Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Beach House Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Shop Popular Services tmnt tmnt tmnt  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Metal Gear Solid 5 Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation Deal of the Day
Customer Review

304 of 315 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A solid purchase, even for pros., March 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CowboyStudio Photography & Video Portrait Umbrella Continuous Triple Lighting Kit (Camera)
As a photographer with over 30 years experience, I can tell you that these lights are simply awesome. There have been many reviews from what I can only assume are drooling morons about the socket quality, the stands quality, the low light levels. Guess what? They are $60.00 bucks, not $1,500.00 like my main set!

PROS:
The Stands are of a thinner tubing than the $1,500 dollar variety, yes, and of a pot metal construction (not aircraft grade aluminum) with lower quality plastic clamps and adjusters (not machined and polished aluminum) HOWEVER... they are most certainly sturdy for light stands and absolutely useable for what I can see as a very long life (if you're not a tool!)

Also, the light fixtures themselves are very sturdy AND accommodate the included bulbs very well.

As this is a continuous light system and not strobes, I have used them for studio lighting along with 2 softboxes. The light level is strong and clean, with no flickers or other anomalies.

The light levels are steady and at the advertised rated output continuously.

The accompanying nylon bag is branded with Cowboy Studio's logo as with all of their products. The bag is really descent and holds the gear for transport properly and completely as it should.

CONS: None, for 60 dollars there is not a one. Even for $120.00 I would be very satisfied.

All in all, for 60 bucks, these are awesome and very much worth the money and will serve you well... unless you're a tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 5 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 13 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jun 7, 2013 11:15:14 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jun 7, 2013 11:20:12 AM PDT
Trimmer says:
Thank you for a realistic review of this product. You're not a tool like the "professional" photographer who was shocked... completely shocked!... that a $60 light kit didn't meet his "professional" standards.

I'm happy I listened to your review.

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 7, 2013 6:23:34 PM PDT
kateTaylorô says:
Very welcome Trimmer! Glad I could be of help.

Too many reviews here are not correct about the products and then yes, there is the "tool factor"

Update: The kit is used every day here and is rock solid still. One of the stands even fell over and the bulb took a hit and is STILL working.

Final Answer: These are absolutely awesome for 60 bucks! :D

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 7, 2013 8:28:13 PM PDT
Trimmer says:
Hey, thanks for making me feel better about my purchase. I spent this rainy day fooling around even more with these lights... I'm still very happy.

Thanks again. I wish there was a way to talk to you other than myname at gmail.

Thanks again for your input.

Posted on Jul 21, 2013 4:03:38 PM PDT
msbigsea says:
Glad I read up to your review! I have an Ebay business and need to invest in some better lighting than my basement lights to photograph products! These seem like they would be just what I need and the price is definitely good for a starter set. Do you think they would be good for something like that? Thanks! Susan

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 21, 2013 9:00:58 PM PDT
kateTaylorô says:
Yes, Ms. BigSea, they are perfect for product shots and still months later still working solidly every day in our studio. Not even had to replace a bulb!

Posted on Oct 21, 2013 10:50:23 PM PDT
Anonymoose says:
I like your attitude. I've seen a lot of nonsense posts about this set and it's light output. 45w cfl's put out a lot of light. I have to wonder what anyone would be doing with 4 way adapters and 85w bulbs as another reviewer mentioned. I can't imagine a situation where I would need 1020w of light for portraits... At least in a situation which calls for a $60 lighting kit. Thank you for writing a realistic review that wasn't based on some uber ridiculous nonsense situation in which anyone would consider this lighting "dim".

Posted on Oct 27, 2013 5:13:32 PM PDT
Thanks for the very helpful, honest review and especially the humor!

Posted on Jan 27, 2014 10:11:22 PM PST
Thanks for your review Kate! I am starting an open air photo booth that will cover an 8'x6' area. Do you think this lighting will be appropriate for that space? I appreciate your opinion.

Posted on Feb 1, 2014 10:05:56 AM PST
G. Hall says:
funny, ' not a tool ', made me laugh... and all in all your review is very fresh and straight forward with good input. thank you!

Posted on Oct 15, 2014 10:07:20 PM PDT
Tabooti says:
This kit is budget in every part, I had some damaged pieces and the replacement kit sent two days later had different stands and umbrellas, same kit, different parts. Kit consists of whatever is available at the least cost in the right size when they ship.
Will it work? Sure if the space and subject are not large. Group photo? Only if they all fit in the small space this kit can light.
Someplace between this and the $1,500 set up is equipment that is modestly more expensive but could be considered an actual investment.
The best that can be said is this allows one to try studio lighting without spending much money.

Sorry those lights are weak, not anywhere close to 600 watt equivalent. They are at the low end for 45 watt CFL bulbs in light output in measured lumens. If you have one of those work lights that are typically 300 to 500 watts you can test with your camera. Auto - No Flash and see which yields a faster shutter speed selected by the camera. These in the kit or the work light at the same distance.
I don't give a lot of points for making an AC light bulb socket that can accommodate a standard light bulb. Mine are fine, but considering the variable quality of the other items in my kit I can see how others received defective sockets.

Only "tool" that is relevant is the photography tool being purchased, if your buying a 3 stand kit + lights + umbrellas for about the same cost as a pair of decent stands don't be surprised if some corners are cut.
LIGHT STANDS PRO HEAVY DUTY 7'6" SET OF TWO, WITH ALL METAL LOCKING COLLARS NOT PLASTIC by PBL Sometimes it makes sense to purchase the cheapest tool that will Git-R-Done but if you expect to use the tool over a long period quality is worth a bit more money.

If you already have a $1,500.00 main light set why would you purchase a $60 one?
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›