Customer Review

137 of 155 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For those who know what they're doing..., February 23, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: PlayStation Move Sharp Shooter (Accessory)
I'm getting really annoyed reading online reviews about how this product isn't accurate. I will tell you from personal experience that the gun is VERY accurate and the button layout as very easy to use. It's very easy to navigate with through the game. However, dumb gamers will more than likely hook up the sharp shooter, play for 10 min. and then put it away. You have to spend a lot of time both syncing and familiarizing your self with the sharp shooter. You must re-calibrate your move controller AND calibrate the sharpshooter in game. For most gamers, the sensitivity is going to be far to high right away, simply turn it down (I recommend 0). Then, try playing the campaign for a couple hours and you'll get use to it. Do all of these things, and I PROMISE you that the sharp shooter is a VERY valuable product. I've gotten so use to it, I actually prefer it for online play. Keep it mind it will take hours upon hours before most gamers get that familiar with it. Don't let dumb consumers who NEED instant gratification try to tell you this product is bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 15 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 28, 2011 9:20:16 AM PST
E Sikorski says:
Thanks for the review and tips. Perhaps, in the future, you could omit "dumb" and replace with "impatient". It will gain you more credibility. ;)

Posted on Mar 2, 2011 12:19:51 PM PST
ahearn1 says:
I agree. It is a new controller. It will take time to learn it. Think back to when you first picked up a dual shock. Did you instantly know exactly how to use it? No, it takes practice learning a new way to interface with a video game.

Posted on Mar 4, 2011 10:13:12 PM PST
Dew says:
Nice review. I'd like to see you omit "dumb" and replace it with "poopy pants". It would make me smile more while ready your review. Try it out, "...However, poopy pants gamers will more than likely hook up to sharpshooter, play for 10 min ...yada yada".
I'm still trying to get used to it after 2 hours. After some frustration I went back to the dualshock for a bit, but I'm back on the sharpshooter and I'm sure I'll get comfortable with it. A lot of folks seem to like 0/0 deadzone so I need to try that out.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 9, 2011 3:24:06 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 9, 2011 3:26:34 AM PST
Jeremiah says:
@ Edward Sikorski - such a dumb comment :)

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 10, 2011 9:34:00 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 10, 2011 9:35:33 AM PST
BBmax50 says:
I disagree with the first suggestion. It's bad enough that dumb (that's right, I said it) people rob us of better products because manufacturers have to build things that cater to them and therefore lack capabilites that some of us could use, BUT now we have to tippy toe around our wording. Not for me.
On the other hand, the poopy pants suggestion cracks me up.

Posted on Mar 24, 2011 12:02:26 PM PDT
[Deleted by the author on Jun 10, 2011 11:51:01 AM PDT]

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 2, 2011 4:12:24 AM PDT
Jacob Cook says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 10, 2011 8:07:02 AM PDT
TheCritic says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 29, 2011 11:32:51 PM PDT
Nah... they're still dumb. It takes an incredible amount of dumb to be that impatient.

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 29, 2011 11:44:35 PM PDT
Oh you're absolutely right. Most "normal gamers" out there are so full of dumb that it is borderline complete and utter stupidity. So much so that in many cases it even reeks of mental retardation. And since there are more dumb (stupid, ignorant, pathetically mentally equipped etc.) gamers than intelligent gamers, products are designed to make things as easy as possible for those average folks that can't figure easy stuff out on their own. Like if the navigation controller moves a bit, add something to stop it. If the pump reloads too easily, rig it up with tape/screws/glue/etc. and disable it yourself, not waiting for the "disable option" in the game or on the controller.

Bottom line--Intelligent people that realize that any new habit takes nearly a month to become habit will realize that they won't instantly be pros upon plug & play. You're training your muscle memory and creating new pathways and connections in your brain. This doesn't happen instantly for most people, even the intelligent ones. But if you put in the time to learn this new input type, you'll be rewarded with a gaming experience that is in my opinion more accurate and intuitive, (and yes even more realistic) than the DualShock.

All that said, this controller wasn't designed by extremely intelligent people that understand the gaming input process and its pitfalls. They probably spend more time in some sweat shop lab somewhere than they do playing video games.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.2 out of 5 stars (236 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
$39.99 $15.58
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 6,464,278