Customer Review

147 of 158 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horrible decision to release only half a season (12 episodes)., December 30, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Love Boat: Season 1, Vol. 1 (DVD)
When are the studios going to learn that NOBODY likes buying HALF A FREAKIN' SEASON! ?

Pay full price for half the episodes and then play the "waiting game" for the rest of the season? PATHETIC! We already wait too long as it is for most follow up seasons, now they have us waiting around for the other HALF of a season!

I predict that profits will be FAR LESS for the studio because of the decision to split the season into two volumes. Most potential buyers will wait for a decent price drop, or the lower priced "used" sets that should quickly become available.

Here's a glimpse at SOME of the great guest stars in the first 12 epsiodes;

John Ritter, Suzanne Somers, Jaclyn Smith, Meredith Baxter Birney, Jimmie Walker, Sherman Hemsley, LaWanda Page, Kristy McNichol, Scott Baio, Richard Mulligan, Milton Berle, Charo, Bill Bixby, Jim Nabors, Patty Duke, Tab Hunter, Steve Allen, Sandy Duncan, Loni Anderson, Phil Silvers, Joanna Kerns, Jane Curtin, Leslie Nielsen, Robert Urich, Florence Henderson, Donna Mills, Dick Sargent, Pat Morita, and Anson Williams.

Not too shabby huh?

I know it's corny and goofy..... but it sure is FUN!

JM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 12 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jan 7, 2008 9:47:53 PM PST
"Thieves, bums, winos, girls who can't keep an address and men who don't care!" No, not a line from a Dragnet episode but a description of the greedy corporate bums who decided on these half-season releases. Pure extortion by the studio suits! But what's a fan to do?

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 9, 2008 3:18:13 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Jan 16, 2008 4:36:57 AM PST
J. McDonald says:
:) hehehe!!

What can we do?

I always urge everyone to purchase TV box-sets "new" because the releasing studios get more money that way, which in turn convinces them to release more seasons. BUT, in cases like this, I would urge everyone to wait and buy "used". Every time a DVD box-set sells "used", that's one "new sale" that is lost for the studio. That may initially harm the quick release of further seasons, but it's the only way to get the attention of the executive idiots who think it's better to release half seasons.

You could also wait for a decent price drop, which I'm sure would happen fairly quickly if most people chose not to purchase at the regular (rip-off) prices.

In the end, they want you to pay $50+ for a single season, when a reasonably priced FULL season should only cost $25-$35.

For those of you who don't have a calculator handy.... here's some info:

LIST PRICE per volume = $36.98
Total List Price for a "full season" = $73.96

Is that a good price for one season? Think about it!

Granted, Amazon offers discounts. For instance....

Amazon discount price (at the time of this writing) per volume = $27.69
Total Amazon discount price for a full season........................= $55.38

Still pathetic.

Someone needs to start a petition against HALF season releases!

JM

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 26, 2008 4:16:52 PM PST
KittyKins says:
I agree! I would also encourage people to shop around first to see where they get the best price. I will check out Future Shop (as I live in Canada) first before buying from amazon. Also, sometimes Walmart has good deals. When they are ripping off the customer, we have no choice. When ordering from amazon, you also have to consider any shipping costs you may have to pay.

Posted on Feb 23, 2008 11:00:01 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 23, 2008 11:01:27 PM PST
I hadn't read every single review/comment made about this DVD but i'll throw in my opinion. One of the reasons i think the DVD is being released as Season One, Volume One is because the program runs almost an hour commercial free...and even on a DVD there's time constraints but also, as others have said, chopping the first season into two volumes means that the purists/hard-core fans of the series will be buying two collections that could've easily been put onto just one multi-disc collection and so the company will be getting profits from two volumes of the first season instead of getting profits from one collection of the first season which is what many have been saying.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 23, 2008 11:04:54 PM PST
I typically buy at Amazon, especially if there's a collection that Wal*Mart for whatever reason doesn't have in stock. I often like to buy things when they're just released and a lot of times Wal*Mart doesn't put out anything for weeks at a time. I remember the latest DVD release of the SUPERFRIENDS cartoon...it was released on Amazon weeks before it shown up at Wal*Mart's DVD rack...and you're right, Wal*Mart often has sales on newly released items before they go back up to their "suggested retail price". Amazon often has sales/discounts as well for pre-order shipments. When i was glancing at the DVD's and saw LOVE BOAT and it only have 2 stars and a lot of people had reviewed it i wondered what was up and then i saw all of the complaints about the season being chopped in half.

