Customer Review

20,243 of 21,752 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars We won't get fooled again..., August 17, 2009
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy (The Fellowship of the Ring / The Two Towers / The Return of the King Theatrical Editions) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Some confusion among other reviewers that somehow we're obligated to post a five star recommendation for the movie. This is an incorrect understanding of the review process. If I were reviewing the movie itself it would get a five. This review is for the product, as listed--in other words, I DO NOT RECOMMEND BUYING THIS PRODUCT/DVD. This product is being created FOR NO OTHER REASON than to dupe people into buying this movie twice...again. Those of us who were huge fans bought the original DVDs of the theatrical releases. THEN the studio FINALLY released the extended editions, even though they could have released both at the same time. Now that Blu Ray has won the High Def battle, the studios are salivating at screwing us all again the same way!

Please do not let them get away with pretending that Blu Ray can't hold both versions on one disc--it certainly can! A simple menu option would let you watch the Extended Edition when you have time, or Theatrical Edition when you don't.

Their other argument, that "Peter Jackson is busy working on The Hobbit and will work on Extended Editions later" is 100% total BS. He's ALREADY DONE THE WORK--just copy what he did for the regular DVDs onto a new Blu Ray master!

BOTTOM-LINE: The studios will make whatever argument they think will fly to convince us they can't put both versions on one disc, because they want to double their income on this movie. Which has ALREADY MADE THEM A BILLION DOLLARS. Don't play along--let friends know not to buy ANY LOTR Blu Ray that doesn't have BOTH versions on one disc.

Please do not let them get away with holding the extended edition hostage until everyone buys the theatrical versions. If you agree with my review, you can do your part to exert influence on the studio by doing the following:
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 21 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 579 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Dec 1, 2009 12:39:18 AM PST
Ok count me in I'm doing it cause a love the move but they may me bay it twice

Posted on Dec 7, 2009 7:54:40 PM PST
Adam S. says:
"2. Please hit "HELPFUL" on this and all 1 star reviews so that the producers give up this total rip-off and release the extended editions NOW along with the theatrical versions. If we don't, they'll wait YEARS to release the extended editions until they think they've bled out the last drop of money they can get out of us. "
The studios, not the producers. The studio execs are the ones who don't understand consumers, and think they can dupe us into buying the same film twice.

That said, I fully agree with this posting. It's not worth buying on Blu Ray until the extended editions are released.

Posted on Dec 9, 2009 9:06:37 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 9, 2009 9:18:47 PM PST
L. Khanna says:
Hold off to buying these editions and wait for Extended editions of the trilogy. I already own this must own movies on DVD in extended cuts. If you can't hold off the temptation of seeing LOTR trilogy in blu-ray then rent it from Netflix. It's a shame that movie studios continues to put out different versions of catalogue titles. They really know how to milk our hard earned money by double dipping crowd favorites Watchmen, Harry Potter, 300, I Am Legend and so. Why WB always comes out with bare bone dvd/blu-rays and later follows up with 2-3 discs extended, ultimate, director's cuts.

Posted on Dec 10, 2009 9:05:10 AM PST
T. Haskins says:
Looks like I may be buying it 4 times!!!! if the release the Blu-ray non-extended. So, I say do what The Dude says -- I already have 2 versions of DVD...

I've been in love with The Hobbit and LOTR for over 40 years -- even have the 2 different versions of the audio books (BBC animated the BEST!!!) on CD. no, wait, also on cassette (tape for you younguns). 5 versions and counting -- different format, can't help that -- marketing ploys, another story.

Movies 5 star. Soaking us, 1 star... JUST DO IT... Like The Dude says...

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 10, 2009 1:37:48 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 14, 2009 1:24:37 PM PST
J. Bonich says:
When the DVDs first came out it was made very clear by the studio that there would be extended 4 disk editions of the movie available shortly thereafter, so anyone who bought the theatrical editions "because they couldn't wait" should not blame the studio for trying to milk the consumers. In this case of this blu-ray release, the difference is that there has been no word on when or whether the extended movies will be released in the format. My guess is that they'll wait until The Hobbit is finally gearing up for release. In situations like this, a little patience will be rewarded.

I say Kudos to the studio for giving us the option of buying the theatrical release, as some folks may actually prefer them. I wish the makers of Underworld and Star Wars would show consumers such courtesy!

In case anyone is wondering, I'm one of the thousands of buyers who will simply wait for the extended versions.

Dec 14 update: I just read that these releases will contain previews for the extended editions, which means they ARE coming, its just a matter of when.

Posted on Dec 10, 2009 6:29:31 PM PST
[Deleted by the author on Dec 10, 2009 6:29:56 PM PST]

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 11, 2009 6:35:03 PM PST
Movie Lover says:
An "option" to buy the theatrical release??? Uh, that would require both cuts being released on BD simultaneously, which isn't the case. Right now your only "options" are the theatrical blueray disc, or no blueray disc.

Posted on Dec 12, 2009 7:43:03 AM PST
Tigerpuppy says:
Nobody is forcing any of you whiners to buy anything so why don't you all get down off your high horses before you hurt yourselves.At least J.Bonich is talking a bit of sense.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 12, 2009 2:25:41 PM PST
[Deleted by Amazon on Apr 16, 2010 6:57:24 AM PDT]

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 12, 2009 4:01:37 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 12, 2009 4:02:29 PM PST
N. Valbuena says:
Yes I'm with Eisenstein and the rest of the corporate groupies! In fact, I think the studios should release the trailers on a stand alone blu-ray disc in order to wrench the last drop of $$ out of those consumers on the margin who actually have that much love for the movies! Okay, end of obvious sarcasm...

In fact, the longer the actual Extended Edition is delayed, the greater the possibility of making continued revenue for the production company. Of course that is until consumers are so fed up that they're not willing to purchase (however, they know that won't be for a long, long time)... Why release an incomplete edition that contains less footage than available and previously released on dvd? Because of profit, pure and simple. The blu-ray could easily contain both editions without even doubling the footage. A simple menu selection which contains the full extended version, and then "hides" the extended pieces for those who wish to see the theatrical version is easily possible with a simple coding addition. The studio doesn't care about "options" for the consumer, they care about any opportunity to make more profit.
‹ Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... 58 Next ›

Review Details