Customer Review

713 of 867 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What's the Point?, March 7, 2012
By 
This review is from: Harry Potter Wizard's Collection (Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
No extended versions of the last 6 films? Why not? Extended versions of many of these films have been broadcast on TV. What's the problem? I think I'll pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 3 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 11 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Mar 13, 2012 1:10:34 PM PDT
I have to agree. This a pure cashin just like the ultimate editions turned out to be. The first two ultimate editions had some value in their exclusive extended editions. So when people bought the first two and committed to buying the rest of the ultimate editions they all got jipepd when not a single ultimate edition that came after included an extended cut.

Posted on Mar 20, 2012 7:21:55 PM PDT
[Deleted by the author on Apr 12, 2012 1:23:26 PM PDT]

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 22, 2012 8:15:27 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Mar 22, 2012 8:16:10 PM PDT
David, I wonder if the 18 discs refers to a set of Blu-Ray discs of the films plus a set of DVDs for same and then the two 3D discs. Thus, no extended versions except for what has already been released for the first two films.

Posted on Apr 7, 2012 11:32:57 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Apr 7, 2012 11:37:55 AM PDT
Extended cuts won't be provided for 3-7 (especially 7. This 4 and 1/2 to 5 hour film can't get any longer!). The directors of those films have stated that the theatrical versions are the finished products. Warner Brothers won't deal with extended versions unless they are approved by the directors themselves. If Chris Columbus directed all of the films, he would've presented extended versions. The extended versions that you see on ABC family are the versions not approved by the directors and are mainly scenes from the Deleted scenes sections (most of them, at least) If the fans want the whole story, they might as well stick to the book. If everything was translated into film, then what's the purpose of reading the original books?

Posted on Jul 4, 2012 3:17:37 PM PDT
Andrew says:
Its not an extended version if it just adds in the deleted scenes.

Posted on Sep 27, 2012 2:16:46 PM PDT
CatsAndStuff says:
People need to get over it. There will be no extended/uncut releases for the rest of the films. You can give it all the 1 star ratings you want, but you either own the movies as is on Blu-Ray or not.

Plus, I have a feeling the cut footage is not going to add significantly to the movies like the LOTR extended editions. If you enjoyed it in the theater, then what's the big deal?

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 2, 2013 11:37:46 AM PST
A.J. says:
What's the big deal? The 'big deal' is that WB is controlled by nothing but a bunch of money-grubbing, cheating, greedy lowlifes who are trying to milk the Harry Potter fans for all they're worth. You may not see the value in the extended editions, but many people do and not including them in what was supposed to be the definitive collection of Harry Potter movies is just asinine. Nothing truly new has been included in this set: no extended editions, no new and never before seen behind the scenes information, nothing. Everything this set contains can be easily found over the internet or in the much cheaper, individual DVD/Blu-ray releases, yet WB is foolish enough, greedy enough, to try to rip people off yet again with the unforgivably exorbitant price tag of $350 - and that's just the discounted price.

As far as the extended editions not adding significantly to the movies, this is quite untrue; for movies four and five especially the extended versions would have added great deal. Besides, whether or not the extended editions contained anything of importance is purely a matter-of-opinion and clearly there are many people who do not feel as you do. For Warner Brothers to release a $500 set ($350 on 'discount') that contains not one iota of genuine new content is a despicable, and laughably obvious, attempt to wring yet more money out of the already bled dry Harry Potter fandom.

WB even had the audacity to include the much hated UltraViolet copy with this absurd 'definitive' set rather than a proper digital copy. Truly, their folly and avarice knows no bounds. And, of course, that says nothing for their clear lack of respect for PAYING customers, without whom they would be nothing. People have a right to be upset given the poor treatment, the downright insult, that WB has continuously reaped upon the heads of their paying customers - whose money they apparently have an unquenchable thirst for - without giving anything worthwhile in return. After the numerous and varied releases of the Harry Potter movies, for WB to come out with THIS tripe and call it the ultimate collection is a slap in the face to the many devoted fans who have loved this series for many years.

With that said, sir and/or madam, your condescension is not only inappropriate, but it is in very poor taste as well. Some fans have invested a great deal of time and money into the Harry Potter franchise; without them it would not have been anywhere near as successful as it is; so, it is perfectly reasonable for them to expect more from WB. Indeed, it is owed to them. I shall never understand some people, such as yourself, who display a misguided belief that companies can do whatever they please with a product simply because they made it. After all, WHY do they make said products? Why were the Harry Potter movies made? Why are there so many DVD and Blu-ray releases of these movies? To make money, of course. And where does this money come from? Why! it comes from the fans, naturally. So, you see, these paying customers have every right to demand what they feel is their due. After all WB, and other companies like them, are dependent upon the money they get from the fans - it is the whole reason they make movies and various other products, such as the Harry Potter movies.

The fans owe nothing to WB, it is WB who owe the fans and the time has long since come that they realize this very simple truth. The fans need to start demanding what is owed to them and I hope they will continue to voice their displeasure with WB's newest, and in my opinion most insulting, release. Of course, simply vocalizing their displeasure will change nothing; the fans must hit WB where it is guaranteed to hurt them - the wallet. Though voicing their displeasure is certainly one step in the right direction.

