Customer Review

167 of 191 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TRANSFER FROM A BROADCAST MASTER, March 29, 2000
This review is from: Sorcerer (DVD)
If you look at all the other reviews, you'll rarely see anything less than five stars and the film deserves it. "SORCERER" falls into that category sometimes referred to as an "undiscovered gem". My reason for giving this DVD one star is technical. Rather than creating a new master from film elements, this DVD was created from an existing full-screen SMPTE television broadcast master. As a result, you miss all of screen left, all of screen right, and a portion of both north and south. "SORCERER" is one of my all-time favorite action films and I can only hope that Friedkin and company release the original, theatrical wide-screen version of this thriller. I am so disappointed by the technical failings of this DVD that I won't buy it unless/until it's re-released in the theatrical format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 5 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 14 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Dec 28, 2008 7:50:55 PM PST
Tuco says:
Some screenshots of the severe cropping:

US DVD: http://www.schnittberichte.com/www/SBs/4978/b1.jpg

German TV: http://www.schnittberichte.com/www/SBs/4978/b2.jpg

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 26, 2010 12:01:22 AM PST
E. Furman says:
Yes, I agree, but unless there is more demand for this movie and by demand the only thing studios understand that to mean is sales there will be no special treatment editions of this film released. That's why I bought a copy.

In reply to an earlier post on May 9, 2011 8:04:14 PM PDT
A Reader says:
And unfortunately this apparently isn't one of the many cases of a film intended to be viewed in 1.66 or 1.85:1 widescreen, but shot in "Academy Standard" 1.37:1 to use existing cameras and lenses - intended to be masked in projection. For those, the "zoom" function on a WS TV will fill the width of the 1.78:1 frame - approximating the director's intent. Tried it with the US "Sorcerer" DVD, and it's obvious that the top and bottom were meant to be viewed.

The British are a little more insistent on preserving the director's intent, and I can frequently find a Region 2 DVD widescreen DVD on Amazon UK, but not in this case.

Posted on Mar 15, 2012 5:41:42 PM PDT
Eric Sanberg says:
I hear ya. I saw this film a few times in the theatre and bought the original VHS copy which was Okay given that it was VHS. Here the studio had the opportunity to reproduce it in all its glory and they fumbled the ball. In today's society, where hi-def rules and most households have decent surround systems this film could be a great in-home experience. Given it wasn't all that successful at the box office, I fear, unless someone else grabs it and does it justice, it will fade into obscurity.

Posted on Apr 15, 2012 9:25:58 AM PDT
I agree. A real crime.

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 15, 2012 3:07:15 PM PDT
E. Furman says:
If you don't think my post is relevant to the discussion then you must not have read the original one star review this is a reply to. I must have been confusing. I agree that the picture quality and cropping problems with this film are horrific, but to then say you won't purchase it based on these facts is misguided. The ONLY way anyone will spend money and release a decent version is if there is demand for this movie. Therefore by not buying it you are assuring that there will be no re release.

Posted on Jun 24, 2012 9:50:24 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jun 24, 2012 9:54:59 AM PDT
I bought a copy "eq001" , but i'd SURE like to see the version you've written of my friend . This was done with THE DEEP on dvd as well , and it made me real sore . I just gotta see "a" version of this 77 pic as i'm a retro nutter . Thanks for the heads up . A bd release would probably fix this HUGE failing ? I hope......Benstarbuck.....p.s. Excellent point E. Furman

Posted on Nov 16, 2012 8:50:38 PM PST
JG says:
This one star review is a bit unfortunate, because 99% of people who do watch or could watch the film would never know that there is any cinematic conversion deficiency. I think it's a great film and didn't notice anything "wrong" with the conversion. There are very few cinephiles but vast numbers of people who would enjoy the film. As others have pointed out, only sales to the masses will keep this film available over the coming decades.

Posted on Apr 12, 2013 10:28:44 PM PDT
John Nava says:
Hey, everyone! A remastered version and a bluray are due out toward the end of summer.

See the following excellent review/article:

http://www.efilmcritic.com/feature.php?feature=3550

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 13, 2013 9:00:16 AM PDT
JG says:
Great article, thanks! It talks a bit about how the bridge scenes were made.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.3 out of 5 stars (278 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (175)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
$19.99
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: New York, NY USA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 19,902,225