Customer Review

241 of 256 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David CAN defeat Goliath: all it takes is courage'; Geert Wilders:, April 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marked for Death: Islam's War Against the West and Me (Hardcover)
Marked for Death: Islam's War Against the West and Me" David can defeat Goliath ... all it takes is courage ' - Geert Wilders
- Book review of Dutch politician Geert Wilders' boek: "Marked for Death, Islam's War Against the West and Me', - reviewed by retired Dutch/South African journalist Adriana Stuijt a.j.stuijt@knid.nl

April 28 2012 - Dutch MP Geert Wilders represents the more than 1,5-million Dutch voters who at the previous election -- and despite a massive demonisation media-campaign against him -- voted to support the third-largest political party in The Netherlands, a small northern European trading-nation of 16,5-million citizens. The same trading-nation which founded the city of New York, the city of Cape Town, the city of Jakarta, and many other cities worldwide...

You won't easily find this latest book in Dutch bookshops however - even though it's in my opinion, a `must-read' for every Christian who is serious about wanting to oppose the islamisation of their suburbs, their cities and their countries - and the resultant destruction of their own religious and cultural heritage.

Because of the massive demonisation campaign waged against him in the mainstream news media, it's probably not widely known that Wilders is an erudite, well-informed scholar of Islam who travelled widely throughout the Middle East before he embarked on his political career. In other words, he knows what he's talking about.

In the foreword to his book, `Marked for Death, Islam's War Against the West and Me' - formally introduced in the USA on May 1, 2012 - the Dutch statesman is describes by the Canadian Free Speech advocate Mark Steyn as follows:
Steyn: "Geert Wilders, unlike most of his critics, has traveled widely in the Muslim world. Unlike them, he has READ the koran - and re-read it on all those interminable nights holed up in some dreary safe house, denied the consolations of family and friends. One way to think about what is happening is to imagine it the other way round. Rotterdam has a Muslim mayor, a Moroccan passport holder born the son of a Berber imam. How would the Saudis feel about an Italian Catholic mayor in Riyadh?"

"Islamo-fascism is a political doctrine, not a religion:"

Wilders exquisite knowledge of islamic culture and history becomes crystal-clear as he describes what he terms the march of `Islamofascism' in the first chapters of his book - and returning to it often in later chapters. The rise of Islam is described by Wilders in such riveting detail that the reader switches from astonishment to abhorrence -- and even incredulity at the gullibity of Westerners -- in quick succession. He describes, for instance, the way in which the contemporaries of Muhammed in Mecca in 610AD viewed this former caravan-driver, the son of a respected member of the Banu Hashim (Hashimite/Quraish) tribe - the dominant tribe in Mecca.

Muhammed's `revelations' were initially greeted by his bemused contemporaries as being `a medley of dreams,' `inventions', that he was `possessed', a `madman'. Wilders: In Muhammad's day, Arabia was inhabited by Jewish, Christian and pagan tribes. Mecca was a trading hub, with contacts to Ethopia, India, Persia, Egypt and the Levant. It was also an important religious locale where worship centered on the Kaaba - a stone possibly the remnant of a meteorite. The pre-Islamic Kaaba was a shrine housing a pantheon of gods - containing up to 360 idols, with three female deities - Al-Lat, Al-Uzzah and Manat as the most prominent - but also statues of Hindu gods and icons of Jesus and the Virgin Mary. "The Meccans", writes Wilders, were `multiculturalists avant la lettre. They were pluralistic and tolerant, willing to accommodate new religious groups.'

Muhammad did not obey the rules of warfare: helpless prisoners were ordered tortured, slaughtered, massacred...

Wilders believes that only by understanding Islam's aggressive military doctrine of world-domination, will Christians be motivated enough to want to defeat it actively. He emphasises the personality of the faith's founding father, Muhammed, in lurid detail the way in which Muhammed's growing intolerance grew as his power grew - which he gained primarily through incredibly vicious violence: by attacking the all-important caravan trade between Mecca and slaughtering anyone who opposed him.

