100 Sci-Fi & Fantasy Shop Costumes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Super Humanoids All-New Fire TV Stick with Voice Remote Grocery Introducing Handmade New Kitchen Scale from AmazonBasics Amazon Gift Card Offer redoaks redoaks redoaks  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage UnchartedBundle Shop Now Kids Halloween
Customer Review

64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top of the line - studied many., March 25, 2009
This review is from: PT-AE3000U LCD 1080P Proj 60K:1 1600 Lumens HDmi/component/svid (Office Product)
UPDATE OCT 20, 2011
OK - going on 3 years now ans still WOW. Have remodeled the room twice and moved it twice and still awed by the easy set up.
I have purchased two EPSON 720p projectors for my shop and they are really nice for under $1000. But whe I go home and drop
the screen and turn tis on - like I said WOW. Still wich it had a screen trigger built in, though ...

UPDATE NOV 14, 2009.
I have been using this projector for over 1/2 a year. I would not hesitate to buy it again.
DO strain relieve your cables to protect the connector board assrmbly.

First, the negatives:
It does not have a 12v screen trigger (important if you have a motor driven screen). Odd ommission.
It is 1600 lumen - the room DOES have to be darkened for good viewing.

Positives over the competition:
30 degree digital keystone correction
Individual horizontal and manual lens offset - can be 100% above or below the scree and also even with the left or right side and still center picture in the frame (that means you do not have to line the projector and screen on centerlines.) Keysone adjustment will allow tweaking. You do need to be level, though, or get a mount that allows horizontal tilt.
Menus are intuative and vast. There is a lot you can do in setting up. Or nothing if you wish.
Remote is simple and works well when you point it at the screen (>30 ft range)
Very consistent screen brightness.
Histogram setup capability (not for the meek...)
QUIET! Cannot overstate this. MY chair is seven feet directly below the projector and you have to strain to hear the fan.
No noticeable ozone production - cheaper, higher wattage can produce noticebale O3 with these strong UV lamps. This unit has a well shielded lamp assembly. Only 160 watts. Uses less enegery than a plasma TV.

1) USE ONLY CAT 2 CERTIFIED HDMI cable. Do not be fooled by Class 2 - that is an electrical code certification that designates the toxicity of fumes in a fire (a good thing), but has nothin to do with performance. CAT 2 is certifed for 340 mhz and can carry a signal 50ft. Otherwise use a repeater.
2) Don't buy a spare a bulb. Wait until you really need to (ie when it stsrts ahowing degradation at 1800 - 2000 hours.) An OEM bulb from a dealer is warranted for 30-90 days after purchase, not service. These things do have an infant mortality of a couple of percent. You may be buying a $350 lamp that fails in 20 hours and you cannot get warranty, because it's been sitting on a shelf for two years.
3) mount to joists or a stringer board affixed to adjacent joist. This thing is heavy.
4) get the Peerless mount sold here on Amazon - amazingly good mount! If you need extension get a 1 1/2 to 1 1/4 pipe adapter a 1 1/4 floor flange and som e 1 1/14 pipe, paint it and hange it - a lot cheaper and heavier duty that the Peerless accessory. Black Precision Gear Projector Mount (PRG-UNV)

Thanks for reading my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-5 of 5 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Aug 11, 2009 10:06:21 PM PDT
Thanks for the tip on the spare bulb. I am a bit nervous about not having one on hand, but since I'm sitting at about 300-400 hours I guess I should wait some time. Maybe around 1200-1500.

Posted on Sep 2, 2009 9:05:28 AM PDT
RLT says:
Awesome info, especially the Class 2. One thing I would critique is if this is going into a basement Home Theater application, then don't mount the projector to the joists (People walking around upstairs will cause your picture to jitter). I plan on constructing a support beam supported by the basement wall isolating it from any movement from upstairs.

Posted on Nov 10, 2009 10:11:24 AM PST
B. Friedrich says:
Just as a tip for spare bulbs... Bad bulbs almost always die in the first 10-20 hours of use. If it lasts more than that, it should be good for the usual expected life. A lot of projector sales have great deals where you get a free bulb with purchase (which is like saving a couple hundred bucks). What you should do in this case, or if you like having a spare bulb around, is run the spare bulb for 20 hours of use. If it dies you can get a new one via the 30-90 day warranty. If it lasts, put it on the shelf you will have a tested and working bulb waiting for you two years down the road when you need it.

I have only had one bulb die after that 20 hour mark but before expected life and it wasn't the bulbs fault. The ballast on my projector blew : (

In reply to an earlier post on May 4, 2010 3:25:52 PM PDT
Cheers for the great tip.

Posted on May 4, 2010 3:26:38 PM PDT
Cheers a lot for your post.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details



T. Norris

Location: Cleveland, OH

Top Reviewer Ranking: 30,137