Customer Review

38 of 58 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bangerz n' Crap, October 14, 2013
This review is from: Bangerz [Explicit] (Audio CD)
This album represents everything that is wrong with the music industry. Whether Cyrus has some talent or not (obviously she can sing and was groomed to be a celeb from birth), this album shows clearly that she is not a true musician that stands on her own. When you listen to these songs realize that everything from her voice to the drums is either programmatically created or done through replacement (where the drums are replaced later with pre-recorded or synthesized instruments). Nothing about the album is real. The generic progressions and predictable clubby electro-pop sound is the equivalent of eating synthesized soy burgers that taste like hamburger, but are neither soy nor real meat. These songs, the lyrics - all formulaic Cracker Jack sketches that took no time or creativity to make. This music is in essence a figment of your imagination. It is a sad trend these days that the music industry takes kids like Cyrus with pre-celeb status or Bieber who blew up on youtube and turns them into cash cows at their own expense. The kids don't care because they are young, getting rich and most importantly getting ridiculous amounts of attention. The parents are wooed by the prospect of riches. The moguls behind it all are sitting back watching the whole thing unfold, and generating sales and hype based on publicity stunts - negative or positive at any cost to keep these people in the spotlight and keep up interest. The whole thing is pretty evil really. There are some good bands and musicians out there and there is nothing wrong with marrying some electronic sounds and other effects with music. In The Air Tonight by Phil Collins is one of the best examples of a song doing that to the greatest effect. Pink Floyd used amazing synthesized effects in their music. The Roots is another great example of using technology with real instruments and brilliant creative ability. Bangerz sounds more like programmatically generated music for a bad video game though, and will never stand the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Oct 14, 2013 6:50:15 PM PDT
[Deleted by the author on Oct 14, 2013 9:49:14 PM PDT]

Posted on Oct 14, 2013 8:13:30 PM PDT
Mi says:
While I am a not a fan of Miley Cyrus, did you REALLY just compare this album to Phil Collins, Pink Floyd, and The Roots? That's like comparing filet mignon at Ruth Chris' to the steak tips you get at Applebee's.

Sounds like you just have a grudge against the (mainstream) music industry and those who are involved in it. Nothing wrong with that, but that does not make for a very good objective review.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 15, 2013 6:14:03 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 15, 2013 6:22:36 AM PDT
w says:
I just can't give a good review to 'puppet' musicians who don't write or create their own music, and especially in this case use pre-celeb status to gain attention and fame. This era in music has ushered in a new generation of celebs that have inherited massive fame for nothing. Sure she can sing, but so can lots of people. Cyrus has had a team of people around her since childhood pushing her stardom along. My comparison of Cyrus music to Phil Collins isn't completely a direct comparison, it was just an example of a creative artist writing real music and incorporating synthesized grooves and effects versus a very non-creative, formulaic, regurgitated pop sound. That said, Phil Collins solo work was the mainstream at that time and in the top 40. No Jacket Required had two number one pop hits - Sussudio, and One More Night. So it is relevant to point out that even among pop stars, things have changed so drastically that music in the mainstream has ceased in many ways to be relevant within the context of music as an ever-evolving art form. There seems to be no attempt to push the envelope or come up with anything unique anymore in that genre. I can't have any respect for the mainstream when it is fake and contrived, and when it is constantly lip-synced and comes off horribly live exposing it for what it is. What happened to live music as the 'show'? I say that because it is obviously how this music is written to incorporate all the dancing and other nonsense while allowing someone not to sing. I'm sorry but what then are people paying to see? In Cyrus case, they are either allowing her to or secretly helping her create her own sensationalism and running her celebrity into the ground. If she survives it all, it is because society's standards have gone so low it accepts sub-par music as 'good' and trashy behavior as normal. I'm keeping in mind too that Cyrus target audience is young girls, which makes it all-the-worse. I'm not conservative or puritanical, but there is a line between risque and trash. I've never seen anyone's tongue so much, especially on such a goofy looking girl. It's disturbing. It is the music industry though who will chew these 'made' stars up and eventually spit them out when they are too 'old' to continue being served up to the target age group. I think this is a very objective view then in my opinion of another poor mainstream effort that has no soul, just some cheap tricks, smoke and mirrors.

