Customer Review

63 of 88 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow.. Giant Tablet, Laptop replacement., February 13, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Samsung Galaxy Note Pro 12.2 (32GB, White) (Personal Computers)
A 12.2" tablet! Really. The first expression will be of gasp. Wide open mouth. But this is reality. Let us compare the PRO lines from Samsung. I will first compare the TabPROs briefly, and then give a crisp overview of the popular Tablets in market now. Then I will do in depth into the current tablet itself. This will give a good perspective and enhance your buying decision. I am sure you are looking at multiple tablets to determine which suits you. If you have any questions, do ask in the forum and I will respond within a day. The three Galaxy TabPROs and the single Galaxy NotePRO differ only in size, and little bit in specs; they are functionally identical in all respects.

The single most fascinating part of the TabPRO and NotePRO lines is the resolution. Astounding 2560 x 1600 on all lines which means on 8.4" has the maximum ppi and excellent look. In comparison last year's Tabs have much lower resolution. I personally think this 12.2" is heavy for personal purposes. Weight+Cost was the primary reason for my rating at 4 stars. For this price you can get a full blown laptop. I got it for work purpose, using with bluetooth keyboard and for personal purpose I will suggest the super gorgeous 10" or 8.4" tablet.

COMPARISONS GALORE:

key_specs: { model: resolution, ppi, CPU, RAM, Flash memory, SD_card, camera spec, weight, OS_type, size, charging/sync port type, GPS:y/n }

Samsung Galaxy TabPRO 8.4-Inch {B,W}, WQXGA 2560 x 1600, 359 ppi, 2.3 GHz Qualcomm Snapdragon 800 quad-core processor, 2 GB RAM, 16/[32] GB Flash, microSD upto 64 GB, 8MP Rear + 2MP Front, 331 gm, Android 4.4 Kit Kat OS, 8.62 x 5.06 x 0.28 in, microUSB, GPS yes. 4800 mAh battery (the very best resolution on a tablet!)

Samsung Galaxy TabPRO 10.1 {B, W}, WQXGA 2560x1600, 298 ppi, Exynos® 5 Octa (1.9GHz Quadcore + 1.3 GHz Quadcore), 2 GB RAM, 16/[32] GB Flash, microSD upto 64 GB, 8MP Rear + 2MP Front, 469 gm, Android 4.4 KitKat, 9.57 x 6.75 x 0.29 in, microUSB, GPS: y, 8,200mAh battery

Wow, a 12.2" tablet now! This is just like a laptop with no physical keyboard built in.
Samsung Galaxy TabPRO 12.2 {B, W}, not in USA Now, WQXGA 2560x1600, 247 ppi, Exynos® 5 Octa (1.9GHz Quadcore + 1.3 GHz Quadcore), 3 GB RAM, 32GB/64GB Flash, microSD upto 64 GB, 8MP Rear + 2MP Front, 732 gm, Android 4.4 KitKat, 11.64 x 8.03 x 0.31 in, microUSB, GPS: y, 9500mAh battery

Samsung Galaxy NotePRO 12.2 {B, W}, WQXGA 2560x1600, 247 ppi, Exynos® 5 Octa (1.9GHz Quadcore + 1.3 GHz Quadcore), 3 GB RAM, 32/64 GB Flash, microSD card slot up to 64GB, 8MP Rear + 2MP Front, 748 gm, Android 4.4 KitKat, 11.64 x 8.03 x 0.33 in, microUSB 3.0 port with backwards compatibility with microUSB 2.0, GPS - yes, 9500mAh battery, S-Pen, NFC, Ethernet connectivity via adapter.

A broad range of popular tablets as of 2014 Feb are Kindle Fire HDX 8.9", Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1"2014 edition, iPAD Air 9.7", Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 10.1", Google Nexus 10" and Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 8". If you are planning to buy TabPRO, do look at the comparison of 3 top features you need and pick one that suits you. This will enhance your buying decision.

