Customer Review

The manufacturer commented on the review belowSee comments
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Youtube doesn't play nice with Flip Audio format (at least back in 2010 when I go it), November 27, 2010
This review is from: Flip UltraHD Video Camera - White, 4 GB, 1 Hour (Camera)
Length:: 8:14 Mins

Ease of use: 5 stars
Responsiveness: 5 stars
Performance in low light: 4 1/2 stars
Video quality: for the price 4 1/2 stars
Audio Quality: 3 1/2 stars
Youtube friendly when it comes to audio: 2 stars (at least, back in 2010).

P.S. I'm adding this in 2014 and there has been some improvement over at youtube with sound quality of the upload of the Flip audio. Also, after getting the Kodak ZI10 a few years later, I find the Flip (in my opinion) towers over the Kodak in video quality, low lighting and audio. Although, the ZI10 has a mic jack where you can add a better microphone but anyhow...)

For you musicians and public speakers, (I am both), here is how I feel about the audio. First off, it has stereo mics which pick up surprisingly good. Nice separation. But, unfortunately it records too loudly (I got two Flip UltraHD 2 3Rd Generation thinking the first was defective so I replaced it). So the audio breaks up and you can hear distortion. Even lowering the volume in an audio editor after recorded (since there are not volume controls on the unit) doesn't remove the distortion. And I believe that distortion is the main problem once Youtube gets a hold of the file. After upload, the audio depreciates to the point that you can hear a phaser type sound in some of my uploads. One of my husbands had a digital chatter in the background. And it was a direct upload. It didn't go through editing software first.

So, if you're gonna use the camera to catch some scenery and pick up the sounds of nature, you'll probably love it. But for recording music videos or speaking videos(close up), and then uploading them to Youtube you may not.

***As a post script, there has been some improvement over at youtube in dealing with flip audio since I did my original review (I'm adding this post script on 2/26/12).***

One more thing, the 4GB camera is not the same as the 8GB one. The 8GB (which is the one most review sites review) records in 60 FPS and 30 FPS. The 4GB only 30 FPS. Also, according to the Flip Specs page, the mics are different too. The 4GB (the one I have) mentions that they are Wide-range stereo omni-directional. The 8GB is Wide-range stereo but no omni-directional. Don't know if the omni-directional causes the audio overloads because of what it picks up in the room.

P.S.
IN RESPONSE TO THE MANUFACTURES COMMENT ON THIS REVIEW:

Hey Matt. Great info for future buyers.

About the mics, I got my info about the difference between the mics from this Flip spec page. Although the link may not show up. This is my second attempt trying to post the link here. If Amazon won't allow it, you'll just see brackets).

Ok, here is the link from Flip Knowledge base.

[[...]]

You can see that the specs for the mic on the Flip UltraHD 1hr has a different description than the rest of the models listed. And, having compared the audio with the Flip Ultra 2hr (which I had in my possession for a week) and the Flip UltraHD II 1hr, there was a definite difference. The Ultra HD lets in much more sound.

Anyhow, yeah, I heard about the FlipPort feature they added to the even newer models than the one I have. Sounds like a great feature to add accessories including an external mic. Too bad I bought mine before this was available. But good for the future buyers.

All the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

 
stem
The manufacturer commented on this review(What's this?)
Posted on Nov 30, 2010 2:32:13 PM PST
Hi intanet, thanks for your interest in Flip. You are correct that the new 2 Hour UltraHD and 1 Hour UltraHD products do not have the same feature set. As you point out, the 2 Hour UltraHD features a 60fps capture rate and image stabilization; this product also has a new thinner and lighter design and features the FlipPort connector that will enable all sorts of new 3rd party accessories to extend the ways you use a Flip. The 1 Hour UltraHD features a 30fps capture rate and does not feature image stabilization. The product descriptions and content on the respective Amazon detail pages for these products call out the features that are specific to that product. We also provide a comparison page on our own website that points out the major differences between the products: http://www.theflip.com/en-us/products/specs.aspx.

With respect to the microphones, all of the Flip HD video cameras include the same wide-range, omni-directional stereo microphones for high-quality audio capture. Generally the quality of these microphones and the simplicity of the usage is sufficient for most situations. However, there are some sound environments (such as very loud or very soft) where a built-in microphone can only do so much for audio separation. We are excited that we have two partners who will be shipping Designed for Flip microphone accessories that use the FlipPort connector on the 3rd generation UltraHD 2 Hour video camera. These microphones can improve audio recording quality in these difficult sound environments. The Mikey for Flip (http://www.bluemic.com/mikeyforflip/) from Blue Microphones is a studio-quality external microphone that connects to the bottom of your Flip and provides high-quality audio separation and includes gain control to adjust for very loud or very quiet audio conditions. The freedomMIC (http://www.scosche.com/press.room/?year=2010&newsID=476) from Scosche Industries will provide a wireless lapel microphone that can be used for interview situations where you want to put a microphone on a specific person. We expect both of these products to be shipping in Q1 2011 from these partners.
 
 
[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-4 of 4 posts in this discussion
A comment by the manufacturer   (What's this?)
Initial post: Nov 30, 2010 2:32:13 PM PST
Hi intanet, thanks for your interest in Flip. You are correct that the new 2 Hour UltraHD and 1 Hour UltraHD products do not have the same feature set. As you point out, the 2 Hour UltraHD features a 60fps capture rate and image stabilization; this product also has a new thinner and lighter design and features the FlipPort connector that will enable all sorts of new 3rd party accessories to extend the ways you use a Flip. The 1 Hour UltraHD features a 30fps capture rate and does not feature image stabilization. The product descriptions and content on the respective Amazon detail pages for these products call out the features that are specific to that product. We also provide a comparison page on our own website that points out the major differences between the products: http://www.theflip.com/en-us/products/specs.aspx.

With respect to the microphones, all of the Flip HD video cameras include the same wide-range, omni-directional stereo microphones for high-quality audio capture. Generally the quality of these microphones and the simplicity of the usage is sufficient for most situations. However, there are some sound environments (such as very loud or very soft) where a built-in microphone can only do so much for audio separation. We are excited that we have two partners who will be shipping Designed for Flip microphone accessories that use the FlipPort connector on the 3rd generation UltraHD 2 Hour video camera. These microphones can improve audio recording quality in these difficult sound environments. The Mikey for Flip (http://www.bluemic.com/mikeyforflip/) from Blue Microphones is a studio-quality external microphone that connects to the bottom of your Flip and provides high-quality audio separation and includes gain control to adjust for very loud or very quiet audio conditions. The freedomMIC (http://www.scosche.com/press.room/?year=2010&newsID=476) from Scosche Industries will provide a wireless lapel microphone that can be used for interview situations where you want to put a microphone on a specific person. We expect both of these products to be shipping in Q1 2011 from these partners.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 21, 2010 9:34:21 PM PST
[Deleted by the author on Dec 22, 2010 12:52:33 AM PST]

Posted on Feb 23, 2012 11:58:18 PM PST
WOW lady you sing and play very well!! Do you have a YouTube chanel? I'd subsrcibe!!

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 25, 2012 9:09:40 PM PST
intanet says:
Thank you Wendy. Really nice of you to say. Yes, I have a music channel at youtube. Amazon doesn't let you put web addresses in the comments here so you would go to youtube and then type a slash and then AnnettesMusic.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.7 out of 5 stars (178 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
$249.99
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: New York

Top Reviewer Ranking: 10,470