Posted on Oct 15, 2013 7:55:40 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 15, 2013 7:56:59 AM PDT
just because its synthesized doesnt make it fake music. if it sounds good and people enjoy it then whats the problem?..you condone the artist because it didnt meet your self imposed standard of music. ..and then u go off on a tangent about wealth and riches? look up wiki, in the air tonight was released as part of a tv show and was on endless airplay on mtv. it was shoved down peoples throats during that time....he's not any different from any other artist trying to market and sell themselves and their music ...

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 15, 2013 9:12:49 AM PDT
w says:
Well, I never said that because it was synthesized it was fake. I was talking about the overall production of the album which is obviously extremely processed and uses replacement. There are lots of synth examples dating back to the 70's that are amazing. My point was that Collins wrote the lyrics and composed his songs as an accomplished musician. Cyrus wouldn't have to write and compose everything, but c'mon, she really doesn't do much at all except sing and create publicity stunts. There is no similarity whatsoever between Collins and Cyrus. In The Air Tonight was played endlessly on MTV, back when MTV was dignified music outlet for artists, not a clogged gutter of trash tv. MTV once catered to all music, metal included during prime time spots and it 180 degrees different.

"if it sounds good and people enjoy it then whats the problem?" - My personal problem is that the music is behind this albums facade of catchy pop progressions, effects and lyrics is a corporate tool for money. There really is no other purpose. Is it entertaining to some people? Sure, that's how it generates cash. As a musician technology has started to suck the life out of music, and remove the human element of what made music great. I love what bands like Radiohead have done with technology, but they are also creating groundbreaking music at the same time. The music industry has 2 sides - the one where artists create their own music, and the other where writers and composers behind the scenes look for young artists they can promote and exploit. So I just personally have issue with the whole thing, not to mention that in my own opinion the album is awful, and my review reflects that most of all the music is a trite carbon copy of everything else out there. I mean we are talking about an album called "Bangerz" - according to Urban Dictionary, a banger is a song that is "unbelievably awesome." There's also a second meaning: "An intense party, which involves large amounts of drinking, beer pong, and plenty of skanks to grind on. Always leaving the house a total mess." Isn't that what everyone is singing about these days, or something else that is pretty much totally vapid? The whole album gives off a terrible message to kids but that is another discussion completely. I will say one positive; The people behind that album know how to create extremely catchy tunes geared toward the younger audience. It's a little r&b, dance, candy-pop, with a little country twang now and then. It is very listenable at times and then here come the guest musicians again. Ugh, Listen closer though and you'll hear stolen or reused progressions and themes that have been there and been done for a long time.

Posted on Oct 18, 2013 11:58:21 AM PDT
Look, I'm on the same boat as you.. I grew up in the 70s and 80s but comparing this album to Phil Collins and Pink Floyd is unfair in a situation like this. My daughter plays this album day in and day out and I ponder back when I played In The Air Tonight day in and day out and my parents hated it lol. Anyways, this is what goes over today. For today's music, it's actually kinda catchy stuff.

Posted on Oct 21, 2013 10:40:45 PM PDT
This album sounds like a teenager who just moved out of the house and vomited up everything in their diary onto a cd. It's like ABC After School Special meets Grand Theft Auto.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 29, 2013 9:17:03 AM PST
Lori says:
I think you r mixe up and listening to Avril Lavigne CD.

Posted on Nov 29, 2013 2:24:34 PM PST
Pete Darling says:
She's for todays kids to dance to. Miley has a good real voice when not autotuned. A few of the songs on this recording come off well. But I don't think there will be an Anthology cd in Thirty years.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›