"From Medina,' wrote Wilders, `Muhammad began raiding the camel caravans of Arab traders... these plundering raids are called ghazi in Arabic, from which the (nazi) word razzia is derived. Muhammad organised 82 razzias - twenty-six he personally led. He frequently violated the pre-Islamic Arabs' chivalrous warcode: "allowing him to defeat his opponents who obeyed the rules and who simply could not imagine that their enemy would not do the same.'
"Because these regimes have made `the universal truth' into a political ideology, they do not obey rules of warfare..." For example: In Badr in March 624, about 300 Muslims led by Muhammad defeated a Meccan escort three times their number and captured several important Quraishi leaders (i.e. members of Muhammad's own tribe). The spoils of battle went to Muhammad in accordance with a Koranic revelation that came to Muhammad immediately after the battle. It ordered: "The spoils belong to Allah and the Apostle'. Not content with mere robbery, Muhammad had the captured Quraishi leaders massacred, because, according to the Koran, `a prophet may not take captives until he has fought and triumphed in his land.' When people objected to this massacre, Muhammed had them slaughtered too. Wilders describes the way in which Muhammad ordered people to be tortured: for instance, by making fires on their chests and then cutting off their heads; cutting off their hands and feet and dumping them to die in the desert, even with crucification...

He emphasizes over and over again that only because they were willing to fight back, did the Christian Byzantines manage to hold off the onslaught of Islam against that magnificent city of Constantinople for 800 years - as did Frankish king Charles Martel at the French city of Tours, and the Viennese fought back against the Muslim sieges.

`Christianity was saved in Europe solely because they have been able to resist the Mohammedans by the sword...' US president Teddy Roosevelt

Wilders quotes an American president he greatly admires, Teddy Roosevelt, as noting the importance of this willingness to fight back against the Mohammedan invasion with the sword: "Roosevelt,' he wrote, `understood the importance of the victories at Tours and Vienna for the survival of Western civilization. Christianity was saved in Europe solely because they have been able to resist the Mohammedans by the sword.'

Roosevelt wrote in his 1916 book ` Fear God and Take Your Own Part ': "Wherever the mohammedans have complete sway, wherever the Christians have been unable to resist them by the sword, Christianity has ultimately disappeared. From the hammer of (Frankish King) Charles Martel to the sword of (Polish King Jan Sobieski in Vienna), Christianity owed its safety in Europe to the fact that it was able to show that it could and would fight as well as the Mohammedan aggressor'... Roosevelt also warned:

"To make a statement that all religions are the same is as naive as saying that all political parties are the same. Some religions and belief systems give a higher value to each human life and some religions and belief systems give a lower value. As generations of Americans past, our time has come to defend the beliefs and values that made this nation great, such as equality before the law... there are such `social values' today in Europe, America and Australia only because during those thousand years, the Christians of Europe possessed the warlike power to do what the Christians of Asia and Africa had failed to do - that is to beat back the Moslem invader.'
Close link between the Nazis and the Muslims: "Eichmann gave a tour of Auschwitz to the grand mufti of Jerusalem, and showed him the gas chambers..."

Wilders also dwells in detail on the close link between the Nazis and the M uslims. "The Nazis recognized in Islam a kindred evil soul,' he writes, noting:

`Adolf Hitler deplored the fact that the Germanic Franks had won in Tours in 732: `Had Charles Martel not been victorious, then we should in all probability have been converted to Mohammedanism, that cult which glories the heroism and opens up the seventh heaven to the bold warrior alone. Then the Germanic races would have conquered the world. Christianity alone prevented them from doing so,' he quotes Hitler...'
And this admiration between Nazis and Muslims is mutual: `In 1941, Mohammad Amin al-Husseini, the grand mufti of Jerusalem, who led several anti-Jewish pogroms in the Middle East in the 1920s and 1930s, visited Hitler and Himmler in Berlin. Auchmann - overseer of the Holocaust - gave him a private tour of Auschwitz and showed him the gas chambers. At the post-war Nuremberg trials, Dieter Wisliceny, Eichmann's deputy, revealed: 'the mufti was one of the initiators of the systematic extermination of European Jewry and had been a collaborator and advisor of Eichmann and Himmler in the execution of this plan. He was one of Eichmann's best friends and had constantly incited him to accelerate the extermination measures'.

` Ironic that his critics accuse Wilders and other patriots of fascism and nazism... `

Wilders writes: "It is ironic that some of my critics accuse me and other patriots - who defend our national identity against Islamization and who honour Charles Marte and John III Sobieski as heroes of Western civilization - of fascism and nazism. It is Islam that lays claim to that charge.'

In Chapter 13, `To Turn the Tide', Wilders writes that Islamisation can be stopped - but it takes courage and a steely will to succeed. He warned: `As Franklin Roosevelt declared: "Let not the defeatist tell us that it is too late. It will never be earlier. Tomorrow will be later than today'.

