Customer Review

104 of 110 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only buy from authorized dealer, March 4, 2009
This review is from: Cartier Women's W51008Q3 Tank Francaise Stainless Steel Watch (Watch)
I got this watch from Amazon as a gift from my husband a few months ago. Last month, we found that there was a $300-400 problem with the circuitry. Our watch store told us to have the repair fixed under the warranty. I called Amazon with the gift receipt in hand but I did not have the exact price so they refused to honor the warranty. I don't know how you can have the exact price if you get the watch as a gift. My husband found his original receipt but Amazon refused to honor the warranty when he called with all the required information. He just got the run around on line in India for 20 minutes . It is not worth it. Buy from an authorized dealer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 3 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Apr 3, 2009 8:13:46 PM PDT
M. Mauro says:
I agree with anyone that you expect to receive goods and services rendered as advertised. I feel like this review is fair and I think its a shame they did not stand behind the product. Dealing with Foreign Customer service is a huge hassle and I feel these companies owe the American people something in return for making them Billion Dollar companies. Pay us back by keeping the Customer service jobs here in the country they make thier fortunes in. Sure it will cost you more but you will make money and you can pay back the society that created the consumer heaven thats made companies like Amazon possible.
On a side note I would put this purchase in perspective. If i had bought this watch and saved 1,200+ dollars off retail I would have just fixed the watch for 300-400 dollars and Still felt like I had still come out on top. While it wouldnt be ideal its still a bargain compared to buying it at Cartier.

Posted on Dec 6, 2009 2:16:54 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 6, 2009 2:25:56 AM PST
TW says:
Im sorry to hear that. Your post really help me & everyone. Now I know exactly where I should buy, forget price for little less. But how much it's cost you & emotion. :(

Posted on Dec 18, 2009 1:04:17 PM PST
Luke says:
This is very good to know and it's telling that Amazon did not post an official reply or resolution.

Posted on Apr 1, 2010 3:52:03 PM PDT
Young says:
I will no longer buy valuable stuff from Amazon in the future. It totally disappoint me. I bought 2 Cartier watches which totally cost me 7k but one with the scratch on it which was returned immediately and the other one without any certificate. How do you know the watch is from Cartier? probably it just from someone else. I got answer from customer service stating that the watch is "divert" from the market, what does it mean? Just recognized from its jewelry people is not enough. And Cartier store or retailer won't do any repair or warranty on it, which is treated as a watch from third party.

Before I bought the watch, I am assuming Amazon is selling "real" watches because it is from Amazon directly and such a big public company should deserve some trust but right now, I can't be convinced regret. No more Amazon. If you have to buy some stuff from it, no more than $20, just like you meet some yard sales on the way.

Posted on Jul 5, 2011 7:56:24 PM PDT
I had the same experience. I purchased a Cartier watch as an engagement present for my wife, after receiving the watch, there was a problem with the circuitry, which cost about USD $300 to repair. I was extremly disappointed with Amazon's customer service and their refusal to stand behind or reimburse for the repair costs. As previously mentioned, I plan to never purchase anything valuable/expensive from Amazon again.

Posted on Jan 29, 2013 12:17:29 PM PST
I have been saying the same thing about Cartier watches over and over on the 'net---if you bought it on Amazon, unless Amazon sold you a buyer's protection warranty for it, they will almost certainly not be responsible for any repairs to it; I am curious about what kind of warranty you got ?? Amazon can't sell you a Cartier warranty, so what you're saying is confusing. Buyer protection they CAN sell you,though, if that's what you refer to. Best bet: You should locate a Cartier store near you, you can 'Google' Cartier and find one, call their #800 and speak with a tech who'll direct you further. It costs $60 US to have your Cartier "tuned-up", meaning they do a regular authorized maintenance on it & address any issues they find. They will call you BEFORE they do any work, so rest assured about that. I'm kinda worried about something you said,though---you say you "found there was a $300-400 problem"...If your "watch shop" was not an authorized Cartier dealer, I am afraid you may've shot yourself in the foot here. Only way you can know for sure is to call Cartier....FYI, they are not going to honor any Amazon warranty, just as Amazon can't sell you a Cartier warranty. I'm sorry if this disappoints you, I feel your frustration. There should be a way to get the exact price your husband pd, check your CC statements or bank acct maybe ? I would call Amazon cust service back and insist on a supervisor, they should be able to resolve this for you....but you still must take the watch to Cartier for any repairs. Anyone else but Cartier doing them destroys the value of your watch. Hope this helps and sorry you've had such a bad experience~ Best Regards, Susi

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 4, 2013 10:40:59 AM PDT
I, too, bought a Cartier watch on Amazon. Big mistake. In less than 2 years, my watch required full maintenance at a Cartier store, to the tune of $450. The battery had leaked all over the internal mechanism. That does not

Posted on Apr 7, 2015 5:42:09 PM PDT
Although Amazon is not an Authorized Dealer, their warranty is MUCH better than the manufacturers warranty. If you read the details on the item page, you will see that the Amazon warranty covers defects with the movement, as well as the case, crystal, crown and much more. The manufacturer warranty covers only defects on the movement that arise from normal use (which basically means they do not cover much). If you have any questions, contact the seller for the item, but to date, we have not had any issues with any watch purchases or sales we have made on amazon.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.3 out of 5 stars (15 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
$4,250.00 $3,399.00
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Washington, DC

Top Reviewer Ranking: 20,971,157