Customer Review

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not What the Title Implies, May 17, 2007
This review is from: Natural Born Killers - Oliver Stone Collection (DVD)
THIS IS NOT THE DIRECTORS CUT.

I give the Directors Cut 5 stars, and ordinarily I would give even the edited version at least 4, but when I purchased "The Oliver Stone Collection" edition of this movie, I assumed the movie contained therein would be the Directors Cut. IT IS NOT.

The deleted scenes are great to have, but those scenes were also contained in the old beat-up VHS of NBK I owned years and years ago and lost. Attempting to replace it (my DIRECTORS CUT version), I bought this one on DVD. I was extremely disappointed that this is not the version I had come to love.

Very little of the movie is deleted, but purists seeking to obtain the TRUE version of this movie should stay away. Remember when Robert Downey Jr. gets a hole shot in his hand? Gone (or at least cut away far faster than it's supposed to). Remember when Tommy Lee Jones gets his head mounted on a stick? Gone. These are just two examples.

For those of you specifically seeking the Directors Cut, this is not it. I love this movie to death, but I was looking for something specific and did not get it. Very misleading labeling, if you ask me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-7 of 7 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Oct 23, 2009 7:10:51 PM PDT
M. Seneca says:
Thanks for info, I really would've liked the director's cut

Posted on Mar 8, 2010 2:54:31 PM PST
i want hte full screen version i used to have it on vhs i own both original and directors cut on blray and its not full screen help me find it plaese

Posted on Apr 10, 2010 3:05:00 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Dec 30, 2010 5:46:49 AM PST
M.B. says:
No where on the box does it state in any shape or form that this version is the directors cut! The VHS and DVD directors cuts clearly say [Directors Cut] in big letters on those versions. Its only common sense to know that if it doesn't say directors cut, well obviously its not. Besides, the directors cut really only adds 2 and a half extra minutes. I also prefer the directors cut, but in this movies case, it really doesn't change the feel of the movie. One particular movie that i like is The Alamo, with John Wayne. That is one movie that is significantly changed if you get the non-directors cut. It loses over an hour of really necessary footage! And in The Alamos case, The only true full version is STILL only available on the old VHS Widescreen two tape version, which is 173 minutes long. All other versions are much shorter! N.B.K. doesnt change much between the two Versions. The title is called The Oliver Stone Collection because he has made many movies and this is part of his collection. The words don't imply [Directors Cut].

Posted on Dec 30, 2010 4:48:47 AM PST
Hudson says:
Very misleading review. I don't intend to attack the reviewer, but this review could steer someone in the wrong direction. You can buy both versions of the film, and the reviewer simply picked up the theatrical cut. "The Oliver Stone Collection" is the theatrical version, and it doesn't say "Director's Cut" anywhere on the box, or the info online describing it. There are two Director's Cut DVDs available (both contain the same footage in the film), one that was released in 2010. (At this point, I should probably say, ****SPOILER ALERT****) Make sure the product you buy explicitly states, "Director's Cut" and you will get the bullet-through-Robert Downey Jr's Hand-scene and the beheading of Tommy Lee Jones at the end, amongst numerous other cuts that were made. The scenes that were edited out weren't edited because of excessive gore or anything, rather the MPAA cited the "chaos" of the movie as the reason it originally was going to be NC-17. So Stone had to make some very specific cuts and submitted the film several times to get it down to "R" for the theaters. I don't even think they should sell an "R" rated version of this film. True, the story isn't hurt at all by the cuts in the theatrical, but the feeling of chaos suffers in the "R" version. So, to wrap this up, just buy a version that explicitly states "Director's Cut". If you don't read "Director's Cut," you will most likely end up with the theatrical cut.

Posted on Dec 27, 2011 10:06:37 AM PST
[Deleted by the author on Dec 27, 2011 10:09:00 AM PST]

Posted on Nov 2, 2012 2:46:27 PM PDT
J. McVie says:
Thank you for this review. I thought this looked like the theatrical version, but wanted confirmation before ordering it. I don't want the added scenes. I want it to be as I saw it in the theater the first time. Again - thanks.

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 30, 2014 12:30:35 AM PDT
A bullet through the hand, ok that's something I might even enjoy watching because Downey, Jr. is so annoying in this movie (he is Geraldo personified), but a BEHEADING? Now that's where I draw the line!
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.8 out of 5 stars (549 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (299)
4 star:
 (75)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (36)
1 star:
 (99)
 
 
 
$14.98 $2.95
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Iowa

Top Reviewer Ranking: 16,906,160