Customer Review

16 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NEED TO LOOK INSIDE, February 16, 2014
By 
This review is from: Ukulele Aerobics: For All Levels, from Beginner to Advanced (Paperback)
I never buy a instruction book that does not allow you to "look inside". It makes me suspect--and why not.
So open up the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 5 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 27 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 16, 2014 11:39:49 AM PST
Thanks for your comment but this was not a review. Therefore not helpful.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 16, 2014 12:17:18 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 16, 2014 1:52:28 PM PST
ML says:
Disagree. It is a very valid comment. The publisher needs to acknowledge the need to look inside. And this was a way to convey the need. But I suspect the publishers know that to be a valid point. When they allow a look-see, I will review again, and delete the first one. I'd like to buy the book; but won't until I am able to judge the contents and the layout first. Thank you for your interest.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 17, 2014 8:01:16 AM PST
mary wacker says:
I agree. It could be a great book, I won't know though because I won't buy a book with at least looking inside, whether it's online or on a shelf in a bookstore....go figure.

Posted on Feb 19, 2014 6:39:29 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 19, 2014 6:40:16 PM PST
Jon B says:
Whether or not you feel it is justified, this review violates Amazon's review guidelines. You're supposed to review the actual product, not the listing or catalog page. As they say:

"What's Not Allowed: Feedback about typos or inaccuracies in our catalog or product description (instead, use the feedback form at the bottom of the product page)."

The average "star" rating from the reviews shows up in many different places for a product, and it may not be obvious that your low rating has nothing to do with the actual content of the book, so you're doing other potential customers a great disservice.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 20, 2014 10:15:58 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 20, 2014 10:17:34 AM PST
I agree Jon. I'm the author of this book, and I had (have) no say as to whether or not the publisher decides to include an inside look. Most people look to the star rating as a review of the product --- not a review of the publisher's policies.

I don't really appreciate the fact that my book shows a 2.5 star rating with 3 "reviews." In truth, the only person who actually read it gave it five stars.

I had one book that received a 1 star rating that hadn't even been released yet. The customer's "review" said "Where is it?"

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 20, 2014 7:21:07 PM PST
ML says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 20, 2014 8:22:30 PM PST
Because he bought the book.

Posted on Feb 20, 2014 10:53:16 PM PST
This is not a review and thus absolutely unhelpful! Such bull____ should not be allowed on Amazon.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 21, 2014 11:49:34 AM PST
ML says:
You buy a book without knowing if its content is to your liking?? Many more people would possibly buy the book (including myself) if they could review it. It is quite obvious I'm not commenting on the content of the book--but on the fact that the publisher doesn't allow a look-see. So author don't fret. If publisher allows a look-see, you could possibly get many many customers. It is not a reflection on the content of your book. That is obvious.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 21, 2014 12:00:49 PM PST
True, that's obvious once you read your "review" of the book. But what if everyone acted the way you do? What if everyone decides to give 1-star ratings to the book because it doesn't have a look-see? I don't know about you, but I know that many people will not even bother looking at a book, much less reading the reviews, if it's rated at a 1 or 2 star rating. And if everyone followed your line of thinking, that's what would end up happening.

That's my whole point. This is supposed to be a review of this book --- not a review of the publisher. What you're doing is the latter.
‹ Previous 1 2 3 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 26,189,581