.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 15, 2013 6:04:19 AM PST
rico says:
Strange...I don't have the unit. I got the info from a Target sale paper and was just looking to review the unit before purchasing it. Target had the Garmin nuvi 50 LM for $120. That's the unit I was asking about.

Posted on Feb 15, 2013 6:46:05 AM PST
I own two Garmins. The 5-inch screen is MUCH, MUCH easier to use than the smaller 4.x screen. I cannot imagine that "HD" would make any difference on a unit that small. Maybe on a large TV set, but it's like saying that the face of your watch is now "HD." It's too small to make any difference whatsoever. Be cautious of reviews that are written before the product is even on the market.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 15, 2013 8:36:24 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 15, 2013 8:36:49 AM PST
ggrr8t says:
Hd screen pops out much nicer in daylight.

Posted on Feb 15, 2013 8:57:27 AM PST
Bottom line is this: 1. Larger screen in 5-inch models makes them far easier to use while driving than anything in smaller 4.x-inch models; 2. Larger screens also facilitate the "touch screen" features when activated; smaller screens make it much harder; 3. "HD" on anything that small is simply irrelevant because sharpness of image at that size is virtually indistinguishable from regular displays; 4. Don't pay for any feature you don't really need, such as "Bluetooth," which is of no value unless you sync your cell phone or your car radio to operate in a voice-driven mode; 5. Don't pay for extra features like maps of Canada, Mexico, Europe, or Asia if you don't plan on driving there; 6. The "LM" in the model numbers means "Lifetime Maps" which indicates that you can update your Garmin with newer and newer maps as they become available. Eventually though, the maps (with gas stations, restaurants, motels) will add so much data that your Garmin can't hold it all, and you'll have to get customer service to help you delete some of the irrelevant stuff that's already loaded (like maps of Mexico, for instance); 7. Garmin customer service is pretty helpful in getting your unit squared away if there's a problem.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 15, 2013 9:48:49 AM PST
Let me hold my 5 inch Nuvi next to my 4 inch phone (both with GPS navigation) and you tell me again how irrelevant HD is or how you can't distinguish it. Look at the screen shots for this very product. With a higher resolution, you can fit more information comfortably and clearly on the screen. My plain-jane Nuvi works just fine the way it is, but I do wish the image and such was sharper and clearer. The reason the 5 inch model is so popular is because it makes things more readable. The resolution is so grainy on these, that the display is simply cluttered with large numbers and letters just to make them visible.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.3 out of 5 stars (1,139 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (680)
4 star:
 (255)
3 star:
 (89)
2 star:
 (51)
1 star:
 (64)
 
 
 
$129.99 $114.00
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 3,570,674