Kindle Fire HDX 8.9" model: 2560 x 1600, 339 ppi, Snapdragon 800 2.2 GHz quad-core, 2 GB RAM, 16/32/64 Flash Memory, No microSD card, 8MP rear-facing camera, front-facing 720p HD camera, 374 grams, FireOS 3.0, 9.1 x 6.2 x 0.31 inches, microUSB, GPS:no [cellular versions have GPS]

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1" 2014 Edition: 2560x1600, 299 ppi, 1.9GHz Samsung Exynos 5420 Quad-Core Processor, 3GB RAM, 16/32 GB Flash Memory, microSD slot:yes(upto 64 GB), 8MP rear camera and 2 MP front-facing camera, 560 grams, Android 4.3 Jelly Bean OS, 9.57 x 6.75 x 0.31 inches, microUSB, GPS:yes. S-Pen,

iPAD Air 9.7" (2013): 2048 x 1536 resolution, 264 ppi, A7/M7/64 bit processor, Flash Memory: 16/32/64/128 GB, SD Card:no, 5 MP back, 1.2 MP front, 469 grams, iOS 7, 9.4 x 6.6 x 0.29 in, lightning port, GPS:no [cellular versions have GPS]

Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 10.1" model: 1280 x 800, 149 ppi, Intel Atom 1.6GHz Z2560 dual-core processor, 1GB RAM, Flash Memory: 16/32GB, microSD slot: yes upto 64 GB, 3.2MP rear-facing, 1.3MP front-facing, 510 grams, Android 4.2.2, 9.57 x 6.93 x 0.31 in, micoUSB port:yes, GPS:yes

Google Nexus 10" model: 2560 x 1600, 300 ppi, CPU: Dual-core A15, 2GB RAM, 16/32 GB, SD:no, rear:5 MP, front:1.9 MP, 603g, 10.4" x 7" x 0.35", mcroUSB, GPS:yes

Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 8" model: 1280 x 800, 189 ppi, Exynos 1.5GHz dual-core processor, 1.5GB RAM, Flash memory: 16/32GB, microSD slot: yes upto 64 GB, 5MP rear-facing, 1.3MP front-facing, 309 grams, Android 4.2, 8.26 x 4.87 x 0.29 in, microUSB port:yes, GPS: yes

You should come up with three top three specs you want and should be able to nail it down with the above spec. If you have doubts shoot me a comment, I can help, I have used several tablets over years!

RESOLUTION:

Good to see tablets coming straight out with Android v4.4 (KitKat). The resolution of WQXGA 2560 x 1600, and has a pixel density of 247 ppi. The videos were very crisp and text so sharp. The new Magazine UX interface makes the screen really pop. I was able to read text very easily. Aldiko and many libraries have teamed up and magazines can be checked out through the app, and they are super sharp. Resolution will blow you away. This new Multi-Window UI that now supports up to four apps running simultaneously, each in its dedicated window. 12.2" is great for pdf, books and magazines.

PROCESSING POWER:

Exynos® 5 Octa (1.9GHz Quadcore + 1.3 GHz Quadcore), 3 GB RAM. Very powerful indeed! I have played games/watched youtube videos and have seen no lag or any latencies. Though the chip is octa core, do bear in mind only 4 cores are active at a time. This is done for minimizing heat.

PRO MEANS?

Tablet is certainly is a productivity tool. Notepro is truly professional in nature. This tablet is touted as Enterprise-Ready and has Corporate E-mail/Calendar/Contact; Microsoft® Office-compatible; Mobile Device Management; On-Device Encryption (ODE); Preloaded WebEX; Remote PC and E-Meeting Apps; Virtual Private Network. It also has Hancom office suite which is an office suite developer in Korea. Hancom Office consists of Hanword, Hancell (Spreadsheet), and Hanshow (Presentation program). Since there is Google office, I don't know if this will be any market in the US and other countries. All these apps are available in your other device. Yes, you have it in your laptop!

