Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Look Park Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports
Customer Review

128 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MISLEADING REVIEWS, October 23, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marvel Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
i think some of these reviews shouldnt be on this page. these reviews apply to the first edition that had serious flaws. this is the updated and expanded version that was released oct 2009. these reviews are from the book that was released in 2006. they actually have the same reviews listed under the older version that was flawed.

when i brought this book, there were no reviews for it yet. i purchased this book the second day it was released in oct 2009.
i think amazon does this book a disservice by applying the same reviews to this book. it misleads people into thinking it has major flaws.

if you look at the titles it clearly says "updated and expanded version". maybe amazon used the review to imply it is a hot commodity(and it is), but by having the same outdated reviews for a book that was revised in 2009 seems a little self defeating and manipulative at the same time. being as though the reviews by some of the people are complaints about the older version.

even with the flaws, if you read the reviews below, you will see that many people also enjoyed the book. the only complaints came from hardcore geeky fans(no disrespect). most were somewhat minor, like the info for a few characters being off. but the artwork and lay-out is beautiful. and these complaints are fixed in this version, and thats why the complaints dont apply.

i think everyone will enjoy this book. as an artist who enjoys creating my own comic book characters and superheroes, the action poses are a tremendous reference for my characters. that was the main reason i bought this massive book. page after page of action poses and fight scenes. im not a hardcore collector at all! i enjoy comics but i dont live and die by them.

i used to flip through comics to get reference poses and inspiration and this book gives me more references and inspiration and insight than any book i ever came across.

if you want a good book thats informative i would suggest this book. by the way, i am turning into that geeky guy now. reading this encyclopedia has given me info on characters i never knew existed and exposed me to a world of supereroes that goes back 5 decades or more. i didnt realize some of my favorite and most familiar characters from childhood were around for so long.

i guess i had no concept of time when it came to the characters from marvel.
all in all, you cant be dissapointed in this book. even someone whos not a fan will enjoy the material in this book. hope this review helped
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 5, 2009 12:36:30 PM PST
I know it was pretty lame that they combined the reviews, and now almost every hardcore marvel fan has the crappy 2006 edition, even myself. I saw this at hastings and I was so amazed they expanded and improved on it. The only thing I'm worried about is that this edition will be out of date in the next few years, and wondering if I should really invest on something that won't be worth keeping for the next 3-5 years. But since it is the end of this decade almost and it's a 70th anniversary thing, and this great review that you wrote, really makes want to buy it.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 26, 2011 4:13:53 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jul 26, 2011 4:17:20 PM PDT
J. Jackson says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 28, 2011 11:24:22 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Aug 28, 2011 10:40:53 PM PDT
kjknows says:
Hmmm, so J. Jackson, you have a "writting" major? Perhaps you should have considered majoring in spelling or better yet, irony. Get over yourself Shakespeare.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 19, 2011 7:29:28 PM PDT
Craig says:
J. Jackson, You have a "writting major"? Is that some kind of $10 online thing you buy instead of getting a writing degree from a college? If only you had an English writing degree, then you might have made fewer writing mistakes. Nobody with an actual English degree from a college in the U.S. would place an apostrophe before just about every "s" that ends a word.

Posted on Aug 2, 2012 1:00:45 AM PDT
If you say I will enjoy it, I plan to.

Posted on Oct 17, 2012 6:31:03 PM PDT
Makivelli says:
J. Jackson if your going to jump out there about someones writing abilities you need to check your self first. These are some of your mistakes MR. Writing Major ( shoudnt, these, oct, it) anyway I'm sorry for taking time about this but I couldn't believe this guy SMH. On the review from F Wheeler thanks it was very informative.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 5, 2012 3:38:40 AM PST
Locksley says:
Jackson=Trollson.

Posted on Oct 23, 2014 8:03:53 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 23, 2014 8:04:15 AM PDT
So is this a good gift for someone who already has the first edition? Is this expanded enough to be worth the purchase?
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: philly, pa

Top Reviewer Ranking: 14,220,219