Customer Review

3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Non-protected cell batteries, February 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smart Li-ion 4 Channels Battery Charger and FOUR 3100mAh Panasonic 18650 Lithium-ion Batteries Charging Kit (Electronics)
Be aware, these batteries do not have the Protection circuit Module (PCB) built-in. Some flashlights require the PCB and these batteries will not work in them. I purchased a "Nitecore" PM11 and these batteries are too short.

Giving three stars because the lack of prudent information on the product page.

UPDATE:

After researching your comment, I partially agree. The flashlight manufacture should place more information as well. Although, I still believe the battery manufacture should provide clearer information on their product pages.

Admittedly I am no expert on batteries, which is why all information should be provided. The lack of information led me to purchase the wrong batteries; why should the consumer be punished because the manufactures are not providing more detail.

If I had purchased the TM11 on Amazon I would be leaving this review there as well.

The charger seems to work well but I have no way of testing the batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-3 of 3 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 10, 2012 11:19:06 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 22, 2012 7:42:18 AM PST
Electron says:
You are blaming wrong product for your problems.

Your flashlight manufacturer is hiding from customers that those flashlights
sold by (in this case Nitecore) will not accept REAL (by all standards - made by Panasonic) 18650 cells, but much longer protected batteries.

On this product page there is not ANY info saying that these cells are protected.

If you go to Nitecore product page, you can see obvious misleading in advertisement. They should warn potential customers, that their product is not compatible with normal 18650 cell.

18650 means : 18mm x 65mm (it is a standard- and this is real 18650 cell)

Feel free to measure these high quality cells, made by Panasonic company who knows what 18650 cells are.

People should know what are they buying , if not simple email would solve all problems.

These are currently the best cells on the market. Anybody can make simple research, and confirm that.

These are 18650 cells. If they are protected they would be advertised as PROTECTED.

You cannot blame battery manufacturer just because you didn't read your Nitecore flashlight user manual, and for ordering wrong batteries without even asking for advice (if you are not sure what batteries you need).

My Fenix TK35 flashlight is providing max output with these Panasonic cells.

Posted on Feb 13, 2012 12:59:09 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 15, 2012 11:45:01 AM PST
Electron says:
Just to show to you that you are blaming wrong product for problems caused by Nitecore flashlight manufacturer I will direct you to one of the most respected forum (Flashlights, and batteries enthusiasts discussing, and reviewing products). Your flashlight doesn't even accept all PROTECTED batteries- you have to know exactly which protected batteries to buy for this flashlight. I hope you will not blame battery manufacturer (this time protected) for not working in your flashlight. This is what much respected reviewer said about battery ISSUE.

"UPDATE January 19, 2012: There has been a lot of confusion about which types of 18650s will fit and work in this light. I have expanded my comments in the Potential Issues section of the review, but basically it is somewhat hit-or-miss with individual samples and the newer high-capacity 3100mAh cells (due to the greater length of these cells). For example, my 4GREER 3100mAh cells (based on the Panasonic NCR18650 and 69.0mm in height) worked in one TM11 sample and not another. As a result of the tolerances of individual batches, you may have difficulty getting the light to work with anything outside the 67-69mm height range. Also, true flat-top cells (where the platic wrapping is higher than the contact button, as on many of the higher capacity AW cells) will definitely not work in the light."

"potential Issues: Unprotected 18650 cells - and extremely long (high-capacity) protected 18650 cells - may not activate in the light. For example, my unprotected AW IMR-18600 cells (65.1mm height) would not activate in the light, even with a magnet spacer to raise the height to 66.0mm. Most my raised-top protected cells, from my AW protected 2200mAh (67.4mm height) to my Redilast 2900mAh cells (68.9mm height), worked fine. However, my unusually long button-top 4GREER 2400mAh cells (69.2mm height) were too tall and would not let the head screw down all the way. My 4GREER 3100mAh cells (69.0mm) worked in one TM11 sample, but not another. Basically, 67-69mm seems to be the height tolerance range for the light, and should safely cover most primaries and button protected 18650s out there. True flat-top cells (where the positive contact plate is recessed below the level of the wrapping) will definitely not work in this light.

Source:
http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?326290-Nitecore-quot-Tiny-Monster-quot-TM11-(4x18650-3xXM-L)-Review-RUNTIMES-BEAMSHOTS-VIDEO

Again , not one word from Nitecore flashlight manufacturer about this serious issue where half of protected batteries do not fit either.

Bottom line:
Panasonic, Sanyo, Samsung, LG are top level 18650 cells manufacturers. These are 18650 cells (meaning: 18mm x 65mm), and cannot be called something else. Those are standards in battery world. 18650 model : NCR18650A Capacity: 3100mAh Made by : Panasonic Made in: Japan.
Will these top manufacturers print on their cells " Our cells will not fit in Nitecore flashlights " The answer is : No

Nitecore must advertise their product fair, and correctly, so buyer know what to buy.

18650 cells like these NCR18650A are standard in 18650 world - 18650 with PCB add-on are modified cells by third party.

Buyer have certain responsibility to do research, and get the right knowledge, before buying any battery cell.

Advice to Nitecore users (since this is the ONLY manufacturer that making flashlights not suitable for real 18650 cells, and not letting people know in advance) - Make them post it clearly on their web site, and advertisements.

You cannot blame 18650 battery manufacturer for making 18650 battery. Real 18650 by all standards, and dimensions.

Posted on Sep 3, 2012 9:43:23 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Sep 3, 2012 10:26:57 PM PDT
I heartily applaud Electron's comments.

I think there is a lot of silly discussion regarding 18650 cells vs. "protected 18650 cells". The latter will not fit in a flashlight designed for 18650 cells; the post manufacturing protection circuitry adds additional length to the cell making it excessively long.

IMHO, one should not buy unprotected flashlights and then have to hunt for "protected 18650 cells" to power them.

Better, I think, to buy a quality flashlight which already has protection circuitry built in and then buy the real McCoy 18650 cells.

I purchased these cells and this charger from Orbtronics to power my 3800 lumen flashlight and have had no problems. When my flashlight operates in super-high "turbo" mode for too long its internal protection circuitry automatically throttles back the current draw and lowers the lumen output to prevent any damage. That is, as I see it, the way all super bright LED flashlights should be built.

Magic-Twig is an inexperienced Amazon buyer who is assigning a poor rating to an excellent, gold-standard product because Magic-Twig is desperately casting about for a sub-standard Lithium cell to make a previously purchased sub-standard flashlight work.

This review is the problem -- not these 18650 cells.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 19,094,998