Customer Review

132 of 138 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Display, April 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Viewsonic VX2453MH-LED 24-Inch Ultra-thin Widescreen LED Monitor - Black (Personal Computers)
This monitor has taken some flack for the way it sounds, so I will review this first. As far as sound goes, the built-in speakers are not very nice sounding from what I tried of them, although this was without the included software which is intended to improve their sound output. However, fitting amazing speakers in such a tight place as this really thin monitor is not possible due to the reality of sound production requiring a certain speaker size to produce various frequencies due to simple physics of vibration creation. If you want good sound though, all you have to do is buy a nice, inexpensive pair of computer speakers such as Logitech S220 2.1 Speaker System with Subwoofer and plug them into the sound output on the back of the monitor and it will route all of the sound input from the HDMI into them, which is quite nice.

That said, keep in mind that first and foremost you are purchasing an LCD monitor. Its true purpose is to display your desktop, images, videos and etc from your computer (or your Xbox 360, PS3, Blu-Ray player and etc), not to play sound. In that realm, as far as 24" monitors go from what I have seen and used, this is simply the best I have seen when compared to displays from vendors such as ASUS and Apple. The colours are extremely vivid and the viewing angles are very nice (can see movies/games from the extreme sides). The back-lighting is perfectly balanced, non-bleeding and it is great for watching HD movies as well as playing games or doing standard web browsing. It is also extremely thin and light despite being 24".

In short, if you are considering buying this monitor; do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 12 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Aug 16, 2011 10:28:46 AM PDT
rdcatman says:
I would like to plug up the monitor to sound as you have stated above, your directions are confusing. Restate

Posted on Aug 19, 2011 5:30:20 AM PDT
TCosmas says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 21, 2011 9:43:31 AM PDT
rdcatman says:
My Review never mentioned anything about LCD...here's a copy

"Quality Display- Horrble sound quality"

Overall I am pretty pleased with this product. Now that I feel comfortable with it I have to buy it officially by taking the plastic protective coatings off of the frame and base, and registering the product online.

This is a great buy. Hopefully I will be able to find this same model in six months and purchase another. This monitor is everything it is stated to be graphically, the sound set up is another matter (nightmare). This product will help to keep your house cool in the summer due to LED technology; and help to reduce your electric consumption. You really have to feel the chassis to search for heat given off. The screen has no pixel flaws, the color is vibrant and crisp.

Shipping was a flash from PA to OH, received it in 2 days. This is a real feather in the weight category. When I got the delivery I wondered what could be in this large box that seemed to weigh about 7lbs.

The set up was easy. I like the butterfly screw that is used to connect the base to the monitor, no screwdrivers needed. I loaded the CD that came with it and installed the monitor driver only at first. The speakers will not work by themselves, you need to install a sound application that becomes you primary sound source. After installing the "SRS_PremiumSound_Monitor_x64" application the speakers still did not work. Reading the instructions you have to go through a long drawn out process just for these speakers to work- VERY POOR DESIGN on the part of the SRS team who implemented the sound portion of this monitor system. As yet I still have no sound from the speakers on the monitor. I reverted back to a simpler sound system that does not require an electrical degree to figure out how to get this products speakers to work. I really don't have a week of reading the sound instructions line per line just to try to figure out how to get the speakers to work. This is a consumer product which should be designed as uncomplicated as possible for setting up its components.
Viewsonic rates an "A" for the Graphics and rate an "F" for the Sound.
If there is anyone who has figured out how to get the sound to work please inform others, there will be a lot of displeased customers of this product.

Posted on Aug 21, 2011 11:19:11 AM PDT
val rab says:
"That said, keep in mind that first and foremost you are purchasing an LCD monitor".

I am certain the ad says LED.

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 21, 2011 11:26:58 AM PDT
val rab says:
I do not think they were referring to you about the LCD. It is the author above because I seen where the author described it as LCD.

Posted on Aug 24, 2011 4:13:21 PM PDT
Wonder says:
I bought this monitor and it has backlight bleeding on the bottom , would amazon give me a refund if i return it ?

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 6, 2011 3:47:06 PM PDT
LCD AND LED. LCD refers to the screen: liquid crystal display. LED refers to the lighting method. They can also be lit by CCFL.

Posted on Feb 12, 2012 10:36:57 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 12, 2012 10:37:27 AM PST
Book buyer says:
This monitor is a cheap TN panel and is not even close to Apples IPS displays.

Posted on Feb 20, 2012 11:42:27 PM PST
Thank you for confirming that this monitor does have an audio out port, because I am planning to buy this monitor for my Xbox 360 and Blu-ray player and I want to be able to use my Logitech THX Z623 speakers.

Posted on Mar 3, 2012 5:53:36 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 3, 2012 5:54:56 AM PST
Solipso says:
Reply to Emily Wind (reviewer):

Thanks for the helpful review.

You say, "...you are purchasing an LCD monitor. Its true purpose is to display your desktop, images, videos and etc from your computer (or your Xbox 360, PS3, Blu-Ray player and etc), not to play sound."
I say, "But what if you NEED the sound?" For example, since this monitor has two HDMI inputs, it seems possible that you can connect a Blu-ray player to it as well as a computer. With the computer, there's no problem with the sound; the computer will give it to you. But with a Blu-ray player, which is likely to play Blu-ray movies better than your computer can, where are you going to get your sound?

Therefore, for me and some other potential users of this monitor, sound capabilities are important. If I were to buy this monitor and connect my LG BD630 Blu-ray player to it, I would NEED some way to get sound. Fortunately this monitor has a 3.5mm audio output, which I would use for headphones.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.0 out of 5 stars (540 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (263)
4 star:
 (140)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (35)
1 star:
 (54)
 
 
 
Used & New from: $370.00
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 25,778,024