STORAGE:

Notepro comes in 32/64 GB configurations. Having the expandable memory to 64 GB is the greatest invention since sliced bread. Well, putting bunch of video/audio/books on the SD card which is so cheap these days, the tablet suddenly has more memory with no lag observed. With prices plummeting for 64 GB cards, it is a great boon. Put all your music, books, photos on the SD card and you have a powerful computer in hand always! I personally use the 64 GB microSD card on my mobile devices. Get this mobileUltra (SanDisk 64GB Mobile Ultra MicroSDXC Class 6 Memory Card with SD Adapter - Retail Packaging.

CAMERA:

Having a camera is a plus on smaller tablets, though I hate the feature on 10 or 12" tablets. I personally don't use back cameras as much on 10"+. If you use publicly, it is like having a big magazine in front of you. Imagine the guy in the sports stand using in front of you! The resolution is 8MP Rear + 2MP Front. Video is 1080p 60 fps. Nowadays there is nothing much to say of cameras, they just work for the required purpose. Front camera is good for skype and business meetings.

ERGONOMICS:

I personally like 8" for home uses, but at 12"+ this is truly a laptop replacement. I really wonder if this will have a market, but it is an experiment from Samsung. At 748 gm, the weight is definitely not single hand holdable. This is 1.65 pounds. Still less weight than laptops. For example, 11" MacBook Air weighs 2.38 pounds. Size of this tablet is 11.64 x 8.03 x 0.33 in. The battery is 9500mAh and should come for easily couple of days for me at nominal usage. The best part I liked is the beautiful resolution and is the best resolution on a tablet! HD videos are crisp. Being a geek, I love this form factor.

SOUND:

Excellent sound system with stereo speakers and microphone. I was able to ask questions to Google Now and get precise answers.

MISC:

This is the only tablet I could see in Samsung's lineup with microUSB 3.0 port with backwards compatibility with microUSB 2.0. I tested OTG capability and it is great to have a external USB support. USB Host is one of the most undernoticed features of Androids and is in my opinion one of the best features compared to iPad lines. What this means you get a USB Host cable also otherwise called OTG (On the Go) cables and plug in your USB thumb drive or other USB devices and the device recognizes it. I have used it with Alfa AWUS036H for a wireless project with Android PCAP Capture from reputable Kismet wireless. Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac, dual-band is really state of the art. 802.11ac is blazing fast!

Having a GPS is great for immediate needs and I could get immediate lock on this tablet. Also has infrared which can be used for WatchON as a TV remote control. Worked straightaway on Samsung TV. This is also great for sharing your tablet with family members, multi user mode lets different users log in separately, so you each see only your own apps, backgrounds, and email.

Obviously the S-Pen is the one that differentiates this Notepro from others. S Note docs, S Planner makes it so easy to organize with S-Pen. Also this has NFC as well as Ethernet connectivity via adapter. I really doubt if people will use ethernet connectivity when wifi is used everywhere. I really wonder what is the use case.

APP POWER:

I tried following apps and they just worked awesome. A tablet is only as good as the apps you have and how productive it makes you. It's almost like the camera/lens analogy in the DSLR space. What good it is to have a great DSLR body if you have no good lens? Same with Tablet body and apps you have.

WolframAlpha (I can go on for hours praising this. This is a truly genius app powered by hundreds of supercomputers in the background. Wolfram is a computational genius). Well worth the $3 price.

Withings HealthMate. (another remarkable app great UI/UX). I use Pulse and the integration with it as well as Weight machine is very good.