" David can defeat Goliath ... all it takes is courage ' - Geert Wilders

He exhorts his countrymen and his fellow-Europeans to fight back - by pressuring their governments to close the borders to the tide of non-Western immigrants. "In 2010 alone, 52,000 non-Western immigrants entered the Netherlands, of whom more than 19,000 hailed from Islamic countries. I agreed with (two other major parties in the Netherlands, the liberal VVD and the Christian-Democrat Alliance CDA) that the cabinet would aim to reduce the number of non-Western immigrants by a very substantial number by 2014. This could lead to a decrease of 50 percent - and to also restrict the `family formation and family reunification' policies through which many non-Western immigrants are brought to the Netherlands by family members. "Furthermore, labour immigration from outside Europe is no longer allowed unless the employer can prove that it was impossible to fill a specific vacancy with Dutch or European employees'. Further requirements are that all newcomers must be obliged to integrate. to become Dutch in its political spirit, in its language and in its culture: "Those who fail their civil integration examination will... have their temporary rsidence permits revoked.'

From his hiding place, Geert Wilders not only exhorts us to fight back, but he also sends Christians worldwide a message of hope when he writes:

WE MUST BAN THE BURKA - PEOPLE'S FACES ARE THEIR IDENTITY:
"We must cherish our national identity. We must ban the burka - people's faces should not be hidden in society, for it is our faces that give us our identity and our fundamental means of communication with others. And (...) all it takes is courage. The Dutch example shows that when people overcome their fear, David can defeat Goliath. For decades, the multicultural elite suppressed dissent by denouncing as racist anyone who questioned their pro-Islam, pro-mass-immigration dogma. But finally, after silently watching for years the immense damage to our nation by the elite's policies, the Dutch people had enough. In the face of all the threats and intimidation levelled against my supporters, enough people had the courage to vote for the PVV that we fundamentally altered our country's policies'.

The high price paid by Geert Wilders and others -- such as the murdered political-science professor Pim Fortuyn; the murdered Dutch self-described `court-jester' Theo van Gogh; the exiled Dutch-Somalian MP Ayaan Hirshi Ali -- all fighting for their hard-won freedom in this small northern-European country, has already been immense.

Geert Wilders was also marked for death for criticizing Islam, writing: "For asserting our rights to say what we really think about the political ideology that disguises itself as a religion, we have been hounded by Muslims seeking to make an example of us. `Offend us,' they are saying to the world, andyou will end up in hiding like Wilders, attacked like (Danish cartoonist) Westergaard, or dead like Van Gogh"...

Wilders describes his current life as follows: "I live in a government safe house, heavily protected and bulletproof. Since November 2004, when a Muslim murdered Dutch filmmaker Theo van Gogh for the crime of offending Islam, I have been surrounded by police guards and stripped of nearly all personal privacy. I am driven every day from the safe house to my office in the Dutch Parliament building in armoured police cars with sirens and flashing blue lights. I wear a bulletproof jacket when I speak in public. Always surrounded by plaincvlothes police officers, I have not walked the streets on my own in more than seven years... Why do I need this protection? I am not a president or a king; I am a mere member of the Dutch Parliament, one of 150 elected parliamentarians in the Tweede Kamer, the House of Representatives of the Netherlands, a small country of 16.5-million in Western Europe.'...

Yet Wilders is asking Christians to show similarly great courage: "We will not be picking up axes and breaking into people's homes. But we will not remain silent either. Moderation in the face of evil is not what our age needs. We must uncap our pens; we must speak words of truth. We are facing a determined enemy who is striving through all means to destroy the West and snuff out our traditions of free thought, free speech, and freedom of religion. Make no mistake: if we fail, we will be enslaved.'

"You can help fight the fight just by reading this book - which explains the many ways in which Islam has marked for death not just me, but all of Western Civilisation'. We must, in the worlds of Revolutionary War veteran General John Stark: "Live free or die'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-4 of 4 posts in this discussion
Initial post: May 5, 2012 3:50:37 PM PDT
Lady Tate says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on May 24, 2012 2:07:58 PM PDT
It takes courage, but it also requires a PLAN.

Posted on Aug 10, 2013 1:35:47 PM PDT
Thank you for this wonderful review. I am buying the book!

Posted on May 26, 2014 7:19:37 AM PDT
Wilders and his views and methods have NOTHING to do with Christianity. Please. Jesus would turn in his grave, if he had one.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.8 out of 5 stars (154 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (132)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
$27.99 $19.25
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Dokkum Netherlands

Top Reviewer Ranking: 664,112