With that said I must confess that I am not a die-hard Harry Potter fan, though I do enjoy both the books and the movies; the books especially make for a delightfully light read when I am in the need of something simple, yet nicely executed. I do own one copy of all the movies from 1-8, but of those eight only only two of them (movies 1 and 2) are from the Ultimate Edition collection - the reason for my only purchasing the Ultimate Editions of the first two movies should be, I would imagine, all too obvious. While I may not be the most devoted of Harry Potter fans I, too, feel the sting of WB's unpardonable treatment of the franchise's fanbase and therefore felt the need to reprimand such a crass and patronizing remark as "people need to get over it". Attitudes like that are the reason companies such as WB think they can continue to get away with mistreating their paying customers. For shame.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 27, 2013 6:54:48 AM PDT
Mark Moore says:
Why would WB need the directors' permission to release extended editions? The directors don't own the films.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 27, 2013 8:01:23 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Mar 27, 2013 8:03:53 AM PDT
Shawn Shelby says:
"Why would WB need the directors' permission to release extended editions? The directors don't own the films."

The directors do not "own" the movies, but most directors are hired with stipulations in their contract that they have final creative control over the finished product. Warner can not simply take a finished film and reedit it however they want without breaking myriad contractual obligations and union regulations, and facing potential legal action. While every directors contract is different, it's extremely unlikely that a successful director like David Yates (director of the last 4 films) would work on a movie without those sort of stipulations built in.

Yates has said specifically that THE RELEASED MOVIES ARE AS HE INTENDED and there is no extended editions or Directors Cuts. If Warner Brothers redited the movies without the directors permission they would also have to take his name out of the credits.

While I love the last several movies and would enjoy any extra material that added to them, this strange insistence that Warner Brothers MUST have extended editions of them locked away somewhere that they are withholding from fans is misguided and honestly ignorant.

"Some fans have invested a great deal of time and money into the Harry Potter franchise; without them it would not have been anywhere near as successful as it is; so, it is perfectly reasonable for them to expect more from WB. Indeed, it is owed to them."

I have no love for Warner Brothers but this statement is completely and utterly wrong. Warner Brothers made a product and we fans either bought the product they released, or we did not. If you bought a Bluray, unless they lied about the product you were getting, you got exactly what you paid for. If you did not by the product then they quite literally owe you nothing because you haven't given THEM anything.

It's perfectly acceptable for fans to ask a company make a better product, or for us to let them know that we would buy an Ultimate Edition of the last several films if they ever bothered to create one. But this self important delusion that fans are OWED another product simply because we bought a previous one is myopic and sad. By all means, vote with your wallet, and let WB know that you want a better Bluray release. But don't think for a second that you are "owed" anything.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 29, 2013 10:08:52 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jul 29, 2013 10:19:39 AM PDT
A.J.: Ultraviolet is a perfectly legitimate digital copy. It's a newer version, yes, and still has a little growing up to do. But it is actually, in my opinion, a more mature version of Digital Copy. Thus far I'm more than satisfied with it. It provides you with a permanent license to the streaming / downloaded copy, so you don't have to keep buying and rebuying it. Personally, I'm quite fond of the ability to stream the movie (via VUDU currently, and hopefully soon other vendors). I also like the disc-to-digital program via VUDU and others, which allows you to inexpensively convert eligible titles from existing owned copies of DVD/Blu to UV (something you could never do with the original Digital Copy). Soon there will be a Common File Format (I think that's what it's called) that will be a newer standard interchangeable file format for UV downloads going forward. In that regard, I think this set was actually rather forward-looking, including UV rather than the outdated "Digital Copy" which was pretty ridiculously haphazard and non-interoperable. I do think this will be the better solution. Likewise the ability to have multiple sub-accounts for family members (or friends), so you CAN share the films to some extent, which consumers have been clamoring for for quite some time. Is it a perfect system? Maybe not yet. There are some issues to iron out yet, sure. But for being a new system, they've gotten a lot of things RIGHT.

"The fans need to start demanding what is owed to them"? Excuse me? The fans are not "owed" anything. Stop whining like a spoiled child. This "entitlement" mentality is what is ruining society. Just my 2c. The studio and the director(s) created these movies, they've produced copious "extras" (probably far more than whiny folks like yourself deserve), and several "extended editions." That you feel "entitled" to them adding extra content or to editing their "finished products" at your whim, does not make it incumbent upon them to do so. Would it be cool? Sure. Are they required to do so, just because you "demand it"? Heck no. If the director says "this is the final product, as intended & there ain't no more," who are YOU to say they must adulterate their creative effort, add in extraneous scenes that were cut FOR A REASON (usually because they don't advance the plot, are awkward, give away details that ruin surprises later on in the movie, introduce storylines that it wasn't possible to sufficiently execute/fully include in the limited screen time available).

The studio doesn't "owe" you anything, and to claim otherwise is simply whining like an "entitled" brat. You're not the boss of them...

Anyway, as to the set, it seems over-packaged and over-priced. I'm waiting for it to either get marked down significantly or to be re-released without all the extraneous tchochkes at a much more affordable price. That is, including all the discs and bonus features in a more simple package and without all the "extras" (map, booklets, etc. etc. etc.). Really, I just want the definitive set of discs in a single compact form factor for my shelf. One assumes it's possible... Granted, there are a lot of discs so it might take some creative engineering. But it should be doable, regardless.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.2 out of 5 stars (774 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (359)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (296)
 
 
 
Used & New from: $265.49
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Chicago, Illinois USA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 1,990,539