23andMe app (I love their reports)
Aldiko Book Reader Premium (absolutely love it, many libraries have magazines for checkout)
Amazon Mobile
Android Status
Android Central app (great and must have for Android users)
Androidify (kids love it)
Angry Birds (Space/Seasons)
Asphalt Car game
Battery Monitor Widget Pro (a great app)
BeyondPod (use it daily!)
Box
Chrome
CNET TV
Dictionary M-W Premium
NAVIGON (from Garmin - offline maps)
TOM TOM app (has some advantages over NAVIGON)
Google Navigation/Earth/Maps using a portable MiFi box
Google Currents (nice way to read News)
Google Keep/Keyboard/Drive/Search/Books/Voice/Hangouts
Ebay
Flipboard
Linkedin
Google Music (Awesome, I have now upto 10,000 songs halfway through Google's 20K Limit)
Tapatalk HD (awesome forum browsing app)
OverDrive Media Console: Library eBooks & Audiobooks
Microsoft One Note (legacy docs, skydrive of 25 GB is good)
Subsonic Music Streamer
Terminal Emulator (still need to use vi, yes this is it)
TweetCaster Pro for Android
Twit.Tv
Skype
RealCalc Plus (Awesome calculator app)
Wolfram Alpha
Zillow
Plenty of Widgets

Ask questions, the reviews cannot do full justice. I will be glad to answer any questions and usually answer within 24 hours to any query.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 6 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 24 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 13, 2014 7:37:32 AM PST
Wow,
You really put your all into that review. Thanks for your time. Cheers

Posted on Feb 13, 2014 8:43:22 AM PST
Ronaldregean says:
Saw this review as of 8:40 AM your time in ca.

You must have had ups drop this off at 6 am to have time to do all these things so early on the day it was delivered.

Ups doesn't even send out their trucks till after that time pretty much everywhere else in the country.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 13, 2014 8:50:38 AM PST
rpv says:
Thanks!

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 13, 2014 9:01:33 AM PST
rpv says:
Thanks Phoj for reading my review. I have been using couple of tabpros and notepro for past few days at work. I personally purchase them as well as it blends well. Many people have been using if you see youtube unboxing as well as other sites.

Thanks, I feel so passionate about samsung tablets and phones and the whole android ecosystem. Hen nce I spend several hours researching and trying to help fellow Amazon customers.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 13, 2014 12:57:44 PM PST
This is a good list of all the system specs and uses for Android tablets in general. Yet I feel it lacks in the review essence as far as the actual device itself. There's too many generalizations in here. Can you update this review with information about the actual user experience with this particular Galaxy Note Pro 12.2 device itself?

Posted on Feb 13, 2014 1:05:14 PM PST
This review has changed my mind. I was building my home PC. Getting that new Asrock z87 extreme 11/ac mother board, but after reading how good this tablet is, with the battery life up to 13 hours and all, I will buy this and hold off on my home PC rig :-)

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 13, 2014 3:00:08 PM PST
rpv says:
sure will update as I get more experience this is the first feel..

Posted on Feb 13, 2014 6:18:47 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 13, 2014 6:19:17 PM PST
R. Wong says:
Thanks for the review! I was wondering if you use a case/cover, and if you can recommend one. I've seen a bunch listed here on amazon even a week before the tablet came out, but not sure about the quality - they all kind of look the same.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 13, 2014 7:59:17 PM PST
rpv says:
I don't use a case. I have covers (pouch covers) that are available in store e**y which I use a lot for tablets. Like the macbook air pouches. I personally think putting a case removes the beauty of the devices, hence I use mostly naked. I do put cover for smartphones when it warrants (trekking for example)

Posted on Feb 14, 2014 12:20:39 AM PST
Aerb Inc. says:
Love the review. I know I Should not put ads here, but we are just offering an unbeatable price for note pro 12.2 case, and since Mr Wong is also asking for one, I would like to invite everyone to buy:

Aerb® X Pro Series Samsung Galaxy Note Pro 12.2 Leather Case Cover Stand W Sleep Wake Function (for Galaxy Note Pro 12.2, Black Style A)

guarantee quality as good as biggest case brands on amazon.
‹ Previous 1 2 3 Next ›