Customer Review

350 of 384 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why read the book when the article will do?!, February 6, 2010
By 
This review is from: The Checklist Manifesto: How to Get Things Right (Hardcover)
Dr. Gawande acknowledges that this book grew out of his December 10, 2007 New Yorker article, "The Checklist". I suspect that, for many readers, it would be a better use of their time and money to read the article (which is available online) rather than the book. Although the book, like Dr. Gawande's previous books, is well-written, the author's essential conclusions could easily be summarized in one page (and have been in several reviews).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 12 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 7, 2010 6:33:03 AM PST
I think the key phrase in your review is "for many readers." If a reader simply wants the basic outline of Gawande's ideas, the article will do just fine. But if you want some of the details of applications outside medicine, putting together effective checklists, and the process of refining a checklist, then I think the book is essential. I reviewed this for business readers, for whom that is likely to be the case.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 7, 2010 5:23:42 PM PST
avdrdr says:
Yes, Mr. Bock, I agree with you. Thank you for your post.

Posted on Jun 1, 2010 11:49:28 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jun 1, 2010 11:50:12 AM PDT
Susan Goewey says:
It's a quick read, a fascinating book ... I'm guessing if I'd read a short article on the topic, I wouldn't know what I was missing. Might not make the leap to great value of checklists in many, many areas of life. For example, if BP had a checklist, I imagine "Check the battery on Fail Safe" might have saved our oceans and the gulf coast...
This is a GREAT, important book. Period.

Posted on Dec 3, 2011 6:33:13 AM PST
The original article is indeed quite powerful. Here's a link:
http://www.newyorker.com/reporting/2007/12/10/071210fa_fact_gawande

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 3, 2012 4:28:46 AM PST
link does not work

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 3, 2012 11:25:22 AM PST
avdrdr says:
Susan, please try the link again as it's working for me.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 24, 2012 8:09:34 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Jan 24, 2012 8:09:58 AM PST
J. Fernandez says:
http://www.newyorker.com/reporting/2007/12/10/071210fa_fact_gawande?printable=true&tPage=all

Posted on Feb 29, 2012 8:32:14 PM PST
This is an astonishingly wrong-headed "review". One of Dr. Gawande's central points (if you read the book) is that *wrongly made* checklists are as harmful as having none at all. Certainly you can read the article to "get the gist" -- but the article will not teach you anything, or give you a foundation to apply the principles in your own business.

Posted on Apr 18, 2012 3:49:28 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Apr 18, 2012 3:53:56 AM PDT
I agree. I'm never usually tempted to abandon even the most tedious of books once I've started them, but this one may be a first. Having ploughed through 50 or so pages, other than getting an overall sense that checklists are generally a good thing for complicated & important tasks, I haven't learned anything & the medical anecdotes are becoming tiresome.

In reply to an earlier post on May 1, 2012 7:31:48 AM PDT
[Deleted by the author on May 1, 2012 10:50:03 AM PDT]
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.4 out of 5 stars (730 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (453)
4 star:
 (187)
3 star:
 (59)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
$28.00 $19.45
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 205,337