Posted on Mar 3, 2008 12:44:48 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 3, 2008 12:56:18 AM PST
J. McDonald says:
I just wanted to follow up with a few comments;

You'll notice that Amazon has dropped the "sale" price to $24.95.

The $24.95 "sale" price (which is variable and controlled by Amazon) still adds up to $50 + shipping for a single season. Pathetic! That's assuming that the second half even gets released. But, don't forget about the "rip-off" RETAIL price, which is an indication of how LITTLE the studio cares about the consumer.

By the way, Amazon has already lowered the sale price TWICE realizing that they need to add incentive for consumers to buy into this RIP-OFF. I predict that the price of this set will continue to drop and that sales will be VERY poor. I might be tempted at $14.99 - $17.99 for a half season, but that's not the WHOLE point here. I could afford to pay a thousand dollars for a box set if I wanted, but why the hell should I? This isn't only about COST....

Here's an analogy for you....

I've got a great deal for EVERYONE! Tell me the name of your favorite snack food and drink. I'll be happy to repackage both into a HALF sized container and sell them to you at TWICE the price. I'm sure you'd be very grateful to me! Heck, even if I charged you a decent price, I'm sure you wouldn't mind the smaller portions! Also, you can't buy TWO of each at the same time (to make a full portion), at least not at first, you'll have to wait a while to do that. Oh, and by the time I allow you to "double-up" on portions and buy TWO, I may decide to raise the price or maybe even stop producing the product. Oh, well.... I'm sure you'll be happy with whatever I decide.

By shafting the consumer, the studios are creating a huge backlash which manifests itself via illegal downloads and the illegal copying of movies. Those are, of course two activities that are certainly not recommended and are bad for the entire industry. Yet, that is more often than not, the end result of their greed.

Realease a QUALITY, unedited product at a fair price and sales will INCREASE. You'll also have happier customers who will NOT resort to illegal copying and downloading. In the end, the entire film and DVD industry will be strengthened.

JM

Posted on Mar 12, 2008 9:31:43 AM PDT
i hate the fact that half seasons cost the same as a whole season!!!! the only comment i have is as follows: GREEDY STUDIO AND LABEL EXECS....FOR SHAME HAVE YOU NO RESPECT FOR YOUR CUSTOMERS!!!!! FIRST OF ALL $40 DOLLARS A SEASON IS AN INSULT!!! MUCH LESS $40 DOLLARS FOR A HALF SEASON!! SO WATCH OUT THE KARMA POLICE ARE WATCHING!!!

In reply to an earlier post on May 14, 2008 9:17:08 AM PDT
sublimesting says:
You're analogy is worthless. Seasons of 30 minutes sitcoms which are about 20 episodes sell for $40. You somehow think that the Loveboat which is 24 episodes of 60 minutes is ripping YOU off for not selling at the same price. I don't understand your logic.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 19, 2008 2:54:12 PM PDT
M. DUlisse says:
Okay. If you think the studios aren't ripping the consumer off, then why pt1 and pt2? Why not sell the complete season for 34.99? The studios are ripping the consumer off whether you want to believe it or not. There is no need to split up the season. The only logical explanation is to make double. GREED GREED GREED!!!

Posted on Aug 13, 2009 8:48:56 AM PDT
QueenMom says:
I agree. Frankly, after only the first season of Murphy Brown was released without any further releases, I've become cautious about collecting old favorites.

I'm particularly unhappy when I collect a show season-by-season, only to see the entire show released later in a complete collection with even better extras. I'd rather pay $350 for all eight seasons at one time in a decent box, than pay $30 or $40 for each season (or part of a season) agonizingly released over two or three years. It's more fun watching the show in marathons, then in chunks separated by months of waiting. (In the case of Murder She Wrote and Perry Mason, at the rate seasons are being released I'll be in a retirement home by the time I can collect the entire show.) Splitting seasons just makes the wait twice as long.

I want to buy The Love Boat, but I'll wait for the complete set! Wonder if it will be released in a box shaped like the boat?
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.7 out of 5 stars (127 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
$22.99 $12.96
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 163,356